Best of the Bay Complaints & Reviews

Resolved Best of the BayInfomercial Scam

A "Best of the Bay" rep called my friend's restaurant, and told him that he has the best Japanese restaurant in the area, and wanted to do an exclusive on his establishment.

Our originally impression was that this was something that no one could pay or bribe their way into the show. As soon as they ask my friend for $1000 a month for every month just to air his restaurant in the show, I told my friend that this was not want we thought it was.

"Best of the Bay" certainly is not a show that features best restaurants or other best businesses in its class or in a district, it is not even part of KRON 4 where the show was aired.

"Best of the Bay" is an infomercial show, aka magazine, that features paying businesses, with the show host talking small talks with strangers in the street in between infomercials, so that the audience would not be aware of the fact that they were watching paid advertisements, and that's their formula.

My final conclusion is that "Best of the Bay" pays KRON 4 to have the spot to air their own collection of infomercials, without telling the audience and the paying businesses the true nature of the show. They keep telling their pay customers that they are "the winner" and they have "won an award", but to claim the price / air their establishment in the show, that have to pay!? "Best of the Bay" is another SCAM that is no better than those "Extenze" male enhancement advertisements.

  • Me
    M.E. Talbott Feb 27, 2009

    This is about 50% of the picture. A business cannot just call up KRON and ask to be a Best of the Bay feature. It starts with ratings and recommendations. KRON is selling a show so they want something interesting, a good story - because that is their business, to keep their audience engaged. Yes, they charge the business to come in and do the video. They send in their crew, put the story together, interview people AND have the audience that will benefit from it - both as a consumer and as a businessperson. In addition, they run the segment a couple times a month. KRON gets a good show, the business gets great exposure and as a consumer, I get filtered informaiton about interesting places worth visiting. What's wrong with that?

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    FilmCycle Feb 28, 2009

    M.E. Talbott: The problem is that the other 50% of the picture involves purchasing the airtime. My business was contacted as a "winner" and it was a high pressure sale; "We need you to sign the contract by Monday."
    'Best of the Bay' is paid advertising, yet it promotes itself as an objective news magazine. I passed on the offer, and in future I will pass on watching the show.

    1 Votes
  • Co
    cole2 Jun 18, 2009

    "A business cannot just call up KRON and ask to be a Best of the Bay feature. It starts with ratings and recommendations. "

    You as the business owner can get on the best of the bay website, fill out your company name, address, and phone number, and from there the business is "nominated". They dont even ask who sent in the nomination. They are not selective in who they choose, one anonymous "nomination" and they rush you the paperwork to sign a $1, 000 a month contract. It's a scam

    -1 Votes
  • Mo
    moms eyes Jul 13, 2009

    I think this show showcases the restaurants/businesses and it is up to the viewer to decide if it looks like some where they would like to go.
    Yes the restaurant has to pay for the air time, and it says so right on their web sight. I think to make it seem less sneaky, the show should have a little tag line that runs stating these are paid advertisers to releave some of the confusion..

    -1 Votes
  • Mu
    Muscle Whisperer Mar 24, 2010

    Thanks for the feedback.. our dayspa was contacted as a recent nominee. Smallest package offered was $995/mo for 15 months. Definitely not in our financial category.
    Even though they are willing to showcase nominated businesses, money talks. And the nominal fee is to cover production costs for a 3 man crew, 2 hrs, edit to a 1 min slot.. airing 2 of the "6" days a week around the KRON 4 news. I get we live in an upsell world.. but no thanks. We're content with what we have.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    JasonLSF Sep 28, 2010

    The question is does this show have any affiliation with KRON news or not? Do the same people who produce the real news get together and produce this show? If the answer is no, then it's an infomercial. By definition, an infomercial is a commercial that is presented as if it were a news story. Can anyone dispute this is the exact nature of this Best of the Bay show? The "reporters" on this show are not true journalists. They are actors acting as journalists. Journalism follows strict standards and practices. A) The subject of a news piece never has to pay or be paid. B) There is always a counter point to the story. In this context, there would be people in the segment saying not so nice things about the business at hand. Yelp reviews on yelp.com is closer to a news story about Bay Area businesses than this Best of the Bay show. The only legit Best of the Bay is the one created by SF Guardian once a year. Incidentally, my business was picked as one of their bests. We were never asked by SFBG to pay them anything. In fact, they paid us in a way by giving us free PR and a nice little party at the get together for a group picture.

    -1 Votes
  • Hp
    hp8 Oct 20, 2010

    If all of this were true, how could the show still be on 5 years later on one of the most respected News Stations in the entire Bay Area? This show is not a scam. In fact, there are over hundreds of businesses on Best of the Bay TV, and Best of LA TV who sincerely enjoy the show.

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    FOOSBALL Oct 20, 2010

    Best Of The Bay does not seem to come across as a news. The hosts are not actors, but host like you would see on any magazine show. Their web site says they are featured on KRON, not part of KRON. My business was contacted by them as well. I have a local picture framing store and the pricing was a bit out of my league, but for the amount of entitlements you got v. the cost of doing all of this for your self was actually pennies on the dollar. If I could afford to do this then I would. The feature is done in high def., it's shown twice a week, once in prime time, they give the ability for you to embed the segment on your site, you have life time ownership of the video, they do print media announcing your nomination, and they never said I won anything, just that I was nominated. If I could get all of that for 15k, and I checked it would cost upwards of 50k to do this on my own I can see the value.

    1 Votes

Resolved Best of the BayNo credibility

There is no credibility to this show. They sold us a spot on their show claming we would have exclusivity in our category and county for the duration of our contract. At the time we signed on they aired 1 day per week. By the time we signed we were told the show was doing so well that they were moved from Sundays to Saturdays and in addition they will also air on Wednesdays. We would be covered in both the Sat and Wed air times.

A couple months into this we find out that our competitor 10 minutes away from us is also featured on their website and show! It turns out they now come on 3 days a week, Sat, Sun and Wed. I spoke to the shows producer to find out how this could have happened. He told me you do have exclusivity...for our Saturday and Wednesday spot and they have exclusivity for Sundays. He tells me "you are in the top 2 spots, isn't that good enough?" Really Gilbert? They are basically giving you an award that is only good on a certain day of the week.

We did not sign on to be in the top 2. You sold us on being "the only one in our county in that category to have that title"

  • To
    Tony Ng Feb 15, 2009

    A "Best of the Bay" rep called my friend's restaurant, and told him that he has the best Japanese restaurant in the area, and wanted to do an exclusive on his establishment.

    Our originally impression was that this was something that no one could pay or bribe their way into the show. As soon as they ask my friend for $1000 a month for every month just to air his restaurant in the show, I told my friend that this was not want we thought it was.

    "Best of the Bay" certainly is not a show that features best restaurants or other best businesses in its class or in a district, it is not even part of KRON 4 where the show was aired.

    "Best of the Bay" is an infomercial show, aka magazine, that features paying businesses, with the show host talking small talks with strangers in the street in between infomercials, so that the audience would not be aware of the fact that they were watching paid advertisements, and that's their formula.

    1 Votes
  • To
    Tony Ng Feb 15, 2009

    In response to the first posting by "Not Happy"... if you have to buy a spot that they "sold" you, how is that "an award"?

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    Santo Palomo Sep 15, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    And to think a similar show will air in Los Angeles some time or another.
    Is there really a best of the best?

    0 Votes