Resolved Transam AssociatesScam for buying their software - promise of a job

I almost fell for this, but I did not and I am so pissed at them for preying on desperate unemployed people across the USA!

Here is what I have found out so far about the companies and the owners of this scam:

Transam Associates
3433 Lithia-Pinecrest Rd. Ste. 303
Valrico, FL 33594
Tel: [protected] or [protected]
Fax: [protected]

This company is owned by what looks like a husband and wife team:

Alan Loehr and Linda Loehr

Here is how their fraud scheme works:

1) They look for people in need of a job, usually they get leads from either leads from ads they make on the internet or from direct names of job seekers like from Hot Jobs on the Yahoo boards for example.

2) They send this person an email offering a great job making up to $4000 a month by transcribing doctor dictations. You take a free test and then you are told the training if free. But then you learn that you must pay for the $300 - $500 “special software” they use.

3) Once you buy the software you continue the training, but you never actually graduate. No matter how accurate you are in passing there tests they ALWAYS come back and find something wrong in your transcription.

4) When you realize that you have been duped you ask for your money back for the software you purchased. Well, guess what the software in non refundable!

5) This is their scheme. Pretend they are training you for at home medical transcription work which they will train you for free, then after you buy the software you are then placed in a bucket of patsy and you shall never graduate. What do they care, you bought the non-refundable software and they can claim till hell freezes over that you never pass their tests.

One of the saddest things about this is they look legit to most folks, they have a nice friendly web site so someone that is desperate in need of work and sees “free training” and you can make up to $4000 per month. Well this preys on the unemployed and desperate that obviously can’t afford to waste any money.

These people are shameless! Just Shameless and should be hog tied I believe.

Here are just some of the hundreds of complaints about them:

Transam Associates — Fraud and cheating company!
/URL removed/
http://www.whydowork.com/forums/transam-associates-t19121.html
http://www.scam.com/showthread.php?p=593459#post593459

Also important to note, these same 2 scammers have 2 other companies listed at the exact same address:

School of Medical Transcriptions
3433 Lithia Pinecrest Rd. Ste. 303
Valrico, FL 33599
Tel: [protected]
Owners: Alan Loehr and Linda Loehr
http://www.schoolofmedicaltranscription.com
Type of business: Medical Transcription School

And

Fly Babies
3433 Lithia Pinecrest Rd. Ste. 303
Valrico, FL 33594
Tel: [protected]
Fax: [protected]
Owners: Linda Loehr and Alan Loehr
Type of Business: Bird Breeders

(Apparently they sell Birds also?)

I am saddened by all of this, Pinellas and Hillsborough counties are great places to live/work/retire. I am hopeful the FBI's IC3 group cab do something.

If you have been scammed by these folks:

#1 Make a report with the FBI's IC3 (Internet Crime) site here: http://www.ic3.gov/complaint/default.aspx
#2 Alert the local law enforcement office for Valrico which is the Hillsborough County Sheriff's Office.
You can contact them here: http://www.hcso.tampa.fl.us/contact_us/question_form.htm

Responses

  • Ly
    Lynn Feb 26, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was contacted by them through beyond.com, also. I received the application agreement today, which says there is no obligation.
    Before filling out the agreement, I tried checking on this company with BBB online. I found nothing there. Then, I Google them and found this page.
    Thanks to all for the warning.
    I, like many of you need a real legitimate work at home job. I don't believe there are any out there that aren't a complete rip-off.

    Linda

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Scott Apr 04, 2009

    Thanks for taking the time to post this. I foolishly thought it was job opportunity. I have been out of work for over two months, and desperation drove me to replying to their scam. Unfortunately, I sent them my phone number before searching their company name.

    It wouldn't really matter anyway. I don't have the money or credit left to buy their trash. Shameless is a good word for them. the person who posted this complain is a good citizen for making this rip-off known. Thank you.
    -Scott

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Patti Apr 07, 2009

    Wow!!! Thanks so much for this warning. I did just like Linda. I am so glad I did before I sent them anymore information & my borrowed money. I have been looking for a ligitamate transcription company for a long time. I have friends that transcribe & they enjoy it. I like you am low on funds & can't afford to buy the "special software" or take more training courses. Thanks again so much.
    -Patti

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Dias Apr 13, 2009

    Thank you...thank you...for you who had posted this information. I also fell into their scam bag scheme. I also purchase their software but good thing I'm not in a rush to do so...
    Again thank for posting this information about this scam artists.

    0 Votes
  • Wr
    Writer54 Apr 26, 2009

    Thank you Everyone,
    Very much for the warning. I just wonder why after all these years Alan Loehr and Linda Loehr are still in business and haven't been shut-down as they should be. If I cheated on anything, I'd be arrested and probably put in jail - yet these fools, keep stealing money as if they have a right to do so, because they are still being allowed to do so.

    I'm glad to have learned from the post here, that you will NEVER graduate with this program therefore you will NEVER get the job they FALSELY PROMISED. They should have millions by now, you'd think they'd stop ripping innocent people off - GREEDY BASTAR*S
    Writer54

    0 Votes
  • Wr
    Writer54 Apr 26, 2009

    I called 813-681-4610 or 813-657-4130
    Although the 657-4130 is listed as the # for the bird breeders Mr. Loehr is on the voicemail (sounding old as death) stating that "you have reached the Transam Associates Corporation..." he's also on the voicemail for 681-4610.

    Upon receiving an email supposedly from recruiter, Kimberly Carton I replied with the following email:

    Transam Associates
    3433 Lithia-Pinecrest Rd. Ste. 303
    Valrico, FL 33594

    Hello Alan Loehr and Linda Loehr
    As it is doubtful that there is actually a Kimberly Carton Regional Recruiter
    and if there is such a person, she should be ashamed of herself for
    assisting you in the scam you've been perpetrating all these years.

    I'm curious, as OLD as you are now, have you not stolen enough money
    from innocent people seeking a legitimate means of income, how much
    more money do you actually need? Greed and selfishness is the enemy to
    the innocent - you MUST know that YOU are the ENEMY.

    Prayerfully there is a rightful place in hell for you and everyone who
    has helped you steal the millions of dollars that you have stolen
    throughout the years.

    Finally, if you were legitimately offering jobs, you'd offer a refund
    for the software & books job-seekers are REQUIRED to purchase from
    you. You should have merely offered software that MAY lead to a job,
    that way you wouldn't have sooooo many complaints about you and your
    shady business practices.

    You need not reply.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Friendly One Jun 03, 2009

    Wow!!! I'm so glad that I read the comments on this site. I was about to become an unwitting victim to these scammers! They are seriously shady and lack any bit of integrity. They will pay for their fraudulant business practices desguised as a ligitimate business. May God Have Mercy On Them Both!

    0 Votes
  • Wr
    Writer54 Jun 04, 2009

    Friendly One,
    I'm glad you didn't waste your money - and good luck with your search.

    0 Votes
  • Et
    ETThomas Jun 12, 2009

    i am soo glad i checked this board, i just recieved an email form them. Ive been without a job for a few months and cant even manage to buy groceries for my little girls, so naturally any money let alone 2-3, 000 dollars sounded good. Ill be sure not to accept any scammed job offers. It seams like all online jobs are complete scams, ive been looking for a legitimate one for 7years, and i think its high time i give up. Thanks for posting this blog

    1 Votes
  • Wr
    Writer54 Jun 12, 2009

    ETThomas,
    Prayerfully your income situation will change for the positive in a short period of time. In the meantime, don't waste money on the online rip-offs! They prey on people such as yourself who are in desperate need of money to support their family, only to disappoint you and steal your money. I too have been seeking an online for quite sometime and have as of recent given up the quest.
    Perhaps you can seek assistance and guidance (on job info) from your minister. Good luck.

    0 Votes
  • St
    STEFANIA LETNINI Jul 09, 2009

    OH MY GOSH! I KNEW MY GUT FEELING WAS RIGHT! SOMETHING ABOUT THIS "TRANSCRIVER" CRAP WAS SOO FRAUD TO ME AND THANK GOD THAT I GOOGLED!!! OH AND I ALMOST, ALMOST GOT IT! I TALKED TO THEIR "LIVE HELP" LIKE TWICE AND THOUGHT THAT IT WAS JUST ME BEING NEGATIVE! HA! OHHH WHAT ***HOLES!!! I SOO HATE PEOPLE LIKE THAT, PRETENDING TO BE GOOD AND STUFF AND THEN DO YOU WRONG SOOO WRONG! THANKS FOR ALL YOUR HELP, AND TO ANYONE OUT HERE DONT YOU DARE FALL FOR IT! IM SO PISSED BUT SO GLAD THAT I FOUND THIS OUT! BYE GUYS! GOOD LUCK FINDING A JOB! IM RIGHT THERE WTH YOU! :)

    0 Votes
  • St
    STEFANIA LETNINI Jul 09, 2009

    sooo agree with you! 100% ! what worless people!

    0 Votes
  • De
    Deborah K from Houston Jul 22, 2009

    Thank goodness my husband said google them for a scam before you even think of sending them money and i did. I am greatful I didnt send any money, I really thought it was legitimate because i found it on yahoo jobs. Thanks to everyone writing in.

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    rufflegirl Aug 14, 2009

    I was just emailed from them and of course just like others have said, a promise for a job and free training. I will not send them money either! I am looking for a real transcription job if anyone knows of it in the medical or legal field. I want a legitimate job.

    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Se
    sebra Aug 20, 2009

    Hi Everyone,

    They also tried to get me. I had put my resume up on Yahoo, and received an email saying they liked my qualifications. However, once I completed the dictation sample, they emailed me back asking me where I had heard from them. I knew then it was a scam. If I were so qualified shouldn't you know who I am. Anyway, I decided to Google it, and yes it is obviously a scam. Thanks everyone for all the helpful information.

    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    rukidding Aug 25, 2009

    Hi - Well, I wasn't so fortunate whaen it come to Transam. I fell hook, line and sinker into this mess. I have notified my credit card about the fraud, we'll see what happens there. I also wrote to my Senator informing him of the situation. Hopefully he will be able to assist me with this as well.

    These individuals who run this so called company ought to pay for what they have done..So I will not go down easy I will fight them for all they are worth.

    The only reason I fell for this is that # 1 I desperately need a job, #2 I have an ailing mother and thought a work at home job would help. That way I would be around to run her to Dr's appointments and such...

    Well, it's too late for myself with these scammers but I hope all others take head in the messages about them on the internet. Research before you jump. I did research them but not far enough I guess.

    1 Votes
  • St
    SteveKSFC Aug 25, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My wife almost fell for their fraud but asked me about them before she sent away for more information. I remeber them from way back when i was looking for something that I could do since I was put out to pasture do to a job related disability. If ones wants work or needs a job working from home there are many good companies to work for. Not this ###. Good Luck Job Hunting.

    1 Votes
  • Cr
    cristie Sep 01, 2009

    thank you all for the info.ya it sure looked good and this info is exactly why i came here! I wanna know why hotjobs is still letting them post the job?

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    cristie Sep 01, 2009

    I even researched this business with the bbc (the better business beuro)and there was nothing like this info there...why?

    0 Votes
  • Sb
    sbjm111 Sep 15, 2009

    Thank you all so much for posting your comments and warnings. I am a recent widow looking for extra income to make up for the loss. I really apperciate you all saving me from more misery.

    0 Votes
  • We
    webstergirl Sep 17, 2009

    I'm like everyone else posting comments about TransAmAssociates.com, I have been out of work for over 2 months and am desperate to find a good job, Transam contacted me(not me them) and said I could take this test transcription, when I did that and sent it back they emailed me back saying they were very impressed, and invited me to consider an application agreement??? Then they tryed to get me, hook, line and sinker. But something in the back of my mind said, "if they were legit, they wouldn't be asking me to spend $500 for their software and books", I still thought, I think I can afford this $500 and when I started actually making money with them, I would put that money back in my savings account to replenish it. I still couldn't get past the fact that they wanted me to pay to be able to take their training and work for them. Like the old adage, if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is. As of right now, I have not signed up with them or given them any money, and now after finding this information, I probably will not. I'm glad I found this information before it was too late.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    belleshappy Sep 21, 2009

    I looked at the Better Business Bureau to see if I could find any info on this company. I am leery of dealing with any company who will not refund dissatisfied customers. Here's what I found:

    BBB Rating for Transam Associates, Inc.
    Based on BBB files, Transam Associates, Inc. has a BBB Rating of C- on a scale from A+ to F.
    Reasons for this rating include:
    •Length of time business has been operating.
    •42 complaints filed against business
    Click here for an explanation of BBB Ratings
    The BBB has received complaints concerning the business's selling practices and product quality of the software it sells. Specifically, consumers filing complaints with the BBB have stated that the business misrepresents its program. Consumers stated that they are required to purchase medical transcription training software in order to work for the business. Once the software is purchased, the business then requires that they complete practice tests prior to being given paid work by the business. Consumers are not provided work by the business until the business feels they have successfully completed the program. Additionally, consumers have stated that the software the business requires does not work properly.

    The business has responded to all complaints brought to its attention by the BBB by providing an explanation of the situation. Specifically, the business has stated that the consumers filing complaints did not successfully complete the business's mentoring program, and it will continue to work with them to complete the program successfully. Some consumers remain dissatisfied with the business's response to their complaint.

    0 Votes
  • Et
    ETHICALWOMAN1! Oct 01, 2009

    Well, this is a positve and uplifting opinion on Transam Associates: what did you think when you purchased their software, it was going to do the work for you? This profession has a huge learning curve. And I am a satisfied customer. I have learned a lot and know I will learn constantly. It takes a lot of passion to do this type of work ---so if you don't have the work ETHIC don't complain about the COMPANY of LINDA LOEHR!!! I thoroughly enjoy the research involved and all the other work involved. I have found my PASSION! THANK YOU TRANSAM ASSOCIATES!!!

    Ellie

    -1 Votes
  • Di
    DixieMyers74 Nov 08, 2009

    I am in agreement with everyone here. I was contacted through one of the sites that I have my resume posted. I submitted the sample they requested. When they sent me an e-mail stating that my sample was accepted, the first line in all capitol letters was "how did I hear of them"? As someone stated above, if they pulled my resume then they should know how I heard of them. I have NEVER and will never send money to a company to gain employment. This is "RED FLAG #1" that something is not right. If a company can not employ you from home or otherwise without investment it is more than likely a scam. Save your money, sanity and dignity. Although I have been unemployed for 7 months I am not desperate enough to send money to ANYONE for a job opportunity and neither should you. Bless everyone who is seeking employment and or looking to improve their current employment status. I did see testimonials on Transam's website from people who have been taking their courses and it had more of religious brainwash feel to me. Why do all of the testimonials bless this couple who lured them in and quote scriptures? Personally, I thank "GOD' when it comes to the things in my life, not a married couple who have made a fortune off the backs of others. Good luck to you all.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    melaninbeauty23 Feb 05, 2010

    I am so thankful for the good deed you great citizens have done here. I myself have almost been scammed into giving up my hard earned money. I've wasted so much money trying to work from home that it's ridiculous and I belive like someone at the top of these reviews stated "i don't believe there are any real work from home, legitimate jobs". gREAT THING FOR FREEDOM OF SPEECH OR ELSE MANY PEOPLE WOULD BE TOAST.

    Thank You Again,

    Chereyll G.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    damovermeyer Feb 15, 2010

    Outstanding. Thanks for posting. I, like many of you, was about the "invest" in their silliness. I wanted to speak with a "human" before I invested money with them and they would/could not do this. I even called the main office and asked for Alan and they said that he would not speak with me. After this call I got to thinking, if I were a business owner, why would I not want to speak with a potential client/employee? Hmmm. The only thoughts that I came up with was that I had something to hide. I then got onto the "chat line" again and asked to speak with a human over the phone before I invested money and they said that the online chat thingy was free and that he/she was a human and could speak with me via the chat line. I even told them that I would pay for the call if they would give me a direct number. No luck. Bottom line - don't bother with this "opportunity". Kudos to all of you who did your homework as well.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mattjs11 Apr 13, 2010

    Wow, I am so glad I googled these people, but what a bummer! To be honest, I was really looking forward to doing this. It's insane how legit their websites look. I just got to the stage where they tell me the books cost $60 and they want me to have a live chat interview with them. I'm set up to meet with them at 9pm tonight EST 'cause I couldn't make the earlier appt they set up cuz I'm currently employed, but about to be laid off due to end of tax season.

    I think I'm going to continue with the chat interview and confront them when they let me know the fee for the software. This is just ruthless. I can't believe how cruel these people must be to prey on unemployed/laid-off people..

    Thank you so much for initially posting this. Definitely saved my butt.

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    lukyone Nov 18, 2010

    Has anyone here successfully got their money refunded from this company? I am trying as we speak, and am having a difficult time. This is infuriating. Not enough that they scam the way they do, but they will fight tooth and nail to win. Do Not get involved with MT Professionals or Transam Associates, they are crooks! They specialize in selling software, not hiring transcribers!!! RUN from their offer !!!

    0 Votes
  • Di
    DianeEhrman Jan 25, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well, I fell for it, hook, line, and sinker. I graduated from U.S. Career Institute (recommend this for transcription school) and hooked up with Transam looking for a job. I was told I needed "additional training." I did purchase their software, although I had to pass three tests. After months and months of "training, " I eventually did pass the three tests, got a Certificate of Achievement from Transam, and was told I was ready for "live" work. I just refused to give up. I now get notified by e-mail when I have a voice file to upload to transcribe. Well, I've been waiting and waiting. I did three small reports last week (for a total of about $2.50 - without taxes taken out). I just e-mailed them asking why I wasn't getting more work and was told that I was guaranteed work - just not guaranteed how MUCH work. After all, I'm just starting out. Now I'm pissed.

    0 Votes
  • St
    SteveKSFC Aug 07, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am surprised they are still in business but guess they must be "greasing " the correct palms. They have been at this scam for many years. I know about the scam for at least 10 years when they almost got my wife with it. I am glad she discussed it with me so I could check them out. All I can say is "Stay Away" for them. There are many scams out there on working from home. But there are many true jobs available also. The wife and I each found on that does pay us for our work and they (the company we contract with) can not get enough people. They have more seats available than they have people signed up. Anyway, glad there are still people who actually look before they leap into something. But do look as there are several companies who do hire people to work from home. Either as a employee or as a contractor. Either way they are legit.

    0 Votes

Post your comment