Association For Lifestyle Reform Complaints & Reviews

Association For Lifestyle ReformFraud

On 03/05/09 I called Association for Lifestyle Reform to find out if a Colonoscopy was covered and what the insurance code was. I asked what my portion would cost and I was told only my co-pay of $25.00 would be my cost. I had the procedure done. Then all the doctor and
hospital bills started coming in, all denied, stating procedure was not a covered item. Furious, I called ALR and was told that in December of 2008 that a "third party" had taken over my insurance and I would have to call them. I asked why they did not notify me and why when I called to find out if the procedure was covered, I was told it was and why was I not informed then. I called the "third party" and was referred back to ALR and was told "sorry for the misunderstanding".
There was "no misunderstanding"!!! I have been scammed and I am
furious AND I feel like I have no recourse. I canceled ALR. I now have no health insurance, because I don't know who I can trust and $6000.00 in medical bills that I am stuck with.

  • Al
    ALR Customer Service Sep 30, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    ALR is currently working with this member to resolve her complaint and come to an agreeable outcome.

    ALR does not permit/condone misrepresentation of benefits and is diligently working to provide excellent customer service and customer satisfaction.

    Should any ALR member have a complaint or issue that needs further consideration, please contact our customer service department at (877) 378-9240.

    Sincerly,

    Management

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jackie G Nov 12, 2009

    I also took this insurance out and I found that the customer service was terrible and the mammogram I got was never paid. I am stimm getting the bills. J.G.

    0 Votes

Association For Lifestyle ReformFraud Medical Insurance

This company sends out faxes for inexpensive medical indurance that they never provide! The fax is almost too good to be true and it is! Do not subscribe to this insurance!

  • Jo
    john gulak May 06, 2009

    I received a fax offering affordable healthcare. When I called the number they answered all my questions making this offer the best I've heard in a long time.
    They took my information, billed my account before they were supposed to, sent me cards and papers in the mail that were nothing at all like what they were supposed to be. Discounts on services are drugs are not the same a coverage. That was not explained by the sales person on the phone. When I called the number the sales person gave me, it was disconnected. How bout that!!
    I've now have been waiting over a month and a half for my reimbursement check. Still not here.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chaim Sep 12, 2009

    John-

    I had similar experiences. If you would like to discuss in more detail, please contact me at [email protected] Thanks much!

    0 Votes
  • Al
    ALR Customer Service Oct 06, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Association for Lifestyle Reform DOES NOT fax flyers as ALR does not market or solicit membership to the public.

    If you received a fax offering affordable healthcare, it did not come from ALR.

    Although ALR does work with independent marketing centers, ALR does not permit nor condone misrepresentation of benefits or any illegal marketing practices and will investigate and terminate any markting entity that does not comply with our policy.

    Should you have any further concerns, please contact our customer service department at (877) 378-9240.

    Sincerely,

    Management

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joseph Scafa Feb 23, 2010

    Association for Lifestyle Reform Adds Fraud Investigation Division to Protect Its Members

    Hotline set up for customers

    Chino, CA - February 23, 2010 —The Association for Lifestyle Reform (ALR) recently added a Fraud Investigation Division for customers to contact if they believe they did not purchase what was originally promised by third-party marketers.


    ALR is a membership-based organization that provides discounted services to its members, such as pre-paid legal services and discounts on vacations, auto rentals, and prescriptions. As a membership-based association, ALR is able to provide discounts on behalf of its members by obtaining group pricing, including limited supplemental insurance benefits.


    ALR engages third-party marketing firms to sell memberships. The company carefully screens the marketing firms it works with and sets and provides guidelines when speaking with potential members; however, there have been instances where independent marketing firms deviated from ALR’s guidelines. It is ALR’s policy to ensure the security, privacy and satisfaction of its members. To that end, ALR has established a Fraud Investigation Division. The division will take customer complaints regarding the sales process and investigate the issues regarding the marketing firm involved.


    “We are very excited about being able to offer our product to people, however, some members have experienced an inferior sales process, ” said Brad Wessler, CEO of Association for Lifestyle Reform. “Under no circumstances will we tolerate bad sales practices from the marketing firms we work with. Therefore, we set up a division specifically for this purpose and a toll-free number for our members to call.”


    About the Association for Lifestyle Reform

    The Association for Lifestyle Reform, ALR, provides discounted benefits to its membership. Members benefit from the association purchasing benefits at group discounts. Although one of the many services include limited supplemental insurance benefits, the association does not sell or market health insurance.


    Further information please contact: -


    Joseph Scafa
    [email protected]

    0 Votes

Association For Lifestyle ReformUnauthorized charges

On 2/5/2009, I received a fax information sheet from Health Care Solutions. stating $0 deductible, PPO network for $199.00/month. Extremely hard to believe, I called the [protected] & spoke to a gentleman named Mike. He said he was from Sioux Falls, SD. He assured me I was guaranteed to be covered starting 3/1/2009 & within 7 to 10 business days, I would receive a 'welcome' packet stating all the particulars of the coverage. He also stated there was a $125 1-time enrollment fee & confirmed the $199/mo. cost. He also told me the coverage would be with Nationwide Healthcare.

1st, I did not get anything for 3 weeks. So, I called the same phone number. Mike was not there, but someone else gave me the phone number of the company who should have sent the information, [protected]. I called this number & was assured they were a bit behind & would get the packet to me immediately after I gave her my confirmation number. My intention was to be able to look over the coverage before sending payment info. Needless to say, this did not happen.

2nd, I finally got the information packet which told me nothing about my coverage. It was a 'sample' brochure & had many choices for the types of coverages available. The cover letter explained I elected the $100.00 office visit with a $10 co-pay. After calling the company again, I then received a 'welcome' letter saying 'Dear Member . . . ALR provides its members educational information & access to a number of lifestyle benefits, including discounts on auto rentals, vations, . . & other benefits. . . you have access to and may enroll into various supplemental health programs. Enclosed you will find you ID card, summary of benefits & a free discount card if you have elected the health program.' Please note this letter is not signed by anyone. There was a schedule of benefits. It is not a $10 co-pay. All they will pay is $100 each visit up to 6 visits a year.

3rd, I proceeded to contact the company again. Spoke to a very helpful lady who told me to go to the WellDyneRx website & they would inform me on the process to fill prescriptions. The only useful info I got was their phone number. So, yes, I called & was informed I am not able to register on their website until I go to a pharmacy & fill a prescription. Once that happens, then I am allowed to get more info on their website. Wrong again. You have to call WellDyneRx to get ANY pricing info. By the way, they suppled me with a Rx discount card with my welcome letter. I was amazed to learn that one of my medications is less expensive by NOT using their discount card.

4th, fortunately the supplier of my medical equipment keeps in touch with me & I gave her the information on ALR. My medical equipment should be listed as 'durable medical equipment' or Rx. She called ALR & they informed her that they were not a health coverage company. They are an 'Indemnity Plan' with no network. She directed me to the State of California Insurance Commissioner website, Legal Information, Code #10176.61. She will submit a claim to ALR for supplies which I should receive next week & we will see what happens from there.

  • Ja
    Janie Apr 29, 2009

    In my case, a company going by Superior Health Benefits sent a fax, third-party enrollment center for the Association for Lifestyle Reform, promoting no money at the time of a visit for primary care, a specialist or chiropractic care. The fax fraudulently claims it’s the largest PPO network for hospitalization and urgent care; huge savings on name brand and generic drugs; no deductible for ER accident injury; up to 60 percent on vision and hearing; and promotes huge discounts for dental office visits--X-rays, cleanings, root canals, etc., and diagnostic lab, X-ray, MRI and EKG.

    They asked for a one-time fee of $125 and $299 a month for a couple’s coverage. It claimed pre-existing conditions were OK—“you’ll be enrolled.” Superior Health Benefits (888 880-9718) even gave me the addresses and phone numbers of dentists and doctors in my area, guaranteeing they “accepted” this plan! THIS IS A SCAM! I called two of the dentists and both had never heard of Superior Health Benefits, the Association for Lifestyle Reform nor “National Billing Services, ” which actually withdraws money from your bank account. Via the phone they’ll ask for your name, your social security number, the name of your bank, account number and bank routing number; that’s how they automatically take money! DON’T FALL FOR THIS. NEVER GIVE ANYONE THIS INFO VIA THE PHONE; DON’T GIVE ANYONE YOUR SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER. PERIOD.

    Report these companies to your state DA, the Better Business Bureau and any other state or federal authority.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    SCS8047 May 07, 2009

    Superior Health Benefits is the name of the fly by night marketing company that markets for "Association for lifestyle reform" This company (ALR) is owned by Mr. Brad Wessler. You can see his You Tube advertisements for ALR on line. Mr. Wessler is licensed by the California Department of Insurance (Lic # 0670952) He uses P.O. Boxes in Ontario and Chino Hills California but his place of business is 6251 Schafer Avenue Suite O, Chino, CA 91710 (According to the California Department of Insurance). Never use an 800 number to buy insurance, never give your personal banking information to someone unless you really want an automatic fund transfer to start immediately. Remember a telephone solisitor's job is to close the deal. All they need to do that is to get your checking or credit card info.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chaim1 Sep 22, 2009

    Janie-

    I had a very similar experience with Superior Health Benefits/ALR quite recently and would love to see how this all worked out for you. Could you let me know how I might be able to reach you? I wish I had read your warning in advance!

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    springwater125 Sep 28, 2009

    Anyone that has any information about "Superior Health Benefits" or the phone numbers they use: (888) 202-8884, (877) 818-4956, (888) 880-9718 or someone claiming to be Ed Ganz with a fax number of (619) 374-6810 please contact me at [email protected] or call me at (609) 276-7733 as I am trying to contact this "Superior Health Benefits" ( if that is their real name) in regard to a lawsuit.

    0 Votes
  • Ml
    mlk-hbc Oct 06, 2009

    We have been asked by a client to investigate ALR and their fax sale of supposed health care insurance, that is not really health care insurance. Was your money refunded? Would you be willing to speak with us about ALR?

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    grouperguy Oct 16, 2009

    Also scammed BY Superior Health Benefits same Story. Didn't see this online in time unfortunatly.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    ALR Customer Service Oct 20, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    ALR DOES NOT FAX, SELL, MARKET OR SOLICIT MEMBERSHIP. ALR HAS NO AFFILIATION WITH SUPERIOR HEALTH BENEFITS. Please read exerp from ALR website:

    It has come to the attention of the Association for Lifestyle Reform (ALR) that there may be several organizations that are representing themselves as being affiliated with the Association for Lifestyle Reform. Some of these organizations may go by the name of Real Benefits, American Trade Association, Smart Data Solutions, Superior Health, Premier Healthcare, Integrated Health Plan and C3H. ALR has no relationship with any of these organizations; they are not associated with ALR in any way.

    These entities may contact ALR members and represent themselves as ALR affiliates. Please be advised that ALR members contacted by any of these organizations should immediately notify ALR at 877-378-9240.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    lisali, ca Oct 21, 2009

    I have seen all of these negative posts and just had to speak up. I have been a member for over 9 months and have been extremely happy with the customer service I have received from ALR. I was spooked in the begining as the person who sold me the plan over the phone did make the plan sound really good. Once I received the booklet from ALR I read through it and realized the man on the phone had exagerated the benefits. When I called ALR I spoke with a young lady who told me they work with independent marketing companies and went over the plan in detail. She spent alot of time with me yet never did i feel like she was in a hurry to get me off the phone. I understood what I had bought. Whenever i have called my calls have always been answered by a live person who can answer my questions directly. My doctors receive payments quickly and I receive notices that show my portion of the doctor bill. Once they even sent me a check as my doctor would not accept their card. I understand people being angry with the people who sell the plan as the guy who sold me did exagerate but again I wouldnt blame ALR for this.
    I personally would rate their customer service very high. To me people should read the material companies send you after you make purchase instead of blaming others.
    Lisa, CA

    0 Votes

Association For Lifestyle ReformHealth Insurance Fraud

When I received the phone call soliciting the sale of health insurance, I was told that the policy I was purchasing would have the following:

a) co-pay for doctor visits of $20
b) coverage would include mental health providers
c) prescription coverage with a co-pay for medications of $25
d) payment would be debited from my account in 30 days
e) coverage would be effective Nov. 1, 2008

None of these were true, and they debited my account without prior notification to me right after I agreed to the policy, not in 30 days like I was told originally.

I have incurred over $1500 in medical expenses because of their lies. Do not purchase from this company.

  • Mi
    mICHELE Apr 07, 2009

    I got a fax at work about affordable healthcare, for only $199.00 a mo. I called to see what the benefits were all about, sounded good to me, $20.00 office copay, discounted Rx coverage, tat was accepted at all pharmacy's, NOT true, only selected not all longs, not all walgreens, and I never paid the same price twice for the same medeication, and it didnt cover most medications. Also I was given wrong information almost everytime I called the customer service dept. I was terminated due to misinformation on thier behalf, i had to pay additional to get back coverage and then when I lost my atm card i called that day to give them another account info., and they still tryed to take payment from the lost card, that was deactivated, they made NO attempt to contace me via phone, or letter until 3 weeks after the termination date. I was canceled 2/28/09 and the envelope was date stamped 3/18/09, but the letter was not dated at all.
    I called to cancel my benefits, and request a full refund, I was told to fax all info to them which I did and I was told no problem that i was intitled to a refund but that it would take 30 dyas, but the man helping me said he could put a rush request on it, after waiting close to 2 wks, to find out if and when i would recieve my refund i was told no i wasnt intitled to anything, because I was covered. the supervisor was rude to me and acted like i was stupid. i work in the medical field and i do insurance claim handeling and payments posting i do know a thing or two.. THIS COMPANY IS A SCAM...THEY WILL TAKE YOUR MONEY, GIVE YOU FALSE INFORMATION AND CANCEL YOU THEN MAKE YOU PAY MORE AND CANCEL YOU AGAIN... THIS IS FRAUDE, A SCAM...DO NOT ENROLL WITH ALR OR ANY INS THAT YOU RECIEVE ON THE FAX OR VIA PHONE THAT SAYS IT'S THROUGH NATIONWIDE, THAT'S WHAT I WAS TOLD MY COVERAGE WOULD BE THROUGH AND NO NATIONWIDE WASNT INVOLVED AT ALL...

    0 Votes
  • Se
    sec2096 Jul 14, 2009

    any one wanna join a class action lawsuit against ALR?

    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • He
    helpconsumer Aug 24, 2009

    Others have had a similar experience. Kindly contact me at [email protected] isf you still wish to be part of a class action. Thanks much!

    0 Votes
  • In April, we reached out to Grace (the original poster) via this site because we could not locate her file, but received no response. Grace, we still cannot locate your file. If you have any open issues, please contact our Fraud Investigation Division by calling 1-877-378-9237, or email us at [email protected] If any of you still have open issues, please contact us.

    Most of our customers are happy with the services and discounts they receive. We strive to ensure information is made public for potential members. Anyone considering membership with the Association of Lifestyle Reform can research our organization before purchasing at www.ALRAssociation.org.

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    chaim Sep 12, 2009

    I had some similar experiences. If you would like to follow up, my e-mail address is [email protected] Thanks.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    JuanPi Oct 02, 2009

    I have almost same experience. This association is not honest. They just want your money. My email address is [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    ChristineDavis818 Dec 16, 2009

    This company is an absolute fraud!! I now have $1500 in medical bills also!! The first month I had them they cancelled my policy on "accident" and now after it was just cancelled they are claiming I didn't have insurance from Aug-Sept!! Which is so conveniently when my daughter got her CT!!! I am irrate, if it is the last thing I do this company will no longer be in business!!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joseph Scafa Feb 23, 2010

    Association for Lifestyle Reform Adds Fraud Investigation Division to Protect Its Members

    Hotline set up for customers

    Chino, CA - February 23, 2010 —The Association for Lifestyle Reform (ALR) recently added a Fraud Investigation Division for customers to contact if they believe they did not purchase what was originally promised by third-party marketers.


    ALR is a membership-based organization that provides discounted services to its members, such as pre-paid legal services and discounts on vacations, auto rentals, and prescriptions. As a membership-based association, ALR is able to provide discounts on behalf of its members by obtaining group pricing, including limited supplemental insurance benefits.


    ALR engages third-party marketing firms to sell memberships. The company carefully screens the marketing firms it works with and sets and provides guidelines when speaking with potential members; however, there have been instances where independent marketing firms deviated from ALR’s guidelines. It is ALR’s policy to ensure the security, privacy and satisfaction of its members. To that end, ALR has established a Fraud Investigation Division. The division will take customer complaints regarding the sales process and investigate the issues regarding the marketing firm involved.


    “We are very excited about being able to offer our product to people, however, some members have experienced an inferior sales process, ” said Brad Wessler, CEO of Association for Lifestyle Reform. “Under no circumstances will we tolerate bad sales practices from the marketing firms we work with. Therefore, we set up a division specifically for this purpose and a toll-free number for our members to call.”


    About the Association for Lifestyle Reform

    The Association for Lifestyle Reform, ALR, provides discounted benefits to its membership. Members benefit from the association purchasing benefits at group discounts. Although one of the many services include limited supplemental insurance benefits, the association does not sell or market health insurance.


    Further information please contact: -


    Joseph Scafa
    [email protected]

    0 Votes

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem