Emery Cat Complaints & Reviews

Emery CatDoes NOT work - sharpens claws

I purchased the Emery Cat at one of those stores that sells "As Seen on TV" products. I paid $19.95 for one. I thought I was ripping myself off because I could have gotten 2 for the same price online or by calling the number listed in the TV ad. I am SO glad I didn't make that mistake after reading these reviews. THANK YOU to all of you for providing this valuable information on this scam. Now MY complaint is that my cat has used the Emery Cat every day for over 3 months & her claws are sharper than ever! It does NOT work as an emery "board". I even tried clipping her claws to give it a fair shot but, they just came back sharper & sharper. OK so it keeps her from clawing the furniture however, it does NOT do what is claimed. I feel so bad that so many people got scammed on the cost of this product. I hope everyone files complaints to get this product OFF the market & punish those who are ripping off people.

Emery CatCustomer Service

Add one more complaint for this company. I got scammed through their marketing ploy as several other people have mentioned. When I called their customer service number and actually got someone to talk to me, they were unable to find my order even though I got their e-mail order confirmation within minutes of placing the order that I didn't intend to do. The way their website is set up you place the order before you comfirm that the order is correct. There are no back buttons in order to change your order or correct any information regarding it. I was asked to call back in a couple of hours when my order should come up in their system. I asked several times to talk to a supervisor who could help find the order and was denied to do so. My call was forwarded to a voice mail machine where I left a detailed message that I was cancelling the order immediately and would refuse any charges to my Mastercard. I plan to call back in a couple of hours to see if they are willing to provide the customer service that I should have received earlier. I also plan to visit my bank and block/cancel payment to the company if they should try to claim a payment. I'm deeply offended by this company and its tactics to advertise their product deceitively and sell unwanted services and additional products to unwitting customers.

Emery CatCat developed Eye Problems

Not only does the Emery Cat not file down cats nails, the fine granules that come off when the cat scratches is harmful to your cat. I've had to take my cat into the vet for an swollen and inflamed inner eye lid. He's an indoor cat so the likelihood of him getting this condition is slim. While rubbing the Emery Cat, I noticed these fine sand granules rubbing off onto my finger...I'm sure this is what irritated my cat's eye. It's now in the trash bin!

Emery Catunethical practices

I have just spent the last 4 days trying to get out of a purchase my Mom made . Like every other complaint here, all she wanted was one cat board and ended up with a bill of $86.47. My emails were returned as not answered. When I phoned the "customer satisfaction" line they could not find my Mom's order ( surprised?) even though it had been 4 days she said the order had not yet arrived. My last shot was to call
AllStar [protected] and the lovely woman there cancelled my order in seconds. Lesson of the day, don't give up, keep phoning.
What goes around comes around, they are in deep kitty litter.

  • Pa
    patandtaz2 Dec 06, 2010

    I didn't have your type of luck... they would NOT cancel my order-very shady. They claim"item had been shipped" but I can get refund AFTER my order gets here.This is a bunch of manure...this emery cat website needs to be SHUT DOWN, period. They have your credit card #, BEFORE you see what you've ordered, and then claim it's "too late" Every chance I get, I will advertise this deceit!

    0 Votes

Emery Catdoes not wear down claws

I ordered this product as it claimed it would basiclly file down the claws on my cat but it has just done the opposite. I can't keep the claws trimmed from the sharpness. I believe the claim they say is not true.I am very unhappy with this product. Attempting to contacte them is next to impossible.

  • Ti
    tiggerlily3000 Mar 20, 2010

    I agree with you a 100% that the emery cat does not trim the cats nails. I have had the board for 3 weeks now 2 of my cats go on there and nothing is happening to there nails.
    As far as the ordering it is a big rip off my bill came to $90 dollars, I had ordered it in January was told it would be here in 3 weeks, when I called to find out what was going on I was told I would not get it till the middle of March.I was really dissappointed since I was looking forward to getting the board.
    One day I happened to be in the mall and a store had it so I picked it up for $30 what a big waste of money.

    0 Votes

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

Emery CatMissing Shipment

I have too fallen for the BOGO Emery Cat. I placed my order and only wanted one emery cat, not two. I didn't want to pay the extra shipping and handling fee. I was not given the option not to get the 'free' one. I placed my order anyway and I still don't know where my order is. Emery Cat sent me an email letting me know it was shipped and also gave me my FedEx tracting number. It was been weeks and FedEx claims they have not received the package from Emery Cat. Emery Cat claims that FedEx has picked it up. All I know is that my tracking number is not found by FedEx. So where is it? FedEx has no record of the tracking number period. Emery Cat's answer is to keep checking that number everyday. I told them to just cancel the order, but they claim they can't. I have to wait for this package to arrive and them pay for the shipping to return it. When will I get it? I do believe I have been ripped off. My advice is to wait until you can find it in stores.

  • St
    stanggirl47 Mar 12, 2010

    You think thats bad they just charged me for 5 of them and I never completed an order for one.I called from the TV number and they try to sell you a bunch of other things so I hung the phone up and never once on the phone did they say you have completed an order . I am so sick of being ripped off and now its time to fight back.I called the company and they removed money from me within 24 hours and they say I have to wait for product to come and return wait for them to recieve and then wait 3 to 5 days after thet to be refunded so now my account is short house payment can not be made this is nopt my fault but will pay dearly and to let every one know this company could care less they just want money.There are complaints everywhere but I want to seek a lawyer as I am sick to death of what these companies are doing and they need to be stopped my email [email protected]

    0 Votes

Emery Catconfusing order forms/ cheap product

Ordered Emery Cat online after viewing TV commercial. First of all Its not really BOGO free. The charge is $19.95 +$7.95 S&H for one, To get the so called "free" one it is an extra $7.95 for S&H. Okay then, when you hit submit after giving all the necessary info You then get another page come up with confusing information asking if you want one or two orders, DO NOT click TWO or you will end up with Four Emery cats at a price of around $80.00( according to other complaints) I stopped right there before I entered anything and called the number. Of course I wanted two, but the way it was worded was confusing. I paid 35 bucks for 2 very cheaply made scratching boards. The plastic will not hold up very well from what I see. Wal-Mart has scratching boards with the same shape, maybe the emery boards will fit. Even the so called "free" brush/comb is a piece of crap. And by the way they were shipped in the SAME box so where do they get the extra $7.95 for S&H from ? And another thing the whole package was very light (because what is in it is cheap) so again, why so much for the S&H? All the way around I say Its a rip off. My two cats, AC and Penelope will give "their review" at a later date and of course I will translate!

  • Sy
    Sylvie7 Apr 21, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I wanted to delete an extra charge and lost the whole order. I couldn't get back to the order summary. Your description makes me hope that the charge never went through because I never clicked on "submit."

    0 Votes

Emery CatWeb Site Deception

These people are a total rip-off. I got on their website to order their product and before sent the order saw that it required refills. I never submitted the order. I navigated away from the website so the order would not go through. Much to my surprise I had ordered it anyway. They never sent me an email confirming the order so I had no idea that it went through. A call to their customer service produced nothing. They basically told me that even if you don't submit the order the second you put in your information the order has gone through. Then when I told them I never got an email they condensendingly told me that I needed to check my email again because there was no way that I didn't receive it.

I've filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and the State of Connecticut's Department of Consumer Affairs. I've also posted a notice on my Facebook page to warn every one of my friends not to purchase their products.

  • Ch
    Chelsea78 Feb 18, 2010

    Yes, my friend, I was a little upset when I was required to put my credit card info in before getting a total. When i saw how much the shipping and handling was I NEVER hit the submit button. I simply closed the page. The next day I was surprised to check my emails and see a stupid 'congrads' email from these people. I never clicked the submit icon. I have tried to cancel my order, but I was told that I have to wait for it to get to me and return it. If you read my complaint you would notice that my Emery Cat is MIA. I have gotten an email comfirming that my order was hipped. That was weeks ago. The tracking number i was given means nothing. FedEx says that they have no record of it. Emery Cat tells me to just 'check back tomorrow' It's been weeks!

    0 Votes

Emery CatWebsite Rip Off

When will I learn to check the complaints board? I ordered the BOGO about an hour ago, and instead of being charged for 1 board at $19.95 plus 7.95 shipping, and an additional "free" board for $7.95 for a total of $35.85 I ended up with a charge of $86.70.

Of course when I called customer service they didn't have a record of my order yet and I had to give the system time to "download" the order. I have been advised to call back in a few hours. HMMM...right.

For the record, I am an online shopper. I do most of my shopping online, so I am not computer illiterate and I do know how to read!! This website is clearly DECEPTIVE!!

Please do not get scammed like the rest of us! Do not order from this website. You WILL get taken, even if you think you can "read the fine print". Trust me!

  • Gc
    Gcola Mar 11, 2010

    The web site is a rip off. I became a sucker to and it doesn't even work. Any way to stop this company from stealing any more money from people? I should of known better then buy something off these kind of TV adds.

    0 Votes
  • Er
    erninator Mar 29, 2010

    I also ordered the BOGO deal on the Emery Cat board and a few hours later I got a call from my CC company. The charges for the Emery Cat were not showing in their records. They contacted me due to a suspicious charge of $0.74 to a company in Denmark. The said this is a common practice for credit card theives, a test order with my number. The charge was recorded at the same time I ordered the Emery Cat product. kkThis morning my anti virus program found a trogan installed. It's gone now. I've been an online shopping site owner/developer/webmaster for over 10 years and know what to look for in a safe shopping cart system. This one got me by surprise, but all is fixed and no harm done. Online shoppers beware of this site!

    0 Votes

Emery CatOver charges (update)

Okay - so here's the update.
I called Emery Cat this morning and he pulled up my order. My first question was, " how much is shipping for one?". He replied " $7.95 for one". I asked " then why was I charged $15.90 on my order?" He said "you ordered a set". I said " no, I just ordered one". He said " that's the deal, it's buy one get one free, just pay s&h for both". I said " no, I just want one". He said, "you can't buy just one". I said, "OK CANCEL MY ORDER, I don't want any". He said, " okay, I'll cancel your order and put you in for one". I said, "oh, so I can order just one". He said " not normally, but I can do that for you today".

So allegedly my order will now be $27.90. He couldn't give me a new order number since he said it's not in the system yet but I can check later on today online. And he wouldn't give me a cancellation number for my first order, said it's just the original order number.

Great, I'm probably going to receive 4 of these now! This company is nuts, major deceptive, and downright crooked.
I'll keep you posted! ~MC5

  • Pa
    paybacksbitch Jan 30, 2010

    i totally agreed! i had just went online and place an order. at the end it said my total was$35.85 instead of $19.95+$7.95(p&h) So i called the customer service but, they are closed today! so..i'm a bit furious! And if the product doesn't work.. i'll be pissed!

    0 Votes

Emery CatDO NOT BUY

I just tried to order the emery cat and came to realize that this is a COMPLETE SCAM - BUYER BEWARE!!! The "promotion" says buy one/get one free for $19.95+shipping and handling (an additional $7.95 for the free one). The order process takes you through a series of "additional promotions, " which I said "no thanks" to, and at the end when I reviewed my order, my credit card was charded $19.95 + $15.90 for S&H for ONE item. I'm not even sure my order includes the base. Again, this seems very much like a SCAM!! I will be contacting my credit card company...

Also, I've read on a number of sites that this item isn't even good for cats - their claws can get stuck and the board isn't good for the pads of their feet...

  • Be
    Beware Fake Complaints Jan 08, 2010

    Your complaint seems inaccurate. Go to www.emerycat.com and read the offer. It clearly says that you get one for $19.95 and pay $7.95 P&H and that you get a second one free by paying "separate P&H, " which is also $7.95.

    So, the offer is:
    $19.95 + $7.95 for the first one
    Free + $7.95 for the second one
    Total: $35.85

    That's exactly what you said you were charged. Doesn't sound like a scam to me.

    1 Votes
  • Da
    Darkwolfruss Feb 14, 2010

    OK, folks. Sorry you were scammed or felt that you were. The important thing is live and learn... NOT TO GIVE YOUR CC # ONLINE! For those who would like to try this product without risking scam, Walgreens will be selling them as of April first, 2010. No joke, LOL. Can't wait, my cat tears me apart every morning trying to affectionately wake me up to feed him. Just wait aq few weeks

    0 Votes

Emery Catfalse advertising

Company advertising on line that you get all items pictured. YOU DON'T. To get the base which you need for the pad, you have to pay extra plus pay shiping and handling.

No chance to review order. Once they get your credit card number you have no option to review much less cancel.

I hope the product works but based on the trickery, I seriuosly doubt it. Please don't help this company rip off more people who WORK for their money.

  • Go
    got ripped off big time Jan 04, 2010

    It happened to me also, called cust ser and cancelled, first cust ser rep was rude and nasty waited and called back and spoke to someone more decent, they said that they cancelled the order hope they did for their sake...don't buy from this site or company wait till it becomes available in stores. bad deal real bad deal..

    -1 Votes
  • Be
    Beware Fake Complaints Jan 08, 2010

    You're confusing the full product (base plus the refill - the $19.95 offer) for just the refills, which would probably not work very well without the base that comes with the full product.

    1 Votes
  • Ce
    cep Apr 13, 2010

    Well, what do you know I'm not alone. I, too, was charged S&H per board but you can't order any less than two! I ordered over the phone and was caught in a 20 minute loop that went something like this...How many would you like to order?...Are you sure?...Only during this phone call can you have yada yada yada... For each question you were instructed to push 1 for "no", 2 for "yes" or maybe it was the other way around. I stayed on the line for 20 minutes for fear I would either have no order at all or would inadvertently order enough Emery Boards for my cat's great-great-grandkittens! At no point could you speak to a person. There was a prerecorded voice after every "no" that went something like this...We're sorry you chose not to take advantage of...Just in case you misunderstood we're offering... and on and on getting more and more condescending as it went.

    To my amazement, the order came as ordered but the shipping was wrong or so I thought. I called customer service (HA), and they insisted that both their loop and their commercial clearly state that S&H are $7.95 per board. Just not true unless its been changed or is in the fine print, which is still misleading.

    Stop being so greedy by forcing customers to pay for two boards when you could just be honest and charge $9.99 a board and $7.95 for S&H. Afterall, at the time of ordering you don't even know if your cat will use the product. This company has really shot itself in the foot because word of mouth will effect future sales. Too bad.

    0 Votes

Emery Catsent item that was cancelled, overcharged, kept state taxes on returned item

I placed an order in May 2009. Approximately 6 weeks later, I received a postcard that the items to be shipped would be delayed. If I still wanted them, I was to sign the card and send it back. Otherwise, the order would be cancelled. I decided to cancel the order and did not return the card (which I still have). Six months later (November), I saw a charge by Emery Cat on my credit card. I called them and learned that they had shipped the CANCELLED order. I refused the package so that I would not need to pay shipping and handling for the return. They credited me partially for the return but did not credit me for the shipping and handling charge OR FOR STATE TAXES (which, I am guessing, is probably illegal).

Emery CatDeceptive Advertising

Company advertises 2 cat scratching boards for the price of one plus $7.95 S&H. This is not only untrue but a customer does not get to view what they are ordering...instead the order is submitted without hitting an order confirmation. The 2nd scratching board is not free...it is $14.95. And you are charged 4 s&H charges of $7.95 each, so the order comes to $66.70 instead of $27.90. You cannot call to cancel: no one is present to accept the call. Unless you want to throw away your money, this scratching board is a major rip off. Read all the other complaints online before placing an order.

  • Ca
    catfamily Jan 08, 2010

    After your order is confirmed you're eligible to purchase the "protective bottom"
    that makes it sturdier on any surface for an ADDITIONAL ten dollars. Is this the
    same as the "durable base" that is supposed to be included all for $19.95 plus s&h?
    TO CANCEL YOUR ORDER (this worked for me) go to bottom of emerycat.com site
    click on customer status link; look to the left blue column scroll down to
    cancel your order & click on it. I was able to view my invoice, printed it out &
    checked the status again the next day. The invoice showing in detail the status now
    cancelled, Total: $0.00 QTY 0 Price $0. Too bad the deceptive advertising wasn't
    so clear. I did cancel within 4 hours of placing my order. The cancellation was
    processed in less than 24 hrs. My advice: Read all the complaints first, (wish I did)
    I would complain to the T.V. station that shows the add. I will look for this product
    when it comes to the retail market; target, bed bath & beyond etc and reconsider
    buying it then!

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    catfamily again Jan 12, 2010

    catfamily again; read posting in its entirety from 1/08/10:
    It includes tips on HOw To Cancel Your Order (worked for me).

    1 Votes
  • Qe
    qemahaff Jan 12, 2010

    after reading all the complaints mostly in charges, i will definitely not be buying through their website. i found it online at http://www.walgreens.com but is currently out of stock online, but lists that some stores might have it. you don't get the 2nd free, but apparently it wasn't anyway.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    Wayne Livingston Feb 14, 2010

    Guess I was lucky!! Picked up a board today at WalMart for $18.96 and taxes {no shipping --- carried it to my car myself!!]. Still waiting to see if my cats will think I'm a great guy or a gullible one --- they're not scratching on it as of yet. They sure like the catnip aroma stuck all over it tho!! Don't know where to get refills, but looks like refills can be made with a little cutting of to-be-recycled-anyway cardboard, glued together, and covered wth a bit of good sand coated on by first brushing on a liquid glue. And I KNOW that idea works because I did that to make a horse trailer ramp slip-free and it lasted forever!! I'm thinking that the concept isn't bad but it wouldn't be that hard to make a scratching board that would do the same job for under $2-3. Maybe I'll incorporate the idea into a carpeted climbing tower with hidey-holes and a center sisal-wrapped scratching post that my daughter wants me to make that should cost waaaay less than the pet stores want --- not to fault the stores -- everyone needs to make a living. Wayne Livingston

    0 Votes

Emery CatNot really a BOGO! DON'T DO IT!!!!

The website SAYS that each emery cat is $19.95. After I had submitted my order I am shown that EACH emery cat is $29.95. One of those was supposed to be BOGO! Not only that but the website says that S&H is $7.95, it's not. I paid $31.80 for shipping for the two emerycat POS's.

Once you recieve the confirmation email it offers a "free shipping" link. I wll not be entering my credit card informtion again just for these low lifes to steel more money from me!

  • Be
    Beware Fake Complaints Jan 08, 2010

    The problem seems that you selected 2 rather than 1 in the order form.

    It says "How many Buy One Get One Emery Cat™ Board sets of 2 would you like?"

    You wanted 1 set of 2...

    but it sounds like you selected 2 rather than 1, resulting in 2 (+ 2 free) total and 4 P&H charges.

    1 Votes

Emery CatDeceptive Advertising / Overcharges

www.EmeryCat.com advertised 1 item at $19.95 + $7.95 s/h, and a second item "FREE" + $7.95 s/h. My CC was charged $66.70 for "First Item + Second Item 'at Reduced Price' (instead of 'FREE') + $31.80 s/h (instead of $15.90)". Calls to their "Customer Service" at [protected] did NOT work. I was on hold for almost an HOUR, and was then told that my order was "not in the system" for 2 days. On the 3rd day, AT EIGHT-O-FIVE A.M. (5 minutes after they start accepting calls), my order WAS "in the system", but they wanted to charge my CC $35 TO CANCEL MY ORDER, because it had "already left the warehouse, and can't be cancelled".
My bank says the CC charges are "valid", because I DID admit to ording the items, and it may take up to 180 days to get a full refund... ...IF the bank is able to determine that the company deceived me with their advertising.
There is NO PHYSICAL ADDRESS listed for the company (only a P.O. box # in Connecticut), and the phone number for their "customer service" department is owned by a "Edison Nation, LLC" in New York City, NY... ...and "Edison Nation" claims they "only handle orders", and would NOT give me the phone number or physical address of the company that sent me the items and charged my CC.
If anyone DOES ever find a physical address on them, please e-mail me at [protected]@Yahoo.com with it, because I plan on pursuing federal charges against them for "deceptive advertising" (ad vs. actual items), "mail fraud" (it came via US Mail), and "wire fraud" (my CC was used to buy them).

  • Sc
    Screwed in NJ Dec 07, 2009

    I had called to cancel this order. They assured me that the order was canceled, but they were shipped and I was billed: 39.90 for 2 plus Shipping: 31.80 = Total: 71.70

    Besides that they say it is shipped complete, and yet you have to buy the emery replacements at another $70.00.

    These people are crooks!

    -1 Votes
  • Bk
    bksrmgc Dec 30, 2009

    Same here. I wanted to order one plus one "free" and ended up with four. Total $70+ dollars. These people are crooks! Now I'm trying to find out how to return 2 of them. Anyone know?

    -1 Votes
  • Be
    Beware Fake Complaints Jan 08, 2010

    The problem seems that you selected 2 rather than 1 in the order form.

    It says "How many Buy One Get One Emery Cat™ Board sets of 2 would you like?"

    You wanted 1 set of 2...

    but it sounds like you selected 2 rather than 1, resulting in 2 (+ 2 free) total and 4 P&H charges.

    1 Votes
  • Va
    VampireMommy Feb 01, 2010

    A similar thing happened to us. We ordered the Buy One Get One "free" $19.95 plus shipping and handling $7.95 x2. The boards were packed in the same box, so the additional shipping charge was a rip-off. The total charge was $86.70. After a lengthy conversation with a customer representative, I was told that we ordered the "Deluxe" model which was $29.95 Buy One Get One plus S&H x2. NO where was there even a "Deluxe" model offered nor ordered. After complaining at length about the poor business transaction, I was told that I could return two of the boards and would be refunded $50.85 after the merchandise was received. I was given an address of 300 Returns Road - Wallingford, CT 06493. I guess we'll see if the check is in the mail.

    0 Votes

Emery CatDishonest ads with no access

Again, unclear ordering form. I wanted two, the second one free with only the $7.95 shipping fee. The form asked "1" or "2"? I put down "2" and the order went through for "4" with $31.80 in shipping fees.
I have tried every means to get back to them to cancel the order--impossible! It is "not in the system yet, therefore it can't be canceled."
Absolute rip-off!
Am contacting the Better Business Bureau plus "Rip-Off" online site.

  • Ca
    cathmh Jan 02, 2010

    This is typical of these tv ads or the same thing on the internet. I got caught by the same thing on another product. You are better off ordering from somewhere like HSN (as seen on TV) or Harriot Carter where all charges are upfront. You save money in the long run.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Scott in Spokane Jan 05, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    If you notice on the order form at the top they clam the SSL Cert is from Comodo which is suppose to have a javascript link to verify the site but that is a fake logo because the SSL cert is really from "The USERTRUST Network, AKA www.usertrust.com" and it is a cross scripting order form using parts of https://www.emerycat.com and parts from https://wac.edgecastcdn.net which has a SSL cert from "DigiCert Inc, AKA Entrust.net SSL" non of these sites uses a Comodo SSL cert at all and violates the Comodo Group TOS for all logo's.

    Just that alone is enough invalidate the connection and enough evidence they are using illegal tactics to steal money from customers.

    The order form is created using a well known SSL security bug in the Ajax cross-scripting code.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Beware Fake Complaints Jan 08, 2010

    The problem seems that you selected 2 rather than 1 in the order form.

    It says "How many Buy One Get One Emery Cat™ Board sets of 2 would you like?"

    You wanted 1 set of 2...

    but it sounds like you selected 2 rather than 1, resulting in 2 (+ 2 free) total and 4 P&H charges.

    0 Votes

Emery CatShady Marketing

This company does not give you the whole truth in purchasing their products. They advertise a board for $19.95 plus shipping and handling--$7.95, and you get another one free, paying just the shipping and handling. So why does this order turn out to total: $71.00????? The s&h charge turned out to be almost $32.oo. There was NO opportunity to review the total before confirming the order. My suggestion is not to order from this company.

  • Ez
    Ezmerelda Nov 27, 2009

    Thanks for the heads up!! I was thinking of ordering for my Mom who recently added a kitten to her household. Will steer clear of this company and wait 'til it shows up in stores to see it for myself. :>)

    -1 Votes
  • Ro
    rockfordillinois Dec 10, 2009

    I wish I would have read all these comments before I decided to purchase this product. I agree with each and every comment. By time it was all said and done $81.65 was charged to my account! I ordered the refills ($14.95/3 and shipping was supposed to be free on the refills) and what I thought I was ordering were 2 emerycats (one was suppose to be free, just pay shipping and handling). I received 4 emerycats and the refills. The total shipping was $31.80 and my order came to $49.85 for a grand total of $81.65!!! Which they never make you aware of the total until the order is submitted and you can't cancel it. It's a very nice scam they are running. The sad thing is that my cats won't even use this product; they use their $5.00 cardbord scratchers. SO BUYERS PLEASE BEWARE!

    -1 Votes
  • Ic
    ice angel Dec 13, 2009

    I agree completely. I cancelled before the order was shipped. I ordered 2 plus one refill, and the shipping was $31.80. Total order 86.60. I called and called the customer service number and kept getting put on hold for long lengths of time. Finally I got through to a rep but was "cut off" before I could utter a word!! I sure wish I had read the complaints first, as you said.

    -1 Votes
  • Ku
    kuiltdiva Dec 22, 2009

    This "emery board" appears to be nothing more than the cardboard cat scratchers that you can purchase at Wal-Mart and pet stores for a lot less. My cats use their scratchers everyday but that does not get rid of the sharp claws. I taught my cats to put up with weekly toe nail trims. I use a human nail clipper. I recommend the cardboard scratchers. I purchase cat nip to sprinkle on it weekly.

    -1 Votes
  • La
    Lara05 Dec 27, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    thank you so much for saving me from being scammed! I had already punched in the number for this product on my phone ready to order when I thought maybe I should look it up first and see if there are any complaints. It wasn't really that easy to find any info on it unfortunately, but luckily I finally found this site and was saved from this scam. So I really can't say it enough THANK YOU!!! I hope everyone else that even thinks of buying the emerycat board finds this before getting scammed too, it's so sad that this kind of thing happens! It's truly disgusting and I really hope you can all get your money back somehow! Again thank you so much for taking the time to write this and saving me from being scammed.
    Lara

    -1 Votes
  • Be
    Beware Fake Complaints Jan 08, 2010

    The problem seems that you selected 2 rather than 1 in the order form.

    It says "How many Buy One Get One Emery Cat™ Board sets of 2 would you like?"

    You wanted 1 set of 2...

    but it sounds like you selected 2 rather than 1, resulting in 2 (+ 2 free) total and 4 P&H charges.

    1 Votes
  • Do
    doug beiggs Jul 04, 2010

    when you get your credit card bill contest the charge.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    doug beiggs Jul 04, 2010

    when you get your credit card bill contest it.

    0 Votes

Emery Cat — Overcharges

Advertisement uses misdirection and "BOGO" to imply buy one get one which is actually 25% off and appears to...