The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Smith & WessonScam

Review updated:

The rebate offer I submitted for purchasing a M&P handgun included $50 cash and (2) extra gun magazines. My request was submitted March 2008. The $50 was received in mid May with no explanation of the (2) magazines. Upon receiving the $50 rebate, I contacted S&W (mid May) and received a response from Kate Fredette stating the magazines are on backorder and it would be 3-4 more weeks. I was also given a order number that must mean something on their end.

In early July, I responded to Ms. Fredette original e-mail inquiring to the status of the magazines and I was told that they did receive some magazines, but they were sent out on priority orders and were now out of stock again. I was asked to wait another 3-4 weeks.

The rebate offer I submitted clearly stated two things. $50 cash & (2) magazines. It is my interpretation that Smith & Wesson or their rebate center cannot keep up with the demand. This does not give me much confidence in their promotional offers and I doubt if I will purchase another Smith & Wesson product.

Responses

  • Ri
    Rickinohio Apr 14, 2009

    I didn't even get the $50.00. they said they never received my rebate, then said I called to late... Kate Fredette will be the end of Smith and Wesson!!! I'll never buy another s&w product!!!

    Rick in Ohio..

    1 Votes
  • Ji
    Jimmy K. Jun 05, 2009

    I'm also waiting for the two mags that I supposed to get by purchasing an MP handgun. This offer was directly from Smith & Wesson, not Cabelas. I filled out the form and promptly mailed it to them. It has been three months and no mags yet. I wonder how they expect to gain mind sets and market share when they don't even bother to send you a courtesy status update.

    1 Votes
  • Ti
    Tim in Ohio Jul 06, 2009

    Same deal here. I went to buy the Springfield XD in the .40, but was suckered in to the 2-free mag deal and purchased the M&P .40. A friend of mine bought the same gun 2 weeks after I did, received his mags in 6 weeks. I called and inquired about my mag status and the customer service rep said he had 2 mags and would send them out. 3 days later I received 2 mags, but they were 9mm! I sent them back and I'm still waiting. It's been 15 weeks now. If this is the norm for S&W I believe I'm done dealing with them.

    Tim in Ohio

    1 Votes
  • Ms
    msheto1 Aug 09, 2016

    I Purchased a New S&W Model 29 Classic 6.5: Barrel waited about 7 months to get it and when I received the Gun the wooden grips were defective they wobble on the gun. I tried to tighten would not correct so I called S&W Customer Service they wanted me to mail them the grips at my expense to swap them out. I ask if I could get a Return Auth. Tracking number he said they don't give RA's on grips that's considered an accessory ? At this point I do not trust S&W and I am going to try and get my My $995.00 back I paid for the gun.

    1 Votes
  • Ar
    Aresea Nov 10, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I guess I made a Mistake buying a s&w product. The m&p shield works great, but the deciding thing was the mags, ammo, and mag loader I was supposed to get, I don't think it will ever happen again.

    1 Votes
  • To
    Tom Swinburn Dec 04, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Aresea I bought (same deal) in early September. With you I think it's a lost cause. Had I read some of these boards prior to purchasing the S&W I'd have bought something else. I hate doing business with companies I see as nothing more than thieves. But NEVER AGAIN.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Dennis J.Long Jan 08, 2018

    I just purchased a 9 mm 12/16/2017, an was unable to load bullets into either magazine. I called S &W they informed me to return the 9mm and both magazines. I sent it 12/21/2017, S &W rec'd it on 12/26/2017. I called today 1/8/2018 asking why I haven't heard from them, as it was only the two magazines in question. I was told it takes 6 to 8 weeks to check it out. It's only the magazines that need to be replaced. Return it to me and I'll take it to another gun shop. REALLY DISAPPOINTED IN S&W CUSTOMER SERVICE. PLUS IT'S VERY HARD TO GET THROUGH TO THEM. S&W SOLD ME A HANDGUN THAT COULDN'T BE USED, AND OFFERED ME NO HELP.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.