WIDEWORLDSOFT BAKU AZcredit card fraud/virus software

A blue security alert alarm and sign appeared on my computer telling me I was in immediate danger and had been infected. The alarm intefered with everything on my computer. The only thing my computer would do is go to this page-foolishly I purchased the anti-virus but realized my mistake right away and called to cancel my credit card. My purchase for the software is now in disupute. I don't know it they would have also drained my credit card account but I'm glad I closed it instead of finding out. I restored my computer to an earlier date and was able to get rid of it.

More WIDEWORLDSOFT BAKU AZ Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Da
    dadycool Feb 22, 2010

    I had same experience on 19th feb and have to purchase whatever they call the security tool costs me 49.99 that day, but they deducted 51.45. I filed a complaint

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    modosunmu Feb 23, 2010

    i need my money refunded t0 me. this blue thing kept popping up saying my computer was infected with viruses. i purchased the 49.99 agreement. now mycredit card is charged for 100.00. pls do something or tell me what to do to get my money back.
    thanks

    0 Votes
  • Ly
    Lynda Bostic Feb 23, 2010

    I had the same thing happen to me today, Feb. 23, 2010. Had the same pop-ups and it even turned my computer off. I attempted to purchase Registry Power Cleaner for $29.95. I received a print-off of a receipt for $29.95 with license key. Was not able to get the key to register, so I E-mailed the company for assistance or refund. Meanwhile, my bank called me to inquire about unusual activity on my account. Got this address from bank statement. I was charged for $49.95 and $109.90. The actual purchase I have receipt for of $29.95 is not even on there yet.What can be done

    0 Votes
  • Ap
    aPRIL iNESON Feb 23, 2010

    this red security tool keep popping up says 49.99 called visa turns out in other currency is appr. 140.00 FRAUD FRAUD FRAUD

    0 Votes
  • Ap
    aPRIL iNESON Feb 23, 2010

    does not work not worth anything too much money for nothing advise u 2 take 2 best buy staples whatever unless u like 2 get ripped off

    SCAM SCAM SCAM

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    michelle henry Feb 24, 2010

    i have had the same problem and did it twice i didn't think it was a scam tell it popped up again i paid it twice help!!! write to me at [email protected] please

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    michelle henry Feb 24, 2010

    I purchesed a computer at bestbuy about a wk ago and this message kept coming up saying something about someone was hacking into my system to steal my creditcard numbers and i had virses in my system and it would cost my 49.99 and they charged me79.95 twice.. please help i have two children to support...

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    vineutz Feb 24, 2010

    i had the same thing done on feb. 23 coat me 79.00 dollars how do we get our money back

    0 Votes
  • Ce
    C Evans Feb 24, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    - - - - - - -FRAUD FRAUD FRAUD FRAUD... - - - - - -
    This a a Foreign company outside of the US, maybe BAKU India. They hijacked my home computer and did not clear it untill I paid $59.95 (US dollars) (for so-called "Windows Defender 2010", then they sent me a email to direct me somewhere else for support. I could not communicate with them in any way and all my email was returned as not deliverable.
    They charged my card account as 'WIDEWORLDSOFT BAKU" with no telephone or address to contact them. Request a TRANSACTION REVERSAL immediately from your bank.
    - - - - - - -FRAUD FRAUD FRAUD FRAUD...- - - - - -

    - - - - - - - - My email was returned as Undeliverable." - - - - - - -

    FROM: Claude Evans
    XXXX XXXXXX Drive
    Saint Louis, Missouri XXXXX
    [email protected]

    TO: Staff pay-secure-system.com
    "Windows Defender 2010"
    XP Internet Security 1 year license

    CC: [email protected] [email protected]
    RE: Order ID6540 "Windows Defender 2010" order/
    Order ID: #20351322 XP Internet Security 1 year license

    Greetings To All Listed/Involved:
    I do not want your service and I am requesting that the $59.95 that was charged to my card and paid to your organization be reimbursed to me immediately to the card.
    My system was blocked and then was hi-jacked and would only clear out and process data processing on your website only, and then only after if I paid money to your organization for a copy of XP Internet Security 1 year license order ID#20351322 or ID6540 "Windows Defender 2010" order did I again have access to my computer.
    I again request that the U.S. dollars of $59.95 that I paid to your organization be reimbursed to me immediately and put back on the VISA card ending in XXXX was charged from my card.

    Claude Evans

    1 Votes
  • De
    deborah toulson Feb 25, 2010

    Please something has to be done about "WIDEWORLDSOFTBAKU" I been trying to contact this company to reimburse my visa 49.95 . They blocked my system so I could not do anything on it for three days forceing me to buy their software. They so call "Virus protection plan" is no longer in my computer. It disapear from my system.
    NEWJERSEY

    0 Votes
  • Ol
    OlsonTexas65 Feb 25, 2010

    Same thing happened to my daughter, with my credit card. I cancelled my card as a precaution. If anyone is successful in getting their dispute credited back please post so I know whether or not it is even worth my time to dispute...seriously hope someone catches these people and prosecutes. If not, I guess I will just have to rely on Karma!

    0 Votes
  • Th
    thuggluv Feb 25, 2010

    This just happened to me I restarted my computer to see it all black screen an vista anivirus pop up, so I payed ..But when the screen kept popping up an kept wanting me to buy again I knew something was up I tried to cancel the payment but no luck even tho it was still pending.I had to just cancel out my card and it looks like i have to open a dispute with walmart money card because they would not reverse this and finally got my computer back to normal getting rid of this virus protection pop up SCAM!!!Man what a mess I can't even find a number or anything for this wideworldsoft.

    0 Votes
  • Mh
    mhoffman Feb 25, 2010

    Man this has just happened to me and they said it would cost me $49.95 and they took $99.85 out of my account. Have to close all accounts. This is a scam and it took me forever to get it off.

    0 Votes
  • Mh
    mhoffman Feb 25, 2010

    Thing is this seems so real. U think your computer has this virus. Everyone beware of this SCAM!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Sl
    sladyman Feb 26, 2010

    I agree. I too was scammed big time. This is ###. I want my money back. Security tool pop up, blackened my computer and wants me to buy the product again. I email security tool twice for my registration number but based on what I read from other victims, I not getting one cause I haven't heard from WIDEWORLDSOFT. I can't believe it. This company needs to be prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law. I am not sure what to do now. I can't use my computer at all. I can't find a phone number to wideworld soft to contact them. What lying jerks. How do I fix my computer.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    paintrgrljen Feb 26, 2010

    Well the same thing happened to me. I thought I was being charged $29.95 for the security tool and when I looked at my transaction history they had actually charged me $129.95. I think that all of the windows that keep popping up telling you that your computer has a virus is actually just there own little way of making us have to buy their ###! Something has got to be done! How can people just set back and take other peoples money like that and get by with it?

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robay Feb 27, 2010

    I also was prey to this scam. On February 23rd my laptop went berserk and I had that same popup. I was concerned and decided to purchase the protection since it seemed to leave me no other choice. Instead of being charged $29.95 I was charged $99.85. Whe I Googled WideworldSoft Baku AZ I saw that alot of others fell to this scam also. Have already contacted my financial institution to try to resolve.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mariette Leonard Feb 28, 2010

    Well the same thing happened to me. This pop up kept telling me that I had X number of viruses and to rid my computer of these I was to sign up for this anti-virus software. All this time I was thinking " Gee, how could this happen when I already have anti-virus on my computer?" I paid the $50.95 only to have the same thing start happening again a week later!! What a scam!!! Maybe there needs to be a class-action lawsuit filed to keep these people from continuing to do this!!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jetta32 Mar 01, 2010

    I paid my $49.95 for a two year agreement and two weeks later they are asking me again for money for the same Security Tool. Can someone tell me how to get this off my computer. My computer shut down every 30 minutes because of this matter.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    T Reed Mar 02, 2010

    This happened to me last week. My account has been charged $109.90 and I have no way of getting a number to get my money back. These people are ### and I want my money back. Please beware of any pop ups. I have two firewalls and I don't know how they get into my computer.

    0 Votes
  • Kw
    kwebb Mar 02, 2010

    it happened to me too, if anyone gets there money back let me know. they took 79.95 from me!!!

    1 Votes
  • Sp
    specwiz Mar 02, 2010

    BE WARNED ---------------------

    BAKU AZ security program contains trojans of the worst kind. If you become infected either by clicking on the bogus alarm window or visiting any of WIDEWORLDSOFT sites immediately:

    1. Switch off your PC. If it won't switch off, unplug it.
    2. Restart PC in ------- safe mode---------- and RESTORE to a previous date.
    3. Run a reliable anti malware scan like hitmanPro (free).
    4. Contact your card provider and have your account shut down. If you've already been scammed, insist on having the transaction reversed. Card providers are able to reverse unauthorised payments or e-commerce would soon cease to exist, (being forced to pay for the removal of a deliberately inflicted trojan is fraud).

    DON'T SUPPORT THE SCAMMERS AND DON'T PANIC. Your money is recoverable, but only through your card provider.

    specwiz

    1 Votes
  • Ej
    ejsteed23 Mar 05, 2010

    To get rid of this boot in save mode. From another computer download Maleware Bytes Program then use the thumb drive to download on the infected computer. Run the spyware program several time. Restart your computer in normal mode and load a good virus software. Scan for virus serveral times and make sure have your spyware and virus programs active and you should be okay. I just did this for my daughter computer. Any good spy ware will get you started I just used Malware Bytes. The probelm with this scam is that they use similar name to good software programs so make sure if you use the program I did you use the Malware Bytes.

    After you have complete this, format you thumb drive to make sure you have killed any virus that may have gotton on it and then scan it with both program. May be a little over kill but I like to make sure when it comes to a virus.

    1 Votes
  • Em
    embrassed2X Mar 08, 2010

    this company got me twice, first time I caught it in time to dispute the $100 that was deducted from my checking account, which popped up as a bank of america caution to scan for fraud attempts (LOL). still in the middle of the claim to get my money back but now they've done it to me again. as soon as they got my $ the security tool icon disappeared and I've had no more warnings of viruses & worms... now I am trying to find a phone number to call...any ideas????

    1 Votes
  • Lo
    loise Apr 03, 2010

    well the same thing helping to me too. they had popup every time i took them off they came right back. so I paid $69.90 on the 20 of feb. they said that my computor was infection with a viruse. but everytime I would cancel it, the same thing all of those popup where there and you couldn't even finish your chat with the person you were chatting with. all I want is my money back. how can poeple just sit at the computor and do wrong and get away with it. but one day it with come back and bit them in tha ###. so if any one get some information please share it with us, it will be greatly appreciate. thank you in advance.

    1 Votes
  • Ji
    Jim Kaness Oct 08, 2010

    Same story. On 9/28/10 this window popped up on my computer saying I had a virus and it shut down my Firefox browser. I could not get the browser to run anymore. Then I ran their "scan" and it gave me some so-called websites that would remove the virus. I went for it and paid them $99.90 on my VISA to remove the virus. They (whoever they are) then allowed my browser to function normally, but now I have "AntiSpy Safeguard" installed on my computer. My VISA statement shows $99.90 charged to the card from "Software Retail" in "Baku, AZ" with no phone number given. I immediately canceled my VISA card and got a new card with a different number.

    Yesterday I called their customer service number 1-800-760-0917 and immediately heard "Wait five minutes". After 10 minutes a lady came on the line and, after asking her how I could uninstall their program from my computer, told me the charge would be removed from my VISA and that their program "AntiSpy Safeguard" would automatically be removed. That was yesterday and nothing has changed. I intend to dispute the charge.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jamesj13 Dec 14, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Sam thing happen to me on 07Dec2010. I purchased their system tool anti virus software through my Visa card and was declined twice. But upon checking my Visa account, I was charged NZ$108 and NZ$107. I immediately cancelled my card and in the process of disputing both transactions.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Bruce01 Jan 12, 2011

    In my case, the company name was bestpowersoft.com, in Baku. Apparently they have a lot of them. I immediately installed Norton and then called my bank and reported it as fraudulent, since it is. Ordered a new card and got my money back in a couple days.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    Blackbarbie Jan 17, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You all are so right. My story is identical to Jim' that happen on 9/28/10. Well this happen to me on 12/16/2011. This popped up on my computer and me not being a computer wizard I thought it was actually true because I could not do anything. After making the purchase I was able to for one second then it was back to normal. I use my bank card paying the $99.90 and I'm still unsuccessful in utalizing my system. I also called the customer service number 1-800-760-0917 and I got a live rep. by the name of Mary with an ext. # of 701. But whose to say this is real. With today being a holiday I cannot call the bank to move foward. However, I will not stop here until I have received my funds in return.

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    Gimp3 Jan 17, 2011

    Had the same experience with BUTSOFTNOW.COMBAKU. 12/20/2010. Quickly called CapitalOne and was told they had already declined payment. Caneled card, for new one but a charge for 99.90 'slipped through' next day AFTER card was canceled. No such web site, no 800 #, no recourse. After severral calls, was able to file a fraud complaint. At the time I saw other complaints about this site and/or buytherenow.com I did not print it out as I should have. ANYONE else with experience with this Website please include your complaint to this list.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Bruce01 Jan 21, 2011

    here's the website of the lil feller collecting money for this scam.
    http://www.shchukinlaw.azerin.com/contact.html
    Hopefully they have some sort of board or council or something for lawyers in Azerbaijan and this one will get shut down shortly.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    gawat Feb 04, 2011

    why I got the same case, my computer got a virus that can not be deleted by any anti-virus, except with anti-virus that has been determined and it bears a very big price for my people of Indonesia $ .99, 00 ...!!. we pray for your site abolished virus spreading ... or we are prejudiced, that you are working with the virus spreader site ...?!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    magggs. Mar 04, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The same thing happened to me with this and I ended up paying $49.95
    and I want my money back !!
    how do I get it back?

    0 Votes
  • No
    not impressed01 Mar 09, 2011

    The same happened to us. I googled Baku AZ and this complaints came up as #1 on the search.

    I spoke with our credit card company and they couldn't do anything to dispute as the card was given to them however they at least offered a $50.00 rebate (at least got 1/2 of the funds back and also referred to this complain) and have since requested the card to be cancelled and a new one reissued.

    Now hopefully the computer can be restored and it hasn't been damaged beyond repair. Becareful of what websites you visit when they are not ones which you are familiar with and what you download.

    Should I find anything else out, I'll be sure to post.

    0 Votes
  • No
    not impressed01 Mar 09, 2011

    We have experienced the same as all the above. I googled Baku AZ and this complaints board was #1 on the list.

    I spoke with our cc company and advised them of the issue. As the cc was given to them, they advised me that they wouldn't be able to get the funds back however offered a $50.00 credit which is at least half back. Better than nothing. Also I requested the card to be cancelled and a new one to be reissued as if they are a scam company, I really didn't want the issues of potential charges in the future from various names of this company. Easier to be safe than sorry I figure.

    Not sure of the extent of the damage on the computer however all I can advise is to be careful of what websites you visit and what you download. Make sure that it is someone or a company which you are familiar with and check security settings on your computer. When installing anti virus programs, use one which either you are familiar with or come recommended. Do not download anti virus pop ups which advise you of issues with your computer. Double check. Again better to be safe than sorry and don't want to support these scammers.

    0 Votes
  • Eb
    Ebony F. Mar 13, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was a victim of this scam. I was using yahoo.answers on March 11, 2011 and next thing you know this box pops up warning me I had 38 viruses on computer. My screen went blue and some of my icons were gone so I was convinced it really was viruses on my comp. They gave me three options, pay $79.99, $69.99 or $19.99 to clean it up. Of course I chose the cheaper plan. My husband and I just came back from the supermarket embarassed because our account had insufficient funds and we had no idea why. After checking our account online we found out some place in Baku deducted $99.99 from our account. This thing was a straight up scam and i'm pissed becasue I have no idea how they hacked into our computer, especially from a website i've been using regurlary for 3 years. I can't wait until people like this are gone forever!!!

    Any suggestions on how we can get our money back soon?

    0 Votes
  • Be
    becky sack Mar 16, 2011

    2011-03 this happened to me to an alart came up i could not do anything on my computer until a paid $19.95 for two things at 19.95 each but then they took another $59.95 out of my bank account . my computer dose not work any better then it did before this happened.one thing did happen the alert went away. they need to be stoped. thank you becky sack

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joshmays06 Mar 17, 2011

    the same thing happened to me i was just going threw my card trans actions and seen that instead of taking $20.00 they took 79.90 off my card and then as fast as i gave them my #card number my laptop was working again, how do we go about getting our money back or cantacting these low life people.

    0 Votes
  • Rw
    rwg218 Apr 23, 2011

    the same thing happened to my daughters computer, this security page kept popping up that kept saying the security systems was comprised and viruses were present, yet it had an option to proceed without the security at own risk which I did as I was trying to get to my McAfee account to have it do a scan as my daughter had forgot to download the update which it let me then that security page would come right back; the screen page kept making it llok like it was the Microsoft XP virus screen for 2011. Ultimately after an hour I ended up foolishly purchasing it to get access as I began to believe it was Microsoft; which was a dumb mistake on my part as I called a friend after the fact who is an IT installer who told me my system was comprised so he came over and cleaned my computer and did a download of a prior year restart to get computer back to an earlier state. I called my credit card company and cancelled my card and they recredited my account of the charge while they investigate.

    0 Votes
  • Rd
    RDY May 03, 2011

    The same thing happen to me, they took 99.00 out of my account, what can I do about this? Can something be done about the money? Can I get my money back?

    0 Votes

Post your comment