The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Summit Merchant Solutionsrip off

Good morning,

My name is XXXXX and I was recruited by April and trained by Stephanie Hudson on Wednesday February 18th. I was under the impression I was to receive 3-5 pre-set appointments daily by the marketing department; they were to call and speak with the decision maker/owner and confirm appointments. On Thursday February 18th I spoke with Mike Patterson my sales team leader from team 11, he said to call him Thursday February 19th at 10 a.m. and he'd have some appointments for me. I called him on the 19th at 10 a.m. and he said he only had one appointment for me and he gave me the name and address via phone, Bell Cleaners at 6471 28th SE Grand Rapids, MI and the owner as Jizette. I arrived at my 11:30 appointment and an employee named John said nobody works there by a name of Jizette and Dan Bell the owner is not in, I then proceeded to call Mike Patterson and he then told me this was not an appointment but something old from the board??? This was a 40-mile trip on a false appointment with a person who never worked there!!! Mike Patterson told me he'd call me back in 30-40 minutes with an appointment and to just hold tight and cold call the area. He never returned my call that day and scheduled no appointments for me. I spoke with Mike Patterson on Friday February 20th at 10 a.m. again and he told me he was sorry he never called me back and said I had three appointments scheduled for me for [protected]. He gave me the name and address of the first appointment for a Next Level Cellular at 11 Jefferson Ave SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49503 1 p.m. with Nathan Peters. I asked Mike about the other two appointments and he said to call him later, I asked him for the names and times so I could map quest them before I left and then he proceeded to apologize as the appointments were not in my area and he said he'd have a talk with the scheduler and get me new ones. I arrived at my scheduled 1 p.m. appointment at Next Level Cellular at 11 Jefferson Ave, SE Grand Rapids, MI and to my surprise... The building is vacant and the business next door said they are out of business and have not been there for a while now!!! Prior to this appointment Mike told me this appointment was set on Thursday Feb, 19 2009 which was the prior day, now obviously this is not the case as the phone# for this business is also a personal cell phone of a Mark XXXX 616-890-xxxx. I contacted Mike Patterson regarding these bogus appointments and have had no response, as of yet, it is 11 a.m. now on Monday February 23rd, no response from Mike and no appointments since I started last week. I would like an explanation from somebody as to what is going on here and why no appointments have been set as of yet, why have I been lied to? I drove 75 miles last week Thursday and Friday to bogus appointments and have had no explanation or apology at this point. How can I run 3-5 daily pre-set appointments if none are set? I have now come across many articles on indeed.com and /link removed/ regarding summit and TRANSTECH MERCHANT GROUP, very disturbing. Links below... Please respond.

Responses

  • Ri
    rick8548 Nov 17, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They are not too reputable. I worked for them for 3 weeks and had one appointment that the customer actually was expecting me. I drove 50 miles for one appointment and found out that someone else from Summit was there the day before and the customer didn't even know I was coming out there today.

    Summit states they contact the appointment three times to verify prior to the representatives appointment. I had one this past Friday that thought I was out there to review his mother's personal American Express Corporate Card. This company was in the recycle business and didn't deal with the public. My next appointment was at a unisex barber salon. I was to meet with the owner by the name of Mike. Guess what? No one by that name owned or worked there nor was the owner there. I visited one client at his home, he was puzzled and angry that I was there because he made no appointment and told the telemarketer that he was in the thinking stage and not ready to do anything.

    Stay away from this company. If this is the way they treat their employees, I shudder to think how they treat their clients.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    rick8548 Nov 17, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    One more thing. They advertise that you'll have 2 to 4 leads per day. the most I had were three and two were bogus. My Team Leader stresses that you need to make cold calls to succeed even though it contradicts what they advertise. Summit could telemarket in a professional way and make bonafide appointments by having trained phone representatives. For some reason Summit enjoys being deceptive to customer and employee alike.

    I guess some folks would rather make $2.00 the wrong way than $5.00 the right way.

    -1 Votes
  • Sa
    Sara Beth Lee Jan 27, 2009

    I have worked as an outside sales rep with Summit for 2 months now. I have had some appointments that I have had to overcome quite a few objections but all and all, I am a good sales person and have been able to close at least 2 deals a week. I am making good money and my team leader is very helpful. I enjoy Summit and the money I am making. You should try it.

    1 Votes
  • Se
    SeanBoggz Apr 03, 2009

    You guys were hired for a sales position. Sales aren't just going to fall into your lap. When you didn't make a sale or the appointment blew up did you try going to the business next door to it? How about one down the street on the way there? I'm sorry but if you are hired to do sales then don't complain if you don't try to promote yourself. No I don't work there and never have but I have done sales jobs in the past and you have to work for your sales not let somebody else do all the work and you take all the credit by closing after they did the hard part.

    3 Votes
  • Cu
    curious Apr 03, 2009

    Does this company ask for money when they hire you? I am trying to understand their angle and the point of hiring people under false pretenses . How do they benefit financially from false leads or companies that do not exist?

    0 Votes
  • Su
    summit ignorance Apr 22, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I dont think you really know about Summit they expect you to RIPP OFF MERCHANTS period. IF your going to make any money with there company your supposed to sell a 600.00 point of sale device in a 60 mo lease at 99.00 a mo thats 6000.00 GOOD LUCK SEAN BOGGZ

    -2 Votes
  • Se
    SeanBoggz Apr 22, 2009

    I don't know where you got this magical $600.00 figure but to buy it outright is way over that. Even for the crappier models that other companies sell the prices are well over $600. I've been with these guys for just over 2 weeks and I've already made 1k so I think I'll stick here and just work on my presentation a bit more so I can increase my sales but my argument still stands. If you had actually worked you would have made money just like I have. Sales isn't for everyone, but hey good luck at your 9-5 job.

    2 Votes
  • Aj
    AJC Apr 28, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've been working for this company since the beginning of February 2009, Have to admit my first day had me kind of scared 3 appointments were given to me and the first 2 the person i was supposed to speak with was not there. My third appointment was not like that. Even though the merchant, an auto repair facility, wasn't expecting me I was able to to still talk with them and close the sale on the first day, which made me about $600. Not bad for one appointment. Since then I have been able to close between 2-6 appointments a week.
    One must ask themselves before starting a career in sales if there able to take rejection well. You cannot expect to walk in and close every appointment you go in on, Its not going to happen. The complaint's shown here have been from people who really haven't even made it over the learning curve for this type of product.
    My Team Leader, Mark, Has taught me alot in the time i have been with this company and is always there if i need help, and if he happens to be busy there is always help just a phone call away.
    The last thing i must say is even though they advertise that you don't need to cold call you should anyway. It's Basic Sales 101, plus you make more in commissions as well.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    BOOM May 01, 2009

    kinda funny how sean never worked there but obviously works for another similar company. It sounds like sean made one sale and he's not even done half of what the guys who have made complaints do! another rookie who has had very limited success and obviously not a great sales person hes only been with current company a couple of weeks. talk to me in 2-3months sean, instead of eating every thing your team coach says, see for yourself, Iv'e learned some can only learn the hard way. BOOM

    1 Votes
  • Re
    regret May 04, 2009

    Everyone who has interested in this company... Please read this one.

    I am owner of small business... two months ago sales rep of the summit merchant came to my store and PROMISED to save a fee of transaction. and He called to his boss to Confirm what his saying is "True" and I signed...

    BUT AS EVERYONE CAN GUESS EVERYTHING WAS LIES...

    I called to sales rep and complained about it. He said he QUIT a job and said to me Sorry... I realized he didn't even know what he sold for... I couldn't believe it but really it is... He seems to be suffered for what he has done... Yes.. I have to go with this company for three years with all kind of hidden fees... because I signed...

    However I believe you can save your time & money... most of all your soul...

