Advanta Credit Card Complaints & Reviews

Advanta Credit CardIncreased my fixed over 36%

I have a small business and have a good credit standing and a long time client of Advanta Credit Card. I used their 6.99 fixed percent promotional checks they offered for life, then my interest was raised to over 36 percent. After many calls and emails requesting an explanation the only response the representative gave is that I didn't use my card on a regular bases. It seems to me to be extortion not to much different than the mafia. I refuse to be intimidated by unethical, greedy corporate raiders. Please inform me of any recourse or class action suits. I will fight.

  • Va
    Valerie Sep 17, 2008

    Our credit with this and all creditors is perfect. Never been late, not over limit. Our rate went up this month from 9.99% to 25.8%. They gave me no reason and told me there was nothing I could do. Totally corrupt!!!

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    vince Oct 07, 2008

    Same thing happened to me. I used my Advanta credit card for the first time May 2008. My initial intrest rate was 9.9%. Three months later the intrest rate jumped to 25.9% for no apparent reason. I called to speak to a suppervisor and was told the supervisor was busy and that one would call me back at a later time. The supervisor called back 5 days later but of course I was not home. Another month went by and my rate jumped to 35.9%. Again I called to speak to a supervisor and was told the same thing. I have never been late, never overdrawn, and always pay more than the minimum. I have an extensive credit history and a credit score in the low 700's. What is the deal? My advise...if you have an advanta card shred it and send back. If you have a ballance...pay it off as quickly as possible

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shirin A Dorin Oct 07, 2008

    ADVANTA CREDIT CARD COMPANY is a CROOK, THIEF AND SHOULD BE REPORTED TO THE SEC.

    Please file a complaint against this company with your state representative. They should be put out of business. They increased my rate to 35% when I was told I went over the limit. I never did!

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jim Nov 01, 2008

    Add me to the list of individuals that has been screwed by Advanta small business credit cards. Out of theblue they raised my rate from 7.99% to 23% with absolutely no explanation or reason. This company should be avoided at all costs.

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    flkeysrealtur Dec 09, 2008

    My rate was also raised from 11.99 to 37.18 % for no reason (other than their claim that they identified my account as high risk). I have never been late, have paid off my account several times in last 3 years, have had an account with advanta since 2002, and only owed 40% of my credit limit with them. They also sent me several checks offering balance transfers and have never decreased my credit limit of 15k. I have very good overall credit. Luckily, I was able to pay them off immediately AND close the account. I will be contacting my Congress person...

    0 Votes
  • Db
    dbatap Jan 25, 2009

    The same thing happpened to me. I have never been late, I always pay more that the minimum due. I am going to file a complaint with the state of Georgia.

    0 Votes
  • Db
    dbatap Jan 25, 2009

    Advanta raised my interest rate to 37.18%. I have never been late and I always pay more than the minimum due.
    I am sick about this.

    0 Votes
  • Mary Schwager Jan 25, 2009

    I just wrote an article about this practice--and found it could be due to the bad economy ! It's going on with many banks:

    http://www.examiner.com/x-1893-News-You-Can-Use-Examiner



    Mary Schwager

    0 Votes
  • De
    debthelp Oct 19, 2009

    I know of a company that can settle this debt down to about half of what you currently owe. Send me an email to [email protected]

    0 Votes

Advanta Credit Cardinterest rate

I would love to join in on a lawsuit with this company. We have well overpaid any money we have borrowed from them plus extra. I contacted them & requested lower interest rate or they would receive no more money from me. I was informed by them that they could not lower interest rate & advised me to contact a credit consolidation company to pay my bills. I regret ever using this company & they will not get another dime from me.
This country is in bad shape thanks to things such as crooked credit card companies. Count me in on class action lawsuit.
[protected]@gmail.com

  • Kr
    Kristo Oct 09, 2009

    This is the most outrages credit card company ever. PERIOD.
    They have closed all of the accounts and continue to send statements with new charges, even do my account has zero balance when was closed.
    It is no use to talk with customer service, because they are all in India and do not give a crap about your questions and concerns.
    I would love to join this lawsuit.
    [email protected]

    0 Votes

Advanta Credit CardDeceptive practices % unbelievable interest hikes

I had an Advanta card for several years and had around $3000 left to pay off when I spotted a deal where I could transfer my balance from other accounts to Advanta for 2.99% interest. It included transfers from other credit cards of lesser amounts and the total balance after the transfers was about $7000. I asked what the monthly payment would be and set up monthly automatic payments through my bank for about $20 over the minimum amount I was told would be charged monthly. Generally, I'm very careful to check the bill each month to ensure that I'm paying the right amount. Somehow, I failed to do so, discovering the "problem" only after someone with a thick foreign accent called to tell me I was being hit with a huge late fee and other fees. Why? Because the minimum amount was $4 more than the payment I'd made! I paid an exorbitant phone transfer fee to solve the problem and was told they would waive the late fee (and it wouldn't affect my credit) because I'd taken care of it right away. I had this feeling I should immediately transfer everything to another credt card account, which I did. A month later, I received information in the mail that said my interest rate was going to around 32%--at the beginning of the month. The problem is I'd received the notice at the end of the month it was to begin. I figured out that had I not transferred the balance immediately, the cost of the interest would have been about as much as the balance transfer, except I'm now paying about 6.9% interest instead of 33% each month. Advanta’s wonderful 2.99% balance ended up costing plenty. After this experience, I wondered, "What about people who CAN'T transfer their money and they're stuck?"

I think the best thing people in the US can do is write about their experiences to their public officials (congress, the president, the governor, etc.) and write, and write. Pres. Obama mentioned this problem, so there's a slim possibility a deluge of mail, phone calls, and email might have an effect. For people faced with this kind of interest rate who have nowhere to transfer their money, there are good suggestions from others burned by Advanta.

  • Su
    susan wilk Oct 08, 2009

    So what's up with the check I got in the mail from Advanta for some REPRICE RATE??? Should I cash it?

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    FloridaBorn Oct 08, 2009

    I'm wondering if all of the people complaining about Advanta's practices have led to your good fortune. Still, if it were me, I'd check the fine print. If there's no strings attached, consider yourself fortunate.

    0 Votes

Advanta Credit CardArbitrary rate increase

I received a notice that Advanta was raising my monthly rate on our corporate credit card from 19, 16 to 37.16 for no apparent reason other than that they can. When I called and complained, stating that we have made on-time payments regularly, many times for more than the minimum required, they replied that various reasons indicated to them that we are a high risk for default. When I asked how they determined that they simply stated on-time payments and greater than minimum amounts paid are only part of their criteria and that "various other factors" were involved in their decision. When I protested that nearly doubling the interest rate worked adversely toward assisting businesses to pay down their indebtedness my logic fell on deaf ears! Something needs to be done about an organization that can arbitrarily change practices like this!

  • St
    steve golden Mar 02, 2009

    Of all the cards Ive dealt with Adanta the absolute worst -Im lucky enough to be no longer to be paying 33 percent --on 25 grand-i paid off and closed the account --these people (Advanta) are not human - stay away from them or get out from under them as soon as you can --

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jackie Jun 03, 2009

    Is there any recourse for my company to get reimbursed for the money they've charged for their usurious rate hikes? We went from 7.9% to 35% in two months! I called their customer service and they said there is nothing they can do to reduce the current rate back to the original or reimburse my company for the ill-gotten money.

    Aside from paying the balance immediately and closing the account (which is already "closed" to any new purchases), what's the most effective way to handle this?

    0 Votes
  • De
    debthelp Oct 19, 2009

    send me an email with your contact info I know a company that handles this account and can settle it for about half of what you owe. [email protected]

    0 Votes

Advanta Credit CardTripling of Interest Rate

I began this card with an introductory rate of 6.9%. I have never missed or been late on a payment, yet they have tried repeatedly to raise the rate on my card, which still managed to slide up to 13%, regardless of my efforts. Now, they just raised my rate to 37.18%! I kid you not. Calls to them informed me there was nothing I could do. There was a period during which I could have "opted out" of the rate hikes, but that period of time ended just prior to receiving their latest bill, of course. I will be joining any class action suit against them for their practices and cannot believe our country allows a company to perpetrate these criminal actions upon its customers.

  • Aj
    A.J. Jan 26, 2009

    Mine went from 7.99% to 27.99%. Called...always paid more then min, never late, given the same answer as all of you. I am all for a classaction. Has someone heard of something? I tried to find them through the BBB. They have their address from the bill in PA, but it says at the east coast BBB they are registered with the Utah BBB, yet I was not able to file a complaint. Maybe somebody will have some luck with something. Please keep us posted.
    Thanks so much.

    0 Votes
  • Fs
    fsoter Jul 12, 2009

    classaction is the way to go. the only thing these ### will understand

    0 Votes
  • Fs
    fsoter Jul 12, 2009

    Look up badcreditcard.org/advanta. There are over 384 complaints, so what are we going to do about it? I dont even need to tell what happened to me. You all know, so lets take action...I would recommend everyone stop paying them. I believe that by paying them, we are adding fuel to the fire. Please email me your interest in a classaction suit. If nothing else, let's hit them in the pocket book... I have had perfect credit for over 25 years, and I am not paying these criminals..jump on board. I have already spoken with my attorney about such a lawsuit. I would love to hear from you.

    0 Votes

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

Advanta Credit CardINCREASED INTEREST RATE

ADVANTA CREDIT CARD WHO I HAVE BEEN WITH FOR ABOUT 5 YRS INCREASED MY RATE TO 37%. WHEN I CALLED TO FIND OUT WHY, THEY GAVE ME NO! REASON, YES NO REASON. I THINK IN THE 5 YRS MY PAYMENT WAS LATE A FEW DAYS ONCE OR TWICE WHEN WE FIRST STARTED USING THEM. THE LAST COUPLE YEARS EVERYTHING HAS BEEN ON TIME, SINCE WE PAY ONLINE. I COULDN'T BELIEVE IT, I CANCELED THE CARD AND TRANSFERED THE REMAINING BALANCE WAS WASN'T EVEN A LOT FOR A BUSINESS (UNDER 10K). I MEAN REALLY COME ON WITH THE ECONOMY THE WAY IT IS AND SUPPOSEDLY ADVANTA IS THE CARD FOR BUISNESSES! UNBELIEVEABLE, THE WAY I SEE IT 37% IS A GREAT WAY TO ATTRACT CUSTOMERS, NOW THAT THEY TOOK ON LOAN SHARK PRINCIPLES.

  • La
    Laurie Dec 09, 2008

    Stop using all CAPS - it shows your limited intelligence and it is considered yelling online..

    The reason is the current credit crises. just be glad they did not lie like most of them are doing and blaming the customers when it was a unilateral decision made to all accounts - not just yours

    0 Votes

Advanta Credit CardOutrageous Interest Rates

I had my interest rate on my small business Advanta credit card increased from 7.99% to 32.18%. I have never been late with a payment; and I have not gone over my limit. When I called to complain, I was told that they review accounts every 90 days, but I was given NO REASON as to why they increased my interest.

This is absolutely BS! We are in a recession, Congress has handed the banking industry a 'bailout package' that is supposed to stimulate the economy paid for by US taxpayers, and we are being screwed with predatory lending. The very people that need help (middle class / small business owners) are being wrung dry. I suggest that anyone that has recently had their interest rate jacked up, whether it is with Advanta or another credit account, write their Senators and Representative to POINT OUT THE OBVIOUS - predatory lending has got to stop, and it has to stop NOW!

  • Fl
    flkeysrealtur Dec 09, 2008

    My rate was also raised from 11.99 to 37.18 % for no reason (other than their claim that they identified my account as high risk). I have never been late, have paid off my account several times in last 3 years, have had an account with advanta since 2002, and only owed 40% of my credit limit with them. They also sent me several checks offering balance transfers and have never decreased my credit limit of 15k. I have very good overall credit. Luckily, I was able to pay them off immediately AND close the account. I will be contacting my Congress person...

    0 Votes

Advanta Credit CardRip off

I almost maxed my credit card out and when I just had a few hundred dollars left for credit, Advanta shot my interest rate to 35%. This made my balance go above my limit and I'm always late now cause the minimum payment tripled.

Now they pile the over limit fee and the late fee for a whopping $79.00 a month more. These guys should be in a town square hanging. What a f-ing ### raping. I've told them on several occasions its causing a tremendous financial burden not to mention I've got 3 little kids and a wife. Work is drying up and I'm barely working ' There's nothing we can do at this time ' is all they say.

Steer clear of these ### buckets, Advanta will bite your head off and ### down your throat.

  • Mi
    Michelle Kendle Sep 20, 2008

    Everyone needs to file a complaint on line with the Federal Trade Commision. I just did and it was easy. This has got to stop. I have had my business credit card account with Advanta for more than a year with an interest rate of 7.99%. I was told that this was a fixed rate. I have never had a late payment(business or personal)and have never gone over my limit. I received my Sept 2008 statement only to notice that they increased my interest rate from 7.99% to 25.08%. I called and spoke with two different managers and asked them why my interest rate had been increased and was told that they looked at my personal credit score, income and numerous other factors and determined that my account had to be increased to 25.08%. I find this baffling since my credit score is higher than 800 and income is more than $200K. When I asked them to tell me specifically what in my history had caused this I was told that they had no way of telling me that. I asked them to please change the interest rate back to the 7.99 since I had been a loyal customer in good standing and I was told "no" by both managers. They were clearly reading from a script since both managers stated the exact same verbiage to me. They both said that they sent out a letter telling me that I could opt out if I wanted to but I didn't respond to the letter so the interest rate will stand at the 25.08. I vaguely remember a standard letter from Advanta stating that the credit card was a now a variable rate (not sure how they can just change it from fixed) but it was my understanding that if you didn't have good credit etc that you could then be imposed a higher rate. Now if I had received a letter that clearly stated that in Sept my interest rate would increase from 7.99 to 25.08...do you want to keep the credit card...yes or no? That would be a different story. I don't know anyone with a brain that would do that but the letter obviously wasn't clear about that. Since this happening I have been on numerous blogs and I have seen hundreds of complaints from the Sept billing and all of them had their interest rates go to 25%. When I asked the Advanta manager if it sounded reasonable for this to happen to a good customer they both told me yes. I asked them if they would rather loose my business than change the interest rate back down to the 7.99 they both told me yes. So to that answer I told them to cancel my credit card (this will be the first "strike" against my credit since I have read that canceling a credit card lowers your credit score). I am now stuck with this huge interest fee assessed at the 25.08% and now I have no business credit card for running my small business. Please consider looking into all the blogs about Advanta and see how many hundreds of complaints there are. I am outraged and feel taken advantage of.

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    flkeysrealtur Dec 09, 2008

    My rate was also raised from 11.99 to 37.18 % for no reason (other than their claim that they identified my account as high risk). I have never been late, have paid off my account several times in last 3 years, have had an account with advanta since 2002, and only owed 40% of my credit limit with them. They also sent me several checks offering balance transfers and have never decreased my credit limit of 15k. I have very good overall credit. Luckily, I was able to pay them off immediately AND close the account. I will be contacting my Congress person...

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Samuel Jul 21, 2009

    I was told i would have 0% APR for one years The condition or catch was if I missed the payment they will cancelmy promotion .I set up on line payments after they start playing games they said i have to change my banking every three month I did it that then they the information i update did not update correctly they said routing number was wrong but that was not true routing number was correct end of the story they said i break the condition accused me i miss the payment start charging 23% in interest BE CARE FUL THEY CAN MAKE U BREAK PAYMENT AND RIPPED YOU OFF ..

    0 Votes

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem