RBC FinancialSweepstakes & Lottery Draw

J
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I received a check (check#3104) from RBC Financial stating I had won a sweepstakes & lottery draw that was held on November 9, 2008. The check was for $4, 850. They wanted me to send back a money gram for $3, 785 for taxes. I looked online and googled this RBC Financial and there have been lots of complaints about the check not clearing and the tax money being sent is a scam.

More RBC Financial Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Ch
    Christina Oct 06, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am a banker and one my elderly clients almost fell for a lottery scam from RBC Financial. It is TOTALLY bogus!! Please keep an eye out for this.

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    Pierre Lecompte Oct 07, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I know. I did receive similar, but I'm not stupid.
    Btw, I am an RBC customer.
    Keep spreading the message, as I know of people telling me they won the Nigeria Lottery!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ly
    Lydia Nov 10, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I keep getting these fake checks in the mail from Midstates Inc for $4850.00 bucks and a letter telling me to call RBC Financial.

    Maybe they think that one of these days I'm going to get senile or something and fall for this scam? LOL

    What a waste of paper!

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    randy karle Mar 04, 2009

    I received a check known as 'THE BIG GAME' from ths bogus company. I was told to cash the check and a second check for 250, 000 dollars would be sent bo courier. Luckily I pulled this up and found this to be a rip off. I have turned the letter and check over to the authorities these con artists need to be stopped.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carlos Lopez Mar 19, 2009

    I have also received a well-crafted letter from RBC enclosing a check for $4, 750.00. Here I transcribe the letter:



    -------------------------- ---------------------------------- ------------------------- ---------------------------- -----------------------------------------

    AWARD CLAIM NOTIFICATION

    FINAL NOTICE

    We are pleased to advice you that you are a winner in the second category of the Sweepstakes and Lottery Draw held on February 27th, 2009.

    Your name was attached to an Entry Slip with serial number XXXXXXX and drew the lucky winning numbers XX-XX-XX-XX.

    You are therefore entitled to the sum of US$125, 000.00 (one hundred and twenty five thousand dollars) payable to you by bank draft, money order or certified check.

    In accordance with the Lottery and Sweepstakes Commission policy, your prize money has been forwarded to our clearing / disbursement institution to release same to you.

    Consequently, enclosed is a check for US $4, 750 (Four thousand seven hundred and fifty dollars) deducted from your winning.

    The purpose of this check is to assist you pay for the Government Service Tax (GST). The payment information is as stated below:

    Tax amount: US $3, 785.00 (Three thousand seven hundred and eighty five dollars). Payment nethod, MONEY GRAM, DINNERS CLUB INT., NETTELLER.

    You are advised to contact your assigned ClaimsAgent:
    XXXXX XXXXX AT 1-XXX-XXX-XXXX on or before March 31st, 2009
    Monday ro Friday, 8am - 6pm (ET) and Saturday 10am-4pm (ET) for further instructions on how to claim your winnings and have your check activated.

    Please do not act on this notice until you speak with your Claims Agent

    ------ ---------------------- --------------------- -------------------- ------------------------- -------------------- --------------------------


    Beware!!! THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A SCAM !!!

    1 Votes
  • Ci
    Cindy May 06, 2009

    I also received the same exact letter with the same exact amount! My Financial intitution is checking it out and I am turning it over to the authorities.
    Cindy Cone
    Muskegon Michigan

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Areyes Dec 15, 2009

    I live in Nevada and I just received the same letter as well in addition to a counterfeit cashier's check for $3800. First thing tomorrow morning I will turn over this letter and check to the proper authorities. What are these people thinking? And I am also looking into how they obtain their information on us.
    Andrea
    from Nevada

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    sherylnewton Dec 21, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My deceased mother was sent a check. The tried to make me cash it and send the money. This place needs to be shut down, why do you have to try to find elderly people to take their retirement and savings

    0 Votes
  • Ey
    eyeseeyou Jan 18, 2010

    I just received this same scam in the mail today...A check in the amount of $2850 deducted from my "winnings" of $50, ooo to pay for a "Non Resident Government Tax". I knew that I had not filled out any entry form for a consumer contest. The so-called claims agent is named Jane Bell : [protected] and the promotions manager has the name John Garfield. They used the name of a real company on the check, Sunkist and Bank of America as the bank it is to be drawn from. I will be turning the check over to Bank of America Fraud department.
    Terry, Florida

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anthony813 Jun 01, 2010

    Received sam letter word for word today! Letter dated May 10th, 2010. call jane bell [protected]. received check for 4, 265.00 for "non-res taxes gov't tax"? RBC Financial. This is wrong can't believe authorities haven't done anything about this!!!

    0 Votes
  • Si
    SicknTired121 Aug 24, 2010

    A Roger Bentley called claiming I had won $2.5 million dolloars and a Mercedes Benz. I haven't entered any sweepstakes.
    After telling him I no longer lived here (incorrect number) he claims my phone number was randomly selected from shopping at Walmart or Fredricks. (he also wanted the name of who he was talking to)
    I gave him NO personal info. Though he did ask if anyone else lived at this address. Hmm
    He then said his company also helps people with credit card debt and wanted to know if I had any credit cards. I said no.
    I could hear kids playing and laughing in the background.
    I then reported the call since our phone number is on the National Do Not Call List.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    Bobby 55 Oct 04, 2011

    My name is Brian David McLeod and I received a check (check#3104) from RBC Financial stating I had won a sweepstakes & lottery draw that was held on November 9, 2008. The check was for $4, 850. They wanted me to send back a money gram for $3, 785 for taxes. Of course it is a scam, dont be fooled

    0 Votes
  • Te
    teresak12 Jan 27, 2012

    I got one of these checks today from the same place too, 4, 700,
    I was told i won 88, 000 dollars and to send the rest of it, he said i would have to call him
    first and then he will tell me the arrangements to get the rest, bull;they need to close the company
    down and arrest all of these crooks! I am sticking to the usa lotto and never playing the international
    lottos, they are all a scam! Plus, if i truely won, all of the money would have been sent at once!!
    con and scam artists, , god will repay them greatly with a reward, a reward in prison!:)

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.