The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Staffing/Recruitment ServicesDeadbeat Agency

Agency President is a deadbeat. While doing business as the Blackwell Group, the president knowingly solicited and hired former recruiters presently on unemployment. The initial interview promised the individual(s) the opportunity of making huge commissions, while on assistance. He continually promised that he would keep the individual(s) "under the radar", while giving them every opportunity to succeeed.
The problem, and subsequent complaint is that the president never paid the commission earned. One one hand, he would relentlessly hound the client company when the payment was due, thereby, straining the credibility of the recruiter/client relationship. then he would delay payment, citing every delay tactic or excuse he could muster.
Once employees tired of these lies and delays, they left Blackwell to pursue other interests, only after reporting the president, Isaac Cohen, to the NJ Department of Labor. To the employees and former employees that he did still owe money to, Cohen continually fabricated excuses as to how these people could not be paid, eventually losing the copany that his mother had paid for.
After reportedly losing personal finances to the state for illegal hiring and practices, Cohen has started another firm called Fortitude Staffing. He has obviously ridden the success of his business partner, as the partner was the only principal actually earning money for both companies. Any money or allegiance that Cohen has owed to former employees or relations was lost, as he cited "those responsibilities died with the Blackwell group."

Do not use these services, do not invest in these services. There are plenty of reputable copanies out there that offer dependability and trust. This company, and this individual, are plagues to all who come into contact with them.

Responses

  • Yo
    YouKnowIssac Jul 30, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My early post was made under false pretence. Please disregard

    0 Votes
  • Yo
    YouKnowIssac Jul 28, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Issac actually started a health insurance group called unified life with Douglas Lazaro. He is doing the exact same thing. I am an employee who quit respectfully and put in 2 weeks notice. Guess what didn't get paid that last week the owes me $1200!!! Looks like he still hasn't learned. Hell have another lawsuit on his hands when I file charges Tommorow morning!!! Almost forgot he has atleast 2 of these offices with unlicensed agents selling illegally !!

    0 Votes
  • Ur
    urworstenemy Oct 30, 2011

    He will get what he deserves, trust me on this...

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    ScrewedbyIsaac Jul 23, 2011

    I wonder if he paid back his mother or ran from her too...

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    ScrewedbyIsaac Jul 23, 2011

    We found the loser...guess he couldn't take the heat and moved. But the ego ... http://facebook.com/[removed]

    0 Votes
  • Yo
    YourTimeWillCome Nov 02, 2010

    Funny, he condemns you as a convicted felon, but used you as a 24-hour on call chauffer and personal assistant. Takes his partners' commissions and his mother's savings, sinks them into a business and newly renovated office structure, and falls flat on his face. Obviously a man of high moral fiber and a credit to the human race. He'll be running scams in a retirement home soon.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    franky5419 Aug 31, 2010

    SurfChic1

    Were you an employee or a candidate? If you worked there you must not have had any placements or owed any money. These guys bring the word thief to a whole new level. Just ask their past employee’s owed money. The division a wage and labor of New Jersey or their past landlords holding close to 100k in debt from these thieves. While some candidates had good experiences this wasn’t the norm. So be grateful you didn’t get screwed like everyone else.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    SurfChic1 Aug 08, 2010

    My experience there was pleasant and was treated fairly.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    franky5419 May 18, 2010

    Yawn... Where's everyones money at Isaac Cohen?

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    franky5419 Jan 12, 2010

    As we now know and can see the only ones exhibiting true weakness is the BlackwellGroup AKA Isaac Cohen for his low down personal attacks of his former employees and trusted servants just looking to get paid and move on from a horrific employment experience under his control.

    See I could exploit all I know about him and his skirmishes with the law and dirty handed tricks to his friends but I don’t want to take it personal like he did. Ask him how he knows about ducking taxes with out implicating himself. I spoke the truth and yet he denies the allegations by airing out people’s dirty laundry rather then owning up to his mistakes and take responsibility on how he has conspired and defrauds all he is around.

    We are waiting for you to come clean?? Show proof you paid me, and the others what you owe us. Prove to this complaint board that we slander you when we state the State of New Jersey has filed charges against the BlackwellGroup for illegal activities. Prove you didn’t act the same as we did when you and your partner left The Judge Group. When the BlackwellGroup closed our Non Compete was terminated also. So how is it we are stealing the very clients we retained for you?

    If you think his low down attacks on people are normal for a business owner, you get what you deserve working or conducting business with Fortitude Staffing.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    franky5419 Jan 06, 2010

    The Blackwell Group and now Fortitude staffing management can not except the truth, recognize their part, nor write the truth still today.

    First I was convicted of aggravated assault with a deadly weapon, criminal mischief and resisting arrest in my last skirmish with the law 3 years ago. Attempted murder sounds like I didn’t complete the task at hand and I take offence to that allegation. Of course if they did a background check of employees they would know this.

    Second I am owed money (commission pay) but they continue to write they owe no one on this complaint board. Three days before the company closed its doors to employees I decided to move on because their bank accounts were frozen and they could not pay anyone. That’s right I was owed close to 300.00 dollars and found out I was ripped off 10% or 600.00 on a commission owed to me as well. Also I was upset because my candidate was contacted by the partner and was interviewing for a Partner/Tax Manager position at this time. They tried to swindle me out of my commission if the placement happened. This is all true and I have the paper work to prove everything I have written.

    I figured they were broke and had no way to pay until they opened another recruitment agency. This is why I joined all the trouble makers the company mentions in previous posts and felt obligated to speak the truth and let the public know about how this operation works. Yes I was given a chance to work there and could speak up or quit at any time. The monkey business had gone on during employment and mostly at the end when the company closed. This why it is only mentioned now. I suggest that it is business as usual for employees, clients and candidates at Fortitude staffing.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    BlackwellGroup Jan 05, 2010

    Interesting allegations coming from Frank Penta Jr, a recent convicted felon who served a prison sentence for attempted murder with a deadly weapon; who has been evading taxes for several years; who has less than adequate sense of morals or ethics; who, when quit, stole clients from the same company he is slandering; and who given a true chance to reform himself by the same people he is slandering.
    These allegations online are only showing true weakness. All those employed by the company had the freedom to speak their mind in person and/or quit at anytime. They chose to continue to be employed by the company.
    The company has offered to make available all proof of payroll but no one has stepped forward to see it. The real criminals are those who ruined the company for their personal gain and are continuing to slander the company and its owners.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    franky5419 Dec 19, 2009

    Isaac Cohen and Doug Lazaro left The Judge Group, violated their employment agreements and started the Blackwell Group. They took their clients from Judge and while starting the company collected unemployment illegally. They paid commissions only and did encourage people to collect unemployment just like them.
    The company worked very unethical forcing you to work 40+ hours and make a certain amount of calls in a day. They fired employee’s before big deals were signed and kept the recruiters commission. Also they had two placements I know of that didn’t make the guarantee and the candidate quit not returning the placement fee’s. One of these accounting firms was BDO Seidman. It was a 40k placement they did not return and employees were told not to recruit for them anymore. Funny but I wonder if this firm knows they use them on the new company website Fortitude Staffing.
    The company President and office manager pissed the people off at the State wage and commission board off because they were doing illegal compensation to there employee’s including not paying commissions when they left the company. The company would hold say 25k of your commissions and pay you ten percent of that every other week. But after you did the math it was nothing close to 10%.
    When people left the company at Blackwell, The partner would take over that persons accounts and not give any of those accounts to employees working for free the last year. See if you did not make a placement you earned zero no matter how long you worked. All employee’s were little pawns to make it look like the company was big when they tried to sell it when the heat of the state came down on them.
    So in closing do not believe it was the employee’s who wronged the Blackwell Group. What Management blames them for they did the same thing to the Judge Group.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    BlackwellGroup Dec 09, 2009

    No one was advised in anyway to accept any assistance at all. On the contrary, when the company heard some may have been accepting assistance, they were advised to call DOL to be sure of the rules and consequences. Whether they did or not was up to the individual.
    Anyone who claims they or someone they believe was not paid (partially or fully) should reply here and they will be furnished with copies of all payroll paperwork to prove otherwise.
    Those employees who left to "pursue other interests" had the original intention of stealing clients and business from Blackwell Group and creating their own company (said "other interests"), which they have done. Further, they have maliciously caused major issues and poor relations with clients and have been involved with a great amount of illegal activity including alleged assault on both partners of Blackwell Group.
    Their intent was purely malicious and came from hate. If they didn't enjoy being employed by a company, they should have quit. If they didn't agree with a specific practice, they should have left. Instead they continued to be employed by the company while continuing to steal information for their own personal gains and maliciously create internal and external problems.
    Those included in this alleged theft of private and privileged information, slander of individuals and companies, among other allegations are Lisa Winkler, Michael Henry, Michael Crystal, Karl Heiss, and Nicole Herr.
    The Blackwell Group has been forced out of practice due to the malicious activities of few. Those few have very questionable history. Whatever allegations are made against the Blackwell Group or its proprietors are inaccurate... the biggest mistake made by the firm is their judge of character in their choice of employees.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.