86PhotoVideo.com Complaints & Reviews

The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
86PhotoVideo.comScam artists

Just like other people, I ordered a Garmin Nuvi which showed as in stock and would ship in 1-2 days. I even got a confirmation E-mail right after ordering. The price on the garmin was about 90-100 less than everyone else.

Then I got a another one a day later asking me to call them back to confirm the order, since there was a problem.
Then they tried to sell me a battery and accessory kits when I called. A short while later, I received another e-mail advising that the item was out of stock, on back order, and it would probably be in stock again and shipped in 3 or 4 weeks.

I have not been charged yet, but we'll see. I think they give low prices trying to make it back up with accessories and batteries. If you don't buy that stuff, then they won't honor their pricing by putting you on continual backorder. I will be filing with BBB.

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    • Mi
      Mile Jan 04, 2010

      This is a horrible company. They lie and say anything to get you to buy additional unnessary items if you don't then your order is backordered and then cancelled. Do your research so that you don't agree to purchase things you don't need. They are horrible, horrible.

      0 Votes
    • Ge
      George Aug 07, 2009

      I cancelled my order for a gps. When I called your store in Brooklyn, I was told the gps was in stock at a higher price, but for my online order at a lower price, it was not and would take 3-4 weeks until it came in again. Apparently, this situation happened because I did not want any additional equiptment.

      0 Votes

    The complaint has been investigated and
    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
    Resolved
    86PhotoVideo.comFraud and cheating

    I ordered an item from this company about 8 months ago and was very excited to recieve my item which I thought I purchased at a great price. I then received an email stating that the item was out of stock and as soon as they received more they would charge my account and ship. I waited and eight months later the item was never charged or received.

    I then decided maybe they did not receive more so I will order a different product since their prices are so good. I ordered a similar product and received an email stating I needed to contact them so they can process my order.

    I was thinking they needed to verify my identity and order (which has happened before) so I called only to have the representative (who after hesitating claimed his name was 'Bobby') try to convince me to buy several other items I did not need and that I could find much cheaper elsewhere.

    Once I refused anything he tried selling he gave me an 'I don't care' attitude and brushed me off. I canceled my order and asked how he could not care his company was losing a customer and with the same attitude he said 'No Comment' almost as if he was laughing.

    I called back and asked to speak with a manager who claimed his name was 'Manny' and that he would look into it yet he also had the same brush off attitude and did not answer the phone as if he was a manager (he answered as if he was another sales representative because that was the line I called and he did not transfer me to anyone- he said 'I am the manager too') then he hung up on me. I decided to look up a way to report them and found other stories that described my experience with them to a T so I know all these people are telling the truth.

    I have the emails to back up my report and will be using it all to report them. I suggest people be careful in dealing with them (I know it is impossible to get everyone to not deal with them because the bait is that good) but if you do please report them because this is obviously a scam they put together to try to get your information and try to sell you other items. I have since called my bank and reported it as well as put an alert on my credit report just in case.

    I now realize why the guys had such an 'I don't care' attitude and I believe it is because they are not losing customers- that is impossible when you have a fake business.

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      • Mi
        Miloshev Aug 10, 2016

        I am completely discusted with the service that 86photovideo provides. First I ordered this camera because it was listed as instock and able to ship in 2 business days. Find out a week later that it is back ordered. What really bothers me is that I left an email address and a phone number and a message saying I need this with-in 2 weeks because it is a gift, and if any problems please notify me. Well, the only notification I got was an email saying call to confirm order. Unfortunately I was out of town for work that week and was unable to check my email until Friday which by then was too late because the store was already closed until Sunday. When I called on Sunday the person who answered the phone wouldn't even tell me his name, didn't care that I was concerened about the order I had made, and got irritated with me when I asked to cancel my order after I found out from him that it is back ordered. By far this has been the biggest waste of my time. I am dissappointed at the false advertisement, rude service, and the lack of enthusiasim to contact the customer and make the sale. Hint, Hint, if there is a phone number, call them!!! Trust me when I say I am seriously dissappointed, and will let any one and every one know that this company is a complete waste of time to order from.

        0 Votes
      • As
        asshlee Jun 03, 2009

        i call two times just hang up ... ithink this company is fake, one guys hang up 2 times, i just ask about shipping, and information about camera digital ...ithink this company very very fake!

        0 Votes
      • Ba
        Bartolamey Jan 26, 2009

        I was so excited to be able to order a digital camera, so like most people do, I searched and searched to find the cheapest site when I found 86photovideo.com. I was surprised when I saw how low the price was, almost half from other retailers. I placed my order and the day after I wanted to check on my order and see if it had finished processing. I called them and when they picked up the person on the phone rudely said 'how may i help you' and i responded by saying 'I'm calling to check on an order' and as soon as i said that he hung up. I then googled 86photovideo.com and found many responses like this one where people complain about the company. Thats what I should have done before ordering and suggest you do with your next purchase from a site not known so well. After I looked on the web I called again and waited more than twenty minutes and right when the estimated time left was 4 minutes, a machine said to call back within the normal customer services hours. The funny part about that was that I called on a Monday at 1 pm and their hours are monday through Thursday from 10 to 5 and the call finished. I'm at the moment waiting for customer service and if they do not pick up I'm going to change my credit card number. Do NOT buy from them. If it sounds too good to be true remember it always is.

        0 Votes

      86PhotoVideo.comScam

      I ordered something form this website about 8 months or so ago only to receive an email saying they no longer had the product and would send it once they received more. Well I never recieved my order and they didnt charge me so I assumed they never received another shipment. I ordered another similar product a few days ago and recieved yet another email but this time it was that i needed to call in to them so they can process my order. I called in thinking they needed me to verify who I was and my order but it was them trying to sell me more things I did not want. I told the representative (who after hesitating said his name was "Bobby") then had an "I dont care" attitude. I told him to cancel my order and asked why he was acting as if he didnt care his company was losing a customer and with a sarcastic tone replied "No comment". I called and asked to speak with a supervisor and the supervisor (claiming his name was "Manny") claimed they would investigate- also giving me the "I dont care attitude" and brush off and then hung up on me. I see now after reading other people's comments about this "business" that they didnt care about "losing" a customer because they never intended to send me the product I ordered- I do believe they are a scam business trying to get your info. I did contact my bank and put an alert on my credit report and will be reporting this scam to the Better Business Bureau. Hopefully others will not fall victim to them but if you do just be careful and take the necessary steps to protect yourself.

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        86PhotoVideo.comPurchase on-line

        Yesterday I ordered Nikon Cool Pix P80 camera from 86 street Photo and Video On-line. The price for the camera was $215., which ios more than one hunderd dollars less than at other reatilers. After placing the order on-line, I got a phone call and email stating that I have to call them in order to verufy my oredr. They verufied my CC info, and then suggested to by additional items which I did not want to buy. Imeediately after this conversation. I got an email telling that they do not have my item in stock, and shipping of my order will be delayed for 3-4 weeks. The camera is still on their website with even lower price of $209. Nothing indicates that it is out of stock.

        Add your opinion

          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

          • Mr
            M Roberts Oct 30, 2008
            This comment was posted by
            a verified customer
            Verified customer

            I ordered a camera and a GPS on the 29th, today (10/30/2008)there was an Email requesting I comfirm my order. I called "Steve" and he "verified" my shipping address, then started trying to sell me a charger for the GPS, then data cards. I told him I was all set with that stuff, he got a little huffy, and basically hung up. I was well aware that the extras he was trying to sell me were either included, or not necessary. They were also many times over priced. Seconds later the Email showed up in my box stating that the order was now back ordered and would not be delivered for 3-4 weeks. I will be filing an online complaint with the NYS Attorney Generals Office after I send this. I will then encourage them to make good on their offered prices.

            0 Votes

          86PhotoVideo.comBait and Switch

          I was looking for the new Panasonic TZ5a and was surprised to find it over $100 dollars cheaper than other places. I should have taken that as a clue (as well as the "Proffessional" (sic) services they provide), but decided to try. I got the email stating they needed to verify and I called. Though very polite, the person was selling accessories very hard. When I declined, he said he would confirm my order. About five minutes later, I got an email stating that the camera was backordered and would be at least 4 weeks, but they would let me know. They gave me a way to cancel the order and mentioned that several times in the email. I got the feeling they wanted me to cancel. The account site they gave me didn't work, so I sent an email to the site they said to send it to stating I wanted to keep track of my order. It was returned as unaccepted by their mail server. I found another email for their customer service, and that didn't get returned... or answered. I called this morning and told the gentleman who I talked to the first time that I noticed it was backordered. He quickly offered to cancel it, which I did. I have a feeling that if I mentioned I wanted the accessories, that they would have found a camera to ship me. I only cancelled because I'm not sure that they would ever ship just the original camera at the price I purchased it for (I wouldn't have minded waiting 4 weeks). So I went to amazon and got it for a little more.

          Add your opinion

            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

            • Do
              Domitz Jun 17, 2009

              Bought tripod at 86th St P & V for $129 (supposedly professional model with fluid head, etc). Got the usual call to try and sell me some lenses, which I stupidly agreed to. Order was shipped immediately, so could not cancel. What I got was a piece of junk worth $12-15 at three different web sites, and the lenses were overpriced by 50%. Called to cancel and got the usuall rude treatment, although the guy offered to chop $120 off the total price. They charged me $79 stocking fee (20%) and ended by telling me he made more money on that then actually selling me the merchandise. Shame on me for not doing my homework, but DO NOT BUY from 86th St Photo and Video!!

              0 Votes
            • Ra
              Raaaaaaaaaaj Nov 15, 2008
              This comment was posted by
              a verified customer
              Verified customer

              The worst place to buy anything. Will never buy anything buy and will suggest that no body should buy. They will never ship it.
              Have to finally cancel my HDR-SR10 order after waiting 7 weeks for shipment.

              0 Votes
            • Fw
              fw Jun 02, 2008
              This comment was posted by
              a verified customer
              Verified customer

              I had exactly the same experience with a digital camera. I ordered by internet, received an email telling me to call. I called, was on hold for 20 minutes, and then verified my purchase. I declined two accessories. I was told the item would ship that day. A few minutes after hanging up, I got an email saying the item was backordered. I then left a phone message cancelling, as well as sending an email via my account cancelling. I haven't heard anything since, although I intend to call again to attempt to get an email confirming my cancellation.

              0 Votes

            We are here to help

            • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
            • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
            • Honest and unbiased reviews
            • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

            IN THE NEWS

            Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
            If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
            One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
            A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
            ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
            You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
            Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.