EZ Lube Complaints & Reviews

The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
EZ LubePlain lazy & Stupid employees

My wife & I went in today [protected] to have just the oil changed. We even told the employee all we want is just the oil changed nothing else! Ok, he said. We will be right back (need to buy some lunch to take home with us). We come back and van is outside with the hood up. One employee comes in, is this your van? Yes, you need a new air cleaner. I said we will take care of that later, Thanks! He goes back out and can't figure out which way the air cleaner goes back in ( I watched him flip it around five time). Then he looks right at me and begins to tight up the bolts with just a socket and a extention but with no ratchet. He looked over at me a second time and tighten up (hand tight mind you). So when he was all done I walk outside and open the hood and said to the employee "Now bring me a ratchet, a extention and a socket and let's do this the RIGHT WAY! All four bolts were so loose I could move the air cleaner box up & down by a 1/4 of an inch. I made him tighten each one and when he was done I told him "Isn't it amazing how loose those were? Maybe next time you'll pay more attention to your job.

This is the same place that tried to tell me that my trucks carb need to be rebuilt. I said really? I'll give you $100.00 right now if you can show me a carb on my "fuel injected" truck. You have way to many lazy and worthless people at this place that need to be fired!!

Comment Guidelines

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit
    4 Responses
    • Di
      Dissatisfied Customer Dec 02, 2011
      This comment was posted by
      a verified customer
      Verified customer

      I usually have my auto serviced at another facility, but because they were closed on Sunday, I stop in at the JIFFY LUBE near to my home because of a advertised oil change special for $19.99 special, I was told by the write up person that the particular oil that I requested (Castrol) would be at a slightly higher cost of $24.99, I agreed, when the service was completed she handed me the final total of $33.69.

      When I asked her why this had happened after the agreed upon charge of $24.99, she told me that my vehicle had taken one more quart of oil (six instead of five) that I was charged for the additional oil, I then asked her why was I not told so that I (the Customer) would make that final determination whether or not I wished to pay her the extra amount, she shrugged and smiled and said that they (EZ LUBE) made that decision, when I asked to speak to the manager she told me that he had stepped out, and would return soon, I was in a hurry, so I chose not to wait.

      I will not stop here again though, I think that the people (not only of Hemet) need to be advised of this less than acceptable (not to mention unethical) service and should be aware of these type of practices, people are going through hard times these day’s, how did this person know if I had the ability to pay the additional money, it should be the customer who determines whether or not they will pay for any additional services.

      0 Votes
    • M2
      M2006 May 02, 2011

      WE TOOK OUR CHEVY IN FOR A TRANSMISSION FLUSH AND A REGUALR IL CHANGE. WE ONLY DRIVE OUR SUV LOCAL TO SCHOOLS AND BACK . WE HAD TO BRING IT BACK A COUPLE DAYS LATER BECAUSE THE SUV WAS SHIFTING INCORRECTLY. THEY SAID OK WE FOUND GOO IN THERE WE WILL FLUSH THE TRANSMISSION FLUID OUT AGAIN AND PUT NRE FLUID WE SAID OH OK AT NO CHARGE. TRANSMISSION SERVICE MUST BE DONE EVERY 50, 000 MILES. WE ONLY PUT LESS THAN 5, 000 MILES SINCE SERVICE IN 2017. AGAIN 6 MTHS LATER IT IS INCORRECTLY CHANGING GEARS GOING STRAIGHT TO SECOND GEAR INSTEAD OF FIRST. TOOK IT TO A CERTIFIED MECHANIC AND THEY FOUND NO FLUID AND METAL SHAVINGS AND HE HAD TOLD US IT LOOKS LIKE YOU NEEDS A NEW TRANSMISSION. WHAT THE HECK? WITH OUR OTHER CAR WE ASKED THEM TO DO A TIRE ROTATION AND SOME HOW THEY POPPED ONE OF OUR TIRES. FOR MY TRANSMISSION I AM NOT GOING OUT WITHOUT A FIGHT. THEY WANT A LAW SUIT IF THEY DONT HELP ME THEY GOT ONE COMING AGAIN. I AM NOT THE FIRST THAT IS COMPLAINING ABOUT THEIR HORRIBLE WORK. I HAVE ALL DOCUMENTS TO SHOW THEY HAVE BEEN THE ONLY ONES TO TOUCH MY TRANSMSSION FLUIDS. NEVER GOING BACK THERE AGAIN. I WILL PAY MORE ELSEWHERE TO GET THE JOB DONE RIGHT

      0 Votes
    • Pi
      pizdof Dec 21, 2009

      it's apparent that K+M=love is either an employee or stock holder of EZ-Lube. They were such "rip-offs" in my town, they sold both locations. They ask for former customers with complaints to get expensive testing done to prove them wrong, but, they themselves didn't do this "chemical spectro analysis".

      0 Votes
    • Km
      K+M=love Dec 05, 2009

      your just a dick with a bad attitude you cant blame everything on one employees mistake. yeah there are stupid employees but you can not generalize and say every single employee is stupid worthless and lazy.

      GET YOUR DAMN FACTS STRAIGHT!

      0 Votes

    The complaint has been investigated and
    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
    Resolved
    EZ LubeAwful company

    I never complain about anything on the internet. But this incident is so bad I would not wish it on my worst enemy.

    Our 2004 Subaru has always been in perfect condition, never gave us any trouble. We've always done regular maintenance on it and pampered the car. In December 2007, all I went into EZ lube for was an oil change. But in addition to the oil change, they suggested that I replace the power steering belts. And they showed me how there's a crack in mine. So I thought that sounds reasonable, and approved the work.

    Immediately after they change the belts, I could tell something was wrong with the power steering. I asked to speak to the manager and he sent me to some auto repair shop in the neighborhood and said they'll take care of it. When I went to the repair shop, they said they can't help us. We went back to EZ lube and asked us to fill out a form. Then we took the car to Subaru dealership to have the power steering looked at.

    Subaru said the belts were over-tightened and therefor overloaded and burnt the power-steering motor. Bill came out to $1300. After going to EZLube personally several times and calling them several times, spoke to managers and district supervisor (not to mention an incredibly rude supervisor), we got nothing. So we contacted the district attorney's office and found out they had a hot line and fund set up especially for EZ lube complains. So we filed a complain.

    After less than 3 months of the oil change, the engine blew for no reason. We had to call a tow truck to tow it to the repair shop. Turns out, one of the rods broke and we needed a complete engine rebuilt that cosed close to $4000. The repair shop found very low oil level in the engine, and no leaks. The low oil level was the cause of the engine failure. There has been less the 3000 miles driven and less than 3 months since the oil change was supposedly performed at EZLube. So we suspect EZLube never performed the oil change.

    We filed another complain with the district attorney's office. 6 months later, the DA office wrote back that since the fund is really for 'EZLube services that they claim to perform but never did', all they can do is refund the service fees and half the cost of the power steering repair. And suggested that we file a complain with the Bureau of Autmotive repair (or something like that). We are still waiting to hear from them.

    The DA's office has been wonderful and did more than their job. But we are still out thousands of dollars while we wait. Now we just got a letter that EZLube has filed for bankruptcy.

    So please, do yourself a favor, whatever you do, don't take your car to EZLube for anything. Not even something as simple as an oil change. Because they will ruin your car and cost you thousands to fix it.

    Comment Guidelines

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      Submit
      7 Responses
      • Sa
        samsdad Dec 05, 2011

        My son, who works very hard for his money, went to EZ Lube for an oil change. They "recommended" that he also should flush his radiator with their high pressure flush treatment, that is unless he wants to have to replace his radiator in the near future. He went with the technicians "recommendation", even though he was there for an oil change not for radiator issues. The next day he noticed he was leaking radiator fluid and upon inspection, found a new crack in his radiator. He immediately returned to EZ-Lube and told them about his situation. they assured him that the radiator must have been leaking before he brought it there because their procedure could not possibly damage his radiator. he insisted that it was in perfect "non-leaking" condition, the technician then said he can't really do anything without manager approval, who was conveniently not there at the time. After repeated visits and numerous phone calls, he did speak with the manager who informed him that he has turned this over to the district manager for his approval to resolve this situation. A few more days went by and the district manager said they are not going to repair his radiator (from the damage they caused) and refused to even refund his money for the radiator flush procedure that damaged his vehicle.
        Now that you see EZ-Lubes "Disrict Manager's" policy, do yourself a favor and NEVER do business with them again!!! There are much better companies out there, that hopefully stand behind there workmanship.

        0 Votes
      • Dr
        DR. Davey Dec 23, 2010
        This comment was posted by
        a verified customer
        Verified customer

        EZ LUB BACK ALLEY GREESE MONEYS
        I receive mailings from their massive mailing campaign. The advertised price seemed very fair so I went in for an oil change. It ended up costing me four times more then what they had said and several times more then the Cadillac dealersip. I paid them and two miles later my oil change light came on so I returned. One hour later they removed this signal. The next week my engine light came on. I returned and noticed there was an entire new group of people working there..I asked why everyone looked different. The young manager said "OH" they were all fired for ripping off the company. Interesting! They not only rip off the customer but rip off the company. BAD BOYS AND A GIRL. Back to my storry... He then looked in his greesey bible book to find out what code to use in order to turn off the engine light. He then told me he could not do it. It was very complicated. Sounds high tech to me!!! I went to Cadillac and they were gracious enough not to charge me for there service. Maybe this is no big deal but the BIG DEAL is when I called the district manager at there head office I think in Orange County California. He was very rude to say the least. He wase more concerned about the manager telling me that the previous group was fired. I can see how he sets the tone for his BACK ALLEY GREESE MONKEYS!! I guess I was very fortunate after reading the other complaints. I will keep it that way and never return. SO...if you want to spend more money, run a big risk of damage to you automobile and waist your time, go to EZ Lube. They receive an F in quality of service and an A in marketing.

        0 Votes
      • Pi
        pizdof Dec 21, 2009

        it's apparent that K+M=love is either an employee or stock holder of EZ-Lube. They were such "rip-offs" in my town, they sold both locations. They ask for former customers with complaints to get expensive testing done to prove them wrong, but, they themselves didn't do this "chemical spectro analysis".

        0 Votes
      • Km
        K+M=love Dec 05, 2009

        DO ANY OF YOU REALIZE ITS A BUSSINESS. WITHOUT LABOR COSTS ON THINGS THEY WOULDNT MAKE MONEY..
        SOO IF YOU WANT TO DO FUEL INJECTION CLEANERS YOURSELF OR PREMIUM ENGINE FLUSHES YOURSELF THEN GO AHEAD BECAUSE IN THEE END NONE OF YOU KNOW WHAT YOUR DOING ESPCIALLY WITH EVEN AN OIL CHANGE APPARENTLY SOO MY ADVISE STOP NITPICKING. THINK ABOUT LABOR COSTS AND BUSSINESS COSTS ALL YOU THINK IS THAT THE BUSSINESS IS A MULTI BILLION DOLLAR BUSSINESS THAT GIVE YOU EVERY OIL CHANGE CABIN AIR FILTER AND FUEL INJECTIONS SERVICES FOR FREE.

        THINK PEOPLE ITS NOT HARD AND IF YOU DONT WANT SOMETHING SAY NO!
        COME ON BE SMART

        0 Votes
      • Km
        K+M=love Dec 05, 2009

        wow how ignorant can you be to judge thee entire company based on one specific stupid shop. and all the shops are not run by the exact same supervisor so before you go out and make accusations about a company make sure you've travel the entire southern california area to each one of the ez lubes and rate their damn costumer service if you will or if what they are doing is what your expecting them to do. before you go judging every single ez lube there is.

        GET YOUR FACTS STRAIGHT!

        0 Votes
      • TheBeachBum Oct 20, 2009

        I too agree with above assessments of EZ Lube, but am at a quandary over an acceptable alternate as I think Econo-Lube (my only other low cost alternative) equally poor if not worse. I think (or used to) that EZ Lube was one of the better quick oil change services in my area. I am aware of their problems with the State of California and the complaints filed against them for pushing unnecessary services. That being said, I am (or try ro be) careful when dealing with them. This last visit has left me wondering if I'll ever return.

        Near the end of my oil change the manager approached me (as usual) with the air filter in hand. I am used to this by now and knew that I did not really need one as it had been replaced within 5, 000 miles or so. But this time he also had a `cabin filter' in hand. I knew the car had a cabin filter, but was unsure exactly how to access it and how often to change it. I agreed that it looked dirty and inquired as to hwow much for a replacement. When I was told $69.95 I was shocked at such an amount for a relatively small simple looking filter. I asked why so much and was told `these are expensive due to the fine filtration level they provide' I told that that may be, but I really couldn't afford that amount at this time. He gave me a very concerned look and said he worried that leaving it in could introduce bad air in the cabin with possible health concerns. He offered a $10 reduction to $59.95.

        After a moment of worried thought I agreed to the $59.95. The car was ready in less than 5 minutes and my oil change went from about $25 to $95.

        When I returned home I looked up how to replace the air filter on my car and found that it was easily accessible by opening the glove compartment and pushing a release lever. A less than 5 minute procedure.

        I then went online to search the cost of the cabin filter and found them for $9.40 to 25.95(dealer price), with the majority being in the $14 range.

        I find this kind of deceptive business practice to be dishonest and unprofessional. Though I MAY return for an oil change, I will NEVER purchase another accessory from EZ Lube again!

        0 Votes
      • La
        Larry G Aug 09, 2009
        This comment was posted by
        a verified customer
        Verified customer

        I totally agree with above assessment of EZ Lube. My wife had our transmission ruined by EZ Lube putting wrong fluid in it just 7 thousand miles after it was changed at the Honda dealership. Only 55K miles on odometer and trans is now ruined. She only went in for an oil change. They are a real joke. Also they told me, "Well we didn't hold a gun to her head." I asked if that is an option they are trained to do.
        Larry

        0 Votes

      The complaint has been investigated and
      resolved to the customer's satisfaction
      Resolved
      EZ LubeCabin filter rip-off

      In mid 2007, I went to EZ Lube for a typical oil change + tire rotation per my Acura's maintenance guide. When I got there, they don't offer tire rotation service and they upselled me to change my cabin filter by showing me how dirty it was. I said fine, change it.

      Now in July 2008, I go to Jiffy Lube in Westchester and I asked them to check my air filters per my maintenance guide. When they pulled it out, it looked like the air filter EZ Lube "replaced" for me was about 2 inches shorter than it should be. Looks like EZ Lube replaced it alright, but with a different size!!!

      DO NOT go to EZ Lube on Washington next to Costco!!!

      Comment Guidelines

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        Submit
        3 Responses
        • TheBeachBum Oct 20, 2009

          I was at the EZ Lube on Pico and the I-5 in San Clemente when near the end of my oil change the manager approached me (as usual) with the air filter in hand. I am used to this by now and knew that I did not really need one as it had been replaced within 5, 000 miles or so. This time he also had a `cabin filter' with him. I knew the car had a cabin filter, but was unsure exactly how to access it and how often to change it. I agreed that it looked dirty and inquired as to how much for a replacement. When I was told $69.95 I was shocked at such an amount for a relatively small and simple looking filter. I asked why so much and was told `these are expensive due to the high level of filtration they provide'. I told him that while that may be, but I really couldn't afford it at this time. He gave me a very concerned look and said he worried that leaving it in could introduce bad air into the cabin with possible health issues. He offered a $10 reduction to $59.95.

          After a moment of worried thought, I agreed to the $59.95. The car was ready in less than 5 minutes, but my `oil change' went from about $25 to $95.

          When I returned home I looked up how to replace the cabin air filter and found that it was easily accessible by opening the glove compartment and pushing a release lever for access to it. A less than 5 minute procedure.

          I then went online to search the cost of the cabin filter and found them for $9.40 to 25.95 (dealer price), with the majority being in the $14 range.

          I find this kind of deceptive business practice to be dishonest and unprofessional. Though I MAY return for an oil change (as I have no other local low cost alternative), I will NEVER purchase another accessory from EZ Lube again!

          0 Votes
        • Je
          jedgoodwin Apr 20, 2009

          Had similar experience with same EZ lube. They offered to sell me the filters for TWICE the dealers cost. When I confronted them, they said at first that I probably got the wrong price. WHen I assured them it was the correct price, he shrugged his shoulder and said "it's your decision, sir". I find this kind of rip off selling of off brand parts despicable. I shall not be using them again. (PS: they also ripped me off by selling me Synthetic for my Hybrid. THe Dealer's cost for replaceing the oil was 30 dollars cheaper!!!

          0 Votes
        • Ir
          Irby Stone Nov 13, 2008
          This comment was posted by
          a verified customer
          Verified customer

          I went to my EZ Lube in Riverside, Ca. to have my oil change with a coupon for $19.95, $2.00 off with VIP card. I paid before the work was compeleted. I was informed that my card was invalid and that they were no longer using them. When I bought the card orignally I was told that is didn't need to be renewed. They said it would be a few minutes longer. I noticed your well qualified technition using a very large screwdriver on the front of my engine. I went out and asked him what he was doing, He informed me they couldn't find my oil filter underneath, but finally found it in front of the engine. After changing the filter he proceeded to try and force the air filter back onto the outlet. He finally loosened the clamp so he could get it back on. I had to ask him to wipe off the oily hand prints off the engine. They did not use fender covers, when I arrived home I noticed greasy hands prints on both fenders. (car was just washed). I will never return to that EZ Lube again and also neither will my 2 daughters. You need to train you personnel to work on new cars. Worst service I have ever had at EZ Lube. You used to be great, what happened

          0 Votes

        IN THE NEWS

        Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
        If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
        One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
        A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
        ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
        You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
        Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.