TWXFraudulent Credit Card Charges

C
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I received a mailing as a "Harbor Frieght customer." As a gift/reward I was invited to use so many points towards gifts and magazines. I selected a variety of items listed up to my point amount. Nothing was said about any charge and a credit card was not requested. I received the gifts, which turned out to be dollar store type items and the magazines started coming. I then noticed charges for these items on my credit card. This was amazing since I authorized no charges. I assume Harbor Freight must have provided my CC number. This is a scam operation and everyone getting this mailing for a Harbor Frieght rewards redemption should toss it.

Responses

  • Ri
    Rita Q. Mehio May 09, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have ben charge on my Debit for 13.95 each month and don't know what theses charges are. I do not subscribe to 0408 TWX*AOL. Ned fed back at [protected]@prodigy.net.
    Thank You.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Debbie Nov 08, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am sick and tired of TWX Magazine using my credit card to purchase magazines that I did not purchase or authorize. I want it to stop...I want to know How they get permission to do this. Someone at TWX Magazines had better STOP This SCAM. I want a refund for all the magazines that was charged to my card and if I see anymore on my bill as of November 10th, I will take it to a Lawyer.

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    EDWARD JASCHKE Jun 28, 2009

    UNAUTHORIZED MAGAZINE SUBSCRIPTIONS

    0 Votes
  • Th
    thevic20 Nov 15, 2009

    I was just charged as well, $197!!! I will call tomorrow to see if they will give me money back or not.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    tan0042 Nov 16, 2009

    I was charged 192 dollars on my credit card without my permission.

    0 Votes
  • Mu
    musicthriller Dec 26, 2009

    I have also been charged without knowing!!! I never even heard of this company, and the next thing I know, my credit card statement listed this transaction- completely false!!! And the credit card company had the nerve to say that this is a legitimate company. SO ANGRY

    0 Votes
  • La
    LaJRocha Jan 11, 2010

    Great! Now I get sucked into the scam as well. I took over paying for my mother's cable with Time Warner in El Paso, TX. I received the same "you've earned a voucher for 198.00" please selecte from the following free gifts...On 1/7/10 I see the charge of 185.82 to my American Express and I did not give them my cc info for them to charge nor do I know how they got it as I don't have a cc on file with Time Warner.

    I contacted AMEXX and disputed the charge and let them know TWX is on the SCAM ALERT. If anyone can tell me which BBB to file a complaint I will, , , as well as the National Consumer Affairs Division here in Washington, DC.

    Please contact me and let me know which BBB to file if you have taken this route..
    [protected]@comcast.net

    0 Votes
  • Na
    nanogab Feb 23, 2010

    I am being billed for magazines I did not order.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    grconrad Jul 09, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same thing happened to me:


    I would also like to know which BBB is the appropriate one to complain to. Based on the number of similar complaints a simple Google search has turned up, I think there could be grounds for a class-action lawsuit. It is purely deceptive marketing designed to prey on people who aren't aware of the scam. It's a monumental waste of time and anyone who receives the items then has to pay out-of-pocket to ship the items back.

    Businesses that do this kind of crap need to be held liable for their actions. It is simply unethical.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    village21 Jul 27, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Total rip off. I got the voucher too and read it twice. It eludes to being free items with the voucher if you renew your subscription. I called and was informed that the items were discounted and you were able to order up to the amount of the voucher.

    The crap I ordered sure wasn't worth $93.95 but for free it was worth it. Well free it was not. I was informed I could send the items back just pay shipping and handling with the return information in the boxes. Yeah right, I threw that away.

    Tricky, tricky, tricky rip off.

    Where can this scam be reported?

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Paulette123 Sep 06, 2012

    checking my statement, I found 2 charges for magazines that I had not ordered. What can I do??

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem