The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
UMW SitiawanAfter sales service

Date 9 November 2009

The tyre alligment (to the left) of my car was not check prior to handing over to customer. Stiring wheel was also not allign correctly(a quarter turn to the left). Complaint was submitted. After action taken by UMW Sitiawan ( >60km from my home in Teluk Intan), problem with tyre alligment and stirring still persisted. Complaint was submitted again and action was taken by UMW Sitiawan after 1000km service. Still problem with alligment persisted. Complaint was submitted again and action was taken during 5000km service. Spent over than 4 hours waiting but UMW Sitiawan still could not solve the tyre alligment problem. Customer was told to try out the car and report back if problem still persisted. Unfortunately the problem still persisted and the problem was reported back to UMW Sitiawan. Afraid for the safety of me and my family, the car was sent to a nearby service centre and the problem was resolved. All information/complaints and reports can be check through the UMW Service Centre Sitiawan branch on-line. My car model and registeration is Toyota Avanza 1.5 G ( AGU 5265 )

Since a lot of time and effort was wasted by me to render the problem, i would like to forward this complaint on behalf of other unfortunate toyota owners like me. For any parties that can help me forward this complaint to UMW Malaysia or Toyota Japan on the problems face by many faulty Toyota Car Owners to UMW Malaysia or Japan ( attach below is one of the compalints made by other complaints ) please contact me ( [protected]@yahoo.com).

Thank you

Attachment:

My nightmare with UMW Toyota
Model: AVANZA
]March 15, 2006
Car was delivery to me from UMW Toyota Motor Pandan Indah branch on 5pm. After received car I straight away went to Informatics College Kuala Lumpur. On 2130 I realize that this new Avanza is automatic go to left side when the steering is straight during driving back home through Jln Loke Yew. I have make complaint to my sales advisor Mr. Eyson Teh few minutes later after I reached home. I had request to exchange another unit but he refused and try arranged appointment for me to repair at Shamelin service center on March 21, 2006.

March 21, 2006
I arriving Shamelin service center at 0845. 1 manual repair order was given to me after I passed car to service advisor Mr. Kalen. I had been waiting there for 2 hours. After job done 1 invoice given to me but never explain what problem causes. After 3 days same problem come out again and also front left side door start come out ‘de de de’ sound.

April 5, 2006
I went Cheras service center for 1000KM service I request them to fix both problem but they claim there was no alignment service there. The door problem been fixed but sound came out again after 4 days. I also find out another problem after first time driving at 110KM/H, the front wheel feel like shaking when overtake or been overtaken by van, bus, or lorry.

April 19, 2006
I place complaint on TribeToyota.com.my.

April 27, 2006
I went back Shamelin service center. No manual repair order form was given. I am waiting there 38 minutes. No report or explanation given. Same problem came out again on the next day.

May 2, 2006
I place another complaint on TribeToyota.com.my. Mr. Toh, manager of Shamelin service center called me and asked for sent car back for fully checking. I arriving Shamelin service center at 1400. No manual repair order form was given. It took me one hour to waiting there. After repair, the technical guy told me that do not turn steering too hard when making U turn or reverse parking. I told him cannot be this is Toyota car not Proton. He telling me all Avanza is like this. This is 1st time I heard so funny reason. Never mind I followed what he said. On May 7, 2006 same problem happen again.

May 8, 2006
During journey to Bukit Mertajam, I found another serious problem happen to my car. Front wheel shaking when I drove over 80KM/H. So I only can drive 70KM/H from Kuala Lumpur to Penang. It is a nightmare for me & all others passengers. Due to my schedule very tight so on May 10, 2006, I went to one of tire shop at Bukit Mertajam to fix problem after I find out Prai service center waiting list too long. Same problem happen again after 1 week.

May 22, 2006
I sent a complaint letter to UMW Toyota Motor. I had asked about why same problem still exist after repair so many times. They never answer it in reply letter.

November 14, 2006
I went to one tire shop at Klang to have a try to check alignment system after service center fail to fix. Original chamber shaft been changed back. After 2 days car start pulling to road side.

November 21, 2006
I went back same shop again. Alignment been adjusted. After 1 day same problem occurred again.

November 29, 2006
I sent my car back to Cheras service center at 0745. I complaint several problem which included steering not center & pulling problem. I collect car at 1600. My manual repair order form been taken back by Mr. Tee during car delivery. No report or explanation given. However car starts pulling to road side few hours later on same day.

December 1, 2006
I went back Cheras service center again. I arrived at 0925. I collect car at 1730. Service advisor Mr Mohan informed me that toe was move to right side. On December 2, 2006 afternoon time, same problem occurs again.

December 5, 2006
I went to Cheras service center. I arrived at 0900. No manual repair order form was given. I collect car at 1500 & no report or explanation given. After few hours car pulling to road side again. I went back Cheras service center at 1815 & inform service advisor Mr. Tee. He ask me come back the next day.

December 6, 2006
I pass car to Cheras service center at 1000. No manual repair order form was given. I collect car at 1800. Service advisor Mr. Tee informs me that will arrange technical team next week. However they never reach me since that day.

December 28, 2006
I went to SS19 service center. I reached there 1000. After sales executive Mr. Faizal inform me will do full checking for whole alignment system. I collected car at 1830. No report or explanation given. On December 29, 2006, 1500, same problem occurred.

January 2, 2007
I went back SS19 service center again. I arrived at 1030. I test drive with after sales executive Mr. Faizal. He insist my car no problem. No repair or inspection provides. I leave there at 1200. Car starting pulling to left hand side after half an hour.

January 16, 2007
I went back to Cheras service center. I arrived there at 1120. I collect car at 1800. No report or explanation given. Same problem occurred on January 17, 2007.

January 24, 2007
I went back Cheras service center again. I arrived there at 1200. I collect car on January 26, 2007 morning. Service advisor Mr. Tee claim that my front right hand side absorber abnormal & causing steering cannot straight. I found car immediately move to left when steering was center when I drive from Tmn Conought 50sen toll to Tmn Seputeh after I left Cheras service center.

February 8, 2007
I went to Cheras service center. I arrived there at 0815. I get back my car on February 11, 2007 at 0830. Service advisor Mr. Tee told me that front lower arm bar & stabilizer been adjusted. Same problem occurred on next day.

February 22, 2007
I had sent one complaint letter to UMW Toyota Motor Customer Relationship Management Division. But till today still no reply.

February 25, 2007
I had sent complaint letter to TMC CR Division Japan.

February 27, 2007
TMC CR Division Japan reply & request me refer back to UMW Toyota Motor.

March 1, 2007
I filed a complaint at tribunal (consumer court) Kuala Lumpur.

March 6, 2007
I went to Cheras service center for 20000KM service & complaint about some problem which included car pulling to road side. I arrived there at 0855. I collect car at 1800. No report or explanation given. Wheel no more shaking during cornering but front absorber feel like no functioning. Front engine side will go down during cornering with speed 60KM/H.

March 20, 2007
I went back Cheras service center. I arrived at 0920. Service advisor Mr. Tee told me my car need to put there for 3 days & another replacement car will be provided.

March 21, 2007
I went to Cheras service center to collect replacement car.

March 29, 2007
I received call from Mr. Tee regarding my car can be collect.

March 30, 2007
I arrived at Cheras service center at 0830. I found that all 4 rims have been changed to sport rim & new tires during test drive. One uncle from Toyota test drive with me. He never introduces himself. I ask that uncle where to go to test drive. He told me just go normal way which I like. I drive from Cheras service center toward MRR2 then to Jln Kuali. I immediately found that car still pulling to left side. I inform that uncle but he never gives any response or explanation at all. I feel very disappointed & angry.
When I reached Jln Loke Yew, suddenly the uncle asked me stops by at in front of food court. He want drive the car so I exchange with him. He drives me from food court to Jln Along Cheras and goes in Jln Loke Yew toward Phoenix Plaza. After bypass Phoenix Plaza U-turn back to Jln Loke Yew after that turn left to MRR2. After passed Sri Petaling junction he drives toward Bkt Jalil then back to Cheras service center.
During him driving I notice that car will automatic pulling to road side but he ignore it. After reached service center, I informed Mr. Tee that my car is still pulling to road side. The uncle come & asked me how & can accept not. I told him of course cannot still same problem. Then he said they already fix everything according TMC specification and if cannot accept he also cannot do anything. He never shows me any statement to support what he told me.
Service advisor Mr. Tee shows me a bill which stated road test & QC inspection & charging RM201.60. I refuse to pay because my car is still same condition before I sent in & also they take out my stabilizer bar and rubber pad without my permission. They insist want me to pay even my car still same problem.
At the end Toyota executive Mr. Mohan suggest that since I was not happy & agreed with current car condition & not reasonable to pay under this situation so next week Monday or Tuesday will ask somebody from UMW Toyota Motor HQ & UMW Toyota Motor Customer Relationship Management Division to test drive together to witness. I had no choice but to leave my car there. They took back previous replacement car & didn’t provide another for me. I and my girl friend were late to work because of these troubles them making.

April 4, 2007
I had sent one complaint letter to UMW Toyota Motor Customer Relationship Management Division But till today still no reply.

April 4, 2007
I had sent another complaint email to TMC CR Division Japan. But till today still no reply.

April 5, 2007
I waiting from April 2 till April 4, 2007 still no reply from UMW Toyota Motor. I need to use the car so I have no choice but to visit Cheras service center again. When I reached at 0900 Toyota executive Mr. Mohan told me that staff from HQ has been test & confirm car no problem. I fell been cheated & ask for test drive together with Toyota executive Mr. Mohan. He agreed. During test drive both of us notice steering is not center. I had to wait there for half and hour more to fix steering.
After they fix steering they didn’t test drive with me. I force to pay RM201.60 and force to sign one agreement as requested by Mr. Alan Ng. I leave there at 1200. I straightly away went to Tmn Segah Mobil petrol station. After fill gas. I bring my girl friend to her office at Lot 10. I park at Jln Sahabat & went to Sg.Wang take breakfast at 1245pm. During driving toward Lot 10 I found that my car starts pulling to road side.
After breakfast I straight away went back to Cheras service center. I reached there at 1400. I test drive with Toyota executive Mr. Mohan & another Indian executive. Toyota executive Mr. Mohan confirmed my car is pulling to road side. After test drive, I asked Toyota executive Mr. Mohan what was wrong. He told me ‘ada hantu’. I had to leave my car there again.

April 12, 2007
I went to Cheras service center collect my car after received call. Toyota executive Mr. Mohan told me that it is tire pressure problem. After test drive, Toyota executive Mr. Alan gave me an invoice & asked me to sign. Same problem occurred again on April 15, 2007 evening.

April 17, 2007
I went back to Cheras service center again. I arrive there at 1250. No manual repair order form was given. I collect car at 1410. Same problem happen on April 20, 2007.

April 27, 2007
I had sent another complaint email to UMW Toyota Motor. But till today still no reply.

May 4, 2007
1st tribunal hearing held. President of consumer court ordered UMW Toyota Motor to have a test drive with owner & 3rd party before & after problem rectify. Tester must not from Toyota.

May 7, 2007
I doing 10 point inspection personally at Puspakom and result shown alignment is within spec. Inspector Mr. Fahmi inform us that Puspakom do not provide test drive service & all test is based on computerized.

May 12, 2007
I personally went to AAM to do 40 point inspection which included test drive. During test drive with AAM inspector Mr. Azman, he notices the car is pulling during driving. After inspection, they give us a result & ask us to present to UMW Toyota Motor.

May 16, 2007
We went to Cheras service centre to do inspection as requested by Mr. Alan Ng. We can’t observe the inspection process. We been ask to wait at waiting hall for 1 hour plus. After inspection completed, we were requested by Mr. Alan Ng to do another inspection at Puspakom Bdr Tun Razak. Mr. Chow was accompanying us on way to Puspakom.
During inspection, Mr. Chow was not present, we do not know where he is, only Mr. Alan Ng is accompany us. Inspection result shown alignment is within safe range. Mr. Alan Ng is requesting my previous record from Puspakom. We meet manager of Puspakom, Mr. Mohamad Noor. Mr. Chow was with us during that time. Mr. Mohamad Noor mention & confirm their computer test only can proof alignment is within spec. Before we leave Puspakom we told Mr. Alan Ng that we need to discuss this matter with Mr. Chow & Mr. Alan Ng and please wait & meet at Cheras service centre. He agreed. Mr. Chow was with Mr. Alan Ng on way back.
After we reached Cheras service centre, we been told by Mr. Alan Ng that Mr. Chow already leaving. They do not notice us about his leaving as we have agreed for discussion at service centre. I request Mr. Alan Ng to give me all my previous 17 times repair reports. He checks his system in front of us and told us that all repair reports at Cheras service centre had been passed to me through tribunal and there is another 2 repairing at Shamelin branch & SS19 branch. I was surprised that they can check our record even though different branches as Mr. Alan Ng said during first hearing on May 4, 2007 that their do not know all my previous records & their do not notice we have sent car to Shamelin branch & SS19 branch. I asked Mr. Alan Ng whether their system is link between all others service centers. He acknowledged. However he refused provide us all reports on the spot with reason there is cost written in those reports. He promised will fax reports to us. I feel they act fishy, even we know the cost we still can’t buy at those prices.
We only received fax from UMW Toyota Motor on May 21, 2007. Repair report dated March 21, 2006 is missing and report of December 28, 2006 is not clear. We shown Mr. Alan Ng AAM report dated May 12, 2007 & ask for a third party to test drive. Mr. Alan Ng refused to have test drive with third party or AAM inspector. He said UMW Toyota Motor will only refer to Puspakom inspection result which is no test drive conducted. We had mention many times to Mr. Alan Ng that president of consumer court is requesting us to have a test drive with third party before and after problem rectify. He refused. UMW Toyota Motor is ignoring president of consumer court order.

May 18, 2007
I went back to AAM to conduct another test drive. Result shown that car is pulling to left hand side.

May 19, 2007
I went to a tire shop to do a computerized alignment diagnostic. Result shown alignment setting is out of spec. From May 4, 2007 till May 23, 2007, UMW Toyota Motor never requests me to perform test drive & rectify the car pulling problem as per order by President of consumer court.

May 23, 2007
2nd tribunal hearing held. President of consumer court request again UMW Toyota Motor to have a test drive together with AAM & owner.

June 11, 2007
Before test drive start, UMW Toyota Motor requests us to send car to service centre to do adjustment. We refused. After test drive by Mr. Azman, Mr. Chow and me, Mr. Chow admitted car is pulling. I suggest to have Puspakom checking since is nearby. AAM agreed but Mr. Alan Ng refused without reason given. Whole test drive process by Mr. Azman & Mr. Chow was record down by my hand phone & been convert to DVD movie as proof.

June 20, 2007
3rd tribunal hearing held. Case postpones because president of consumer court been changed & current president of consumer court can’t recognize previous president of consumer court hand writing.

July 25, 2007
4th tribunal hearing held. Case was delay again due to AAM report can’t show much more details regard car pulling. UMW Toyota Motor keep blamed about road not even and driver behavior problem. President of consumer court had requested all witness of test drive attend next hearing.

November 5, 2007
5th tribunal hearing held.
Puspakom confession:
• Their equipment test speed is 4km/h.
• Their equipment is fully computerized.
• Result may be different above 70km/h, 80km/h or 100km/h.
• On road test result will be different from the machine.
• Their equipment is using world wide standard.
• Caster & camber in good condition.
• Their equipment can only test side slip.
• Car pulling can be cause by road condition, and others method.

AAM confession:
• Pulling after 200m for both side of road.
• Still controllable.
• Must focus 100% on front view.
• They only using visual inspection.

Toyota confession:
• TMC pulling standard is within 100m.
• They do not know what speed is apply for TMC standard, must refer headquarter.
• Their pulling ranges same as AAM. Car can goes straight for 2nd half of road.
• My car in normal condition.
• All claims rejected.
• Warranty void. (never inform what reason)

December 5, 2007
6th tribunal hearing held. Judgment been given.
Judge confession:
• Puspakom result proof caster & alignment is within acceptable range.
• Pulling left right is controllable.
• An international standard must apply.
• This is a guessing game.
• Puspakom equipment is worldwide recognizing.
• Not a defect.
• Unless owner can provided international standard or test method.

My conclusion
• These guys all bull ###. If my car can’t be control, I lying at hospital long time ago.
• UMW Toyota Motor never shows hard copy proof since after 1st hearing.
• UMW Toyota Motor keep blame about uneven road and road camber problem. They even blame my driving style have problem but they didn’t advice me how to drive.
• UMW Toyota Motor didn’t show and proof any international standard or TMC standard.
• UMW Toyota Motor never gives me any report for each of my repair at service centre.
• AAM report of test drive with Toyota said my car is pulling.
• UMW Toyota Motor had no choice/excuses but said warranty void.
• Judge refused to accepts and watches test drive video.
• Judgment should be given during 3rd hearing when Toyota refuses to have 3rd party to perform test drive at 1st place.
• UMW Toyota Motor Customer Relationship Management Division never cares and respects customer. They never reply my complaint letters. They push problem back to consumer.

March 25, 2008
I sent complaint letter to UMW Toyota Motor Customer Relationship Division, UMW Toyota Motor 3S service centre Cheras branch and c.c. to all media. Till today still no reply from Toyota. I feel deeply disappointed, Toyota after sales service cannot trust.

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.