Bright House Complaints & Reviews

Bright HouseImcompetent Customer Service

The quality of their service is mediocre but their Customer Service is the worst you can find around. They are a bunch of incompetent idiots. They disconnected my service by mistake then wanted to charge me a reconnection fee. I sent them packing. Now if you ever have a technical problem, you are heading for pure hell. All their techs act without any coordination or knowledge of the equipment they handle. DONT GO FOR BRIGHT HOUSE, YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!

Bright HouseRude customer service

We have been w/ B.H. for several years and are cancelling our services due to the lack of customer service. Anytime we call they treat us as if we need them more then they need us (paying customer)! I do not believe I have ever dealt with a company that seems to teach their reps how to make a customer feel unappreciated. We are done! By the way their appointment guarantee is a joke and they can keep their $20!!!

Bright Housefalse advertiseing

i was looking to buy i new washing machine for my flat. As i cant go out much due to bad health i often ask freinds or family to keep an eye open for bargains, so when i was told of a washing machine for sale in bright house for only £99.00 you can imagine my surprise so i phoned them and they confirmed this, so i made arrangements to go and buy this, when i got to the shop at my expence there it was manegers bargain £99.00 so i rushed over to the counter only to be told that it had been sold, much to my dissmay, so i pointed out to the maneger that it was false advertiseing and also miss leading leaving the for sale sign up and that i had traveled all the way to his shop because of it when he then told me in not so many words tough and that he would put up a sign when he felt ready and not before and when i said that i would inform trading standards he said go ahead, ive never felt so angry as to the way i was treated and would like to know who else i can complain to thankyou

  • Ge
    geoff 1950 Jun 22, 2011

    have been with bright house for many years, 18 months ago bought a 42 inch phillips lcd tv and payed
    warranty charge, about 12 weeks ago it would no longer recieve digital tv so bright house took it away for repair
    and replaced me with a 32inch baird tv, 8 weeks later my tv came back but still did not work, they took it away
    and 2 weeks later it came back but the tv that came back was the same model but older with scrathes and wall mounts fitted this was not mine. they could not replace me with a phillips tv but i offered to eccept a brand new baird 47inch as a replacement when it arrived today the driver told me that the tv on hes wsork sheet stated a new 47inch baird but the one
    he brought to my home was a 3 year old 47inch baird with coffee staines over its speakers, they are not honouring there contract they should replace me with a new phillips 42inch or better, as soon as you miss your payments they harrass you every day, there late payment charghes say on your contract £3 per item late payment charge but they are charging me
    £6 per item

    0 Votes

Bright HouseInternet and DVR Issues

I had BH installed at my house when we bought it in Winter Haven. All was OK for a while. The HD DVR started dropping the programs we had set up to record our favorite shows. This was a consistent problem, so we drove the box back and swapped it. We ended up doing this at least 3 times. I finally asked for the supervisor. 20 minutes later he comes out. I explain my dilemma. He tells me they get their equipment from China, they're not responsible for how it works. "If you buy a Toyota don't you expect it to run?" I tell him. He doesn't want to hear it. So finally I get a box that works for a while. My daughter and her boyfriend come to watch the Super Bowl with us. (last year) I have it recording so we can eat, and get snacks and have restroom breaks. Well, the TV goes live and we can't rewind it. This happens several times. The recording is GONE. So. we missed several good drives and it ruins the game for us.
Right after Thanksgiving we had a house fire and had to move into a rental. I can't get FIOS so I'm forced to go back with Bright House. I did not want to do this, but I had no choice. They installed full service- phone, internet, and TV. Right off the bat we have internet connection issues. They come right out and work on it. Our wireless connection is VERY intermittent. It goes on and off all day and night. To date, six weeks now, they've been here no less than 18 times. Last week a service tech worked for 2 hours and found the cables were wrong in the attic. Designated line went to TV, not the modem. All was well for about a week, then we're back to the intermittent connections. Bright House send Knight back out to switch the router. He goes through SIX routers before he found one that worked. Yesterday that router started the intermittent connection. Today Knights comes back and tells me it was fine. When he leaves my son comes in and tells me he's offline. I catch the tech before he can pull away. He comes back in. He says I need to get a wired phone, that the wireless phone is my problem. He says Bright House is OUT of routers so he can't exchange it for me, and leaves. So, I'm back on the phone complaining and the circle starts once again.

Also, Sunday my DVR went on the blink and I missed the third quarter of the Super Bowl. We drove to BH Monday AM and traded for a new one. It wouldn't load programming, so they had to send a tech out with another one.

I CAN'T WAIT TO MOVE BACK TO MY HOUSE AND GET FIOS AGAIN!
Larry in Winter Haven, FL

  • Ky
    kym-mckenzie Aug 20, 2009

    i am a mother of four & was told by brighthouse manager to keep my legs shut if im finding payments difficult.

    0 Votes
  • Bh
    BHNInsider Feb 10, 2010

    Larry, sorry to hear about the equipment issues. My name is Chris Berry and I work for Bright House. Send me an email; I would like to help make this better. Thanks! [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Danny R. Eller Feb 06, 2011

    I've had Brighthouse since I moved into this neighborhood in Wesley Chapel. At first I really liked it as it was simple and had the basic feature I wanted including internet. but late last year my DVR box started freezing up and had to be replaced. But although the replacement had an E-Sata connection for my external harddrive it would not work. Brighthouse has intentionally disabled that function so that you can no longer expand the hardrive capacity by adding an external harddrive. That was a very important feature as the internal hardrives on the provided boxes are JUST TOO SMALL. Many of us in the Tampa area go overseas for months at a time so that is a very important feature. Brighthouse doesn't want to turn the E-Sata on "because they offer the DVR service". They say nothing about the limited capacity not meeting their customer's needs. I'm thinking of either a TIVO or just firing Brighthouse all together and going with the FIOS thing. I'll be talking to our homeowner's association meeting next week about terminating our contract for basic service with Brighthouse since they on longer care about customer service or customer needs. All this and they give another kick in the teeth by raising their rates next month to include the diminished service.

    0 Votes
  • No
    NormalEasyGoing Nov 19, 2012

    A couple years ago Bright House provided reasonable customer service. Now they are worse then Time Warner, and that's hard to do! It is impossible to reach them by phone. I have tried every number published but once I hit there phone system I get nothing but records saying they will be with me shortly. I have waited over 2 hours on multiple occasions, only to have the call drop at their end.

    How do we let companies like this exist? Worse, we give them right of way to run cables, giving them a monopoly and then let them treat us this way.

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    M St Martin Jul 10, 2013

    We have had Brighthouse Whole house DVR service for almost a year now. To date we have only been able to watch a couple of movies. Last night I cancelled the service, out of all the programs we have recorded we have only been able to watch 2 movies. We have made many calls on this and BH sent out techs twice replacing two boxes and the last tech said that the problem may be coming from the main DVR. The whole house DVR is nothing but problems with lines and interuptions running through the picture and the sound equally disrupted. Spoke to BH rep this evening, she stated that they have been having problems in the last couple of months w/the whole house DVR service but the problems are fixed now. It's odd that the rep I spoke to last night did not tell me this. We have been paying for a service that we have never received from BH. We are stuck with BH because they are the providers that our HO assoc. has chosen for basic cable. I wonder if this is a matter that could be handled with a class action lawsuit they sued in Direct TV in NC .

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    chucho69 Jan 05, 2014

    Can you get direct where you are at? I do believe a H/O association has no control over who you can have as your PERSONAL tv provider unless you are in an apt then there are restrictions . I too have brighthouse in one of my homes because it's a Apt away for work but at my regular home I have direct and I never have had an issue with direct and the remote is a lot simpler. And the tv app for your mobile device is always working. . Brighthouse really ducks and I will be getting a portable dish to watch and apt. You should check to see what your bylaws are. Hope this helped

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chance3 Jun 25, 2016

    Larry, I agree. I have all of the same problems including distortion in the television, a dropping of the telephone line, dropping of the internet connections. I couldn't even BEGIN to count the number of times that Brighthouse has been here to resolve the problem (change the router, change the dvr/cable box, put in new phone lines, put in new cable). Everything that you can imagine and it still happens. I keep a log of the events. I called their technicians one night and he rebooted the modem. From there, he called me on my home phone. Despite the fact that he was showing on their end everything was okay here, my phone was not ringing and my telephone line was dead. I even have a buddy in another development that has the same issues with the internet on a constant basis. I am consistently spending time at home with service technicians who come and go and say that "everything is taken care of" only to be back in the same place at some point and time. In a two week vacation period, I lost 6 days due to Brighthouse technicians, one which the technician showed up BEFORE the scheduled time without calling me or notifying me. Of course, I wound up sitting around waiting and twiddling my thumbs. Once again, I have filed complaints through the FCC against the company. I don't have FIOS and am held hostage. After scheduling an appointment for today, one showed up yesterday and was extremely disrespectful to me in my home telling me that he was here to "stay with me all day to see where the problem was since they are not showing anything" and that "I was calling in to complain about problems every day."

    0 Votes

Bright Househorrible cable service

The digital cable service is a joke. They recently "upgraded" the cable boxes and I have had nothing but trouble ever since. The cable will suddenly go in and out. The screen just flashes, making it impossible to watch anything. I love spending money on something I can't watch! I have contacted customer service on multiple occassions. They have given me a new box, reinstalled the software and sent out 2 workers thus far. Nothing seems to fix it. It's not my brand new tv, it's just their ### service. The one guy that came out did admit that the signal was not being sent out properly, but the second guy said that everything was magically better the next day. Needlesstosay he was either a complete ### or a liar. Still can't watch tv in my livingroom, there are recorded shows I would like to watch right about now. I am sick and tired of Bright House and their ### service. I am looking to switch to AT&T U-Verse.

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

Bright HouseCustomer Service

We see big TV announcement of this company saying that JD Powers gave them an award for customer services, I just called JD POWERS to find out how they do get the rates to say that because I'm a customer of Bright House since 2004 and never, never received a documentation on how to rate the service of this company.

It is very interesting to see how this big company play in a role one with each other to get more people to join them.

Brighthouse make me loose 2 days of jobs already and when you call to customer services, if you talk with a supervisor or a regular employees they always told you "I Don't know", "I'm Sorry I cant help you" and things like that. It is really dissapointed.

  • Di
    Diane Bland Mar 24, 2010

    Lately everytime I call brighthouse because of a problem I manage to get very rude people. I am not a rude person and I donot appreciate being treated like an Idiot. Also I didnot know that we would have our bill change so dramtically. We are not rich people here, and it is already a day to day to day struggle, and now you are going to raise our bill to onehundred and seventynine dollars a month? That is insane and as soon as I can find another way to get my service I will be changing it. But most importantly, you have got to take care of all your rude people handling your bussiness for you, because if you don't you will end up loosing more customers than you can afford to! Hmmmm maybe that is why you have raised our bill? loosing to many customers and have to cover your butts, huh? That is what happens when you can't take care of your customers in a plesant way. What ever happened to the old saying you don't argue with a customer you just assume that the customer is always right!!! I know that I am not always right but, I don't get ugly over the phone and treat people like they are stupid! YOUR CUSTOMER SERVICE REALLY NEEDS ALOT OF IMPROVEMENT!!! I have been a loyal customer for ten years going into eleven, and I think that I miss your small company so very much! They knew how to treat people, and when ever I go into the brighthouse company in Cantonment, they are still the best people on the face of this earth. I will miss them. I just want you to know that I would not be writing this if you had polite people on the telephones. They ARE some of the rudest people I have ever met. One other thing. I called 411 today to ask about our channels because they were changed with out my knowledge, and was sent to Canada first and then 4 other places before finally connecting to this area, I felt like I was in twilight Zone, and my daughter was sitting there with me listening to everything. I have a speaker phone. It may only be fifty cents or a dollar, but when they did that to me I don't feel like I should have to pay for it, and they also got very ugly about that. She said Our # is on your bill, I told her that if I had my bill or a phone book I would not need 411. it is none of her bussiness anyway! It is just the fact that she said that to me and in such a rude way! ThankYou- The Blands

    0 Votes

Bright HousePoor service

After having Brighthouse Networks for 2 years we moved and so I transferred service so I could keep my e-mail address and we have never had problems with Brighthouse. Well, HUGE mistake. We had to get a new phone number because we were changing area codes, they came the next day of calling to install the cable, ok, fine. A week later our telephone was supposed to be activated, I called daily to see if they had our new number yet, the answer was always no, it will be tomorrow. Well, the day before it was to be activated I called and still no number so I questioned them. The rep got very testy with me and cut me short. Well, the next morning I called back, still no number and guess what?????? The work order had never been put in!!! Needless-to-say I was beyond pissed!!! They said they would push it and get it activated the next day (like they were doing me a favour) I asked several times for a supervisor to call me back and never heard from one. The next day it was 1pm and our phone was STILL not working so I called back yet again. Apparently it had a problem AGAIN and had to be reset. Finally that day the phone worked, well we have 7 jacks in our house and guess how many work... ONE!!! Of our 6 TV jacks, 4 of them work, and I've given up on calling. The last two times I called I demanded to speak to a supervisor immediately and got put on hold for 15 min at which point I hung up because I don't have all day to sit on the phone waiting. Bye bye Brighthouse, I switched to Verizon!

  • Jo
    joe verillio Oct 06, 2008

    So how is your new service?

    0 Votes
  • Co
    consumer Apr 12, 2009

    THIS IS WHAT I WROTE BRIGHTHOUSE:

    I sent an e mail yesterday and got no response.

    Your service tech came today. He was not friendly and obviously didn't want to be working on Easter.

    I asked if he was putting in a new box and he said he only had refurbished boxes.

    After he finished, I asked him if the remote was set and he said yes.

    I asked him if the delay on our other box was normal, he said yes and left.

    I tried the replacement unit and the remote did not work. Called your company and after they ran thru some tests, determined that the box was not good and I needed a new one.

    YOUR COMPANY HAS INCOMPETANT PEOPLE!!!

    I asked that they send someone out to replace it. Your company said no, they were too busy today.

    So I guess your Company standard is to get in and out as fast as possible. You have no quality control. The proper response was to get someone here immediately, even if it meant sending a supervisor.

    Your lack of response to yesterday's e mail and lack of ability to respond immediately shows that I need to look for a new provider.

    My time is valuable and your company does not think so, I am tired of wasting time on Brighhouse...my house is not Bright is a Dimhouse, becasue of your lack of service.

    I will be sending this to JD Powers for inclusion into your ratings.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    michael yates Jun 03, 2009

    I had bright house sence febuary sence day one i have had nothing BUT PROBLEMS. there staff treated me as if i was stupid, ive been hung up on dissconnected and beligered. as a buisness owner, if i treated customers this way i would b out of business. after being on hold for an hour got hung up on. they expect me to lose business just to acomidate them and when i set an appointment they show up houres early and demand that they fix the problen immeaditaly with no regard to my schedule ive been cussed threatened and told that the problem was my own. manny supervising tecks and others have showed up and never fixed the problem. never getting compensated for the lack of service or compleet failure of the same.but there always "at my door with there hand out wanting there money when the bill is due" they are a crap service with crap employees that have NO RESPECT FOR CUSTOMERS, RAPEING THEM WITH GARBAGE SERVICE.AND THEY WANT ME TO SWITCH TO THERE BUSINESS SERVICE. Hell why would i trust them with my business when they cant even get my personal service right the first time?????????? bright house sucks and sucks big. when ever i go into a customers home i tell them what garbage bright house is and exactly how ive been treated!!! and more often than not i get the same from them about how they feel violated. used and mistreated, abused, and taken advantage of they wont reemburse you for the lack of service or insult you by offering 50 dollars off your bill. as far as im concerend they can take it and shuv it up there [email protected]$#%^&^%$#$# untill they choke. I HOPE ITS SOON!!!...

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    rainstech Aug 25, 2009

    Brighthouse and Verizon in Tampa bay are a monopolizing group of people. I have lost all respect for them and their sales tactics. Roadrunner cannot get their billing straight. The installers are rude and usually lack major knowledge of their trade. Verizon and Brighthouse have taken over most major complexes in this area and we are all fed up with it. We in Tampa bay have a right to choice and freedom. I have served my country and am sick of this.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mikey-Boy Mar 05, 2010

    I've been with Brighthouse for years now. I've also had problems the whole time. I've finally gotten the point that I think I'm throwing in the towel. For over $160 a month, we've got poor intermittent TV service, unreliable internet and a pretty much useless VOIP phone service.

    We've had "technicians" out here numerous times. Some were better than others, but none has ever completely resolved the problems.

    It's just time to say "enough." I think "Brighthouse" is run by a bunch of "Dimwits."

    0 Votes
  • Xo
    Xoleras Jun 14, 2010

    What I do requires a reliable 24/7 99% up time service. I run a number of dedicated servers among other things, and my connection is lost at least once every day usually at the worst times.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    manMikey Jan 06, 2011

    well folks I think its time for a class action lawsuit ive read the problems other customers of bright house have had and wouldn't ya know its the exact same problems have had since December 2007, yup unreliable service for 4 years...Well one tech after another was sent out on numerous occastions...God know i lost count but after speaking with "customer care" at great length yesterday and explaining that thier unreliable internet service costed me a great deal of money because it went down in the middle of my work day, that i refuse to pay my bill...then i proceeded to customer care that I was also a stroke victim, and asked him what he thought would happen if i needed emergency services and upon picking up the phone i had no dial tone, after a long pause my agent could only say he didn't know, at which point i screamed, "I would be your boss, and my first order of business would be to fire you!, well long story short I have a supervisor coming tomorrow to check everything in the morning...will repost after getting a new provider to let you all know how it went...although i have a gut feeling how this is going to end, i.e a new provider...its time to bring the bright house monopoly to an end! class action law suit...im chosing at&t this time.

    0 Votes

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem