logo
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Follow us
Connect With: Connect with Facebook Connect with Yahoo Connect with Google Connect with Twitter Connect with LinkedIn

Share with Others

Recently Discussed Complaints

1. (51 mins ago)
James F.C. Rose
Fraud
2. (1 hr 18 mins ago)
Fake Passport Websites
Scam or Real?
3. (1 hr 30 mins ago)
pobama25@europe.com is Legit
fake id and fake passport
4. (1 hr 31 mins ago)
scammers exposed
SCAMMERS
5. (1 hr 39 mins ago)
Ekpen Temple
Spell Caster

Consumer Tips & Tricks

Latest News & Stories

Latest Questions

Cleverbridge Inc. Complaints & Reviews - Refund/Customer Service

Cleverbridge Inc. Contacts & Informations

Cleverbridge Inc.

Posted: 2011-05-26 by    Roger Grant

Refund/Customer Service

Complaint Rating:  38 % with 8 votes
Contact information:
Cleverbridge Inc.
United States
cleverbridge.com
May 26, 2011

Nita Virghes
Assistant Manager Direct Retail Services
BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU
330 N Wabash Avenue Suite #2006
Chicago, IL
60611


RE: BBB CASE #: 94350185 UniBlue.com/Cleverbridge E-Commerce Partner

Dear Nita Virghes:

I am writing in response to the following information provided on May 24, 2011, to the Better Business Bureau (BBB), Chicago, by Richard Krolikowski, Cleverbridge Inc.

Please note, on May 24, 2011, (the same day the BBB, Chicago received their response) the Customer Support Team, Cleverbridge Inc., sent a response in an email to http://www.complaintsboard.com which states:

Dear Roger,

Please allow us to apologize for any inconvenience that this ordeal may have caused you. We have reviewed this issue extensively and have been working diligently to assure your satisfaction with this transaction. As you know, we have been in constant contact with yourself, Uniblue Systems, and MasterCard to exhaust all possibilities of a satisfactory resolution regarding this issue.

Mr. Krolikowski in his response, failed to mention that the refund to the gift card was due to “Terrible Service” by UniBlue.com and the charging for duplicate products.
In any event, when a customer is about to purchase RegistryBooster, the UniBlue.com website states: “RegistryBooster optimizes your PC by servicing your registry. If, for any reason, you are not pleased with our product, contact our customer support team within 30 days of purchase and we will refund the full purchase price.”

I do not accept Mr. Krolikowski’s position. Please review the following as they transpired:

• Feb 6, 2011, I purchased RegistryBooster 2011, for $29.95, from UniBlue.com via the internet. I used a pre-paid gift card to pay for this product.
• March 29, 2011, Sarah, Customer Support (CS), UniBlue.com recommended that I upgrade my purchase to PowerSuite 2011 for $39.95. This upgrade includes three products in the PowerSuite which are RegistryBooster, DriverScanner and SpeedUpMyPC. Sarah did not tell me at the time of purchase that one of the three included RegistryBooster, which I already had and could not substitute; DriverScanner; which was incompatible with my old computer and caused it to crash and SpeedUpMyPC; which actually worked. I requested a refund.
• April 1, 2011, Sarah, CS, UniBlue.com sent an email to advise a refund would be processed for the PowerSuite 2011 pending everything being deleted from my computer. When I uninstalled PowerSuite 2011, it also removed both RegistryBooster’s as I had two installed on my computer. I requested a full refund for both products.
• April 4, 2011, Richard K. CS, Cleverbridge Inc., provided a credit for $39.95 Reference Number 2127084. This was the first time I spoke to Cleverbridge as I never heard of them before and all CS before that were from UniBlue.com and well aware of my gift card payment arrangement.
• April 19, 2011; received an email from Helen, Customer Service Manager (CSM), UniBlue.com which states: “Kindly note that I can confirm that your orders were refunded on the 1st April 2011. I suggest that you contact you bank if you still have not received the mentioned refund”.
• April 20, 2011; I sent an email to Helen, CSM, Uniblue.com, to advise that I still had not received a credit for the first RegistyBooster. I attached copies of my credit card statement showing the only refund received was for $39.95.
• April 22, 2011; Richard K, CS, Cleverbridge Inc., in an email stated: “Our records indicate that this refund was issued as of April 11, 2011 back to your MasterCard ending in 0349”. RegistryBooster for $29.95 was credited April 11, 2011, Reference Number 19468919, to my old gift card. Mr. Krolikowski will like you to believe that this is the first time I have spoke to Cleverbridge in this regard.
• April 25, 2011; Helen, CSM, Uniblue.com, in an email states: “Kindly note that refunds from our end are only able to be refunded to the same credit card which was used when the order was placed”.
• April 25, 2011; Helen, CSM, Uniblue.com, in an email states: “We do apologize for any inconvenience caused in this matter but from our end we have processed the refunds as per your requests. If you are having issues with the refunds, I suggest that you contact your credit card issuer and discuss further with them”.


• April 26, 2011; Frank, CSM, Uniblue.com, in an email states: “Please understand that as a global e-commerce player, Cleverbridge are bound with various international laws and policies to safeguard the interest of their customers. I can assure you that they deal with a multitude of 'fraud' cases, were people (sometimes professional in what they do), try to trick systems in order to gain money that does not belong to them. This is one of the main reasons why Cleverbridge only refunds money back to the original credit card used. We have had quite a number of cases before where for some reason or another the original credit card would no longer be available and a new one issued by the bank - for example if it gets lost/stolen or perhaps just expired and a new one issued. In all of these cases, Cleverbridge would still return the money on the original credit card and the bank concerned would take care of linking the transaction with the new credit card”.
When a customer is about to purchase RegistryBooster, you have to look towards the very bottom of the website to find and click “Terms and Conditions” and “Privacy Policy”.
Terms and Conditons: Clause 6 Payment by credit card states:
When paying by credit card, the Customer shall provide their full credit card details for each order (cardholder name, card number, expiry date, CVV). Furthermore, the Customer hereby provides their prior consent for cleverbridge to charge the payment for the order to the respective credit card company, particularly for online transactions.
Cleverbridge will take all reasonable measures to protect the credit card details against unauthorised access by third parties. The Customer is aware that unauthorised access to such information by third parties cannot be excluded, especially during the electronic transmission of such information. The Customer's credit card account will be charged online when processing the order.
Privacy Policy: #5 Payment Procedures states:
We provide our customers with the various payment methods, such as credit card, bank transfer, cash payment, direct debit, PayPal, check and giropay, etc. For payments by credit card, we require your credit card number, the card's expiration date and your credit card's security code. Your payment details are then transferred to our payment provider for transaction processing. For payments by direct debit, we require your name, your account number and the bank routing number. Additionally, you can also pay for goods by check or in cash. In this case, we will not require any information other than the delivery address. In order to ensure a secure, encoded transfer of your personal data, we use the SSL (secure sockets layer) standard on all our websites. This means that your personal data and the payment information provided during our ordering process will be transferred securely.


Unfortunately, no where on the UniBlue.com website did Cleverbridge Inc., or UniBlue mention how they deal with Gift Cards either during the transaction or what happens should a refund be required. Also, Cleverbridge obviously knew about VanillaMasterCard’s standard practice of charging a $9.95 fee for issuing a new card.
Subsequently, considering the circumstances, Cleverbridge, could have accommodated me by crediting my new MasterCard account or simply mailing out a cheque.
Now I will be waiting again for VanillaMasterCard this time, to send me in six to eight weeks, a new “Twenty Dollar Gift Card”. $29.95 - 9.95 = $20.
In conclusion, I believe that Cleverbridge Inc., are responsible and accountable for the circumstances and should act in “Good Faith”. This should also be true for all those customers who filed complaints against Cleverbridge Inc., on http://www.complaintsboard.com.

Sincerely,


Roger Grant

cc: http://www.complaintsboard.com


Comments United States Internet Services
Share with others:  
Was the above complaint useful to you?    


Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
 18th of Feb, 2010 by   jake11 0 Votes
I received an email stating I ordered a virtual food item, item #9581447, receipt #1104-9757-2262-2277. I have never ordered anything from this company and did not authorize any funds to go to this company.
 20th of Feb, 2010 by   chris7 0 Votes
I received the same sort of e-mail. It may not be the fault of Cleverbridge. More likely, it is phishers just naming Cleverbridge as a payee. The scammers want you to click on their link in the e-mail to rectify the information. Once you click on it, they ask for Paypal or credit card information, supposedly in the interest of correcting the error. However, as you should know well, Paypal doesn't have to ask you for your account information and neither does your credit card company. If this phishing scheme mentions your Paypal account, forward the e-mail to spoof@paypal.com. If this phishing scheme mentions your credit card account, forward it to your bank that handles the credit card. IMPORTANT: DO NOT CLICK ON ANY LINK IN THE MESSAGE... IT WILL TAKE YOU TO A BOGUS SITE IN WHICH YOU WILL BE ASKED TO SUPPLY ACCOUNT-RELATED INFORMATION.
 2nd of Mar, 2010 by   cleverbridge Customer Service 0 Votes
Dear Jake11

We apologize for the delay in this response, and we would just like to confirm the information mentioned above by chris7.

Please be assured that the e-mail is fake. If you have a PayPal account, we can confirm that no charge was made to it by cleverbridge.

The e-mail is an attempt by an unknown party to trick you into clicking their links so that they can attempt to steal your account data. Please do not click on the links in the mail, as they may cause your personal data to be compromised. If you have already clicked on the links and have a PayPal account, we recommend changing your PayPal password and contacting PayPal for advice on how to best protect against misuse of your account.

Please forward that email to spoof@paypal.com

Paypal Customer Service can also be reached at

1-402-935-2050

4:00 AM PST to 10:00 PM PST Monday through Friday
6:00 AM PST to 8:00 PM PST Saturday and Sunday

If you have not clicked on the links there is no reason to believe that your PayPal account information or other personal data has been compromised.
 13th of Jun, 2011 by   Roger Grant 0 Votes
June 12, 2011

Nita Virghes
Assistant Manager Direct Retail Services
BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU
330 N Wabash Avenue Suite #2006
Chicago, IL
60611

RE: BBB CASE #: 94350185 UniBlue.com/Cleverbridge E-Commerce Partner

Dear Nita Virghes:

I am writing in response to the following information provided on June 6, 2011, to the Better Business Bureau (BBB), Chicago, by Richard Krolikowski, Sr. Customer Service Representative and are reviewed with the Global Director of Customer Support, Cleverbridge Inc.

Please be advised that I do not accept Mr. Krolikowski’s, position in this regard.

Once again, Mr. Krolikowski fails to mention that the gift card was used to purchase the original RegistryBooster, which was removed along with the PowerSuite when uninstalled as a duplicate.

In his submission, Mr. Krolikowski states: “Uniblue has the ability to process refunds on their own”. UniBlue.com Customer Service Representatives were aware of my gift card situation and refunded my account and knew my gift card was destroyed. At that point, they forwarded my complaint to Cleverbridge Inc., who knew or ought to have known about the refund.

Further, Mr. Krolikowski, states: “We would also like to reiterate the fact that Cleverbridge had no prior knowledge of these terms and conditions or standard fees until we extended our efforts to assist Mr. Grant by contacting Vanilla MasterCard to attempt to resolve this issue”.

This is a grave concern as a customer! Mr. Krolikowski, admits that they were unaware of the terms and conditions or standard fees set out by gift card companies. In fact, Cleverbridge Inc., should be well aware of all terms and conditions or standard fees set out by gift card companies. That would be a standard business practice. These facts should be well documented on all of their business websites for customers personal viewing before purchase.


On April 25, 2011, Helen, CSM, UniBlue.com, states: “We do apologize for any inconvenience caused in this matter but from our end we have processed the refunds as per your requests. If you are having issues with the refunds I suggest that you contact your credit card issuer and discuss further with them.”

Below is the VanillaMasterCard, Prepaid MasterCard Card Cardholder Agreement. The following terms and conditions govern the use of the Prepaid MasterCard Card. By signing or using the Prepaid MasterCard Card, one is agreeing to these terms and conditions.

PURCHASE DISPUTES AND REFUNDS

If there is any dispute in regard to purchases you make using the Card, you agree to settle such disputes with the merchant from whom the purchase was made. We are not responsible for any problems that you may have with any goods or services that you purchase with your Card, whether with regard to quality, safety, legality, or any other aspect of your purchase. If you are entitled to a refund for any reason for goods or services obtained with the Card, you agree to accept credits to the Balance on your Card in place of cash.

UniBlue.com and Cleverbridge Inc., extended their efforts to assist and became well aware of the VanillaMasterCard policy and then suggested I contact the credit card issuer. Mr. Krolikowski, Cleverbridge Inc., now implies: “Mr. Grant agreed to present both his receipt and the gift card for all returns and/or exchanges and also rendered himself responsible for all transactions initiated and fees incurred by use of his gift card.”

Indeed, it would now appear that Mr. Krolikowski’s intention right from the start was to set a customer up, so that Cleverbridge Inc., would not have to accept responsibility for their action. Costing customers, time and money!

Subsequently, if this is not just a scam by Cleverbridge Inc., payment processer for UniBlue.com, in partnership with MicroSoft, then this information should be showing on the UniBlue.com (RegistryBooster) websites so customers are well informed before purchase. Customers should not be charged for such discrepancies!

As a footnote, www.cleverbridge.com web page confirms they are payment processer for over fifty partners. If a customer would like to purchase a product, you click on one of the companies. They are a third party partner...you have to be looking for them, they don’t stand out. Then at the bottom of the page it states: “This order process is conducted by our online reseller Cleverbridge AG. Payment processing and order fulfillment are done by Cleverbridge AG, Brabanter Str. 2-4, 50674 Cologne, Germany.”

Again, not unlike UniBlue.com, Cleverbridge Inc., as payment processer for all of the respected companies, the gift card company terms and conditions are not listed on their websites.
In conclusion, considering the circumstances, I will be approving Consumer Alert, CTV Television Network to go ahead with their investigation in this matter.

Sincerely,


Roger Grant

cc: http://www.complaintsboard.com
 3rd of Dec, 2013 by   Lois Smoley 0 Votes
I would like to unscribe previous orders : reference number 52837055 &52837331
 16th of Jul, 2014 by   Doc Gonzales 0 Votes
I am intrigued by the entries and letters here as I recently purchased a product from this outfit and have not yet received a refund by them for a product that supposedly tweaks the computer and keeps it free of invasion by malware, adware and viruses, trojans and other pesky and destructive systems dissembling cyber attacks. The company has yet to refund my money from a transaction the other day and don't know what they will do in that regard. Thanks for posting these letters and exchanges on refunds. Wish I had read up on them before trying to download one of their products.
 16th of Jul, 2014 by   Doc Gonzales 0 Votes
Thanks for posting these entries and letters about this company. I will steer clear of them from now on!



Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards ComplaintAgree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

Videos

2011 Tax Changes

Latest Groups

Today's Mess-Up Photo


RSS Feed
bdomains.com
loading
     
 
Login close
Email:
Password:

Forgot your password?