Pink Home EntertainmentFraudulant Check

T
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

a fraudulant charge of 24.99 was posted electronically to my checking account using my old home address. this was an unauthorized withdrawal.

Responses

  • Da
    darcy Nov 12, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I called the number on my statement and they are supposed to give me my money back but the people who I talked to were MB a third billing party. when i asked them the phone number or address they told me the didn't have that info just like they didn't have my info... well I want to know if they don't have my info how are they taking money out of my acct? I will contact my lawyer!! Someone is making some money!!

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Timothy B Close Nov 19, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This company tried to take $34.99 from my checking account without my authroization.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Julie Nov 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I checked my checking account today and there was a charge for $39.95 from Pink Home Entertainment. I called my Bank and they gave me the number of the company who made the charge. The billing people were nice and sadi to contact my bank of the fraudulent charges and that they will refund it in 7-10 business days. This charge was made under my maiden name and address where i lived 4 years ago. I feel like now I need to close this account and open a new one. I have also had problems in the past few months with fraudulent Vonage charges as well. I am getting really sick of this.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    AMVictory Dec 01, 2008

    Good lord, Julie. I felt like deja vu reading your complaint... I wondered for a moment if I had posted the comment and forgot about it. I saw a check cleared last week for $39.95 - the check it was drawn on was my maiden name (been married four years) and the address was my husband's and my apartment THREE YEARS AGO. Am on the phone right now with my bank.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jessica Dec 01, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    this morning i was looking through my account and noticed the same thing. I had to put my account on a fraud hold-the check was also with my maiden name and old address from 2005. tgis is ridiculous!

    0 Votes
  • As
    Ashleigh Dec 01, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just logged in to my checking this morning & noticed this $39.95 charge. It was created using my old address from 3 years ago. Bank of America is refunding the charges but I have to close this account & open a new one with means updating direct deposit, etc. Pain in the butt!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Karrie Dec 01, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    OMG same problem here! I was just going through some bank statements inputting them into my Microsoft Money account, and saw a funky check number, so I went to my online banking to see what it was for and have MB Pink Home Entertainment on there for $24.99...so I called the 800 number trying to figure out who I paid this for, and they said it was for "Pink Adult Home Entertainment, " which to me sounds like porn, which I would not have purchased! MB said they were putting a freeze on the payments but to contact Bank of America about it. This is insane so many people are having this problem. Good to know I'm not the only one.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    AMVictory Dec 01, 2008

    It's come to my attention that possibly the loose link, if you will, came from Mary Kay. I sold Mary Kay a few years ago, and it was under my maiden name. Is that true of anyone else (that you sold Mary Kay)? Please feel free to email me - [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Am
    AMVictory Dec 01, 2008

    Update: I'm on the phone with Mary Kay's Legal Department. If you were a member of Mary Kay, I urge you to contact them, as they actually have the size to possibly do something about it. Their legal department's number is:
    [protected].

    0 Votes
  • Am
    AMVictory Dec 01, 2008

    Also of note - if Mary Kay is the common denominator, does it seem like the name of the company - Pink Home Entertainment - was carefully chosen? Pink is the signature color of Mary Kay, and if one were still active in Mary Kay you might just assume it was an order, or a fee, or something of that nature.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Julie Dec 01, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also used to sell Marky Kay about 4 years ago. It is under my maiden name and old address. Maybe this is where our information was stolen. Not good.

    0 Votes
  • We
    wendy Dec 01, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The same thing happened to me. 39.95 out of my checking account same company. I went to the bank and said it was unauthorized. Also I was a Mary Kay consultant.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    AMVictory Dec 01, 2008

    Ladies, I think we've found our common denominator... looks like Mary Kay's database was compromised. I am renewing my attempts to contact their legal department tomorrow.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    AMVictory Dec 02, 2008

    Update: From another site - a lady responded to me and said that she did NOT sell Mary Kay, but sold something else. BUT - she used ProPay to process credit cards for them. I, too, used ProPay to process my Mary Kay sales. So... it's a level further in, possibly.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael Dec 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Reading these comments - I also use Propay and have for a few years. I am writing the company now to see if they are aware of any leak of personal information.

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    phillip Dec 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Neither myself nor my wife has ever sold mary kay or processed any credit cards and this is the third time these schmucks have done this to me. december of 07, february of 08 and november 26th last month. 29.99 the first 2 times and 39.99 the last time.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    AMVictory Dec 02, 2008

    Update: Just got off the phone with MK Legal. Propay is next. Mary Kay did suggest that Blizzard Entertainment was the common denominator. I don't think it is - Blizzard is the company that does World of Warcraft. When I first talked to the lady, she said
    "Oh, I don't think it's us. We have over 700, 000 consultants."
    so when she said that about Blizzard, I said
    "Well, they have over 7 MILLION subscribers. Furthermore, they process the payment as Visa transaction. They don't have, and never have had, my account number or routing number."
    Her: "But the card's linked to your account."
    Me: "But they CREATED A CHECK."

    Grrr. Anyway, please keep me posted if you hear or find out anything.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa Dec 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Found this charge on my business account using my home address. I did not sell Mary Kay, but I did use Propay and that was when I worked out of my home. I called the 800 number (before I found this site) and was given the same "we don't have contact info for that company but here's an email address for our company". That is baloney. As the processor, how could they possibly provide funds for a company if they do not have information on them? He told me to call my bank and they could help me. Although I did get the same 7-10 day refund speech.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    Kim Dec 05, 2008

    I have just found a check from MB Pink Home Ent posted against my account. The address on the check is my address from 8 years ago! The account/bank that the check was posted to never even had this address of mine. I did not sell Mary Kay, however used Pro-Pay years ago. I have contacted my bank and have started the fraudulent check process.

    0 Votes
  • No
    NotHappy Dec 11, 2008

    I've been hit on 12/8/2008. They agreed to immedietly return all funds to my account. I also called my bank and reported this happening. Now I have to wait and see how long it takes them to put this money back. They told me up to 10 business days. They also told me it was for a website that I purchased. NOT~!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sandy Dec 30, 2008

    I have been researching this most of the day and did a google search on Propay and came across your postings. I also had an electronic withdrawal from my checking account on 12/24/08, although the $39.95 check was made payable to Payment Systems with a [protected] number which always has a busy signal. I was a Mary Kay consultant years ago and used Propay. I went to the propay website and logged on and my account info is still there. I am pretty sure that this is where they got my info. www.800notes.com has complaints on this as does www.whocallsme.com. All the complaints have the same basic info, just a different twist (what was on the check withdrawn from you). On both of those sites I found a Detective Flynn working on the case. He is asking that you contact him with your name, address, phone number, amount of loss, and bank name so he can try and build a victim list for the FBI. He did uncover that this may be originating out of Cyprus. I also strongly urge you to file a complaint with the FBI Interent Crimes Unit at www.IC3.gov. We are all in the same boat here!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sandy Dec 30, 2008

    PLEASE READ! If you are a victim of this scam, there is a Detective working on this case. Here is his info:

    Detective Flynn
    Computer & Financial Crimes
    Pitt County Sheriff's Office
    phone: [protected]
    email: [email protected]

    Detective Flynn is asking everyone to file a complaint with the FBI Internet Complaint Center at www.ic3.gov. They are working with him to track everyone involved and total dollars lost. Also, please email him your info. Include your name, address, phone number, dollar amount lost and your bank name.

    Let's help Detective Flynn build a case big enough to get something done!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michele Dec 31, 2008

    I have filed @ www.ic3.gov. I was taken for 34.95 on the 18th of December. I can't believe my bank would allow an electronic transfer to PHE because the depositor said it was ok electronically without checking. Their check is not professional looking at all. This is fraud and expensive for the victim. I hope they catch these theives and bring them to justice. I HOPE THE BANKS beef up. This has happened too often. Has anyone gotten refunded from this company?

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Mel Jan 03, 2009

    I just happened to go over my checking accounts this morning and found a charge for $24.95 that I did not recognize. After calling the number listed on the electronic bill, I found that my account has been charged by Pink Home Entertainment, an adult site. After Googling the company, I found the Complaints Board site and read a post from another Creative Memories consultant who had a fraudulent charge also. In it, she referenced ProPay as the source since an address typo on her ProPay account and the fraudulent charge matched. I, too, have a ProPay account and am trying to get in touch with them. Unfortunately, there is not a phone number listed, so I shall have to see if emailing them will help. I will be contacting my bank on Monday to see what can be done at that end.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Candace Curtis Jan 05, 2009

    Same thing happened to me. I used to be a Mary Kay consultant and had an account associated with ProPay. Thing is I didn't realize that this fraudulent charge probably came through ProPay until I read this. Thanks and here is the 800 # to PHE Subscriptions. My charge was $39.95 for an adult website subscription, which I DID NOT subscribe to. Hope this phone # helps you, they are refunding my money [protected].

    0 Votes
  • Valerie Jun 03, 2016

    I received an overdraft notice on a seldom used Citizen's Bank checking account. I didn't understand a charge of $39.99- I didn't authorize anyone to charge this account. The company was called Pink Home Entertainment. I can't find any such company on the internet but I can find complaints about them charging consumers without authorization.

    I called the phone number given on the bank authorization and the young women who answered said she was just the 3rd party biller for them and that she would refund the $39.99 in 7 to 10 business days. She told me that this was set up to be a monthly reoccurring payment and that she would cancel the transaction so I wouldn't be billed next month.

    After reading posts from others who have been scammed, I'm not sure that she was actually from a 3rd party biller or that they will be crediting my account. I guess they think if they keep the amount small that most people won't think to check to see if it's legitimate. I am working with my bank's fraud department to get get my money and the over-draft fees refunded.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    AMVictory Jun 03, 2016

    I just got off the phone with the FBI. He advised me to go to
    http://www.ic3.gov

    and fill out a report. He also took my information down, so it will be entered into the system. If enough people report this, the FBI will open an investigation.

    They *are* very interested in this, they just cannot act without sufficient cause, and $40.00 isn't sufficient. HOWEVER - if they see a pattern, or indication that this is wide-spread, they WILL act. So please take a few moments to fill out a report. Please note in your report, also, if you sold any home products (Mary Kay, for instance) or used ProPay.

    Anne

    PS: Feel free to email me if you have more information - [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    Crystal Jun 08, 2016

    On Dec 16th, 34.99 was deducted from my checking account without authorization. When I called the reference number on the check, they said they were a 3rd party billing company. They said I purchased a subscription by internet. As I did not purchase any subscription nor authorize this charge, they said they would refund my account. After googleing Pink Home Ent and finding all these complaints, I immediately went to my bank. They did the whole fraud thing and are closing my account. I too was a Mary Kay Consultant and this was the account that I used. I did some more searching and found a person that was a Creative Memories Consultant. She mentioned that she used ProPay as well. It sounds like to me that the connection is Pro Pay.

    0 Votes
  • 76
    76069 Jun 08, 2016

    Update: Today I spoke with Creative Memories my only link to Propay and they are aware of several consultants that have experienced this. They referred me to Propay and to post my complaint with them. When I spoke to Propay they were very guarded with information. They did admit that they are aware of an "international breech" but that their is no proof that Propay has a part in it. She blamed old Windows versions, Internet Explorer and Antivirus softwares for what is going on. She told me that she would refer my complaint to her supervisor and they would be givng me a call to discuss my concern. I have still not heard anything nor do I really expect to. Hope this helps.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Ami Jun 08, 2016

    I was looking at my bank statement online and discovered a check that had been drawn on my account electronically. I knew that I had not authorized any purchases so I called the bank to find out more info. They gave me an 866 numberto call which ended up being a third party billing company who gave me the name of the company, pink home entertainment, and said they would refund the 29.95 to my account in 7-10 days. I am in the process of filing a fraud complaint with my bank and closing ot my checking account. What a hassle!!! I would like to know how they got access to my account!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.