The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Test Prep Servicespossibly fradulent

After my son took a practice sat test at his school, I was phone about test prep materials that could help him. I was told that if I was not satisfied with the materials, I "must" call before 30 days have passed to return the materials for a refund of the nearly $180 cost. Additionally, there would be access to a website which would be free during the first 30 days, but that would automatically be charged $54.95 each month thereafter.

The materials come packed with letterhead sporting a eureka one-on-one review, llc logo, but upon calling eureka for the refund, they state that they do not charge people for the materials and that they do not conduct business in this fashion. A smaller card without any kind of a logo inserted with the eureka materials states that "test prep services" is the company who evidently has charged me and is conducting this concerning practice.

After I called today, I was told I was past the 30 days (I wasn't... ) and after much discussion, two offers were made for my refund: 1) $139 for a "processing & restocking fee;" and 2) $100 if I just wanted to hand on to the cds anyway.

Clearly, something is wrong here.

Responses

  • Su
    Sumaya Candy Apr 18, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    RUN AWAY!!! BEWARE...
    Achieve Test Prep are crooks! They lock you into a contract making you pay 46% of $13, 000 after canceling ONE class. They will attempt to reach you several times to get you to sign, making promises they will not keep. If you fail the test, it takes 6 months to be approved to test again and you have to pay for it again.ATP promises LPN to RN in 12 months but in reality it will take 2-3 years AFTER you pass the exams and the time it takes to schedule clinicals or retake exams. They don't offer help or tutoring, although they say they have a program called achieve 911. You can NEVER get a hold of anyone- all conversation or questions need an APPOINTMENT! Then they will send an email saying "Sorry, we tried to reach you" when in fact they DID NOT!. They lie and their promises are only VERBAL- Nothing in writing!. They STOLE over $5, 000 for ONE CLASS. Save your money! ENROLL in a community college.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Lori Mroz Rathgeber Dec 21, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Sumaya Candy I'm with you!! This company is just a front for phony test prep, with little support.. Save your money and go to Community College!

    0 Votes
  • Pj
    pjfiles Jul 11, 2017

    I purchased this software telling the representative that we wouldn't be able to use it until the summer...which would put me out of the 30 day window. I really didn't intend on returning it but when we tried to use it this summer...it wouldn't even load. When I contacted the company, they were extremely rude and unprofessional. I know that I won't be able to get any money back...but it would be nice to be able to use it. Don't purchase it...they offer life time support but what good is the support if you can't get anyone to answer the phone or return an email.

    0 Votes
  • Ci
    Cindy Ryan Dec 22, 2016

    Got ripped off $214!!! Do not believe them I believe this is a fraud trying to make my son to be prepared to take this test and in the long run you're getting ripped off so sad how you can do this to parents that care about their children... I need to be punished

    0 Votes
  • Ci
    Cindy Ryan Dec 22, 2016

    @Cindy Ryan *YOU NEED TO BE PUNISHED

    0 Votes
  • Ci
    Cindy Ryan Dec 22, 2016

    Samething happen to me!!! So DISAPPOINTED :(

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robert Carter 1 Sep 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    TPS does not give you your money back. We returned the kit within the timeframe and TPS said they would refund our $214. After several calls/emails they still have not. The last time we emailed they said they have a "cash flow problem". This company is unethical and lacks any integrity. There product is also outdated and is similar to other free products available

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nancy Dries Jul 05, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too was duped by this company. A woman named Brittany called while my grandson was in school. She assured me that if I didn't like it, return with a full refund, no questions asked. She said my grandson was asking about it. When he came home, he said he had never heard of TPS. This company is a total fraudulent business. I returned the product with the RAN number they gave me after calling for days. They had it back in less then two weeks.
    I keep getting the same answer " we just processed your return" 3 months later, still no refund. I will be very surprised if I ever hear from them again;
    PARENTS, GRANDPARENTS...BEAWARE

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Susan Altig Ouffoue Jun 07, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I do not like at all that they say they spoke with your child, your child expressed interested, etc. when they did NO such thing. In my opinion, that is wrong. I felt like it was something I had to do. I will be calling them today to cancel, hopefully before they even ship it out since he called me last night.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Teneesha Dunn May 25, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was contacted by someone today. She explained that my son (actually used his first and last name)... Signed up and showed interest in the program, thats how she supposedly got my contact information. She explained how the program worked and I must say she almost had me Sold! She said we could keep the materials for 30 days then return. Next she mentioned, some type of fee for $214.00 being charged to my credit card... Hold Up! Red Flag!!!... So I asked what the name of the website is so I could do some research on the company... She was hesitant and explained the fee would be double the price if I ordered from the website... I told her I've had bad experiences in the past giving out my card information over the phone. She quickly recited the website name as testprepservices.org... I asked her if she could call me back later after I reviewed the website. She told me if I didnt order NOW.. That my son name would be removed... After that... I hung up!... I definitely would consider this a fraudulent call... She asked for money upfront, was hesitant to answer my questions regarding the fee and website...

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stasialuvjesus Mar 28, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just got a call same as the rest of you. Brian Davis was from Test Prep Services and at my sons request he wanted to talk to me about the test prep disc. He said $199 dollars was a deal, they are normally $400 some odd dollars. I went down the hall to my sons room and asked him about it. He said he never recalled asking about these disc. I then told the man without talking to my husband and googling the company for a review or rating, I would not give him my card number or any other information. He promptly hung up on me. The number he called from was a 208 area code. Beware, if they are hanging up on you they are a scam...

    0 Votes
  • Sm
    Smscwilson Dec 01, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I, too, can't get my money back. I returned the discs, because they wouldn't load, to them and they magically got them 1 month after I returned them. Then no refund, weeks later, they said they have a cash flow problem and today they're still trying. This is horse crap! I'm so disappointed that I was so dumb to fall for this garbage. I've also filed with the BBB. DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT...IT DOESN'T WORK!

    0 Votes
  • Mm
    MMFl Sep 15, 2015

    I ordered a Test Prep Pyramid CD for my son to learn skills for his SAT and the ACT. The CD's will not fit his computer. I have tried to contact the company via email and phone. No one has responded back to me.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Patty Herke Aug 20, 2015

    These people are total FRAUDS. I can't believe I fell for this. They prey on kids taking the ACT and ask if they want help with future materials for the future test, if so check a box. Then they call and so politely ask your permission to order this product your child showed interest in but has to be 18 therefore they are asking the parent. I could go into a lot of detail but, bottom line. they are con artist and DO NOT refund money. Test Prep use your kids. Test Prep misrepresent by indicating your child wants the material as though your child sought them out first when in reality the child does not know what you are talking about and has no interest in this product. They promise you a refund but "YOU WILL NEVER SEE THE MONEY AGAIN!!!" Do not fall for these this!

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    cruiser50 Jun 24, 2015

    I got the same phone call and asked many questions. They said they were going to send the program, but did not ask or get my credit card information, so wondering how they think they are going to bill me. We'll see. If I see it in the mail, I will not even open it and put "return to sender". Thank you for all the posts to confirm that this is just another scam. If you are not getting what you feel you deserve, please report to the FTC. I have had to report a scam before and had very good documentation to the point where it went to trial to shut them down. I'm not afraid to do it again.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    mello165 Jun 15, 2015

    I purchased the disks with the guarantee that money would be refunded if the disks were returned within 30 days. My son tried them and they were in his opinion 'useless.' So we immediately returned them (within three weeks they were back in the hands ot TPS) and after 6 weeks we still have received no refund. They are at the very least unethical probably closer to outright criminals. I would NEVER buy anything from this organization again.

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    hockeymom2 May 15, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They are crooks. Called to get money back because software did not work. Then they tell me I need to go buy additional software in order for it to work. I called back to get my money back. all I get is voicemail. When someone did call, it was on my cell and i get very bad reception in my home. the man on the phone, who is a DISGRACE, gave me a 3 min. discussion on how rude and stupid I was for not answering the phone with a hello. This man is Psychotic I think his name is Mike. He claims he called my house 3 timeson Monday and was hung up on. I told him he did not cause I checked My caller id and the fact that no one was home on monday until 9pm. Then he went on to question me about how many people live in my home i told him that was none of his business. He then said i called him a liar, which i never did in those words and said he docent give info to people who think he is a liar . Well Mr. Liar I will be filling a complaint with Better Business Bureau and will be disputing the charge on my credit card. And by the way, He IS a LIAR!!! and nasty!!! Keep away from this product and this company.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shelby Bell Apr 07, 2015

    I was also scammed by Test Prep Services. The kit doesn't work and no one ever answered my calls. They finally answered my email with a very rude response, refusing to assist or offer a refund.

