Haggle.com Complaints & Reviews

Haggle.comUnsavory Business Practice

I was a member of their community for a few months, and purchased about a dozen items. All were received in good condition, but that is not my complaint.

Here's the setup: They have set up a premium item list which you can only win one of per month. The items on this list are whatever they deem to be premium. At first it was only items with a value of over $1000, (TV's, high end cameras, etc) then they found they weren't offering enough items in that price range so they lowered it. Now Apple Ipods ($240-$330) are considered premium items, as well as pots and pans for example. There's no rhyme or reason to their methodology.

The premium rule is you can only win one (1) premium item a month. If you win two you are forbidden to bid for 90 days. There have been more than a few who have managed to get on this list, which wasn't anyone's fault but their own for not paying attention. And Haggle was pretty good about banning people as soon as this mandate was put into place.

However there is one person who won 3 premium items AFTER Haggle instituted this 2 strikes your out directive, allowing this person to continue to bid when they shouldn't be allowed to. Haggle says because they weren't very clear when they began this premium win limits, they decided to take back this user's last two premium wins. This was well after they had begun banning people for winning two premium items. Only this one person was safe from the ban.

If anyone posts a complaint about that person's ability to continue to bid on their Facebook page that post will be immediately deleted. They don't want to talk about it. They don't want to address it, which effectively means this person is either an employee, an agent of Haggle, or is related or married to someone high up within either Haggle's or its parent, Infospace.

There have been others who have proven that Haggle is practicing shilling, which means they have planted someone to bid on items to run up the prices. There are MANY people who have seen this and have reported it, but they know their complaints fall on deaf ears.

Stay far far away from Haggle. Once you're caught in a lie or proven to practice illegal business dealings, then you've proven you shouldn't be doing business.

  • Rk
    rkj May 05, 2010

    I work for Haggle.

    The review above is factually incorrect in many ways that make writing a response quite difficult. When someone makes up bad stuff about you, do you deny it, or just not respond?

    Our implementation of premium wins has helped beginners at Haggle compete more effectively with expert users, and opened up more opportunities to win for the average user. We have implemented them quite fairly, and had a vibrant discussion over many days at our Facebook community. www.facebook.com/haggle

    Employees and families of Infospace and Haggle are not allowed to bid which would undermine the integrity of our auctions. We don't use any means to impact auction pricing - the auction ends when the clock reaches zero and there are no more bidders, simple as that.

    Check out the user community on Facebook and the site and make your own decision. http://www.haggle.com/Home/HowItWorks

    Happy bidding!

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Raldog May 27, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dear Haggle,
    Once again you show your incompetence. You had a perfect chance to prove, or disprove my statements above, but you come back with "factually incorrect". Is that the best you can do? Really? This is a forum that has plenty of space for you to qualify your "factually incorrect" statement, but instead you ponder whether it would be better to deny or not respond. Well, you didn't deny, and your response directs people to you website so they can check out how your site works. That's not really a response to my remarks is it?

    I don't know if answering these complaints is your full time job, but you're horrible at it. I was there on Haggle's Facebook page when members of the community openly accused Haggle of shilling, and you had some gobbledygook you were offering as an explanation, a rebuttal of sorts, but it did nothing to curb the amount of hatred and venom coming from your members. I wonder if those discussions are still viewable considering how quick you are to delete wall posts that show the cracks behind the mask? What I said above is not made up, but what myself and others have observed.

    For people who are interested in going to a Facebook page, may I redirect them to the "Unofficial Haggle User Community" Facebook page whose members are online competitive shoppers from different sites; Haggle, Bidcactus, 10cents, and more are all discussed at length by a friendly group of folks. You can find ratings of different sites as well as meet the people you may end up bidding against.

    I'd stay away from Haggle at all costs.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Raldog May 28, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    One more comment Haggle;

    The BBB gives Haggle.com a rating of F. That's the worst rating a business can receive. There has to be more than a few complaints for a company to receive a F.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    rachy Jun 23, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dear haggle,
    you owe rachy1 80 bids for telling friends, but i didn't get them yet. when i read te website homepage it said that i gave 20 bids for each email you gave to a friend, and i told 4 of my friends. i want my bids and all of them today.

    0 Votes

Haggle.comWebsite is a scam

This is definately nothing more than a scam and someone needs to contact whatever agency deals with this kind of trickery. I've been watching this one bid since 8am. They have one bidder "slpnbeauty" who constantly bids as sson as anyone else bids, including myself. The trickery part is that the amount of times slpnbeauty has bid would be the equivalent of having purchased more the $500 worth of bids while they are bidding for an item that costs $349 on the street. Clearly this is not a real person trying to buy something for themselves but either a person or program who's objective to make sure that no real person out there wins the bid.. Take a look for yourself. Last night there was one called "themickd" doing the same thing.

  • Rk
    rkj Feb 19, 2010

    I work for Haggle.

    The site is completely legitimate and has shipped thousands of brand name and brand new items to auction winners all over the country. See our Facebook fan page for lots of user stories, tips, and general discussion with over 4, 000 active users. http://www.facebook.com/haggle

    0 Votes
  • He
    heavenly1 Mar 05, 2010

    Haggle is not a scam. It is a competitive shopping site. I have been getting amazing deals from the site since early December. I won items such as Wii Console, Kindle, Ipod Nanos and Ipod Touch, numerous gift cards, household products and lots of other stuff. The two bidders you mentioned in your comment are some tough bidders but even they have lost auctions before. If you want to be successful you have to pick and choose your battles. Haggle has win limits so everyone gets a chance. Do some research and visit the Facebook Fan Page. If you visit some of the other bid sites, you'll see the same thing happening on there. Sorry about losing your bids but you should watch several before you get involved to see how the others are successful at it. Best of luck to you in the future. haggle screen name: pawsoff

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    judy marid Jul 14, 2010

    It is a total rip off.I spent $100 and got nothing.At least if your in a store no one can rip money out of your hands like these people

    0 Votes

Haggle.comRipoff

This website is ingenious for the owners. A ripoff for the average consumer. This is NOT an auction site. This is a raffle site where only chance will allow you to win. The owners are raking in huge...potentially 300% to 1ooo% of what the product is worth.<br />
<br />
Don't use this site unless you love to lose your money GAMBLING!! This is a GAMBLE.

  • Rk
    rkj Feb 11, 2010

    I work for Haggle.

    Unlike a regular retailer that earns profit on every item sold, Haggle earns a profit on some items and a loss on others. Please see our FAQ (http://www.haggle.com/Home/Help) and join thousands of fans discussing strategies at our Facebook fan page (http://www.facebook.com/Haggle).

    1 Votes
  • Sm
    Smartshoper Feb 23, 2010

    Haggle.com is one of worst shop site for consumers. Haggle.com owner(s) gets all the profit. all the good items, tv, bb gift cards, ipod, notebook get 200% - 1000% profit. all the cheap items or useless items, chocolate box, electric toothbrush, pasta maker might get good deal. when you bet, you think you are winning but how much investments you already put in plus the price of winning item. every bid is 50 cent to 75 cent. This site is not auction site, it is raffle site, like a lottery but only one winner. Come on people, wise up. Think of Big Picture.

    -1 Votes
  • Eh
    E.H. Mar 21, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Haggle.com is more than just gambling; its owners are STEALING the money of innocent bidders by using shill bidders and by charging almost one dollar per bid but increasing the amount of the bid by only one cent. The same twenty of so people comprise most of the winning bids, and many of them win more items than the site's terms say are allowed. Don't bother to send any messages to them...you just receive the standard, "cut and paste" responses probably processed by a bank of minimum wage earners with no true knowledge of how the site works and certainly no authority to make changes. In short, everyone should be warned not to use this site or any of the many others like it. Want to gamble? Go to the casino or race track...at least you will be entertained while losing money...and the odds of winning are certainly better.

    Haggle.com...a true rip off.

    -1 Votes

Haggle.com — scam like swoopo

Their website states: "To win an auction, you need to be the highest bidder when the clock reache...

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem