The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Rentals For RetirementRip Off

P

This company is a total rip-off. They lure you with "free" information and then pressure you into buying one of their properties at an inflated price so they can line their pockets.

Responses

  • In
    InTheHole Aug 21, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Surprised to see another complaint. Thought these guys were long gone by now. I also seeked legal counsel. Unfortunatley nothing can be done. Their contract is written (in the fine print) that they take no responsibility for the information provided on their "green sheets". I've tried getting class action together against these guys...but no one on this board ever follows up with me...too bad. I think a class action would have more merit than just one person complaining. It took me nearly 2 years to recoup my losses. I'm just now starting to break even. But it's the dream they really killed!

    0 Votes
  • Re
    really_pissed Aug 21, 2012

    I couldn't agree with the previous posters more. The 2 individuals who ran Rentals for Retirement and/or the Mid-Atlantic Construction group are major-league snake-oil salesmen. They got us for over $40, 000 in a rehab for a Baltimore property that was never completed (never really got much past demo, actually) and ended up being appraised for around 1/3 of what was told to us by these leaches. I did pursue legal action and ended up throwing good money after bad. Both of those entities officially went bankrupt leaving me on the verge of bankruptcy. If anyone has any other legal avenues to pursue against them, please let me know how to contact you. We have very good supporting documentation of the crap they pulled and would love to seem them get punished for their blatant lies and shoddy business practices.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MarPat Properties Mar 23, 2011

    I guess we were lucky on a way. We bought two properties from these clowns. It took way longer to to complete them and we went through many contractors. And put way more $$ into them. Rankin kept leading us along.. but they are completed and rented.. Although the financing was a whole other issue..
    I know some that still have buildings that are not finished !! over a year later!!
    Anyone associated with these scam artists should be in jail
    Add us to the list if there is any way to file class action!!!

    0 Votes
  • Tg
    TGatt Nov 30, 2010

    Wow! I am so sorry for all of you. I was just told about this company from someone else who was apparently ripped off as well. I would like to add my name and reputation to anyone who needs to complete (or start) any work on their properties. I am looking for honest opportunities as a project manager and have a list of subs that I manage. I have been in business for over 20 years. Ted Gattino, [protected]

    0 Votes
  • In
    InTheHole Nov 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    JoesSmoe And Jorlyn, I have sent you a message on this board. Please view. I would like to contact you.
    Thanks.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jorlyn Nov 19, 2010

    Another victim here, I can't believe that something can't be done to stop these thieves and recoup some of our losses. Count me in to any group that is trying to make this right.

    0 Votes
  • In
    InTheHole Oct 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have just completed a transaction with these guys. It was sloppy from beginning to end. Poorly mismanaged. I am finding out now from other proffesionals (real estate agent, appraisers, property managers) that the property will not appraise for what was advertised. Will not rent for what was advertised, and that I paid far more than what the property is currently worth. For what it's worth, if you chose to work with them PLEASE proceed with extreme caution.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joe smoe Oct 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have a lawyer now, and he says we have a good chance of having the Attorney General being involved. If there are only 4 or 5 of us and the A.G. sees this as a "Wrongful Act", then he can brake the "Corporate Vail" that these frauds are hidding behind. Please respond to my email, ( [email protected]) so we can make this right. Thanks

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joe smoe Aug 25, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    How many of us are in this boat together? I sure feel pretty stupid. I have some questions about these fellows: Are they being sued or have they been in the past? If so in what state and for what? Can they be sued in Pa.? In what state are "Rentals for Retirement LLC" and "Mid-Atlantic Contruction Group LLC" registered? If anyone can help, I'd sure appreciate it. I set up a special email address just for this problem: "[email protected]"

    0 Votes
  • Du
    dutch57 Aug 24, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Bob Rankin now claims to be working for his brother Jack at the Rankin Group.
    They sell and rent construction heating equipment.
    I believe they may have been partners in another failed business called Heart to Heart of America Franchise Corp. but I don't have all the info yet. I personally would not do business with either of them.

    0 Votes
  • Du
    dutch57 Aug 23, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got the same email bout them going bankrupt. Do they really think that I would use any one that they recomend to me now??? I will say this 5 Star Electric is being very good about helping me get my property done. They started the job and they said that they will get thier part of it done. I have a list of the electric, plumbing and HVAC contractors that worked on my house if it would help anyone. I assume that we all have our properties in Baltimore.

    0 Votes
  • We
    Wearebetterthenthem Aug 23, 2010

    And now as of 8/22/10 we get this email from bob f-ing rankin "It is with much regret that we must inform you that effective immediately (August 22nd, 2010), Mid-Atlantic Construction Group, LLC is bankrupt and will no longer be able or available to assist with any properties. Below please find a list contractors who may be able to assist you;" What a bunch of thieves.

    1 Votes
  • Du
    dutch57 Aug 23, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I found out today that thier other company mid atlantic Const. group is now bankrupt. they took me for about $20, 000. both of these guys live in the harrisburg Pa. area and I will start spreading the word to anyone who will listen about what kind of bottom feeders they are. I started a group on this site called rental for retirement if any one would care to join it we can compare notes and see what if anything we can do to try to get bak some of our money.

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    RU4Truth Aug 19, 2010

    These guys are such a rip off that they published a retraction by pbab who swears that he never wrote it. They are so dumb that the retraction even shows that it came from them. What a bunch a jerks.

    I was ripped off by these guys too and would not believe a word they say. They are liars and thieves, and it's true that once you hire them they disappear and don't ever call you back. They are the worst kind of leeches that suck off an unsuspecting public by making all kinds of promises that they don't intend to keep. I hope they go to jail.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    robslate Mar 01, 2010

    Rentals for Retirement is a poorly managed business. They claim that they can rehab a house in 3 months. My rehab has been in the works for coming up on 10 months with no end in site. I have lived up to my end of the agreement, have paid all draw payments on time. The last draw was due upon completion. I was told back in October that my property was nearing completion and that they needed the final draw. I sent it in and my property still isn't finished. I am at wits end with this company. They don't let me know what's going on, they don't answer or return my calls. Did they go out of business. What's next, the attorney general?

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Rentals for Retirement Oct 07, 2009

    I apologize for falsely accusing Rentals for Retirement. I was frustrated at the real scam artists in town. I agree, after checking them out myself, they are an honest bunch of guys who I would gladly do business with.

    -pbab

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Rentals for Retirement Oct 07, 2009

    I challenge you to attend a Rentals for Retirement seminar and make up your own mind. They do _not_ charge for their seminars where they teach you everything you need to know to become a hands on real estate investor. They do offer to perform the hands on work for you and fully disclose any fees associated with the value they provide. This is a turnkey real estate investing solution for those who want to build their real estate investment portfolio.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.