    Don't !! Never !! be with this company...

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Unique Sep 24, 2009

    THIS COMPANY SUCKS! WHAT A SCAM! THE PAYMENT PRO EQUIPMENT THEY SELL ISN"T COMPATABLE W/ ANY OTHER SERVICE PROVIDER! They lease equipment @ $100.00 per month for 60 months that's $6, 000 for a machine that is only compatable with there BULL CRAP SERVICE! That same machine with a name brand is about $400.00 and it's compatable with other proccessing company's! They lock you into a 3 year contract that costs a ton to get out of and of course that is never revieled to the business owner opon signing up for the service! WHAT A RIP OFF!

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Unique Sep 24, 2009

    I am a top sales rep in the usa, presidents achievement yellow book usa that's top 3% in the country! I was contacted by summit merchant solutions and ALL THEY WANT YOU TO DO IS RIP OFF BUSINESS OWNERS! If you want to do payment processing find a good company to work for! SUMMIT IS A SCAM RIP OFF CON GAME! ### ### ###! And it's not because im a weak sales professional! SUMMIT MERCHANT SOLUTIONS YOU SUCK! But hey that's ok because I now work for a reputable payment processor, and my competition YOU sucks!

    -1 Votes
  • Li
    Lisaluvspuggles Sep 28, 2009

    I just got off the phone with a recruiter for this company out of Texas a few minutes ago. He came across my resume on Monster. He sounded uneducated and was very difficult to understand and used slang throughout our conversation. He informed me he was previously a car sales person, and he wished someone would have told him about this company years ago!

    Anyways, he offered me the position after a five minute phone conversation promising at least three "warm" prequalified leads a day. A $600 a month car and cell phone allowance, full medical, vision, and dental after 90 days, and a $2000 bonus after closing your 10th sale. He assured me that the average closing rate was 40%! He also said that if I didnt close the deal, my team leader would close it for me, and I still would get my full commission, anywhere from $200 to $1045 an appointment! I did a rough estimate in my head, and on the low end it came to $5400 a month!

    The next step is to fill out a criminal background clearance and employment application, email it back, they set you up for a one day training "webinar, " and the next day you start on your three "warm" leads generated for you...and you are on your way to making "big bucks!" Does this sound familiar?

    My father always told me, if it sounds to good to be true, it generally is. I went on this blog site to reconfirm what I already knew about this company...It is a joke and a rip off! This was helpful to me, and I hope it is helpful to others as well. Good luck on your job search everyone! Take care!

    0 Votes
  • Jc
    jc1234 Oct 05, 2009

    I work for summit now and it is truly misleading, as the complaint says we are told we will get 3-5 pre-qualified appointments per day. However what they do is look into a computer and pick out business in your area or within 20miles and tell you the name of the business owner and say go sell them. There is no allowance so everything you do is out of pocket not a good deal.

    As for the appts. the people you talk to are not even aware you are coming and most of the time you they are not even the right people. what also makes this a very shaddy is the fact they will not let you leave rates and make you sign the person up that day, so the the businesses can actually run the numbers.

    I WAS TOLD NO COLD CALLING AND THAT IS ALL YOU DO. THIS JOB SUCKS SO HARD AND IT ACTUALLY TAKES MONEY OUT OF YOUR POCKET. SUMMIT IS A TERRIBLE COMPANY THAT CAN RUIN BUSINESSES INSTEAD OF HELPING THEM. IF YOU ARE CONTACTED SAY THANK YOU AND HANG UP UNLESS YOU LIKE PAYING PEOPLE TO WORK.

    -1 Votes
  • Th
    The Man on the moon Nov 05, 2009

    EVERYONE IS NOT CUT OUT FOR SALES. YOU HAVE TWO TYPE OF PEOPLE IN THIS WORLD THOSE WHO WAIT FOR THINGS TO HAPPEN AND THOSE WHO MAKE THINGS HAPPEN. What it comes down to most people are order takers.

    0 Votes
  • Rr
    rray Feb 19, 2010

    Ugh I am very disgusted with these people. I just received a call for an opportunity to work for them. It was a quick two min phone conversation confirming my current job and she asked me to put in my two week notice so i can start next week. I am desperate in finding a good job and from all the 30+ applications i have put in i finally got a call. I was so exited i told my boyfriend about it and he was happy for me. Then i told him they asked me to quit my job he said "NO, do your research first, this sounds bogus!" So I did just that and oh guess what i find?! I found complaints from people receiving calls from this company and then I found this page. So thank you everyone for stopping me from making a HUGE mistake!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chryss Feb 24, 2010

    i submitted my application in waco for the city, and almost bypassed going to take my assessment for that job to do this training class they want me to do tomorrow. i am glad i found this site as i will just not go with summit and keep up the hard work interviewing and looking for a job. i do know someone that did do well selling machines to businesses etc... however i do not think, after reading all this, , that this is the company to do that with.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JonBd Mar 18, 2010

    I interviewed with this company yesterday. The guy sounded like a complete loser. Horribly unprofessional, I knew something was amiss. From the first minute, I knew I probably was not interested in this opportunity but I wanted to hear what they had to offer. Like others before me, the gentleman discussed out of this world monetary possibilities. Basically, that there is no way to make less than $70, 000 in your first year. He wanted me to do the web training tomorrow (today) but informed him that I was out of town. I was actually just buying time to check out a company who would offer a job to someone after 30 minutes of conversation. He seemed confused that I would not be able to do it even though I was out of town. When I informed him I did not have my computer with him, he said I could do it at the local library. Yeah, OK. Then he mentioned there would be an "emergency" training session on Monday. So this is when I bid my farewell with "leaved me your number and I'll call you back". He says he sent me an email that had all the information I need to make my decision. I never got it. But the thing that made me laugh was after every sentence and in the middle of most he repeated my name. He must have said it 300 times in 30 minutes and this morning, this same idiot calls me and I let him ramble for about five minutes before I stopped him and asked if he remembered talking to me yesterday. He said "No, I have no notes on that". Yeah, because you are probably too stupid to write. Stay away.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mrs Estrada Apr 15, 2010

    I just decided to give this a try. I'll keep y'all posted as to how it goes. I'm a sales person...love it, live it. I did review the BBB report on this company and found it lacking. I'll ask the hard questions and give you all a non-biased, upfront and truthful conclusion in the following weeks.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    MRS.BEEZY Apr 26, 2010

    I APPLIED FOR THE OFFICE IN RICHARDSON, TX I GOT THE JOB BUT LITTLE DID I KNOW THAT THEY WOULD FIRE ME BECAUSE I HAD A MISDAMENOR ON MY RECORD. NOW KEEP IN MIND ON THE APPLICATION IT ASK " HAVE YOU EVER BEEN" CONVICTED" NOW I'VE NEVER BEEN CONVICTED OF ANYTHING BUT THEY HAVE WELL KNOWN DRUG DEALERS AND SHOPLIFTERS WORKING FOR THEM. I M VERY QUALIFIED FOR THE POSITION BUT THEY CHOSE TO LET ME GO. I HAVE NIT YET TO RECEIVE MY PAY BUT THEY BUT DON'T ANSWER THE NOW... UMM SOUNDS FISHY BUT I HAVE SOME ATTORNEYS WHO ARE LOOKING INTO IT.

    0 Votes
  • Ef
    Effort Apr 28, 2010

    First off for my boy up top its spelled "course" not coarse, 2nd off u cant expect ANYTHING in the business world to be given to u youve gotta go get it. I am someone who 100% stands by summit merchant solutions im from a town where one bad deal would cost me the whole county, but ive yet to deal one, as a matter of fact im 22 yrs old and not only am i making extremely great money, but i stand by what i do so im blessed at the same time. I have a great team leader whos there for me on and off the clock our dedication and work ethic is there, so if you wasnt satisfied with the money you was making its because you wasnt working hard enough!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ef
    Effort Apr 28, 2010

    For everyone whos not wanting to work with summit based on the negative reports on here, who do u kno will take thw time to leave a positive report??" compare the positive and negative on here and see which ones the most!!! Quit basing your life on what other people decided, key word its "YOUR LIFE" you gotta see it to believe it!

    1 Votes
  • St
    Straight Path Archery Jun 19, 2010

    I see a lot of complaints about employment here. I can let you know about them from the other end. I am the owner of a small company. The other day I received a phone call from "Mastercard." The lady said they were wanting to check my processing machine to be sure it was set up properly, and that it wasn't overcharging their customers.

    I figured they should know more about it than I do, so I told her they could come inspect my equipment. That Thursday Thomas Parker shows up with a business card from Summit Merchant Solutions in Fort Worth, Texas. Thomas is a salesperson who wanted me to switch processing companies. A little bit of a different story from what I was told on the phone. I wasn't around when he showed up, but after my wife called me about it, she had him leave.

    So, the stories about your qualified leads not being what they are supposed to be? They aren't. I would say that this company, if nothing else, could be considered borderline scam artists.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Moses Malone Oct 27, 2010

    I too was recruited by this company and hired after a five minute telephone conversation. I highly questioned this practice, but having been unemployed for several months, I decided no harm done, until I found a better opportunity. The one day Webinar training does anything, but prepare you to be equipped in qualifying as ready for the task at hand, and can only be seen as a quick overview on the job. As far as business cards, a template is e-mailed to you, so you can go to an office supply and at your own expense, buy blank business cards to print out, which look very unprofessional to hand out, at the so called pre-set appointments the company has waiting. I found on 90% at of those appointments, the merchants either had no knowledge of the appointment, or had told the telemarketer not to send anyone out, but could not get a word in edgwise, or the person calling could not be understood. In regard to the, "Invaluable help, " of the Team Leader closing the sale for me, as I was promised, when I called in, I was placed in cue, on hold, taking three to four minutes before my turn came up, then instructions were blurted out, with, "Do exactly as I say and call me back, " before the Team Leader, left the line to take the next person in cue. It was a piece-meal experience, being in front of a merchant, making a statement or two, then calling back in, being placed in the calling cue once more, getting another set of instructions and so forth. I've been in sales for twenty five years and have never seen anything so unprofessional.

    Also mentioned in the job posting were items such as car and cell phone allowance, medical and dental insurance, plus a $2000 jump start bonus. I came to find all these items have conditions attached to them, based on reaching certain performance pegs. If you don't reach the performance pegs, you pay for your own gas and cell phone and do not qualify for medical insurance. It's understandable companies want to make certain employies are producing, but you can be selling with this company and still not meet their criteria, forfieting any compenstaion to the aforementioned benefits, as well not qualify for the jump start bonus. The criteria includes you sell a certain amount of equipement sales in the alloted time period, besides transitioning merchants to the company's credit card services. This is not an easy task, as most merchants already have equipment which has been given to them free of charge, or they are under lease from, with their current provider.

    I have made sales while working for this company, both from some of the pre-set appointments, and from self generated sales of my own. The amount of income, however, verses the amount of expense from gasoline, cell phone and general wear and tear on my car, makes this quite a poor decision for employement and I will only accept appointments which are within a ten mile radius of my home. Thankfully, I can still qualify for unemployemnt benefits while working for this company and am seeking employment with a reputable employer, which I must say, I can't find fast enough.

    As far as the company's claim to being full disclosure, I believe them when they say it is true. In regard to the Team Leader, when I do have a chance to have a conversation with him, he is knowledgable, but the time on hold and the merry-go-round of waiting to talk to him is maddening. They do pay you weekly for what you have sold, but to obtain a pay stub, you need to go to a web site in order to view it and print it off-line. There are so many things I've never seen or heard of with any employer I have ever been associated with, I could never reccommend them to anyone as a viable source of employment. I'm sure there are people who do make a decent living with them. I am also certain those people are the exception and not the rule. Most individuals would be wise to beware and look elsewhere, unless you are in a situation where you have nothing to loose and can bide your time. Keep in mind you may have some cash outlay in gas, however, if you are not making sales. A scam...Who's to say? A poor choice as a career, I would have to give it a thumbs down, as it being a very unprofessional sales organization. It is definitely a throw it at the wall and lets see what sticks opportunity.

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    Ms.LP Nov 08, 2010

    I have been working with this company for quite some time now and I have viewed both the good and bad reports this but I must say this. Sales is not for everyone. This is not some get rich quick scheme. YOU WILL ONLY GET OUT OF IT WHAT YOU PUT INTO IT!!! Some people expect something for nothing and it just does not work that way. Also, you can help to make or break a company. If you are new and unsure of certain things, don't just tell the merchants anything because if you do, more complaints and bad reports will be filled. If you believe in the company and its products, do the right the thing the right way and ask someone more experienced. Don't lie to the merchants! Nothing good will come of it. If you have a team leader that is not working with you, simply request another. Think of it as your company. Would you want someone falsely representing you??? What do you think would happen if they did??? If you are not committed and a hard worker, this WILL NOT WORK FOR YOU!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    Kaps portage Nov 12, 2010

    Will i am one of the business people that Summit has riped off and still is. this has been a nightmare . I have not used them in 3 years keep calling no one will stop taking money out of my acc. OH and dont ask for a the boss they are not allowed to get them say will call you back in 2 days guess what no call. they take 41.00 dollars every month. DO NOT SIGH ON WITH THEM... your contract never ends no matter what they say.

    -1 Votes
  • Do
    Don K Clark Jan 28, 2011

    Color me stupid, but I am at the other end of this company, , I was SCAMMED into signing my store into one of the contracts that is costing me more than I make with taking credit cards. I had a credit card company I was working with already, , a Merchant Solutions by name. One of Summit Merchant Solutions snake oil saleman came into my business and told me his company could save me money. I explained to him I was contracted with a place already. He told me Summit would buy out this other place. He stood right in front of my counter and called his supervisor, gave him the numbers off my other contract and informed me everything would be taken care of. I told him I did not want to be tied up with a long term contract, because I am getting ready to retire in a year. He assured me, once I close my business, the contract would be cancelled. Come to find, Summit Solutions NEVER did anything with the first company and the contract is non-cancellable for 60 months. If I close my store, I still have to pay off the contract. Also, I still have to pay off the first contract, for over $1, 400. My store is a little Ma and Pa store, , , except the Pa part died five years ago and I have been trying to run the place by myself since then. The economy isn't good and I have to fight to stay in business, as it is. Now I have to pay out more than I take in to this scam artist place. Mr Smith stood right in front of me lied his head off, to get me stuck with this mess.
    If you want to work for this Summit Place, you better not have a concious or a heart. I feel like an idiot for falling for this crap.

    0 Votes
  • Pl
    Pley Mar 17, 2011

    If you are a business, do yourself a favor and do NOT use Summit Merchant Solutions. They are hurting my business by putting a hold on a valid credit card transaction. The customer bought an item for $2, 700, verified the purchase through her Discover card, and Discover funded Summit, but Summit is not paying me. They said they need copies of my bank statements to prove the business is viable enough for them to give me the money. What??? So I'm out a $2700 piece of furniture AND the money for it. The poor buyer is upset that we haven't been paid yet - she's done everything on her end to confirm the sale. But Summit must be running out of money in order to hold on to what is rightfully mine. I've already spoken with my lawyer and a demand letter is headed to Summit. I may have to sue them to get the money, but it would be worth it. What a bunch of crooks.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shreddi Mar 19, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Sales is Sales, I hate it but fully understand what you guys are saying. I've done it all my life and it pays off. Approach Sales like an acting gig if it helps get your'e head into it. Sounds like a great opportunity for an opportunistic manipulator haha. Hard core sale can be defined that way. BFD, when its figured out, it's a powerful tool. If your'e Sales now and been doing it awhile, try to observe yourself from 3rd person, objective. At the same time observe the client/target/victim from same perspective, It's hard but enough of it does tilt my perspective.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    cody01 May 14, 2011

    that is really messed up that happened to you, but right now i am currently an employee of sms and i am under the understanding that if you mark off the annual fee that it will not be charged to your account. that is sick that the seller told you that the contract had to be done that way when that is not the truth, but is that really summit merchant solutions fault? or is it the salespersons fault for knowingly lying to you about the contract and tricking you into signing it anyway.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    cody01 May 14, 2011

    wrong complaint i submitted this last one to. woops. but thanks for posting this guys and girls, i will be looking more into this.

    0 Votes
  • Dm
    Dmags Jun 21, 2011

    If ou are lazy and do not want an outside sales job, ignore this and many others. I work hard at this, am earning a good income, and like my job. If you don't want to work, don't consider. The opportunity is there, you just have to make it. What has anyone ever given to you? Earn it! That is why they call it work.

    0 Votes
  • Dl
    dlynnm21 Jul 08, 2011

    I agree with the Ma and Pa store, so a transaction that a customer approved swiped his card signed it and left with his vehicle, 3 days later Summit Merchant decided to capture 2475.00 amount of purchase until we could prove that we did the work because that was a higher amount than what is usually put through. Lets not call the card holder and ask if he did the transaction, so 1500.00 in parts and the money should have been funded, but they decided to call Friday afternoon and say well if you fax it to us we will get it in asap which would be next Tuesday mind you the original transaction went through on a Wednesday. So tuff ### if things bounce while they sit on their ### until Tuesday to take the hold off the money...People who can work for this company sucks, and I hope someone ends up screwing you the way you screw them...

    0 Votes
  • Te
    teatree Nov 08, 2011

    SCAM, SCAM, SCAM. Yesterday my boss got a phone call from a credit card company and said they had already set up an appointment w/him. Well low and behold a woman shows up today @ 1230 and Says I have a schedule appointment w/ Dan, well right off the bat i knew she was lying, because our lunch time is 12-1. So I took the time to sit with her, and listen to her schpeel, it was mostly about the Durbin Ammendment in Obama's Stimulus package, I heard her out...then she tells me that its only her second day on the job and doesnt' really know much about the machine she is trying to sell me, or the program that is supposed to save me thousands of dollars a year. As i proceed to tell her I cannot make any decisions without speaking to my boss, she gets on the phone to her team leader who then trys to pursude me to make the upgage as well...So i once again said I cannot authorize this without speaking to my boss i.e. let me check you guys out...and thank you for you posts and honesty. I just feel bad for this "salesperson" (and I use that term lightly) because she seemed like such a nice person, but sorry sister...NO Sale for you!

    0 Votes
  • Du
    Duped by Summit Merchant Solutions Dec 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Summit Merchant Solutions is a rip-off company. I have a small retail company and use quick books Point of Sale for all my transactions. The 1st thing I ask any merchant sales person that comes in, (and their are allot of them) "is their system compatible with the Point of Sale system"? She worked with their tech people and came back with a yes, 'We have software we can download onto your system and it will work within Point of Sale." Great! I signed up and if their were any problems I just send in my cancellation within 30 days and I get everything back. Well, it turns out that they could not make it work with Point of Sale and that they didn't know why anyone would tell me that they could. They have no such software. No problem, I sent in my cancellation well within the 30 days and waited for my money to be put back into my account. After a month or so I called to see what was going on. They said that I could not get my $95 Application Fee because it already was approved. Well I would have never applied if they told me the truth up front. She said that she submitted the $199 Plug-in charge for refund. I called to find out why it never showed up in my account. He said the refund was declined because it was a cash transaction (pulled directly out of my account) and that once it is declined it was a done deal, I cannot talk to the supervisor, the claims department, no one. They never got far enough into the process to plug in anything. $300 and I didn't get a damn thing but pissed off. This company should be raided and shut down. If you’re looking to work for this company your resume should have "Scam Artist" at the top. I am posting my story on every site I can find. If I can keep this piece of crap company from scamming any other legit businesses then I will be happy.

    2 Votes
  • Ke
    Kelley Castleberry Jul 19, 2013

    Unfortunately, these guys are one of many in this industry that are truely Scam Artist from the TOP. They take innocent, desperate out of work, laid off, disabled people and use them to make huge profits off of unsuspecting businesses, and also off of the poor neive sales person who is not familiar with this industry. Both people looking for work and businesses who are considering a new company whether by cold call or whatever, do your research and you will see how inherently evil this credit card processing industry has become. It is corporate greed at the highest levels. Your best bet when hiring a company to process your credit cards for you is to be referred to them by a friend, business organization, your local bank but even with a referral cover your bases.

    1.). Get the Sales Person to write the following clause in the blank space for other or notes on the merchant application before signing: " This is a MONTH TO MONTH CONTRACT - MERCHANT MAY CANCEL AT ANY TIME FOR ANY REASON WITHOUT INCURRING AN ETF OR EARLY TERMINATION FEE.". Have both you and the salesman intial/ sign and date right next to this clause.

    2.) ONLY SIGN IN THE OWNER SECTION AND DO NOT SIGN IN THE PERSONAL GUARANTEE SECTION OF THE CONTRACT, IF YOU DO THEY CAN SUE YOU PERSONALLY AND AFFECT YOUR PERSONAL CREDIT ON TOP OF YOUR BUSINESS CREDIT IF SOMETHING GOES WRONG DOWN THE ROAD YOU WILL BE SORRY. IF a mistake in signing the personal guarantee occurs, immediately tear up the contract and tell the salesman to redo it without signing the personal guarantee. I would also recommend without asking the sales rep. Quickly write NO PERSONAL GUARANTEE in the space provided for your signature.

    Hope this insider tidbit of protecting YA helps someone avoid unnecessary fees and charges in the future by helping you clearly indicate any verbal or assumptions you have before getting burned.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    ChanteS Sep 14, 2013

    Please do not waste your time with this bogus company. I promise anybody saying anything nice about this company is someone that works there in the corporate office helping to run these scams.I wasted so much gas and time with these people.They send you all over the city and even had me drive 20 miles away to have to turn right back around because of a lie.If they were such a good company they wouldn't have to lie to get workers.Point blank they mislead people and don't care what you lose in the process of trying to help them.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    CAN'T SCAM Nov 14, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Summit Merchant Salesman came in my store today and made promises of free machine, free pin pad and 0.79% on visa/master card/ discover.. said there is only .15 cents on a debt card that enters a pin.. the salesman filled out the contract and expected me to sign it.. I said I want to read the contract.. The contract said 0.79 on check cards and 1.69% on credit cards.. I told the salesman I'm not signing a contract that doesn't say what you are claiming the deal is.. His boss wanted to talk to me and all he had to say was talking in circles.. couldn't explain to me why the contract isn't matching what he's promising.. I told him if the contract doesn't read what your selling, no way am I doing business with you.. he kept claiming it does read correct.. I said if it doesn't say what your saying no way am I sogning your [censored]ing contract.. Then he showed his true colors told me "[censored] you.. that I was stupid.. Real professional Jack ### he was because he got caught in his own scam.. The business next door had signed up with them 2 weeks ago and was made the same promises.. Free / Free machines.. He just got billed the first payment on his machines of $40.00 a month.. STAY AWAY FROM THESE THEIVES.. THEY ARE FULL OF [censored]... GOOGLE ANY COMPANY THAT'S TRYING TO SELL YOU THEIR SCAM BEFORE EVEN LOOKING AT A CONTRACT..

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions