Imperial Majesty Cruise Lines Complaints & Reviews

The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Imperial Majesty Cruise LinesScammers and cheaters

I wish I had done a little research before I bought into this because one quick scan and I would have known immediately that this was all a big scam. I cannot tell you how many times on my answering machine, I had a taped message from Imperial Cruise lines with the ships horn blowing. I actually picked up the phone one day and was stupid and gullible enough to think that a quick cruise with my daughter would be a great way to celebrate her birthday and achievements at school.

That date was 3-5-09, after having my daughter go and apply for a rushed passport, I called the company to book my cruise on 4-16-09. The first person I called, gave me another 1800 number to call. When I called that number, they said that there were no cruise dates available until after August 31st for the package I purchased (which was 2 day cruise paying the $59 port fees). I explained to them that when I purchased this package initially only 1 1/2 months ago, they told me the only dates that were blocked were Dec 24 through Jan 4.

After wasting my breath with this person, I asked to speak to a supervisor (all of this with intermittent holding periods of 10 mins or longer) I think they do that just to get your blood pressure cooking - Anyway Mr. Harry (Harry I was told was his last name) got on the phone and was very rude and condescending giving me the line that I was the irresponsible one for looking to get such an expensive cruise offer for nothing, he also told me that the company I booked from was not Imperial Majesty but a vendor call sales center with scripts they follow and no idea of what the cruise is or what dates are available. He also stated that Imperial is no longer sailing, that the cruise line is now Bahama Celebration even though they still have a website out there, the calls are directed to other scam artists. The only way I could go on the dates I wanted to was if I upgraded to a suite for another $500.

This is obviously a scam deal, they are getting your credit card number, charging various fees and jerking people around so that they end up going no where or from what I have read since they end up on lousy or mediocre at best cruises. I argued with him for at least 1/2 hour and got no where, he told me he had a board meeting to go to :-))) so he had to hang up. Forget about getting a refund but I am certainly not giving them any more money. I have called Discover Card and they have put in a dispute, not sure that this will work since apparently they are still in business when it comes to a method of disputing disputes, they probably have mastered that since I've seen comments dating back to 2017 now. I am also having them close this card and reissue another card, since now that they have my name and credit card number, who knows where they are selling this information and to whom.

I am typically not a person who falls for too good to be true schemes, so I'm angry at myself more than anything for being played a fool and have learned an expensive lesson and am only writing this in the hopes that someone else doesn't get screwed and fall for this scheme. Better off going to a reputable cruise line and make direct purchase than fall for this scam. I also had never been on a cruise, so thought that this was really a good marketing tool to get people to buy into longer cruises after having this experience. Definitely NOT SO!

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    • Jo
      John272001 Jun 23, 2010

      I received the same call this afternoon and immediately it smelled like a scam. I'm actually looking forward to getting my call from an "agent" in a few days. What a shame that folks go out of their way so hard to rip people off. All that time and effort should go towards earning a college education.

      John

      0 Votes
    • Aj
      Ajaye Jun 16, 2010
      This comment was posted by
      a verified customer
      Verified customer

      About the 1st week in June 2017 I received a phone call requesting that I take a short telephone survey. Upon completion of the survey i was informed that I had won a 2-day cruise from Imperial Majesty Cruise Line for 2 people. I have never been on a cruise and was legitamitely excited since my spouse and I were already planning on taking a cruise in the very near future. The automatic system advise me i would be contacted by a representative within 72hours to complete my cruise information. I was contacted a week later by "Mike" no last name given even when requested. He gave me the same old spill about all the ammenaties we would enjoy and then advise me I would need to pay for the port fees of $59 right then and there. I advise i felt this was a strong arm tactic and was not comfortable giving my credit card to him since that was not advised to me in the initial contact. He placed me on hold and this very RUDE female name Francis Sherry came on the phone and tried to explain to me what Mike had already told me and she got the same answer he did. After about 15-20 minutes of going back and forth she became so angry since i would not give her my credit card information decided to tell me that this cruise isn't for me and they can contact someone else who wants to go and willing to give their credit card information. I finally agreed with her by saying that's the smartest thing you have said to me since you got on the phone and she hung up immediately. THIS COMPANY IS A FULL AND OUTRIGHT SCAM...AVOID THEM AT ALL COST OR BE RELIEVED OF MONEY..

      0 Votes
    • Ro
      Robert from Ontario May 01, 2010
      This comment was posted by
      a verified customer
      Verified customer

      My wife received a call a year ago from Imperial Majesty Cruise Lines and was offered a package for 2 for about US$300. This is to include a 3-day cruise with 4 nights of Hotel and a car rental for the week. Ok, the catch – you must spend half an hour to see a time-sharing project during that vacation. But, you have to spend 2 nights in Orlando, and 2 at Fort Lauderdale (more about this later).

      Just prior to the trip, they advised us that the ship going to Nassau (Bahamas) had been retired and they have a (new) one named Bahamas Celebrations sailing out of West Palm Beach, which is north of Fort Lauderdale, going to the Grand Bahamas Island (Mispresentaion#1). We found out that the ship goes to a nice resort Island with beaches and hotels, but NOT the Capital of the Bahamas as promised. At this point, the air-tickets were purchased already. This means extra hour to drive and get to the Port.

      Upon arrival, and after a two-hour (yes) wait at the Budget Car Rental counter, we picked up a car. (Mispresentaion#2). At this point, we found out that all taxes are extra on this trip. The Fort Lauderdale Airport charges $70+ taxes for car rental! Never, never rent from the airport (more on this later).

      After a half hour drive, we got to the welcome center and picked up our Vouchers for meals and a night stay at the Sheraton. The Sheraton Cypress was a nice Hotel but we ended up with closed to $30 paid next day ($12 for Internet services and rest for misc taxes).

      Next day, at the Dock, $15 per day for parking for a total of $30. The boat is about 600 feet and converted from a 30 year old ferry from Europe. I have done many cruises before and I certain and lower my expectations this time. The account set up included mandatory tips for services and all taxes, fuel charges, and port charges.

      The meals are decent but not up to regular cruise line standards with variety and quality. The rooms are ok and since the ship is new, it is just “smaller” to go around. The stairs are shorter and therefore good for exercises. We did not get onto the Resort as it will cost $59 and weather was bad ( cloudy, rainy, cold ). (Mispresentaion#3) The cruise is not “free”. It will cost $10 to ride the bus into town and shop. From what others told me, that meant that you are not allowed to go onto the Beaches.

      About the cruise – NO 110volt outlets! Electrical adapters were available for plugs on my laptop, which happened to be a dual-voltage device. Internet service is $5 minute and their upload rates are very, very, slow. I saw someone trying to do Face book and it took her half an hour and still not finished with loading the page.

      After the cruise, we drove back to Fort Lauderdale and met up with the Time-share Company. They told us they paid $600 to get us into their office. At this point, they took us around in their car and visit condos and told us how good they are and how inexpensive. When we realized that there is a yearly maintenance fee of $850 for a one-week share, we backed off. Immediately, the price came down. Then the Manager came in, stating that there is “returned” unit yet for another lower price, an extra week of exchanged condo thrown in. Finally, only the need to pay the maintenance fee every other year.

      We signed a contract for the time-share with the “cold-off” clause of ten days build in so I can do more research. The whole thing now took 3.5 hours. By the way, you have to go to that meeting before you get a Hotel voucher for that night (tricky, tricky). I wondered what would happen if we say “no”. (If only we have done our homework at the time)

      Another night at the Sheraton and uneventful. We heard from people on the cruise coming from Orlando that their Hotel stay at Ramada Maingate Hotel was Hell – chlorine smell from the pool, broken bed posts, and poor counter service. We couldn’t wait to experience that.

      Next day, we drove to Orlando and stay at the Ramada Maingate West.(Mispresentaion#4) The welcome center is there and they gave as the vouchers and reminded us to go to “another” time-share meeting except that since we already “purchased”, we received a “Pass-Go” note to bypass another hard sell. This is the reason that you must spend 2 nights in Orlando as part of the package – so they can hit you for that time-sharing deal again! There was no mentioning of going onto Time-sharing tours for 2 times - just once.

      This Ramada looked like a decent Hotel. The staff was nice and there was an indoor swimming pool as well as an outdoor one. Yes, the chlorine smell was even up in the fourth floor. The ceiling in the hallway showed numerous watermarks, may be there was a flood from the floor above at some time. The3 air-condition in the room was noisy and there was a funny rotting, wet, smell even that was a non-smoking wing. Other than that, it was ok. I guessed that the horror stories are due to main floor rooms and maybe they did not “buy” time-sharing?

      After a couple of days, we headed back to the Airport at Fort Lauderdale. When I picked up the car, I expected myself to re-fill it so I selected the self-fuel option. Yes, they circled that if I don’t refuel, they will do it for $7.45 /gallon. Remember how I waited 2 hours initially, they never explained the “amount” to me. Traffic was heavy and coming in from the North there was NO gas station all the way into the Airport. I realized that they set this trap up when I tried to reason with them for an extra $100 fuel charge. I was told, “Yeah, I know that there is no gas station nearby but you could have picked to have us refuel for you for $2.85/gallon but you insisted and we must have explained that to you“. Ok, my bad. Miss budget…

      All in all, I lowered my expectations for the trip and do not find it really bad. The bad things were:

      1) Change of location to a day at the beach (with cost).
      2) Taxes for hotel, car, and cruise all excluded.
      3) Mandatory service charges on cruise.
      4) Time-share meetings taking up valuable vacation time.

      Just remember, nothing is ever “Free”!

      0 Votes
    • Mi
      Michael.Todd Nov 23, 2009

      I have sued Caribbean Cruise Line twice now for their deceptive practices. Email me at [email protected] as I am interested in speaking with you.

      0 Votes
    • Ri
      Richard Dec 04, 2008
      This comment was posted by
      a verified customer
      Verified customer

      Wow, thank you for posting sample cancellation letter. I might need it after all.
      God bless u and hope you got the full refund now!!

      0 Votes
    • Je
      Jen Shot Nov 19, 2008
      This comment was posted by
      a verified customer
      Verified customer

      Its not a scam. They're actually a cruise line. This is just how they sell their packages - its perfectly legal, believe it or not.

      I actually fell for the stupid thing - but I didn't keep the package. I wanted my money back.

      If you're with Mosaik for a credit card, they'll lead you around by the nose forever before they FINALLY tell you how to get your money back. I didn't even bother contacting Imperial Majesty for a refund. They did call me a couple days after the call where I made the HUGE mistake of falling for their con and tried to convince me to buy the package AGAIN. When I said "You already sold me a package and scammed me out of 300$" the agent said "Oh, well, Bon Voyage!" and hung up on me.

      The day I made the mistake, I called my credit card company and they said to call them when I got the package or if I had't gotten it by the 14 day period I was promised I would receive it in. When I didn't get the package 16 days later, I called again and was on hold for over 2 hours - being transferred between departments. So a few days later, when I DID get the package, I called again and they told me what to do with it. Something they could have told me on the FIRST phone call.

      Point is: When you get the package, take it and a letter of cancellation to the post office and send it back to Imperial Majesty via Registered Mail (so they have to sign for it - and that you have proof they received it if they don't refund you). Though, I sent mine back by Express Mail - so it would get there ASAP. The following week I got a phone call from Imperial Majesty and they confirmed they got the package back, tried to convince me to keep it or get a different cheaper package - and they won't take "no" for a while. Eventually the agent said they were giving back the credit - it would take 7 business day and that I'd get a post card in the mail.

      If you'd like, here's a copy of the cancellation letter - make copies of the letter (in case you need to send one to your credit card company) and as proof that you wrote it:

      *****
      Imperial Majesty
      Imperial Majesty Cruise Line
      4161 NW 5th Street, Suite 200
      Plantation, Florida 33317

      [Enter Date Here]

      RE: Package Cancellation Order # [Enter Order Number Here]

      To: Customer Service

      Please cancel this package effective immediately!

      I am fully aware of the Florida law regarding cancelling contracts and that it does apply to me as a Canadian citizen.

      I expect an immediate and full reimbursement of the xxx.xx$ that you have taken from my credit card on [date of transaction].

      You misrepresented yourselves by stating that I had "won" the trip. When something is "won" it does not have to be paid for. I am no longer interested in your cruise package and am demanding a full refund!

      A copy of this letter has also been forwarded to my credit card company upon their request as they will be taking further action if a refund is not credited to my credit card account within 30 days of your receiving this letter.

      [Your Name Here]
      [After you've printed this, write your signture here]
      [In your own handwritting, write the date]
      *******

      That's all it took. Hope this helps you poor souls who make the same mistake I did!!

      0 Votes
    • Du
      DUSTIN O CLARK Nov 18, 2008
      This comment was posted by
      a verified customer
      Verified customer

      My husband and I recieved a certificate in the mail on November 12, 2017 for this free cruise. So he calls it because he was thinking it would be wonderfull to do since we did not get a honeymoon. We were married in March and we have 4 little ones. So we figured it would just be awesome. It is a trip of a lifetime.

      Well when my husband got on the phone with them he was talking to a woman, and she told him about all this free stuff that came with it. About money they give you and some free dinners that also comes with it. This would only cost us $799.00 for only 2 adults. So then he says ok and they send him to a guy named KIETH in verifacation. Well KEITH asked him for our debit/credit card number or a check by phone to see how much he would be approved for. Well then he told us you are approved for $399.00 out of the $799.00. So my husband handed me the phone and I told them no because we can't afford that with christmas coming up. It also would put our account completly in the negative. Well KEITH then said I can set you up to pay plan $199.00 today and then make $99.00 a month payments. Then I told him no again. Well then he said I can do it for 1st time travelers at $66.50 a month and still travel while paying it. So I gave my husband back the phone and he talked to KEITH for a little while and he went ahead and done it for the $66.50 a month. We checked our account online when we got done and it was negative $ 320.50, plus the bank charged us $125.00 NSF fee.

      So they actually charged my bank account for the $399.00. I have contacted them and told them I wanted my money back and they tried to justify everything. They said it would take a 3-5 business days before it would credit back. Then they tell me to fax a copy of my bank statement to them and they would take care of the NSF charge. I told the lady I spoke to that they have really bumped there head if she thought that I was going to send them a copy of our bank statement after what they already have done. You know I worked for a telemarketing company that is now out of business for this exact same stuff. So contact the BBB and your attorney general and who ever else you can think of. Lets make sure that this does not continue to happen to others. Lets get them put out of business...

      0 Votes

    The complaint has been investigated and
    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
    Resolved
    Imperial Majesty Cruise LinesVery misleading with no morals, basically a scam

    Imperial Majesty did nothing but lie to me, mislead me, and cause me great frustration with trying to plan a simple honeymoon. My MANY many hours on the phone with them left me frustrated and desperate to take back what had happened. This is how my correspondence with them went:

    November, 2008, pm: I called Imperial Majesty Cruise Line Vacations, responding to a vacation offer I received in the mail to get information on the restrictions and stipulations. I talked with 3 different representatives, Dallia, Robert, and Christina. After a 64 minute conversation going between the 3 people, I agreed to the following purchase:
    I paid $798 for:
    7 day car rental
    3 nights in Fort Lauderdale
    2 nights in Orlando
    2 night cruise to the Bahamas, all inclusive of food and entertainment on the boat and on the island.
    2 nights in Las Vegas (separate vacation)
    3 nights in Mexico (separate vacation)
    $100 additional for:
    42 meals in “fancy city restaurants” around Fort Lauderdale and Orlando
    Bonuses (they included to make the sale):
    *Free upgrade to outside stateroom on cruise
    *$50 match-play in the cruise casino
    *$1000 online shopping spree
    *2 day passes to Universal Studios
    *10 bonus vacation getaways
    *Extended time period to use the vacations.

    During this conversation, I was told that I had to make a decision immediately and would not be able to take advantage of this offer at any other time, even though I initially called just to hear about restrictions to the deal. I was made aware of an additional $200 I would have to pay for port fees for the cruise, as well as attendance at a presentation on the sale of independent vacation ownership resorts. I was assured that everything that was agreed to would be mailed to me, in writing.

    Same day, November, 2008, a few hours later: After researching the company more, I found suspicious information leading me to believe I was scammed by Imperial Majesty. I canceled my credit card, and was told by the bank representative that the charge for $798 would not go through.

    The next day, November, 2008: I called Imperial Majesty cruise line, and demanded a refund because I was not comfortable with the information I found on many websites. The “specialist” (Angela) told me that she would not cancel at that time, but would refund $300, which I would have to repay later when I booked the vacation. She told me to wait until I got the material and was able to think about it more.

    Three days later, November, 2008: I called my bank to make sure the charge had not been processed. This representative told me that it really would be processed and that I would have to call Imperial Majesty to get a refund.

    The same day, November, 2008: I talked with another specialist, Lauren. She said there was a statutory period in which I could cancel, but did not know how long. She said it would start when I get the package in the mail, and it would be stated in the package. She said she wanted to put $399 back on my credit card to help reassure me also. (I would have to pay it back when I book the vacation.) I told her I would do more research until then.
    I researched Imperial Majesty online for many hours until I received the package in the mail. I noticed then that I had 3 days to cancel if needed.

    1 Week later, November, 2008: I called Imperial Majesty the day after I got the package in the mail, confronting the representative (Anthony) on many inconsistencies I found between what they had told me that I would get, and what I found in writing in the package they gave me. These inconsistencies included:
    *Needing to pay extra government taxes, service fees, security and fuel surcharges.
    *Needing to do an additional tour of independent vacation ownership resorts to receive the Universal Studios tickets.
    *Black out dates for the additional vacations, limiting when they can be used.
    *Cruise excursions really were not inclusive.
    *The upgraded outside stateroom on the cruise was not included.
    *$1000 online shopping spree did not work. They gave me 3 wrong websites initially, and a 4th website during this call that still didn’t work. He told me to call the website’s customer service, which turned out to be a machine asking me to leave a message.
    *The extra $100 that I paid for the “fancy meals” at a variety of their partner restaurants around the cities, turned out to only be buffet meals at the 2 hotels themselves (in Fort Lauderdale and Orlando.) Furthermore the information shows these meals were naturally included in the initial $698 package, and I should not have been charged $100 for.
    I expressed my discontent and worry over not getting what I was initially told that I would when I agreed to the order. Anthony apologized for the lies and didn’t want me to cancel, rather for me to accept his offer. He offered to take the $100 off the vacation price for the food/restaurant issue, so that I would pay a total of $698. He also said he applied the upgraded outside stateroom, and included an extra night in Orlando for the inconvenience as well. I was very hesitant, but he assured me that he would send all of this (-$100, the upgraded room, and extra night in Orlando) in writing. He insisted and I reluctantly agreed until I could see it in writing again.

    Three days later, November, 2008: I called Imperial Majesty to ask why the shopping spree website still didn’t work, since they have a partnership in some way, and why no one answers the website’s customer service number. They said it should be up on Monday. (It did not come up on Mon.)

    2 Weeks later- December, 2008: I received a letter in the mail, only stating that I received an upgraded outside room on the cruise.

    2 Days later, December, 2008: Imperial Majesty, Sharla, called me. She asked for my new credit card number to pay $88 for the 18 month extension that I supposedly had bought. I told her I never bought any extension, and there was already supposed to be an extension on my account. She said okay, I have 3 years, no fee added. I asked about the shopping website, and she transferred me to the booking department. Justin, (booking) just gave me another customer service number. I asked why I had not received confirmation of my conversation with Anthony in writing. He transferred me to Lauren, a “specialist.”
    Lauren apologized for me not having got anything else in the mail. She said she wanted to switch my vacation package to a better deal for me because of all my hassles and being asked for the $88.00 from Sharla. For the poor service, and to attempt to gain my trust back, she also refunded $300, which I would have to repay when I book the vacation. She assured me all of my original agreements would all be there, but the package would only cost $698 and port fees would only be $118. I double checked with her, and she assured me all of the following would still be included:
    *7 day car rental
    *3 nights in Fort Lauderdale
    *2 nights in Orlando
    *2 night cruise to the Bahamas
    *2 nights in Las Vegas (separate vacation)
    *3 nights in Mexico (separate vacation)
    *All buffet meals in the Fort Lauderdale and Orlando hotels
    *Free upgrade to outside stateroom on cruise
    *$50 match-play in the cruise casino
    *$1000 online shopping spree
    *2 day passes to Universal Studios (after doing a 2nd tour of vacation homes)
    *10 bonus vacation getaways
    *Extended time period to use the vacations- until May 17, 2012.

    2.5 weeks later-, December 23, 2008: I received new documents for $698 package, but port fees still listed as $198 instead of $118.

    3 days later, December, 2008: I called Imperial Majesty. I asked Darrel why port fees still $198 when Lauren said they would be $118. He transferred me to “specialist” James. James said the package Lauren switched me to still cost $198 for port fees, and put me on hold to talk to upper management. James got permission to switch me to another package. I explained I was tired of being lied to, and did not want to waste any more time. He insisted, and switched me to the following, cheaper, package for $498 + $118 port fees. He said a new package would come in the mail.
    *NO shopping spree
    *NO bonus 10 extra travel excursions
    *7 day car rental
    *3 nights in Fort Lauderdale
    *2 nights in Orlando
    *2 night cruise to the Bahamas
    *2 nights in Las Vegas (separate vacation)
    *3 nights in Mexico (separate vacation)
    *All buffet meals in the Fort Lauderdale and Orlando hotels
    *Free upgrade to outside stateroom on cruise
    *$50 match-play in the cruise casino
    *2 day passes to Universal Studios (after doing a 2nd tour of vacation homes)
    *Extended time period to use the vacations- until May 17, 2012.

    1.5 Weeks later, January, 2009: I called Imperial Majesty because I had not received notification of my new package yet. The representative said it would still come.

    5 days later- January, 2009: I called Imperial Majesty because I got a piece of paper in the mail from them saying what my $498 package included. It only stated 2 nights in Orlando (instead of 4) and 2 nights in Fort Lauderdale (instead of 3.) It was also missing the Universal Studios tickets. Nothing was noted about the upgraded cruise room or extended use on the vacations either. This time, and the other times that I have asked to speak with a manager or supervisor, it was refused and I was told that each individual had the same authority as a supervisor. I explained to the representative, Janelle how every time I call, I get told something by a representative that never ends up being there when I get it in writing. I also expressed how I am tired of calling, only to receive poor customer service, long waits on hold, having to explain myself and the situation over and over again, and being lied to. I told her I have spent many hours on the phone with them, and she became rude with me. She tried to convince me to go with a high priced package again to get the additional hotel nights. I said I was done trying to work through a solution and wanted my refund. She explained the statutory period had passed, and I could no longer cancel. I tried to explain that I had tried to cancel within the statutory period, it was refused, they kept on switching the package, and no vacation has actually been booked. She still refused.
    Imperial Majesty has repeatedly lied to me, saying that I will be receiving certain services for a certain amount of money, yet never proving to provide them. Talking with customer service over 2 months was not successful, nor hopeful for any improvement in the future. I filed fraud with my credit card company against Imperial Majesty, and fortunately they did not counter-suit it, so I was finally refunded all my money from Imperial.

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      The complaint has been investigated and
      resolved to the customer's satisfaction
      Resolved
      Imperial Majesty Cruise LinesFraud and cheating

      So My fiancee and I got a package in the mail with a voucher for free vacations from Imperial Majesty Cruise Lines to Orlando, Ft. Lauderdale, Las Vegas and Puerto Vallarta. All 2-3 night trips. We called the number and it turns out actually all these trips cost $798 and are not free at all. They offered us a payment plan, where we paid half the balance and they auto-debited our credit card over a few months until we settled the bill. Now the vacations are only good for 18 months, and since it was a 5 month payment plan we asked if we would be able to go on any of the vacations before we fulfilled the payment plan. They told us we could go to the Florida destinations, but not Vegas or Mexico. So we agreed and signed up for the program.

      Well they LIED! When we went to book our first trip 2 months later to Orlando they told us that the full balance of the plan had to be paid in full first. We explained what we had been told when we purchased the plan, but they didn't care and would not let us book. We then said forget it, and would like a refund and they said that was not possible. So now we are into these people for like $550 and we have no choice but to continue paying them even though they lied to us or we will lose our money. We would never have agreed to this because if we knew we couldn't book any of the trips until we finished the payment plan that would only leave us a year to go on 4 different vacations. That just isn't enough time for us.

      So DO NOT BOOK ANY TRIPS with this company or give them your credit card number. They will lie to you and tell you whatever you want to hear to get you to sign up, and then apparently you get screwed over.

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        • Cr
          crazysexycool Sep 17, 2010

          I received the same survey call about 20min. ago. and if you don't mind, i like your idea about what to say when they call back. I googled imperial i found the complaint, WOW!!! i'm just like you, I usually hang up, dont answer, or tell them do not call back ( rather rudely), and of course they never seem to speak good english. And i always do my research before i do business over the phone or on the internet. Too many scams these days...

          0 Votes
        • It
          itisme Aug 06, 2010

          I just got a call and asked to take an automated survey in exchange for a free 2 night 2 day cruise to the Bahamas. I usually just hang up, but this time I listened. I was asked for a phone number, but no credit card or any other personal info. After the survey, I was instructed to go to a website and verify my info. I did and everything seemed ok. I was told I'll be contacted by phone with in 72 hours to go over the details. I think the first words out of my mouth, after hello, will be, "This call is being recorded. May I have your name, your company name and a number where I can contact you after I have researched you company? I will not be giving you any personal information during this call. If everything checks out through the BBB, etc. I'll return your call. If this is a problem, please take my number off of your calling list."
          If they're not ok with this, I'll get rude. Thank you to everyone who posted comments. Thanks to you, I won't be scammed by these people.
          I must say though, I almost look forward to the call. I hate thieves and have a way of being very rude when I want to.

          1 Votes
        • Mi
          Michelle S Mar 06, 2009

          3 days ago I bought the package with upgrades (free meals the entire time, 1000 gift certificate, room upgrades, etc). It seemed like a really good deal but I had specifically asked whether I could cancel if I decided I didn't want the package. I was told I had 30 days to review the package and cancel if I wanted.

          Then I read online about the scams and the vacation has hidden fees and isn't what its cracked up to be. I felt like I should cancel because it really wasn't a good deal.

          I called the company and the first person I spoke with when I said I wanted to cancel immediately transfered me. The second person hung up on me. The third person transfered me to a customer care when I threatened to call Visa next if I wasn't properly transfered. When I was finally transfered to someone that could help me (the fourth person) she was friendly until I said I wanted to cancel. Then she kept asking me why I wanted to cancel. When I said it was because I didn't want to go, she said it wasn't a good enough answer. Round after round she kept asking why I wouldn't want to go on a "fabulous vacation"? When I said if I didn't want to go then it wouldn't be fabulous. She said they don't allow cancellations and I repeated that I was told that I could cancel my vacation and I was not responsible for her company misrepresenting their cancellation policy. She said they only allow cancellations if the company misrepresented the vacation but they didn't misrepresent cause its a fabulous deal. Imagine round after round of this.

          Finally after I insisted that a trip I didn't want to go on would not be fabulous she said they could discount my trip more and reimburse me 80% of the trip. I said I didn't want my trip period even for $200 and that I wanted to talk to a supervisor. Finally they asked the name of the person who promised me the ability to cancel. When I told them, they agreed to reimburse me 100%.

          So basically, keep insisting they reimburse you and remind of their false advertisement and keep asking to talk to a supervisor and threaten to call your credit card company if they do not agree. Its harsh I know, but the company is slimy.

          0 Votes
        • Be
          beale Dec 05, 2008

          Imperial Cruise Lines also called me for a 3 day 2 night trip to Bahamas. I had signed up to win a trip online, which is how they got my phone number. I was leary, but heard them out. When it was said and done they had offered me the 3 nights in Ft. Lauderdale, the 2 nights cruise to Bahamas, and then 3 nights in Orlando. All this for my family of 5, meals included, car rental, Univeral Studio tickets, and the list goes on. They wanted $798 to secure the trip and insisted on a credit card. I refused to give them my credit card information, but finally (after 2 hrs. speaking to multiple people) gave them my checking account information. It just didn't feel right and I told them that and wanted to stop the trip while they were still on the phone. They said I would have 10 days to review the material and could cancel during that time.
          Well, when I got off the phone, I started looking up information via internet and immediately called my bank and closed my account. Thankfully, they did not get any money from me. Hopefully, I can help someone else from making a lot of work for themselves. Sometimes we just need to listen to that little voice that tells us NO!!!

          0 Votes
        • Ri
          Richard Dec 04, 2008
          This comment was posted by
          a verified customer
          Verified customer

          I have been scammed today (Dec 4th, 08) and have similar situation but not divided trip thing.
          They told me that I have won a trip to 7 nights 8 days all inclusive package to Bahama.
          I have called them for refund as soon as I found out about their scam strategy. Yes, the guy on the phone said it would be refundable but when I asked about the refund they never listened to me.

          I called my credit card company for any help, and finally one representative suggested me to arrange dispute charge against them and there could be full refund. You should try that too.
          I found one article saying he got the full refund through his credit card company, so give a try.

          0 Votes

        IN THE NEWS

        Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
        If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
        One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
        A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
        ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
        You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
        Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.