Dreams plc Complaints & Reviews

Dreams plcDamaged Goods, money would not be refunded

Copy of complaint letter to Dreams Plc (xxxx's hide personal info)


Dreams Plc
Knaves Beech
High Wycombe
Buckinghamshire
HP109YU


4th March 2012


Dear Sir / Madam,
Re: Order Number : xxxxxxxxxxxxx
I have given your company every opportunity to avoid this formal complaint, but the lack of customer service, and more importantly, the lack of refund of my money paid, has caused me to take this route. You may wish to save the time of reading the rest of this letter by immediately returning the £xxx.xx I paid to you on 2nd January 2012, against which I received a defective product on 27th January 2012, which was returned to you on the 15th February 2012.


The pertinent events are below.
-

2 2nd January 2012, order xxxxxxxxxx placed at your xxxxxxxxxxxx branch. £xxx.xx paid on my credit card.


- Bed and mattress delivered 27th January 2012.


- 28th January 2012 “1”
Bed unpacked and checked, ready for assembly.
Missing parts recorded and photographing of unbelievably damaged condition of leather elements of bed.


- 28th January 2012 “2”
Phone call to your customer service to attempt to arrange same day replacement of damaged and missing parts. When “xxxxxxxxx” advised this was not possible, even though the warehouse is less than 20 miles away, I told him to cancel my order, arrange collection and refund my money. After many minutes of being placed on hold, he confirmed my money would be refunded.


- 15th February 2012
The bed and mattress collected. (SRET reference : xxxxxxx)

As at the date of this letter, no communication has been made to me to discuss this matter, and more seriously, my money has not been refunded.

I now formally inform you, that if my £xxxxxx is not refunded to me by Friday 9th March 2012, I will instigate all options available to me as a Consumer.

With the above events taken into consideration, you probably won’t have any concern as to what I think of Dreams Plc, but if you do, feel free to send a questionnaire to me.
Yours faithfully,
xxxxxxxxxx

Damaged Goods, money would not be refunded
Damaged Goods, money would not be refunded
Damaged Goods, money would not be refunded
Damaged Goods, money would not be refunded

Dreams plcDEFECTIVE BED

We bought a bed there 3 months ago, paid £2, 200, and were allegedly sold a top of the range divan. It has only just arrived after numerous calls and only when I was about to cancel the transaction was it miraculously delivered 2 days later. I wish they hadn't bothered. The divan base is too big for the mattress, which is shoddy beyond belief, it truly looks as if it has been knocked up by novices in a sweatshop; the seams are all over the place and although we paid for a king size 5 foot wide mattress, this is only 4 foot 9 inches wide - talk about cutting corners. We also ordered a 4-drawer divan base, but 2 of them are jammed shut, the tracks are obviously faulty and the entire bed is clearly a very inferior product. I immediately contacted the store, but they were utterly rude and dismissively so, simply directing me to call their customer services premium phone number. I know this will get me nowhere and I need to deal with the store that I bought the bed from directly so I have been in touch with the Office of Fair Trading and am following their advice regarding my rights to a full refund under the Sale of Goods Act, or failing that via section 75 of the credit card company that, thankfully, I paid with. I have never been prompted to write on such forums before, but I feel so strongly about this dreadful DREAMS PLC that I want to warn any potential customers to give them a wide berth; I only wish I had read the reviews about them online before parting with so much money, and instead gone to a reputable and reliable store. I will post again with the outcome.

Dreams plcPoor product and poor customer service

My wife and I purchase a bed from Dreams in August. We paid £2200 for "one of the best matresses in the store". We waited 3weeks for the delivery, which we didn't mind. After a week we notice that the memory foam had too much of a memory, so when I went to bed it was still dipping from the morning. I called many times, waiting over 20 minutes before I spoke to someone. They called out an independent specialist who said the bed was faulty. He said he would report this to Dreams and they would get back to me in 5 days. 2 weeks later I called Dreams and they said they didn't know why no one had called me yet. After being passed to different people I agreed to have a replacement. it was now December when our replacement came. I was asked to sign a disclaimer, which meant if the dream delivery men smashed a light mirror or pictures it wouldn't be their fault. They delivered it and the exact same problem occurred. Coming up to Christmas I couldn't get through to anyone, I got promised call backs, got told I was being transfered but instead cut off, and put hold for over 20 mins and sometimes didn't even get through. Finally spoke to someone and was told someone would call back tomorrow, didn't call. I run a business and find it hard to find the time to sit on the phone 3 times a day to sort this out. I called on Monday 04/04/11 and was told I would get a call in 24hrs and that I was entitled to a refund. No call again so I called today 07/04/11 and was now told that that they will not refund and it was my fault the bed is broken.

Sorry this is such a long message, but this has been going on since august 2010.
Also my wife is 33 weeks pregnant now having to sleep on a broken bed. Dreams are well aware of this and still don't care.

This is a terrible company, forceful selling and disgraceful customer services. I would never ever deal with these again, and will be taken this further.

I have just spoke to dreams and they have finally offered me a refund. I purchase the Eminance matress and base for a total of £2289. They have just refunded me £1911.09. When i asked where the other £377.91 is they told me that the £377.91 if for the FREE pillows and bed linning they GAVE me for FREE.

First of all they said they couldnt refund because of the length of time i have had the bed. I first reported the problem in January not April. 3 months sleeping on a broken bed with a pregnant wife having to roll out of a 3inch dip. They really have no consideration or after care.

Once again to add, everything they give you for FREE is not. Did they really not expect us to use the pillows and bed linning for the 3 months that this was being sorted?

The FREE bedding and pillows have now cost me £377.91, which i will do my best to get refunded.

Trading standards or Citizens advice maybe able to help.

Ill keep you posted

  • Ki
    kingokong0 Apr 10, 2011

    Stick to your guns, we have had a grievous 7 months trying to resolve substandard Dreams bed issue, which has finally been resolved by getting a full refund via Section 75. To pursue this, you need to have paid by credit card, and it will not be an overnight success - lots of letters, proof of writing to Dreams ( always scorrespond with them sending letters via recorded delivery - as they will lie to the credit company and say you never contacted them), but ultimately worth it. They are a shocking company, spread the word to anyone and everyone to avoid them like the plague!

    1 Votes
  • Ki
    kingokong0 Apr 10, 2011

    Couldn't agree more, BAD DREAMS, more like, we were sold a defective bed & had loads of hassle, only sorted thanks to the help of trading standards (number is online) and we went to the small claims court in the end. It is a bit of hassle, but worth it when they sell you garbage for £1500 and then refuse to acknowledge that the problem is all theirs. Dreams plc should be shut down, they are liars and cheats, but if you hold your nerve and can keep at it you will win in the end. Good luck and don't let them fob you off, put everything in writing, keep copies, keep postal receipts, do it all by the book and watch them get laughed out of court! It's great!!! Hope more people will do it, then Dreams may finally get the message they are wrong, wrong, wrong and consumers are not gullible idiots who they can fool with their rubbish beds!

    0 Votes
  • Be
    bedtrouble Aug 19, 2011

    Actually as a glimer of hope Section 75 also applies to those of us that used dreams 0% finance offer i.e. buy now and pay £130 a month .. we are in the process of trying to get a refund for a poor quailty mattress and bed ... Dreams are a very very poor compnay that sell poor quaility goods...

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angiewawa Mar 03, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    What is section 75 ? We have issues with dreams and in the throws of trying to get a refund we have been sending them letters for almost a year now. Dreams are the worst company in my eyes! Thanks :-)

    0 Votes

Dreams plcsecond hand beds for sale

Yuk ! What a disgusting store. Went shopping with my daughter and whilst looking in the other bed stores on the Estate I was warned about Dreams from other shops. I was told this store is the Regional Clearance centre and they sell SECOND HAND BEDS Upstairs !! Yes, you heard it. They let customers sleep on the mattress/bed for 40 nights and if they dont like it they can comfort exchange it for another . All of the used beds are then sold at this outlet store. DISGUSTING ! Some mattresses had dip holes in them, staines, blood and dirt. Totally Revolting. I asked a sales person ...and they say it is Ex-Display. They sell beds, USED and full of Stains. STAY AWAY !

Dreams plcDO NOT BUY FROM HERE

We recently bought a bed, mattress and wardrobe from Dreams - complete waste of space!

The customer service was none existent - rude, arrogant and very unhelpful staff.

The delivery of both items was a nightmare! they even left our wardrobe out on the pavement in the rain while they sat in their nice warm, dry van! Completely unbelievable!

We only found out our purchases had arrived in the store because we had to phone them on several occassions as no-one bothered to get in touch with us. Then, we were blatently lied to on 2 separate occassions!

Please, do not believe you will be the exception to their poor service. No matter how attractive the prices are, DO NOT SHOP HERE! They have no concern for their customers and should be stopped from trading. Fingers crossed for them going bust any day now...

  • Is
    Isy Feb 06, 2011

    One bad experience doesn't make for a bad company... I had no problems, that doesn't make them great either but name me one company that hasn't had complaints...! I would buy from Dreams again without a second thought...

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angiewawa Mar 04, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The whole point of being on this complaints board is to... Oh yeah COMPLAIN!!! And to see if others have had similar experiences with these company's lol

    DREAMS ARE RIP OFF MERCHANTS THEY SHOULD NOT TRADE!!!
    personal experience ;-)

    0 Votes

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem