Benjamin Donley Complaints & Reviews

Benjamin DonleyFailure to provide design services

Where to begin. I have read many of the other posts and it appears that I am merely echoing other sentiments. There is certainly a patttern developing here.

My company signed a Letter of Agreement with Mr. Donley on 6/2/2009. The LOA specified an estimated completion date of 6/29/2009. The agreement was to develop 4 templates for Joomla and assist with branding and graphics for these four sites to showcase our various service offerings.

I attempted to stay up to date with Mr. Donley by contacting him by phone and e-mail on average of 3x per week. I am quite familar with software projects and expected mockups for review and regular communication at least weekly. We even went to the degree that prior to signing the LOA, we provided Mr Donley with an extensive requirements document.

We received our first "mockup" of only 1 of the 4 requested sites on 6/23. This was a single image that appeared like a screen shot of an out-of-the-box template. We had specifically requested many brand-related features that were not represented even marginally. Attempting to be polite and salvage the situation, we replied to him with very specific comments. We heard practically nothing from him. When I inquired about status, he said something along the lines of "I'm working on it."

Mr. Donley is impossible to reach by phone. A few times, both myself and the CEO of my company asked him specifically to call back. Since we signed the agreement, I have never been able to get him on the phone.

We are past the estimated delivery date with nothing to show for our money. As a result, we have asked him to cease work (although it is not clear he has done any) and to refund the money. Then, lo and behold!, I discover all these complaints. It is clear to me that I was right about my suspicions. After viewing one of his web sites, BD Productions which is the one I originally posted my RFI on, that he offers a 100% guarantee. I would like him to make good on that claim.

Our company, based in CA, would be interested in participating in any action against Ben Donley related to breech of contract and fraud. In the meantime, we have some other information to add. Based on a Google search, Mr Donley appears to be offering services under at least the following business URLs, many of which are in different states:

http://www.riverbridgedesign.com/default.aspx
http://www.customgraphicsandweb.com/index.php
http://www.intrigue-design.com/testimonials.php
http://www.genevapc.com/
http://www.frankdearwester.com/
http://customgraphicsandweb.com/
http://bdproductions.org/

There is also a site dedicated to complaints specifically leveled at Mr. Donley at http://benjamindonley.com/

  • Sy
    Syreen22 Aug 22, 2009

    I have also been recently scammed by Ben Donley. Late may I provided him with payment and much information re: site creation. At first there was much contact between us, but no mockups despite my many requests. All communication stopped and I have asked a few times now for a refund with no replies given...I have given him 48 hrs till I follow up with the BBB and everywhere else that I possibly can. I have kept all documents (eg. proof of payment, signed contract, all emails, etc) just incase, and I'm glad I did. I contacted him originally through Scriptlance, where he also seems to be working through. Just so you know.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rob.saket Oct 08, 2009

    Come And JOIN this Group, we have started a massive

    complaint against scriptlnce

    http://groups.google.com/group/beware-of-scriptlance

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Ben Donley Jan 04, 2011

    While I realize that this particular person is horrible. He shares my name. There are also several other Ben Donley's in the world who have lived extremely scrupulous lives. This sort of posting might seem like a good warning to others, but it is in fact damaging to those of us who are NOT this person. You should take that under advisement as the remaining Ben Donley's of the world seek to earn a living. I'm sorry you've been scammed, but PLEASE remove this post.

    0 Votes

Benjamin DonleyFraud & Breech of contract

I signed contract with Ben Donley in April 2008 for $1, 650 to build me a website. Estimated time to complete this website was 4-6 weeks. It's been 5 months and Ben said he was not going to start or finish my website. I paid $825 by check for deposit. Ben said he didn't get check. I agreed to transfer deposit instead via pay pal so he could start the website. The next day Ben said the check arrived. He gave me his word that he would not cash the check since I paid him the deposit via pay pal. Ben emailed me and said he mailed the check back to me. Ben committed fraud when he cashed that check.

Ben never started my website. Ben tried to extort an additional $400 for every complaint I made. He refused to start or finish my website. I was forced to hire a local developer which cost me $20, 000.

Ben is a fraud. Ben is a scam artist. Ben is guilty of breeching my contract. Ben will be held responsible for his actions. I will file a lawsuit in AZ since Ben promoted his business in AZ. If Ben does not agree to pay then I will put a lien on his house.

Do NOT do business with this fraud. He cares about nobody but himself.

  • Be
    Ben Donley Jun 10, 2011

    While I realize that this particular person is horrible. He shares my name. There are also several other Ben Donley's in the world who have lived extremely scrupulous lives. This sort of posting might seem like a good warning to others, but it is in fact damaging to those of us who are NOT this person. You should take that under advisement as the remaining Ben Donley's of the world seek to earn a living. I'm sorry you've been scammed, but PLEASE remove this post.

    0 Votes
  • Ko
    Koko007 Dec 02, 2014

    Same thing happened to me in 2010. Has anyone filed a suit against him? I'd like to be a part of it.

    0 Votes