US Air Complaints & Reviews

US AirUS Air Stole Part of Our Vacation....

US Air stole 14% of our family reunion by canceling our flight for no given reason. You can read my letter to the CEO (and customer service) below. So far my letter to Douglas Parker and US Air Customer Support has gone unanswered. US Air Sucks!!

Mr. Parker (USAIR CEO):

As a gift, my elderly father booked a family reunion/vacation in Belize for him, my mother, my family and my sister's family (10 of us all together). This was a once in a lifetime opportunity to bring all three generations together for a week and enjoy the great climate and activities that Belize has to offer. When the trip was booked months ago, we had a reservation on a USAIR flight from Charlotte to Belize that left on January 2nd and returned on January 9th, and accordingly my father booked a house that we were all to stay in for that week. US Air confirmed all our reservations and the tickets were paid for in full.

However, we just learned from him that a few weeks ago USAIR canceled the returning flight on the 9th from Belize (no reason was given), and did not re-book us on a competing airline's Sunday flight (both American and Continental fly out of Belize on the 9th). When my father called a couple of weeks ago about the problem, the USAIR representative told him the only solution was to book the return flight on another USAIR flight on the 8th (shortening our once in a lifetime family reunion by over 14%), and went on to say that if we wanted to sit together on the US Air flight he would have to pay an additional fee to US Air do so (this is hard for me to believe, but he says it's true). He paid the fee.

Mr. Parker, I would expect that instead of canceling our flight with little/no notice (we were unable to shorten our agreement on the accommodations so we will waste the $1, 750US/day cost of the house), there would be an opportunity for US Air to place us on a Continental or American flight on Sunday the 9th (which there appears to be plenty of seats on). I'm sending you this information because as the CEO of a company (granted millions, not billions in size like US AIR, but I think the concept is universal), I would want to know if one of my companies behaved like this and I would want to make it right.

Mr. Parker, I greatly appreciate that you took the time to read this email and I look forward to your view and response on this problem with our US Air flight. As you can see from the dates above, we are in the middle of our time in Belize, and therefore can only be reached by email, douglas.[protected]@usairsu..., or at the house phone in San Pedro Belize [protected]). Thank you for your assistance with this.

And sorry for the all the SEO keywords and the http://www.usairsucks.com address. Just trying to get someone's attention before we have to leave a day early on the US Air flight on the 8th.

If you guys correct this, I'll be happy to give you both credit for doing so as well as the http://www.usairsucks.com domain. I look forward to hearing from USAIR on this issue.

Comment Guidelines

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit
    8 Responses
    • After paying US AIR $650.00 for round trip tickets to Charleston WVA, it cost us another another ticket fare in expenses for an overnight stay and meals which they refused to pay (the excuse was that I was not in my "origin city"). It also had us flying to Coumbus, OH (not on our flight plan at all), but my luggage making it to Charleston WVA (thats a switch - luggage makes it, passenger doesn't). Flying to an alternate destination now cost the people picking us up additional money.

      The incredible part is that I paid US AIR a baggage handling fee - then they switched me to another airline and I had to pay that airline a baggage handling fee !!! Two fees, no luggage ! And just try to get a refund !!!

      As the Business Manager for a company employing 3800 people, 2/3 of which fly on a regular basis, US AIR has been placed on my "NO FLY" list. Our Corporate Travel Dept has been instructed to NEVER use US AIR until I am personally reimbursed my expenses for US AIR's inability to get me to my destinations.

      Amazingly, I'm sure US AIR does not care !! If US AIR had any semblence of "customer service" (a foreign word to that company), this would be a no-brainer. Even if tickets are higher priced on another airline, the money our company will save not having people sitting around in airports while trying to fly US AIR will MORE than make up the difference!!! We can only hope that US AIR goes bankrupt and is no longer a nemesis we have do deal with!!

      DO NOT FLY US AIR !!! EVER !!!

      0 Votes
    • Br
      Brian Atkins 71 May 17, 2011

      US Air is no doubt the rudest and most unorganized airline there is. Our flight was delayed several times due to mechanical problems, then at 1 am in the morning it switched to weather related. This switches the liability of accomodations off of US Air. Their agents were very rude at the airport and one even said "I don't need to put up with this crapp". Unbelievable. And we (and other passngers) were given a voucher and told to handle on our own. Whatever happend to customer service. Oh yeah, they have no phone number for customer service, you have to email US Air with complaints. Really?????

      0 Votes
    • Sd
      sdtackett Feb 28, 2011
      This comment was posted by
      a verified customer
      Verified customer

      I booked a flight back in September of 2017 for a round trip to Michigan for the Thanksgiving holiday. My flight was leaving on November 17th. I started a new job very soon after I booked the flight and could not take any time off, so I had to cancel the flight. I canceled the tickets on October 12, 2017. I had already paid almost $400 for the tickets and there were $150 in fees. It was a non-refundable flight, however I had it in writing in my ticket confirmation email that I would be able to book another flight with them to use my $250 credit. I phoned customer service to confirm this and was told I had to fly by September of 2017. No where in writing does it say this.

      To make a long story shorter, I am unable to fly in September. I once again started a new job (unemployment is horrible in Oregon right now), I can not take time off, and I am pretty much flat broke. All I wanted US Air to do is extend the time I have to travel. They pretty much told me "tough luck" and then criticized me for purchasing a non-refundable ticket. Then they told me it was consumers like me that drive up the cost of airline tickets !!! So basically I gave US Air $400 for nothing.

      Oh by the way, I called US Airlines in early November to check on the status of being able to purchase that SAME trip on November 17th for the Thanksgiving holiday and THEY WERE COMPLETELY BOOKED !!! That means they resold the seats that I had paid for. So they made DOUBLE the money on the same seat !!! They were not out one dime, and in fact actually made a huge profit, but I am out $400. And now they refuse to let me extend the time I can book another flight to use my $250 credit.

      I am absolutely outraged that they received double airfair, basically stole my $400 and then insulted me on top of everything else. I have a very limited income and I could really use that money they took from me. If nothing else they could let me fly at a later date. Oh yeah, they said that "maybe" they would let me do that...for ANOTHER $150.00 fee. So they would at that point be charging $300 in fees for flights that they were paid in full for TWICE.

      0 Votes
    • Us
      usairsucks Jan 07, 2011
      This comment was posted by
      a verified customer
      Verified customer

      US Air gave no reason for canceling the flight. My guess would be that they did not sell enough seats, but I do not know.

      0 Votes
    • Us
      usairsucks Jan 07, 2011
      This comment was posted by
      a verified customer
      Verified customer

      I agree that every airline is clear in their tiny print that they have the legal right to jerk you around as much as they care to and for any reason (or no reason). I realize that I have not legal case here, but great companies are never built on doing only what they have to do. Their brands are defined by do what they didn't have to do. And I think that's the point with US Air. They treat their customers like cattle going to slaughter and do only the bare minimum required by law in every category (safety, customer service, innovation, etc.).

      I realize they don't have to do anything for me (and probably won't). I just find it amazing that with many posts around the internet (including the creation of www.usarsucks.com), many phone calls to customer service (who is impossible to get in contact with unless you want to invest at least an hours time on hold), and many emails to customer support and all the senior US Air executives (including the US Air CEO Doug Parker), that I can't get even a response from any one. Not even a "go to hell". Like I said, for these and many other reasons, US Air Sucks!

      1 Votes
    • Ya
      Yardleyman Sep 04, 2010
      This comment was posted by
      a verified customer
      Verified customer

      US Air wants to steal your credit by making you pay additional fees for bookings and not giving you back the balance of any credit once you rebook. I had a $293 credit and booked a new fare for $114.00. They said I would have to pay an additional $150.00 for my new ticket and I would lose the rest of my $179.00 credit. Shame on them...I will never purchase another ticket from them now that Southwest gives me a choice here in Philadelphia.

      0 Votes
    • Wa
      Warriner Aug 08, 2009

      My pregnant wife and 5 year old daughter were flying home from Ft. Myers Florida on a Friday afternoon through Charlotte. They boarded the plane to Jackson, MS and were preparing to depart the gate when the plane had mechanical problems. They deplaned, and after a hour of waiting, were told the flight was cancelled. There was another flight later that day to Jackson, but were told that flight was cancelled as well. They were then told the next flight would be the next evening or possibly on Sunday!

      While I understand planes sometimes planes have problems, Charlotte is US
      Airs hub - you would think they could have easily found another aircraft! They were less than accomodating and we will never fly them again!

      0 Votes
    • Ro
      roypie Jun 08, 2009

      Last August I booked USAIR Seatac to Fort Lauderdale Dec 27 for $560CDN return. In October I canceled due to family situation. I was told that they would keep the 560 as credit and could rebook for 150. In January I found a seat sales for $288US and called USAIR to book the flights. They said I cannot use those seat sale prices and must let them book my flight to claim the credit. The next day they confirmed my flight at $580. CDN. They said that all credit in the account must be used up on rebooking. To add insult, they said I must also pay the $150US rebooking fee. What should have cost me about $320CDN on the seat sale cost me $735CDN. In comparison WESTJET charges $25. rebooking fee and you can transfer the credit to family or friends.

      0 Votes

    US AirPoor inflight service

    US 722 US Air Sept 11th ...US 730 US Air Sept 11th
    We felt we had to write to you to complain . The flight from Orlando was late taking off due to a delay in baggage loading As a result we landed in Philadelphia late and had to run a long distance to catch our connecting flight . We are both 61 . The flight from Philadelphia was also delayed . The only drinks we were offered were a small glass of water or a can of fizzy drink ansd coffee in the morning . We were all quite ill after the flight . We all suffered stomach upsets and we can only presume this was as a resul;t of the inflight meals as those were all we had eaten . We were shown a film trailer and as a result bought 3 sets of headphones at $5 each . That film was never shown, and no other entertainment was shown in place of it. The Tv screens remained off throughout the flight, enquiry with flight attendants gave the impression no Tv films etc would be shown - Why then sell the headsets ?.. No refund was forthcoming. We travel a lot and use several air lines . The service we received was appauling in comparison and falls well below that of other airlines . If nothing else I would hope that we be offerred a refund for the headsets at least.
    Kenneth Roberts
    Rosemary Roberts
    Lewis Roberts

    Comment Guidelines

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      Submit
      3 Responses
      • Al
        Al Conner Jun 03, 2016
        This comment was posted by
        a verified customer
        Verified customer

        I also had a bad experience with Bill Me Later. They sent me 2 letters, 0ne saying I had been rejected, another one I had been accepted.

        It was so screwed up, I told them to cancel my account, and I would pay the account in full.

        Do not use this service!!!

        0 Votes
      • Xa
        XanderZane Jun 03, 2016

        I stopped using U.S. Air when their agents decided to be arrogant and snide with me. My flight had gotten delayed and I was told that I would still have plenty of time to make my next flight because the flights in Pittsburgh were also delayed due to the snow and only having 1 runway open. I've was leaving from Boston. So when I get to Pittsburgh and rush to catch my flight, they had just closed the door and said they could not reopen it, even though the play didn't even leave the gate yet. Instead they booked me on the next flight, which was 3hrs later. That flight got canceled and so did all the other flight. I got stranded in Pittsburgh and had to stay at a ### hotel. They kicked me out of the room at noon, even though my flight wasn't until 4:30pm. So I sat in the hotel for 3 hours doing nothing. The Agents behind the counter were very rude and snatched the ticket out of my hand. I in turn return the favor by knocking all her brochures on the floor in front of her. What a ###!! Never flight U.S. Air. They suck. Jet Blue, American and Southwest Airlines are great.

        0 Votes
      • Af
        afflatus Jun 03, 2016

        I am media and many other airlines, like South West, offer media rates for oversized and excessive baggage. US AIR apparently hates the media and does not want our business. Pretty frustrating for sure. So use southwest, They actually make sense and work with you on things.

        0 Votes

      IN THE NEWS

      Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
      If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
      One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
      A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
      ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
      You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
      Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.