    0 Votes
  • Jl
    jlabusch Mar 04, 2015

    Well i just got a call from them and it sounded like something that could indeed benefit my son. So i told him I was interested but wanted to do a little more research and could he please call me back tomorrow (because he mentioned they were set to ship the packages out tomorrow)..and was promptly told NO MAAM...we cannot call anyone back and this offer cannot be extended past tonight. So..i quickly got on the internet while he was still explaining things to me and saw all the concerns of scam, hidden charges (so i asked specifically if there were any other charges involved...and was told "no". I decided to listen to that inner voice that says "sleep on it" and told him that I appreciated the information but I was going to decline his offer...and as soon as those words came out of my mouth..he hung up..not even a "thank you for your time" or anything..just CLICK! Now, after reading through all these comments I'm really glad I did pass!!! Sad that something so important has to done in such a shady way!!! They really could be making some money as all parents want to find that engaging tool that will help and benefit their kids... Sad!

    0 Votes
  • De
    DennisTy Feb 06, 2015

    Test Prep Services(TPS)..What a farce.
    Here is my experience with them. In September, my wife received a call stating that we had expressed interest in their program for helping future college kids improve their grades. In today’s competitive environment getting into college, she thought we give it a go.
    We received the disks, but it wouldn’t load onto our iMac. After a few calls, got a call back from Mike asking to try another method. When that failed, I called and got a call back. At that time, I asked for the return number they insisted on using and sent the disk back via UPS. I was informed once they had the disc’s, they would issue me a check for the cost of the disk, but not shipping. A few weeks later, I sent an e-mail and called(Going to mention that whenever I called, I always got a recording, never a person) inquiring about my refund. I got a call back, stating that Test prep had sent me an e-mail, using the email address I sent from. (Going to mention that he stated he sent me numerous e-mails, none of which I received. I get spam email all the time, but can’t get theirs!). The rep stated they never received the return and for me to contact UPS, claiming a lost package. UPS had sent me an e-mail stating package was delivered. I contacted UPS, stating that TPS claimed they didn’t get the return. UPS started a lost package claim. After many calls back and forth, UPS sent me another notice that TPS did in fact receive the package, which I forwarded to TPS. Once more, I had to call. When I got a call back, TPS stated he knew nothing on the notice and that I filed a lost package claim. I kinda’ blew a gasket and informed him I had sent the UPS notice to them, at which time he admitted, “oh, that email” and that he forwarded it accounting to pay me. By this time, 60 days from purchase had passed. I called the CC company and they stated has 60 days had passed, they couldn’t do anything. In one phone call, TPS did give me an e-mail, which was bogus.
    After getting more BS from TPS, I called my CC Company back, claiming theft and fraud. I told them the whole story and that I had proof the items had been returned. They sent me to another department and when I explain to them what happened, they stated they would start an investigation. I gave them the tracking number from UPS and faxed them the letter from UPS, stating TPS had indeed acknowledged they received my return.
    Much to my surprise, a week or so later, I received a letter from my CC company stating that the full amount, cost of discs plus shipping, had been credited to my account.
    I might add that whenever TPS called me, the number was always had an odd area code and didn’t take call backs.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    TelephoneWorkerBee Nov 12, 2014

    I worked for them for one day. Felt uncomfortable stating that your "student" has requested college prep information. Plus we were told to not do call backs because they did not result in sales. I am with you people...I would like to see the service/product that I am buying before I buy. We were told to either sell them or go on to the next call. I cannot speak about the return policy but it does seem weird that people are not given the chance to take a look or that we do not have a crafted email to send out with info. Was considering not going back then received a borderline abusive email from the owner. NOPE would not work there and would not recommend.

    0 Votes
  • You don't need to cancel the product. Simply tell your credit card company that you were scammed, and they will refund your money. It is then up to the scam company to prove you were not scammed.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    MomfromNC Oct 11, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please, please, please do not fall for this scam! I know better than to fall for these things, or so I thought I did. The sales person sounded so genuine over the phone and because he gave a website, his name and a 1-800 number I was fool enough to think this was a legitimate company. I should have done my research first.I wish I had read these comments before I agreed to the trial. As soon as I read the posted comments and complaints, I tried to call the company. Just like everyone said, you cannot talk to anyone. You can only leave a message. I also sent 3 emails demanding that the product be cancelled and not sent with no response. Because I do not want to pay the restocking fee that is posted no where on the website, I began the so called cancellation process within 30 minutes of when the order was placed.( When I asked about the cost to return the product the sales person said it would only cost me 5 stamps!) I immediately called my credit card company and they verified that Test Prep services had already charged my account. So much for a free 30 day trial right?! My credit card company said it would take a week to post to my account and then they will try to help me remove the charges. What a mess! I am so mad at myself for falling for this scam. Like all of us, we want what is best for our children and of course we want them to do well on the SAT so they can attend college. Please do not fall for this. I only hope that those of you reading this are in the research phase regarding this product and that you have not already fallen prey to the crooked business practices of this company! How dare they use our children as prey! I will also be contacting our school system so they can get word out to other parents.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Test Prep Services SCAM!!! Sep 25, 2014

    Find me even one person who returned this product and got their money back without a lot of additional hassle. This company's business practices are dismal. The customer service rep I worked with on my product return went from congenial to combative in 2 seconds flat. I made multiple contacts to obtain the required Return Authorization Number, then immediately sent the package exactly according to their instructions by Priority Mail. Unfortunately, either I or someone in my family threw out the post office receipt with the tracking number and guess what, my records with the Return Authorization Number. Never received my money back, and was verbally abused by the "customer service rep" by e-mail, accusing me of slander because I mentioned I would post a bad review. He e-mailed me several times a day demanding that I apologize, like a jilted lover or something, even after I stopped responding. Sick, sick, sick! Over $200 down the drain for me; I don't even have their sub-par overpriced product anymore. Stay far, far away!!! You can order superior products for much less from Amazon, and they stand behind their sales!

    1 Votes
  • De
    DesertFarmer May 13, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This company has a hard 30-day limit for any refund whatsoever. It is impossible for a kid or parent to tell if the test preparation they sell does any good at all within 30 days.
    The software is very poorly written, hard to use, is not Mac-compatible, and generally worthless.

    0 Votes
  • 9t
    9th Grade Parent Dec 18, 2013

    My wife "fell" for the line 'your husband expressed an interest in our product' and purchased the product. When we received it and did a quick test, we determined immediately that it was NOT what we wanted. The disks say that its compatible with Windows 98/ME/XP so its obviously dated. My son loaded the first disc and it was low quality, 4" x 4" video screens on his monitor. We have tried over 10 times to call the number on the order form [protected]), send emails to the address on their website, and have even received a second call trying to sell it again - and told them we wanted to return the version we had (they hung up on my wife this time!). This is a SCAM, do not fall for this. I hope that they call while I am home so I can tell the LOSERS a piece of my mind. They are on par with the Indian scam "your PC is sending error messages to us and we need to remotely fix it". Terrible people pray on children in this way.

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    RuthG Oct 15, 2013

    Just received a phone call today from a Miss Sarah Thomas regarding their final "push" for special student discount of $199 and wanting to close business by end of day today or at latest tomorow. I told her I would like to see some literature before shelling out $200 and she said they did not have the time to send emails..that seeing and using the product was believing; that it was rare that the CDs were ever returned. There was no mention about the additional cost of the scholarship piece during the phone conversation..but good to know. After the conversation, I pulled up Test Prep Services complaints on the web and found this site...I am thankful for finding it, and want others to also know of my experience.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dan3 May 16, 2013

    I was called today [protected]) by someone who gave his name as Mr Spencer Perna representing "Test Prep Services". My phone log shows his calling location as San Diego, with a phone of [protected]. On call-back that responds with "not a working number"). Mr Perna called to say my High School sophomore had requested info (via the internet, porbably from school) on their SAT-preparation CD instructional materials. The price he offered was $199.99 but this also had a 30-day free trial available. He gave the web site as www.TestPrepServices.org -- which does resolve to a valid URL with advertisement for such a product. Perna also gave a phone number of [protected]-SAT-ACT).
    The web site lists the product price as $444. However, when I asked for verification (or e-mail) that _his_ offer price to me was $199 and that a no-charge trial was included, he stated he did not have time to send e-mail and immediately hung-up. After school, my 10th grade student said he never requested information on this product..

    0 Votes
  • Sb
    sbsb Sep 29, 2012

    Be forewarned... Similar story here... I was called today by a depressed-sounding man and told that my 10th-grade son had filled out interest form at a college fair. After asking some questions about the program and fabulous results that the guy described, I put he guy on hold to question my son. He DID NOT request any info from anybody at anytime. The man accused my son of LYING. Then said perhaps he requested info in lower grades, like 8th grade, two years ago! That would make for a very delayed sales pitch! I said I homeschooled him through 8th grade and he would never be in a place to fill out a request. The man got flustered. I said remove me from the call list and he hung up on me.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alaskamom Aug 06, 2012

    I feel like an idiot. I know better than to get sucked in by this sort of thing, but I had been thinking that I wanted to have my son participate in a test preparation class and this seemed like a good solution and similar in price to the class. I have not noticed any additional charges to my credit card and I don't recall any mention of a scholarship site that would have a free month and then monthly charge. What I was told was that there was a panel of teachers, aka writing experts, who would always be available to edit and help with writing assignments, application essays, etc. I really liked that aspect because I feel they get so little teacher led editing and correction in school now. How are they going to learn to write well if an expert does not show them exactly how to do it better?! Can only hope that their "experts" are really the professors and teachers they claim them to be! While I feel sick to my stomach reading all this stuff (which I should have done before I agreed to this!) the 30 day return period is well past, my son has used one of the vocabulary discs which seems fun, but my main concern now, apart from their questionable business practices is, are the materials they provide of value? Is there learning that can occur by using them? My only recourse now would be through their guarantee of a 200/4 point increase in SAT/ACT scores if that did not happen. And after reading what everyone has said, I probably would have a better chance of winning the lottery than in getting my refund! If anyone can address the quality of the discs rather than the business practices, I would appreciate it! Thanks.

    1 Votes
  • Fc
    FCKU Sep 29, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    AND BE CAREFUL, IRA IS IN THE MIDDLE OF CHANGING THE WEBSITE BECAUSE OF TOO MANY COMPLAINTS...CROOK CROOK CROOK...THEY ARE BASED OUT OF SAN DIEGO

    1 Votes
  • Fc
    FCKU Sep 29, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    COMPLETE CROOKS!!!THEY GO THRU TELEMARKETERS AND TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THE PEOPLE THAT TRULY CARE ABOUT THEIR KIDS EDUCATION. THE OWNER IRA IS A SELFISH BUSINESS THAT TRULY DESERVES THE "F" RATING FROM THE BBB...IF THEY CALL YOU, MY ADVISE RUN RUN RUN AS FAST AS YOU CAN...

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Paul G Highlands Ranch Sep 27, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    To: Ken Gardiner, Test Prep Services telemarketer. I suggest you take your own advise and please do check with BBB in California and you will see in black and white that indeed TEST PREP SERVICES.ORG has a well deserved 'F' RATING. And you also know darn well, that new reps have no clue consumers will be charged a "restocking fee" which is never told to the consumer either. And you also know Ira's customer service numer is just a voicemail service that is filled with angry customers and for years there was no other way for a parent to cancel this boogus service so the parent was dinged another $45.00 as they didnt obtain a "cancellation authoraztion number" is this what you refer to in your line bout "ZERO TOLERANCE" ??? Your so full of yourself and Ira you cant see the truth if it hit you in the face. And you also know that this test prep can be bought new and unopened for under $45.00.

    0 Votes
  • Tg
    tgk May 27, 2010

    i took day off work today, the test prep people called and mentioned that my son is very interested in their software, they called while my son is still at school. anyway, they claim after the test prep session they guaranteed at least 4 points increase, and it had 12 DVD covers all topics. I ended up Ok it with a credit card. total sum of $214, $14 is non refundable shipping cost. And have 30 days to examine. after my son got back from school, he does not seem to know what I am talking about, prompted me to google and found this site, called their number, left message both on email as well, check with my credit card company, it seems that they charged and provided refund. Thanks for the post! I found a 2007 kaplan version for $1.35 on amazon and will try that out first.

    0 Votes
  • Av
    averagejoe50 May 18, 2010

    YES! thank you all for your comments, I just got off the phone with a stressed out telemarketer as this is their "push" time, he was promising me the world and that I will be able to get my money back if I wasn't happy and blah blah blah. You know the story. I told him that I wanted to talk it over with my Kid and spouse and suggested he call back another time. That's not their plan! I hung up. Stay away from this at all costs! I have a feeling they are based out of Florida, which has the worst bunko consumer laws in the Nation! I try to never buy anything from Florida!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mississippi Mike Jan 31, 2010

    Thank you for all the feedback. I was planning to shell out the $170 for my child because we all have a desire to do the best for our kids.

    But when a company acts irresponsibly they dont deserve customers. And too many companies in America are dishonest.

    Thank you all for the warnings and thanks especially to Kitiany

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kitiany Sep 17, 2009

    "Possibly" is a very good qualifier for this business. In the strictest sense of the law, I have no comment. They too called me a few hours ago saying my daughter "expressed interest" in their SAT/ACT/PSAT product during a practice test she took. It sounded legitimate. They offering software for $159 with a 30 day free-trial, but they needed me to "secure it" with a credit card. I gave them my credit card information (even though every bone in my body said "don't do it". My daughter walks in and I ask her about it while the telemarketer was still on the line whether she requested it. My daughter said "no". I asked the telemarketer to cancel the order. The telemarketer hangs up immediately. I will keep an eye on my credit card charges and will contest if it ever shows up. Legit? Maybe. But then I search on Amazon -- Kaplan SAT/ACT/PSAT Platinum Edition with a list price of $49.99 but selling at less than $25. Gold Edition with list price of $29.99 selling for $15. Even if legitimate, I would have been way over paying for software that does not change much from year to year. You can get software with box dates a few years old for under $10. Or you can borrow it free from your school or library. I would give them better credit if they marketed their product like their competitors and offered it at a price close to others.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    arbez Sep 16, 2009

    I was scammed the same way. I was told I could examine the product for 30 days. "You'll have a full 30 days to try it out, " was the exact phrase. I did so, and called to return the program after 25 days. I left a message asking for a RMA to return product. I received a return phone call three days later stating that it was too late to return the program. After I pointed out that it had not been 30 days, they gave me the run around, I called two more times only to be given further runaround. Ended up costing me 129 + shipping. THERE WAS NEVER ANY MENTION of accompanying Scholarship Guide Service which bills at $54.95 per month until I received package. They billed this after 25 days (not 30 as it says in their literature). THIS WAS A TOTAL SCAM! THEY MISSTATED CONDITIONS, WERE DISHONEST WITH TIMEFRAME AND RETURNING CALLS... I feel I WAS "HAD." In my opinion, if you risk ordering from TPS you may get SCREWED as I did! My advice...STAY AWAY!
    RW

    2 Votes
  • Ts
    T.S. Sep 04, 2009

    I, too, purchased the preperatory materials from TPS. I can say in good faith that my Students (twins) benefitted from the materials. The optional scholarship guide service was given to us gratis for 30 days and we were told we could opt out of that if we chose to. We did, and they canceled this at our request. We were never billed. I have no complaints here. T.S.

    0 Votes
  • Xc
    xChecquer Jul 10, 2009

    you are right. the person at the top, kenneth gardner, works for tps; tps does mislead people by not stating the full conditions; don't waste your money; and they are not very responsible as well; complain to the BBB, post office, etc. they'll get what they deserve.

    3 Votes
  • Qu
    Quent Jul 07, 2009

    My husband was called by Test prep services and agreed to pay $178. once we received ithe materials we decided it was too much. We too called the number 4 times and got a message stating they would return our call with in 48 hrs. 5 days later there was still no call. i then looked up their website and it stated the return policy has to be within 30 days. we are still in that window of time, however the web site say it will not allow returns with out a special code that they must give out. I emailed them for the code and did get a reply, instead of the special code i asked for, it offered to refund $100 and let us keep the items for $78. they also said they will not refund the shipping fee, which is fine, but will also charge us a $20 restocking fee too. I feel like they are a scam, any real company would have no problem returning an item, without all these strings they attach to make it harder, plus never returning calls given to them. The people that posted the positive reply obviously work for the company!

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    Justina Jun 28, 2009

    Test Prep Services is all right. After fielding many complaints to the BBB in my job, I found that the main fear from parents is that this company had claimed to have spoken personally with their students. The company merely uses the phrase "your student expressed interest in our program" which includes visiting web sites, college fairs, and parent/educator meetings. The company is legitimate by legal business standards. They offer the program on 30-day evaluation, with a standard return and refund policy. They are forbidden by law to conduct business with minors, which is why they always ask for the parents with the opening line of "expressed interest." These are just telemarketers trying to make a living folks, no need to call 60 minutes or flood the BBB hotline because you gave them your credit card information.

    -2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.