The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
The Helman Group, Ltd.defective product

In August 2008, I received the Old Fashioned Movie Time Popcorn Maker Model #OFP-501 as a birthday gift. On the third use, the machine made a loud noise and stopped working. I obtained the receipt and e-mailed The Helman Group/Nostalgia on September 9, 2008. I asked them if the product should be returned to the store. I received a response on September 10, 2008 advising me that the product was still under warranty and that I needed to complete an online form. I completed the form on September 20. On September 24, I was advised to provide proof of purchase and ship the product back to Nostalgia. Once the product was received, they would send a replacement. With some delay, I shipped the defective product to Nostalgia on November 13, 2008.

I received no response or follow-up from Helman/Nostalgia whatsoever. On December 10, 2008, I sent an e-mail to confirm the product had been received (I had delivery confirmation on my end.) I received no response. I sent a second e-mail on December 28, 2008. Again, I received no response. I sent a third e-mail on January 15, 2009, threatening to file a complaint with the BBB. Again, I received no response. On January 30, 2009, I finally tracked down a phone number for Helman/Nostalgia. I left a message.

I received a call back from "Roberta, " who advised me that their had been a "corporate transition" and it was likely my e-mails had been "lost." With Roberta's help, I finally received a replacement product on February 14, 2009 - a full three months from when I had returned the product.

Now, my issue is that I am fighting them to refund the shipping charges ($20.80.) I could have just purchased a new popcorn maker for as much as it cost me to ship the thing back to them. After several additional e-mails to Roberta, I received a response (likely from a supervisor) advising me that my warranty letter says I am responsible for the shipping charges. The letter does say "shipping prepaid, " but I am going to continue to dispute with the company.

Their customer service is unacceptable and I would NEVER recommend anyone purchase their products.

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.