Travel Guard Complaints & Reviews

Travel Guardaig travel insurance

I booked a recent trip across the country for my wife and I via travelocity and purchased the flight insurance that was provided to go along with it. The provider was AIG Travel Guard. My trip was for a wedding but due to complications with the groom and bride the wedding was canceled. Therefore canceling any reason I had to take my trip, with no fault or decision of my own. However after submitting a claim to AIG I came to find out that short of being in the hospital or a natural disaster I would not be covered for any kind of compensation. This is completely unacceptable. With airline companies getting to the point where most tickets are non-refundable/non-transferable buying travel insurance is a must. If they don't want to refund me my plane ticket cost they should at least refund me my purchase of their service since it seems to be useless.

Travel Guardclaim denial

I purchased travel insurance from Travel Guard on November 7, 2010 (policy # [protected]). The coverage included trip cancellation due to injury. Late at night on the same day I got into an accident, resulting in hand injury, and checked into the Beth Israel Emergency Department the following day. Due to the accident, I had orthopedic surgery on November 12, which caused me to cancel my trip.

Based on the above, I filed an insurance claim (1169439) with Travel Guard. After collecting all the paperwork and months of follow-ups, the claim was denied on the basis of 'pre-existing medical condition.' Although my injury was most certainly not a pre-existing condition or a condition known before the purchase of the policy, I was unable to appeal it. It was impossible to get a hold of anyone in the claims department over the phone. Responses received via voice-mail did not result in a resolution.

I lost both the trip cost and $131 spent on the purchase of the Travel Guard policy.

  • An
    Anne_Travel Feb 22, 2011

    We've used Travel Guard for all of our trips the last four years and never had a problem. We were covered from the day we left for our trip until the day we retured. We've had to file claim a few times (food poisoning and a hostipal stay in Mexico and then our flight down to Florida was cancelled because of severe weatheer), and they were prompt with assistance in covering the medidcal bill and coordinating a new flight on our behalf.

    0 Votes

Travel Guardcancelled trip - denied claim

I purchased a policy from Travel Guard covering me for $10,000 for a trip on which I was scheduled to go. I had paid non refundable business class fare for the air and almost at the last minute the tour operator cancelled the trip due to a medical situation she was facing. When I took out the policy I paid a premium for the "Cancel for any reason" clause. After paying for the plan I received a certificate of insurance but no copy of a policy. When I called to file a claim I was informed that cancellation of a trip by a tour operator, airline or cruise line is not covered. What other reasons are 90% of trips cancelled for? To me any reason means any reason, there should be no exceptions. I have subsequently read of another individual who filed a claim for a cancelled flight and was denied because they do not pay if the airline is at fault. They have outs in their small print for the greatest majority of claims. I would love somebody in the Senate to demand a hearing where these con artists (hiding behind large underwriters) are forced to disclose what percentage of claims actually get paid vs. those that are denied.

  • Vi
    VickeyAlberta Feb 26, 2010

    I won't burden you with my tragic story but take my heed and do not use Travel Guard, they are rip off artists, they require a library full of documentation to even qualify for a review to see if you are eligible to receive the reimbursement YOU PAID FOR. And I mean you have to have every receipt every conformation number, every doctor, every hospital, every every every. Then they take months to review and won't even talk to you unless it has been 5 weeks, ( I am serious) says so right on their form! Then no matter how much proof you have or how many doctors that verify and even write hand written notes to re-verify they will refuse to pay you. Don't bother wasting your money! And what is really sad their premiums are huge, so you pay top dollars for nothing. However a small portion of our trip I booked on Expedia and their insurance was cheap and they instantly refunded my money, no questions asked. They are cold hearted bigots and if I could figure out a way to put them out of business I would write a million of these.

    0 Votes

Travel Guarddenial of insurance payment

Purchase travel insurance through Interval International while exchanging a timeshare. When time came to go away, my sister in law passed away (September). Was unable to go on vacation naturally. Called Interval they told me I had purchased insurance and sent me paperwork to send the Travel Guard along with death certificate. I sent it out immediately and it took them 8+ weeks telling me that they were trying contact my "host company" as if they were processing my claim. I just received a letter today that my claim is denied as a "sister-in-law" is not "an immediate family member". I am appalled! My spouse's sister who was going on vacation with me is not "an immediate family member"?? Watch out for Travel Guard!! I am calling them tomorrow but from other posts on here re their company they bounce you around customer service reps that take messages only, and no responses back. So I am discouraged. I am out of a timeshare week of vacation, $ spent booking it and also loss of my sister in law who is not according to TRAVEL GUARD an immediate family member! If I dont get anywhere with them, I will be hiring an attorney. With amount of people complaining against them there should be a class action suit. They take your money and dont cover you!!! I have had this timeshare for probably 15 years and have never had to cancel thankfully before. This disgusts and appalls me!

  • Vi
    VickeyAlberta Feb 26, 2010

    I won't burden you with my tragic story but take my heed and do not use Travel Guard, they are rip off artists, they require a library full of documentation to even qualify for a review to see if you are eligible to receive the reimbursement YOU PAID FOR. And I mean you have to have every receipt every conformation number, every doctor, every hospital, every every every. Then they take months to review and won't even talk to you unless it has been 5 weeks, ( I am serious) says so right on their form! Then no matter how much proof you have or how many doctors that verify and even write hand written notes to re-verify they will refuse to pay you. Don't bother wasting your money! And what is really sad their premiums are huge, so you pay top dollars for nothing. However a small portion of our trip I booked on Expedia and their insurance was cheap and they instantly refunded my money, no questions asked. They are cold hearted bigots and if I could figure out a way to put them out of business I would write a million of these.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    VickeyAlberta Feb 26, 2010

    I won't burden you with my tragic story but take my heed and do not use Travel Guard, they are rip off artists, they require a library full of documentation to even qualify for a review to see if you are eligible to receive the reimbursement YOU PAID FOR. And I mean you have to have every receipt every conformation number, every doctor, every hospital, every every every. Then they take months to review and won't even talk to you unless it has been 5 weeks, ( I am serious) says so right on their form! Then no matter how much proof you have or how many doctors that verify and even write hand written notes to re-verify they will refuse to pay you. Don't bother wasting your money! And what is really sad their premiums are huge, so you pay top dollars for nothing. However a small portion of our trip I booked on Expedia and their insurance was cheap and they instantly refunded my money, no questions asked. They are cold hearted bigots and if I could figure out a way to put them out of business I would write a million of these.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Daniel McGinnity Feb 27, 2010

    I'm sorry that you feel that way. I will say that your attitude toward Travel Guard is not consistent with the vast majority of our clients. Travel Guard has established a reputation for outstanding customer service. With regards to claims, we review all claims and pay within 24 hours of final documentation. Our claims standards are unmatched in the industry.

    I would like to get specific information before I investigate and respond to this particular situation. Please e-mail me your claim number and brief description of your claim. I will be happy to look into this for you.

    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Pl
    PlatoD May 03, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You don't need to buy this insurance. If you use a credit card to book your travel, most companies offer a travel benefit which covers the same, if not more of what Travelguard offers. Call your credit card company and ask what is and isn't covered. They make the travel interruption service seem so easy, but it's not! Let's say you have a medical emergency and need to cut your trip short. First, you need a medical report, Then, you'll have to pay for the ticket back, then they'll "review" documents to see if they will reimburse you. If you think you might have to interrupt your travel at some point, you are better off paying extra for an "open" ticket. If a family member back home falls ill while you are on vacation, you are not covered. If you leave a bag of luggage behind with medication in it, they are not as helpful as they outline on their website.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    SueBee66 Jun 09, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Okay I think I have the right policy here. This is the type of insurance you can get on baseball tickets if you are unable to attend a game for ANY reason right? (at the time I didn't know you could get other tickets if the game gets rain out on the same day from ball club) Anyway, I called them when I found out I was scheduled to work that day. I had requested off, however, I didn't realize that when I looked at my tickets I ask for wrong day off. I went to my employer and told them about it, but the only way I could get out of it, is if I could get someone to cover me. So I called this place and told them about it. They say they couldn't cover it because I requested the wrong day off, however if I knew I had to work ahead of time they could cover it. Duh!!! I did know I had to work because my employer told me if I couldn't get someone to cover it I would have too. Still they wouldn't cover the tickets. It wasn't the price I had to pay even though I believe it was a little high for game tickets, but the reason behind it. I believe it's worthless to get this unless you are going to another state for a game and something did come up. I ended up being about to get someone to cover my shift, they didn't get rained out, and they won, so all is well, but still what if I couldn't get one to cover my shift? And I had to work? I knew ahead of time? Won't be taking out this coverage anymore. Will just eat the loss.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    checkoutkid Jul 05, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would advise anyone interested in purchasing airfare and insurance from Airfare.com to be very cautious. I did not receive insurance information and am now running after the money I spent for the airfare because I was never advised of different levels of insurance coverage and have no proof they did not provide the information.

    I did receive flight information and the applicable restriction for the tickets but nothing-nothing- about the insurance and how and where to contact them.

    My bank tried to intervene without success.

    So, please be careful. Airfare.com and Travel Guard are doing shady business together.

    0 Votes

Travel Guardworthless

Our entire family purchased polices through travel guard and a family member went into the hospital in may of 2009 (and died) and they did not cover our loss yet! Still trying to supply them with endless documentation requests. We were put through obtaining multiple letters from the attending physician. Requests for power of attorney's for those signing on behalf of the deceased. Numerous built in delay tactics like; you have to wait 4 weeks to get a response from them on any submitted items. If you call earlier they only state their 4 week policy back to you. You can't speak w an adjuster, only the customer service reps who take messages.in short a horrible company to do business with. Sure they'll take your premium but don't try to collect! They are loophole specialists. Read the policy fine print. They will do anything and everything to avoid paying and paperwork you to death. Travel guard travel insurance - 2 thumbs down.

  • In
    insurancefraud Oct 28, 2009

    I totally agree, I had to cancel my trip on a timeshare, and purchased Travel Guard beforehand, and when couldnt go, due to death of my sister-in-law they sent me a letter that my sister-in-law was not an immediate family member. Are they crazy? My spouse's sister? My spouse and I going away and couldnt! We should all start a class action suit against them. They're dispicable! I just got the notification today after waiting since September! It's end of October! I am going to call them tomorrow, but your post re getting customer service reps and no answers discourages me. Maybe I will just hire a lawyer!

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    VickeyAlberta Feb 26, 2010

    I won't burden you with my tragic story but take my heed and do not use Travel Guard, they are rip off artists, they require a library full of documentation to even qualify for a review to see if you are eligible to receive the reimbursement YOU PAID FOR. And I mean you have to have every receipt every conformation number, every doctor, every hospital, every every every. Then they take months to review and won't even talk to you unless it has been 5 weeks, ( I am serious) says so right on their form! Then no matter how much proof you have or how many doctors that verify and even write hand written notes to re-verify they will refuse to pay you. Don't bother wasting your money! And what is really sad their premiums are huge, so you pay top dollars for nothing. However a small portion of our trip I booked on Expedia and their insurance was cheap and they instantly refunded my money, no questions asked. They are cold hearted bigots and if I could figure out a way to put them out of business I would write a million of these.

    0 Votes

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem