ReplaceYourCell.com Complaints & Reviews

The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
ReplaceYourCell.comReplacement cell phone

I purchased 2 refurbished Samsung Propel cellphones. One is working fine. The other is not. I have contacted the company, filled out the required form and waited. Repeated phone calls go unreturned. When I call the number, I leave a message each time. While I did recieve on email, the one that told me to fill out the form, that was two weeks ago. I have recieved no direction since then. No phone calls have been returned, either. I want the phone replaced or money returned. (prefer it get fixed.)

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    ReplaceYourCell.comDead Phone on arrival

    Paid $84 dollars for a Pantech phone that arrived DEAD. Requested an RMA within 48 hours. The sent an RMA which I completed the same day and returned.. then I never heard another word from them. 5 emails 3 phone calls. purchased 7/2/2010... I am guessing that's $84 i will never get back

    WARNING WARNING WARNING !!! Bad products and bad customer service. Spread the Word

    I will tell everybody i know NOT to buy from these folks

    M Wright
    Big Run, PA

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      • Re
        reginald j Dec 31, 2010

        bought a motorola v3a razr on 12/24/2010 and it wont hold a charge.i have emailed them and called several times. they refuse to reply to email or phone. hell will freeze over before i ever do business with them again. or refer themto anyone.

        0 Votes

      ReplaceYourCell.comfaulty merchandise

      I ordered a used/refurbished Nokia cell model 6170b. By the time it arrived, there had been a change in my cell contract situation and I did not need the replacement immediately. It remained in the original shipping box unopened for several months. When I did need it several months later, I discovered that the phone replaceyourcell.com had advertised as fully refurbished and in good operating condition was none of the above. They sold me me an obviously un-refurbished phone, presumably one that the previous owner had sent in for repair, and replaceyourcell.com resold it to me without repairing it. The on-off switch is broken and barely functional. It still had the previous owners personal photos, personal contact list, call history, etc. The cover doesn't fit correctly. But the biggest problem is that THE PHONE IS NOT FUNCTIONAL. It does not work. The supposedly refurbished phone is a dud. They obviously obtained a faulty phone from someone else and just sold it to me "as is" instead of refurbishing it as they claimed.

      The kicker is that because of their strict return policy, I am simply out a hundred bucks.

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        • Em
          emilyjanelallathin Feb 16, 2010

          i have had a few dealing with replaceyourcell.com...
          thje first phone I got worked okay besides a small part of the on off key missing but when I called Verizon to activate the phone I was informed that the phone was reported stolen only a few weeks before I tried to activated. SOOOO I called and asked for the form to return my phone for replacement. After waiting 2 days for the form in my email, I returned the phone and they shipped my replacement exactly 2 weeks later.
          I opened my replacement to find that there was a short in the phone which causes it to only turn on while plugged into a wall charger. After approx. 2 minutes the phone battery goes from dead to completely charged and the phone reboots.
          I am terrible dissatisfied with the service I received. I am a pregnant woman and a cell phone is neccessary in case of emergency. I finally received another form today to return this phone and am asking for refund. Of course they will take the restocking fee..I'm not sure why since they should just dispose of this phone but I guess it will wind up in someone elses hands next week.
          Emily In Ohio

          0 Votes
        • La
          Lambie Apr 07, 2009

          I myself was sent a faulty phone that Replace Your Cell had received from someone else and just sold it to me "as is" instead of refurbishing it as they claimed. Instead of truly testing and refurbishing second hand phones, Replace Your Cell often just sells the used phone and relies on customers to screen the phones and return faulty ones. They do honor their return policy -- they have to because it is apparently the key to their business model. If you are willing to be the phone tester for them, and have time to keep exchanging phones in the mail until you get a good one, you should go ahead and do business with them. Notice that in the above complaint, the customer said that he received a phone with the previous owner's personal photos and personal contact numbers still in place. No way is that a refurbished phone. It is obvious that not only did Replace Your Cell fail to refurbish it, they never even turned it on. But the reply from Replace Your Cell on this page never addresses that issue -- they just defended their return policy. That is because their return policy is the one thing they can defend. From my experience, here''s what you should understand if you order from Replace Your Cell -- count on their return policy, they will reliably honor it. And that's a good thing to know because you have a good chance of needing to use it.

          0 Votes
        • Cu
          Customer [email protected] Your Oct 30, 2008
          This comment was posted by
          a verified customer
          Verified customer

          All companies have return policies.

          In our return policy (which is clearly listed on our web site) we clearly state that a customer must contact us within seven days of receipt if a phone is defective. These are used cell phones, and occasionally there are problems.

          The whole point of the matter is, after several months have passed by, how are we supposed to know a customer received the phone defective as opposed to it being damaged by the customer?

          Return policies are in effect to protect companies from being exploited by consumers of that type.

          In the best case scenario, we usually try to offer help at least within a few weeks time frame---we either offer to repair or replace. If it is after that time period (depending on the problem) within a reasonable time frame and it can be repaired, I usually offer that as an option.

          Do you think if you bought a stereo from Best Buy and tried to return it after their return policy had expired they would help you? They would tell you the same thing we tell our customers after a long period of time has passed: to contact the manufacturer (if it's under warranty still) or contact Square Trade (if they purchased a warranty through them, and we strongly suggest customers do so) as there is nothing we can do to help them after a significant amount of time has passed.

          This customer didn’t specify whether or not he tried to contact us, so I am not sure if he did. Another point to be made: if you don’t contact us, we can’t help you.

          0 Votes

        ReplaceYourCell.comScam

        I purchased a Samsung Blackjack i607 on July 16, 2008 knowing that I was going to receive a "like new" Blackjack. When I received the phone it would turn on however it would not charge in my car, on my computer or using the wall adapter.

        I followed their strict return rules, e-mailed them, waited three days, Deena (a customer service rep) responded with a form to fill out. They then sent me a new battery and charger which still did not fix the problem. I e-mailed them again and waited 2 days. Deena sent me another form to fill out and then I mailed back the phone (at my cost).

        After a week of no response, which they told me they would once they received the phone, a package arrived at my door. Jokingly I said, I bet they sent me the same phone and sure enough, THEY DID! It had the same microfiber stuck behind the screen that I had noticed on the first phone and although they gave me a new wall adapter, the phone still did not charge, and worse, this one didn't even turn on.

        It has been over 3 weeks and I still have yet to receive a properly functioning product and if I do want to return the product they are asking for a 20% restocking fee! THEY NEVER SENT THE 'LIKE NEW' PRODUCT THAT WAS DESCRIBED ON THEIR WEBSITE.

        STAY AWAY FROM REPLACEYOURCELL.COM!

        Add your opinion

          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

          • Do
            Dozr Dec 23, 2012

            Wow, sounds familiar today, 12/22/12...just got my phone from them today...it will not even turn on...rats! Hope I can at least get a phone that works from this outfit, I would rather buy US made work boots than a cell phone any day! This was a frustrating episode for me as I am headed on a trip with our Youth group to KY and need a reliable phone...had an issue with my old phone with it breaking at work...I will survive though! Not looking to shop with them agian

            0 Votes
          • Mr
            mrfeeto Jul 18, 2010

            Wow... I'm glad I saw this complaint before deciding to buy from replaceyourcell.

            While it's good the company did take responsibility in the end (they probably saw a few of these "rants" first), their response here was VERY unprofessional. You don't disparage your customer and give his full name out online. How pathetic. You'd probably be facing a lawsuit if you tried that with me.

            Besides, he was obviously right about the quality of the product and the "company" returning the same (or another) defective phone to him.

            Sorry for your problems, Kenny, but thanks for helping me avoid this place.

            0 Votes
          • Ke
            Kenny Sep 30, 2008
            This comment was posted by
            a verified customer
            Verified customer

            This is true. I did receive a full refund in the end. It was just a very frustrating experience to buy a phone, send it back and forth TWICE, only to finally end up in the same situation more than 4 weeks later without the phone I was hoping for. However, these are the risks you deal with buying online.

            0 Votes
          • Cu
            Customer [email protected] Your Aug 27, 2008
            This comment was posted by
            a verified customer
            Verified customer

            I am the rep mentioned in the article.

            We always strive to make sure our customers are satisfied and happy. It’s when customers don’t contact us right away, or waits a month or two down the line to contact us that things become difficult.

            The customer who left this comment left it before we finished taking care of him. He ended up getting not only a pre-paid return label to return the merchandise, but a full refund (including original shipping costs).

            Here is the letter he received:

            From: Customer Service <[email protected]>
            To: Kenneth Dellovo
            Sent: Wednesday, August 6, 2008 10:30:04 AM

            Ken:

            I deeply apologize for this situation. Things like this don't happen often. Apparently, there had been a problem with the batch of Blackjacks we had, and we have had to have some of them sent back to us. We get these phones in bulk from a dealer, and they had some kind of error with the lot your phones came from. Not all of them have had a problem, but some did and that was enough for us to pull them from our stock for the time being and accept all incoming returns of this model.

            At this time, I can offer you two things: I can offer to exchange it for any other phone you would like on our site at no additional cost to you (and/or pay you the difference if the phone is cheaper than the one you bought) or offer you a full refund.

            In either case, I will have a post paid label sent to your email address (this one) so you can mail us the phone back. Look for it by the end of the day; it will be coming to you via UPS. Just stick it on the box and have it sent back to us.

            I will attach an RA Form to this email, and your RMA# is XXXXXXXX

            Again, I do apologize for the situation, and hope you get back to me soon to let me know how you would like to proceed.

            Thank you.

            Deena

            And he replied:

            From: "Kenneth Dellovo
            Sent: Wed, August 6, 2008 12:19

            Deena:

            Thank you for your prompt response. I will accept your offer to return the phone for a full refund to my paypal account. Attached is the completed RA form. I will also include one in the box I am returning to you along with the RMA#. I will keep an eye out for the UPS label.

            Thank you for taking responsibility for the situation.

            Ken


            And after the issue was resolved:


            From: Ken Dellovo
            Sent: Fri, August 15, 2008 12:13

            I received the refund. Thank you for your help.


            He published this rant before we even finished resolving the matter, and ended up getting what he wanted in the end. We acknowledged we made a mistake, and we lived up to our satisfaction guarantee.

            0 Votes

          IN THE NEWS

          Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
          If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
          One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
          A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
          ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
          You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
          Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.