Orange Broadband Complaints & Reviews

Orange BroadbandCharged for cancelled Orange contract

Orange Homebroadband,
I am writing to complain for a second time. In July 2017, I cancelled my Orange Home Broadband contract through your escalations department with a representative called Catherine. This was done as I found out that Orange had taken over and were charging for landline calls without the account holder’s permission. Catherine agreed to cancel this Orange Home broadband contract and transfer me to a new contract.
Unfortunately, on 16 August I received a message from Orange collection s informing me that I had an outstanding balance for landline calls. After speaking to a collections representative I was told that these charges were from the date that the Orange Home Broadband contract was cancelled by Catherine.
Regarding my first complaint, I have been dealing with a representative called Aftab (Escalations) from whom I have been waiting for an email for 3 weeks and has not been received. From the week commencing 17 August, I have called Orange and spoken to numerous representatives telling them that I have not received Aftabs email and to have it resent to two email addresses to ensure it is received. This has still not been done, thus delaying resolution of my first complaint.
Further to my conversation with Aftab (Escalations) on 17/08/09 regarding this ongoing landline phone billing dispute with Orange Home Broadband, I will be grateful if you could answer the below questions and confirm the information that he gave to me during the call as I now intend to pursue this with Ofcom.
1. When I signed up for Orange Home Broadband in October 2017, I specifically told the Orange representative that I did not want to be charged for landline calls as I was not the BT account holder. Despite even my second request again in January 2017 to another Orange representative, I was still charged via monthly direct debit for landline calls. Who put in this request from Orange to BT? When was it made to BT? And what evidence do you have that this was authorised?
2. When I escalated this matter in July 2017 with Catherine (Escalations dpt.) it had been agreed that the Orange Home contract was cancelled. And that I was moved to a new Home Select Broadband only package. I was also informed by Orange on July 3rd that they would no longer charge me for landline calls! However, as I became aware of yesterday by Orange Collections (Karl/Carl) I am still being charged and have an outstanding balance owed for July/August 2017. Please explain why after cancelling a service/ending a contract with Orange in July am I still being charged until now?
3. You informed me yesterday that Orange spoke to BT in order to apparently return my landline back to BT. Who did this on Orange’s behalf? When was it done? And why did you believe that it was not necessary to inform me of the conclusion despite this matter being escalated?
4. When I requested you to cancel my landline service completely yesterday on several occasions during our conversation why was this request not fulfilled? Do I as a customer have no right to do this if I am with Orange?

As I am now playing the role of messenger between 3 organisations, I need this information from you sent to my Orange email address so I can forward it to Ofcom.
I am also writing to state that I am not prepared an outstanding balance for a service which:
1. Had the contract cancelled by mutual agreement from me and Orange escalations.
2. For a service that apparently in an email you confirm that had been returned to the previous service provider, but obviously hadn’t yet no one cared to inform me of the outcome.
3. For a service that was not requested in the first place and I was given false information on 2 occasions by 2 Orange representatives.

If this matter is not cleared within 12 weeks of my original complaint then I will pursue this with CISAS.

  • Da
    David Sep 19, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I made the serious mistake of subscribing to Orange Broadband for an 18-month contract. Everything is fine until something goes wrong and you end up talking to a call centre in India. They speak too fast, mispronounce words and it is extremely difficult to understand what they are saying. Frustrating beyond belief... A call which sould lasts two minutes lasts 10.They also have severe trouble if you ask follow-up questions. I was disconnected twice, once for 48 hours and the second time for six days. On getting through to the call centre, they insisted my router's settings were corrupted and tried to give me 10 (TEN) new settings. It was far too complicated and I rang off after five minutes. All I wanted them to do was test the connection, which they said they couldn't do unless the router's settings were reset. I knew this was all nonsense, which it was, as the router eventually started working again without new settings, which I had no idea how to input anyway. Orange - NEVER again !! I'm going to find an ISP with a UK call centre, whatever it costs !!

    0 Votes

Orange BroadbandOrange charged after cancelling contract

In October 2008 I signed up with Orange Broadband, and at the time they said it was Internet only.
In January 2009 I received a letter saying that they had also taken over my landline calls - I rang orange and told them that the landline was with BT and the account was under someone elses name. The Orange rep said that they would not charge me for landline calls.
In July 2009, I found that Orange Broadband had been taking monthly direct debits from my account. I cancelled my direct debit and put in a complaint to Orange escalaltions. Orange escalalations agreed to cancel the contract and transfer me to a Broadband only package. I am currently in the process of getting a refund from Orange for the charged landline calls as they did this without the landline owners permission who was also charged by BT during the same period.
In August 2009, Orange contacted me to say that I am still being charged for my landline calls and have an outstanding balance despite that they have agreed to cancel the contract in July. Their reason for this is that they were unable to return it back to BT. Orange are also refusing to disconnect the landline service until the outstanding balance is paid.
Do I need to pay for a service that was agreed by both parties to cancel?
And can I get a refund for the charged landline calls as Orange took over the landline without the BT account holders permission and despite my requests not too?

  • Ka
    Katie A Oct 29, 2009

    I agree with your Orange broadband complaint this is disgusting and shows the lack of communication between orange broadband complaint and customer services. I left them too and went to 3 - not the best but defnitely not the worse like orange broadband!!! You should try CISAS to deal with the orange broadband complaint. check out http://www.cisas.org.uk/

    0 Votes

Orange BroadbandMoney taken from bank account without prior notice

Over 6 months ago I attempted to change from free internet access to paying monthly for a wireless router. When the equipment failed to arrive I contacted Orange and after a few calls I was able to get it through to someone that the equipment hadn't arrived and we agreed I would have three months free access. When I came to connect the router I found that the service had been discontinued. On contacting Orange I finally found that the reason they gave for this was non payment although Orange confirm that no payments applied for were reversed by my bank. A cancellation fee of £72.87 was also collected from my bank account without any reference to me. Despite several telephone calls and letters over a three month period I still have nor received repayment of this money.

  • Br
    Bruce Dimelow Oct 03, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had an orange account since the middle of March. I have been charged every month for a Livebox even though the first three they have sent me out were not working correctly. After 6 months of complaining I eventually got some one to take ownership of the problem. During this period due to malfunctioning Liveboxes I have not had my 2nd telephone which was supposed to save me money - one month I ended up with over £50.00 of calls on my landline as I was forced to use this for calls.

    Now after only 2 weeks my broadband speed has dropped to just 48kbps (slower than dial up) and Orange tell me they are regrading my line and it is subject to stabilisation (whatever that is). And that I will now have to wait for another 15 days to see what my new speeds will be. Why is this occurring after 6 months?

    In the 6 months I have been with Orange I have had Indian telephone operators shouting at me and call me a liar. I have had promises of refunds never appear on my account and return telephone calls never made. This latest problem occurred on the 28th September - they now have until the 28th October to rectify it - if not I will leave as per their terms and conditions of business.

    Please Please if anyone is reading this do not change to Orange. I think that a a piece of string with 2 tin cans would be more reliable than this shocking organisation

    0 Votes

Orange BroadbandTerrible service

I have complained before about Orange Broadband internet services and though they have now given in writing that they will not charge us for two months as they have already taken the money for two months they have not reimbursed the monies they owe us due to their mistakes. I have phoned and requested and written many times in the last six months and yet we have not a penny put back into our bank account and no apology for all their mistakes. The different parts of the Orange Network do not seem to communicate at all with each other and large mistakes are made and their customer services are bad and poor. Their main aim is to take as much money out of their customers bank account and give back as little as they possible can.

Thank you.

  • Al
    Allan Gore Jun 18, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was being disconnected so many times at peak periods that i decided to change to another server
    I was never told that you had to put in a ''Migration Authorozation Code' to cancel your account,
    it wasn't in the terms & conditions i have.
    they charged me £117 for the privilege
    what really annoyed me was they never informed me how much it would be and just took it out of my Mastercard Account.

    This is the sort of tricks you can expect from Orange

    0 Votes
  • Ly
    Lynda Young Aug 11, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I tried to move from Orange free broadband to actually paying but didn't receive the router. After numerous calls to an Indian call centre (not an enviable situation) I finally managed to speak to someone who could help and following a rather strong phone call they agreed to give me 3 months free internet. However during that free period not only did they charge me but they charged me for disconnection for non payment. This was done during the 3 months free period with no communication - the money was just taken from my bank account. I think that is what they call theft. Numerous telephone calls, letters and emails have still not resulted in repayment. All I can advise anyone reading this is not to touch Orange - go to BT they have been great!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sara Sep 07, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also have had problems with wanadoo now orange.fr. I have been caught by a 419 scammer forging my address as the return path in scam mails. which means I got thousands of non delivery messages "backsplatter". Orange contacted me and told me to change my password and scan my computer which I dutifully did, to no avail. I examined th headers and did some research (I am not a techie) and saw the problem so I nformed hotmail, yahoo, google as they were using these in the letters for a response and got each account blocked - only for them to use another. I tried to explain to orange but they seemed very dense for an abuse team and threatend to close my account, I am the victim! I have sent them links to various websites that explain it all. They do not even have the decency to reply not even an automated response, where as the so called free mail providers reply and act promptly. I do not know what I pay for! they are rubish but if you change it takes time to be reconnected and you lose your mail address - qulle vie!

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Bruce Dimelow Oct 03, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had an orange account since the middle of March. I have been charged every month for a Livebox even though the first three they have sent me out were not working correctly. After 6 months of complaining I eventually got some one to take ownership of the problem. During this period due to malfunctioning Liveboxes I have not had my 2nd telephone which was supposed to save me money - one month I ended up with over £50.00 of calls on my landline as I was forced to use this for calls.

    Now after only 2 weeks my broadband speed has dropped to just 48kbps (slower than dial up) and Orange tell me they are regrading my line and it is subject to stabilisation (whatever that is). And that I will now have to wait for another 15 days to see what my new speeds will be. Why is this occurring after 6 months?

    In the 6 months I have been with Orange I have had Indian telephone operators shouting at me and call me a liar. I have had promises of refunds never appear on my account and return telephone calls never made. This latest problem occurred on the 28th September - they now have until the 28th October to rectify it - if not I will leave as per their terms and conditions of business.

    Please Please if anyone is reading this do not change to Orange. I think that a a piece of string with 2 tin cans would be more reliable than this shocking organisation

    0 Votes

Orange BroadbandSoooo slow!

Orange advertise what looks like a great offer - free broadband when you have a pay monthly mobile contract above a certain level. The basic package is not that great, but they also offer 'up to 8Mb' Broadband for £5 per month. I foolishly renewed my mobile account (minimum 18 month term) and signed up for the 'better' package. IT IS AWFUL!!! If this is an 8Mb line, they must be using it for hundreds of customers at the same time! It is slower than dial-up.

It's so bad I can't get out of my contract but I'm still going to pay somebody else to provide this service for me. Don't get Orange Broadband!

Thanks for the site.

  • Ro
    ross robert crompton Dec 18, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    shortly after signing up to Orange Broadband the service was stoped, I have made numerous and lengthy phone calls at my cost to there customer services department and they put this down to technical difficulties. With no resolution after a month, and no real outlet for my concerns I feel it my duty to draw attention to this apauling service.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    ross robert crompton Dec 18, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    ORANGE ARE BLAGGERS!

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Bryan Smith Oct 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I totaly agree with Ross, I took out Orange Homemax and allthough they conected the broadband I did not have the phone for Three Months they allso still charged full price while I was still paying BT. And now after not haveing Orange broadband for the last four mounths they want me to pay 300 pounds, So I hope that many people read this and stay away from Orange

    0 Votes

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem