Today's Better Healthwithdrawal of money without authorization

1

This company withdrew money from our account without authorization to do so. In doing so they overdrew our account.
I called the 888 number above and tried to explain to them what they had done. They acted as if they didn't care. I repeatedly told them to cancel whatever was on the account and return our money to the bank. The lady who I talked to said they couldn't do that because the money had already been taken from our account.
I again explained the above. I told them we never wanted their products or authorized any withdrawal from our account. She still continued arguing there was nothing they could do. I again told her to cancel the order or whatever they had there to take our money. She again refused to do so. I than asked to speak to supervisor. She refused to let me talk to a supervisor. She continued to tell me that there was nothing they could do. I again asked for a supervisor. She again denied me the right to talk to them. She then hung up on me. I immediately called back hoping to get another person. The same lady answered the phone. I requested to speak to a supervisor. She refused to let me talk to one. The lady then hung up on me again. I repeated the above several more times. Each time hoping to get a different person. Each time getting the same person. the last time I called she said she is the one who answers the phone every day all day and that I am wasting my time. I then called the Better Business Bureau of California. I reported this to them. The lady there said my address and phone number would be available to the company. She also stated that there had been 37 complaints on this company and 36 are unresolved.I thought about it and decided not to do so for the fear of repercussions later.
I again tried to call and reason with the lady and she again hung up on me. I wnet to our bank and filed some paper work with them. The bank tells me we may have to close our account and cancell any debit cards due to this company. I hope there is something our bank can do. HOW can a company like this be allowed to run a business like this. This is absolutely againist the law. What can be done?? There has to be some kind of contact information for this company. They can and shouldn't be allowed to continue doing this to inisent people.

Responses

  • Ty
    Tyler Stucky Sep 24, 2008

    You weren't specific. Why would your bank want to close your account for one charge? Did the company offer exchanges? It seems to me you are slanting your comments without benefit of telling the whole story. I've hears A LOT worse.

    0 Votes
  • Em
    Emmanuel Rey Oct 09, 2008

    you stupid dick. The bank request to close it because they have ur card number. Ur identification. So beter close it than, waitng 4 another company to stole ur money n your debit or creditcard. To avoid that u should block ur account and request 4 new one. That ###in ###s who called me to buy there products dnt know how to undrstand the word NO!.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Caroline Oct 09, 2008

    We have had the EXACT same problem with this company. They contacted my father, a 77 year old stroke victim, got his financial information from him, and to date have charged over $743.00 to his credit card account for pills that would be extremely hazardous to his health if he were to take them.
    I get the same sneaky woman on the phone, who will not pass my call along to what I now know is ther non-existent customer service department. She has hung up on me 3 times, and laughed at me today. Very unprofessional, the worst of the worst. Don't know how they are allowed to operate like this.

    0 Votes
  • Aj
    AJ123 Oct 14, 2008

    I just called but I was ready for what was coming! We will call you and of course hang-up! I called back and informed them of their scam, my fedaral employee status and of their internet scam by hacking on decent people credit cards ACCOUNTS and I will be filling a FBI IC3 complaint (Internet crime complaint center because they hacked us $365. so do the math .
    743+365=1108 just 2 people. IT NEEDS TO STOP!!!Cancelled the card like we did and go forward check the FBI internet crime center for more information.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anthony Oct 16, 2008

    This just happen to me, and when I called Better Health the nasty b--ch that answered the brushed me off as if I was nothing, she apparently has no morals becayse if she did she wouldn't be involved with a company that takes from hard working people. I'm pissed off because something needs to be done about this company.

    0 Votes
  • Aj
    AJ123 Oct 16, 2008

    Everyone scamed by these fools just FILLED a FBI IC3 COMPLAINT! (Internet crime complaint center) Report them I did!!! The More the BETTER HEALTH :) we will be!

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scott Oct 17, 2008

    Ive had the EXACT SAME PROBLEM AND THE SAME RESPONSE.. same lady im sure, no supervisor, and told they will call you back.. then hung up on.. i was scammed 365.92 ive been reading the comments to your complaint and wow they are all the same.. i want to shut these people down

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Caroline Oct 20, 2008

    Good idea Aj. I"m going to file one today, and hopefully everyone else who has had the same experience with these low-lifes will do the same thing. I am also complaining to the BBB and the Att. General's Office of California. The more of a fuss we make, the more notice we might draw to these scammers.

    0 Votes
  • As
    Ashlee Oct 22, 2008

    The exact same thing happened to me... Except for it was for $$ 185.95, I called the company and the same lady answered the phone and told me that she was going to have to take my phone number and have someone call me back.. i looked this company up on BBB and got the owners name ... when i called and spoke with her, i asked for the gentelmans's name and she immediatly asked how I got that name... So the bank had me fill out a bunch of stuff to stop payment and i closed my bank account. So, Last week i became a member of thie pre-paid legal program, it only costs me 25 bucks a month ... anyways i contacted the lawyer with them and they said that they will investigate and get me my money bacK ASAP... They are working fast on it... I recommend them to help all of you too ... My goal is to get these low lifes to stop doing this to people...
    Ashlee

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Bea Oct 23, 2008

    Today i checkd my bank acct and had been debited for 371.86, i called the 888# and same girl answered she was very rude just like everyone stated, but i decided to leave a message for a call back with in about a min after hanging up i got a call back from a customer service supervisor he verified my acct information and who it was that had authorized the transaction and said that he was refunding my acct right away and i should have my money within 48 hrs. I guess now i just have to wait and see if i get my money back

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Caroline Oct 23, 2008

    Please let us know if you do get your refund, you'd certainly be in the minority of victims if you did. Maybe enough people are complaining now so that these morally corrupt people are finally starting to feel the pressure. But we shouldn't let up, no one should be allowed to get away with what they've been pulling.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    john marshall Oct 27, 2008

    This is a scam not all the victims have authorized the cards. Instead of trying the company contact your financial institution to file a fraud or dispute claim.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jonathan Oct 27, 2008

    I just got scammed with this today. Did anyone have any luck with getting their money back?

    0 Votes
  • Mt
    mtaf Oct 29, 2008

    i just be a victim of $ 185.95 from this bulshit company, i never authorized them, and i never order anything with them please tell me what ia suppose to do ? first of all i close my account . and then let me know what should be the next move, c'se we are not suppose to let them get away with that, we have to get the news involved on this ... to bring them down to justice

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Caroline Oct 29, 2008

    Everyone should file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau, and send a letter to the California Attorney General's office, letting them know what this company is doing. Hopefully, if enough complaints are received, someone will take action to help shut these crooks down.

    Have your credit card company put those charges into dispute and investigate them. Send your credit card company a copy of this website page, and the negative rating from the better business bureau website page, to prove to them that this is a shady company with bad business practices. Hopefully your bank will remove those charges, I'm happy to report that our bank did! Let's hear it for the good guys!!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shannon santos Nov 12, 2008

    Wow it's amazing what people will get away with. These people are total crooks. They are scaming people and they are just getting away with it. According to this companies resonse these poeple are lieing cheating ###!!!

    We also never ordered anything from their company and somehow they are getting out info! The called us and then an hour later they had charged $371 to our account. My bank is now investigating and now I am calling to the news as well. These poeple need to be stopped!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shannon santos Nov 12, 2008

    DOCTORED PHONE CALLS!!!

    Everyone should be informed that these people are doctoring phone calls!!! I received a phone call last night, they told my husband that he would be recieving a refund, asked him a bunch of questions almost like a servey, making sure he was answer yes to something, and then made it look like he was agreeing to by something, and of course I could not hear the tapes yet. I was standing right there when the call happened he told the guys we didn't want the product and that we wanted a refund!

    Now they are saying that the sale was a legitimate sale! When the guys even told me at first that the phone call was regarding a refund. People need to watch out who they talk to on the phone because people can scam you so fast you can't even see it coming!!!

    0 Votes
  • Zi
    ZIZ Nov 13, 2008

    be more careful when they call you asking you that they have recorded the conversation if you want to listen to it, say simply NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO, c'se if you said yes they might take that "yes "
    and assimilated with something regarding the order, cause computers records voices and can changed anytime, we have to stand against these imposteures. they are really determined to steal people hard working money . file a complaint to the fbi ic3, together we will prevail,

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    bastinado Nov 13, 2008

    I checked this company out because I couldn't believe that a company would just rip people off.

    I discovered that they sell nutritional supplements and their best sellers are male enhancement products.

    I know that such products are sold usually with a no return/no refund policy.

    I noticed that there are more women on the board than men which leads me to suspect that the majority of the complainers are short-dicked husbands/boyfriends caught by their wives/girlfriends who demand they send those pills back and get their money back, regardless of what they may have agreed to in the sales call.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shannon santos Nov 13, 2008

    You people are not fooling anyone, you are speaking just as vile as the idiots that work for the company, you probably work for them. Those of us who have complained have been real victims of a huge internet scam and you are probably one of them.

    Your comment means nothing to those of us that have really been victimized and your rude insults won't change the fact that these people and probably you too, are a bunch of lieing ###!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    bastinado Nov 13, 2008

    Shannon: Thanks for helping confirm what I can merely assert about the nature of the people complaining. You are one classy broad. I pity your poor husband.

    0 Votes
  • Mj
    M.J. Garrett Nov 14, 2008

    Oct 24 2008 a charge came on my american express for 737.74 and I immediately called AE before I ever received a pkg. I didnot order from them. I returned the package, insured and certified with request for signature. Cost me 25.00 to do this. They wouldn't accept the pkg back and I still don't know what is in the pkg.; but it is on the way back to me. I am thankful AE took it off and I also started an investigation with the Post Office. They are checking it too. These hoodlums should be run out of the country. How can they continue this for so long. That 700 is half of my income a month.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shannon santos Nov 15, 2008

    You know what bastinado you are absolutely right I'm actually very classy! I also don't play games with my money and I am in the process of doing everything I can to make it known what a buch disgusting crooks you people are! And even if you don't work for them, anyone who would agree with such actions is just as sick as they are!!! Every single person who has complained on here has had money stolen from them. This is why everytime you look up the name of the company, it is also connected with the word scam!

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    bastinado Nov 17, 2008

    Did you know that General Motors has over 280, 000 active complaints with the BBB?
    That Kmart has over 400, 000 active complaints?
    MacDonald's has close to a million.

    If you feel you are too, um, -classy- to shop there, then also watch out for Tiffany's (1, 102 active BBB complaints) and Ferrari Motorcars LTD (503 active consumer complaints). You should avoid eating at Wolfgang Puck's restaurants (2, 221 active complaints).

    Today's Better Health (a multimillion dollar company in business for 21 years) has a grand total of 146 active consumer complaints.

    Guess they aren't trying hard enough.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shannon santos Nov 17, 2008

    My question to you is, What do you care what people think of this company? I know how they became a multimillion dollar company! If they have so much money then maybe they should pay for some better customer service! None of them have any idea how to speak to a customer. I do however think it is pretty funny that you are comparing Todays Better Health to General Motors.

    And just to set the record strait, I never shopped there my husband never shopped there. They stole money from our account, we never gave them our credit card number! I also wasn't the one who used the word classy, that was you trying to insult me. I will not let this go I have already started several investigations. If they had a product that was worth anything they would have a decent guarantee on it! Since their product is probably as phony as they are they have to trick people to buy it!!!

    Also this multimillion dollar company better study up on their California laws because I know a couple that they are breaking!

    I really could care less about what you think anyway, I could care less if they have only done this to even five people, steeling from five people is still wrong and they should have to pay for it!

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    bastinado Nov 19, 2008

    What you are failing to grasp (purposefully or otherwise) is that nearly any company of the size of TBH will have a list of active complaints. Many if not of these are totally invalid. Valid or invalid, TBH has a relatively tiny number of active complaints (a few dozen out tens of thousands of sales per year) considering it's size and the length of time they have been in business.

    In the case of TBH, a majority of the complaints seem to come from the wives/girlfriends of men who order and later have buyer's remorse and wish to over-ride their agreement that all sales are final.

    In your particular case it's likely your husband ordered something of which you fail to approve, so you're trash-talking the company in an attempt to get back the purchase price.

    As to why I care: I am a sales professional with 25 years experience and I know BOTH sides of this type of story, so I'm here to help keep this sort of whining in perspective.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shannon santos Nov 19, 2008

    First of all don't you talk about MY situation! I know what happened, my husband knows what happened(and no he does not have buyers remorse!)I was the one who gave him the phone. The man told me he was calling george about a refund from extenze. So he lied right off the bat!!! So it seems likely that sinceou were not here for our particular case, you actually might not have any idea what you are talking about.

    Anway I have hounded them enouugh, they are refunding us our money, and for anyone else on here who has had this happen to them. Don't stop bugging them and make sure you get a copy of your recording. As for you Mr. Sales Professional I think you should also know that a company of that size should be keeping up with state laws. I know of a couple they have broken and I can prove it. I have actually nothing left to say to you because you are a waist of my time. I am however no liar and everything on her that I have said is the truth and I will stand by it.

    -1 Votes
  • Li
    LISA CHAMBERLAIN Nov 22, 2008

    I WOULD LIKE TO FILE A COMPLAINT MYSELF!!! THIS COMPANY TOOK 365.00 OF MY MONEY LAST NIGHT FROM MY ACCOUNT...NO PERMISSION WHATSOEVER! MY HUSBAND IS A FEDERAL AGENT AND SOMETHING WILL BE DONE ABOUT THIS!!! I AM FURIOUS AS TO WHY CRIMINALS CAN TAKE AN INDIVIDUAL'S MONEY FROM THEIR ACCOUNT WITHOUT AUTHORIZATION!!! BE AWARE...OF SCAMS LIKE THIS...I AM FILING A POLICE REPORT ON MONDAY MORNING AND I AM FILING A COMPLAIN WITH THE FEDS...THEN MY BANK HAS ALREADY TOLD ME THAT I CAN FILE A DISPUTE AND THEY WILL TAKE IT FROM THERE...

    0 Votes
  • An
    Andrew Allen Feb 05, 2009

    My name is Andrew Allen and I have also been a victim of this scam. I lost $128.93

    If anyone finds anything out please email me at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ku
    Kurt Grant Feb 10, 2009

    I have 2 questions. First has anyone recieved any products for this money that they scammed from you and second, has anyone checked into filing a civil suit against them. I'm sure we all have a case.

    ANY LAWYERS OUT THERE?

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mac Feb 21, 2009

    How do they get your bank information if you didnt give it to them ?

    Also, why not call your bank immediately and report a fraud. I had to do this once over charges from an overseas porn site. My bank immediately resolved the issue and put the money back into my account.

    0 Votes
  • Mw
    m. williams Feb 27, 2009

    We are having the same problem. Our credit card was charged &128.93 last week. I called and had the account frozen. There were also other charges from companies --travelbug, home play, todays escape, and budget savers, however those charges were less than $5. I attempted to call TBH to dispute the charge as I was told, left messages and was never called. Today we recieved the package which we did not open, and it states on the box there is a no return policy. I called and actually spoke to a person, but there system was down. I discovered this site googling because I figured I was getting blown off. After reading the many complaints, I contacted my cc company to tell them what was happening. She told me I must first return the package and get a tracking number or some type of confirmation from the post office. They cant dispute the charge if we have the product. I then have to wait 30 days, and if TBH has not refunded the money, the dispute process begins including finance charges that have accumulated. She also told me that all of the above named companies are affiliated with the "extenze" company and when you order their product via internet or phone, you are actually (somehow) agreeing to recieve products from these companies. Hope this helps. Be careful!!!

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Pat R. Mar 02, 2009

    Here is my experience with this company: On Feb. 11 I ordered a bottle of melatonin from them. Today I received it and was charged $2 more than I expected. This was insignificant but because of all the complaints from others, I called to make sure I would not encounter any additional charges. The person I talked to was very nice and polite. She assured me that I would not be sent anything I did not order and would not be charged for anything else. Maybe they have decided to change their ways!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael Mar 16, 2009

    I just got something tofay from them and noticed that my card was hit. I don't even know who they are and what's in the box. Sounds like a class actionj suit to me, If they can be found.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steve Robinson Mar 21, 2009

    ALL,

    The answer is simple - call your bank and challenge the charge. Not only will it cost the company money, $ 25 to $35, but it keeps them on a watch list. If you lose, challenge it again. You will win the 2nd time and get your money back.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steve Robinson Mar 21, 2009

    ALL,

    They get your information from Extenze - when you cancel all your information, name, address, phone number, AND your credit card numbers and the expiration date are given to them. Her is how to get your money back - guranteed!

    1. Call the bank / CC company to file a fraud charge complaint.
    2. Tell them you called the company to inquire about the charge and they told you it was valid. Don't bother really calling the company, it is a waste of time. TBH ripped you off so telling a little lie - ### them.
    3. When you get the paperwork, simply deny you ever spoke to them and demand your money. This causes a charge-back which causes TBH to be charged $25 ~ $35.
    4. If you win, great! If you lose, refile the challenge, TBH will not fight the 2nd charge as it costs them $$$ to pay for a binding arbitration case.
    5. If your bank wants you to return it - write in big bold letters on the outside of the box R-2005 or R-2083. The will accept the return under the mistaken impression it is a valit return code!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ci
    Cindy Mar 26, 2009

    This company withdrew money from our account without authorization earlier this month. I called my bank right away and we filed a dispute. I tried calling the number on this complaint and got an answering machine. I spoke with my bank today and they said this company refused to talk to them because they were a third party. My bank did have another number for them and recommended that I call them. That number is 888-293-6090. The person I spoke to was very nice and said this matter would be looked into. They would review the "non-existent" tape and refund our money if it is found it was not ordered. My husband did order a product from Extenze, but returned the product after he changed his mind. Extenze gladly refunded the money with no hassle. He then began getting calls from someone asking how he liked the product and he kept telling them he sent it back and closed his account and asked that he not be called anymore. Het got 3-4 calls a day some days. They never said they were from TBH. Well the package finally arrived and we returned it, but we didn't think to get tracking info. It did have a big note saying they do not give refunds or accept returns, so we will see what happened. Good luch to everyone that has had money stolen from this company. Lesson has been learned not to order from late night television!!!

    0 Votes
  • To
    Today's Better Health Apr 23, 2009

    I assist a gentleman with his bills and Today's Better Health scammed him out of $857.74. They did get him to say yeas to a question . I have been trying since last October 2008 to get the comany to respond to our complaint. Their mail box is full, they'll call me back and nothing ever happens. His son called and got nothing but rude attitudes. I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and Today's Better Health never even bothered to respond to them (California BBB). The gentleman I assist has dementia and this company totally took advantage of him. I hope people file complaints with FBI as previously discuused in a prior complaint.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    brandi Apr 23, 2009

    Same problem. I was told my money would be refunded, of course i never heard back. I never ordered this product and i never gave them my credit card. I have called dozens of times, left voice messages and often the phone was shut on me. I only spoke to one man who said his name was chris who specifically told me to write down his name for future reference. I than called the company and said i had not heard back from chris. They than directed me to the supervisor who said repeatedly that i was "liar" and than later called me a "###". and said no one name chris had ever worked there and that i was a liar. and than continued to yell at me over the phone and the would complain that i was talking. I just shut the phone. we got to take these people down

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris May 02, 2009

    Confirmed. This company has been scamming people into a fake sale. I received a call from them a few months ago, and the salesman tried to get me to buy some of their male performance tabs. I wasn't interested and despite his attempt to convince me, I said no thanks and hung up the phone. I received two or three more calls from this same number over the next month and ignored the call. Finally, I received a package in the mail from them and confirmed my card had been charged $478!! I immediately called AMEX to file a fraudulent charge. Amex immediately took the charge off, and a bit later confirmed my full refund after the company never responded to my challenge.

    Basically - as others have mentioned in these complaints - don't bother calling the company. File fraud charges with your credit card company which is the most painless way to get your money back and stick it to the dishonest ### who are trying to steal money from a lot of people.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem