PcToolsScam and cheating!

A
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Purchased and downloaded SpyDoctor from pctools, worked great until it automatically updated and now it just crashes my system. Emailed PcTools several times with no response. Now i am going to contact my credit card provider and retrieve the money back from them. Oh how ironic the head office is in Ireland... blatatant Pikeys... has anybody else found a problem with them?? PcTools that is not Pikeys.

Responses

  • Ru
    rubedog53 Mar 03, 2011

    from pissed off. pc tools first infected my computer. then as i shut down and rebooted in safe mode and thus able to use explorer and typed in system tool virus. then pc tools pops up and recomended by seemingly ligit sources .so after exsausting all my options i was forced to download pc tools. pc tools and thier acomplicies are complicit in this far reaching and long lasting assult on inocent web users.thier [censor], bottom feeders, pc tools system tools etc. are cancer which needs to be eradicateded from the planet.

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    jims78 Feb 24, 2011

    I have been using PC tools software now for 6 years. I’ve used it on several machines, such a two PCs, 1 Laptop, 1 net book and also 2 PCs and a laptop of family members. I have not yet had any serious issues with any of the PC software or billing.

    I just wish to comment on one complaint here, and that is the one posted by “Adam” who says “Oh how ironic the head office is in Ireland... blatatant Pikeys... has anybody else found a problem with them?? PcTools that is not Pikeys”
    Such a level of ignorance is to be expected on the internet, especially when it is open to everyone. I can just imagine how “Adam” behaved on the phone towards the call centre operator. Truly the type of comment you would expect from a fat-necked, low wit, racist.

    0 Votes
  • Rc
    rcrozz Jan 23, 2011

    I cannot rid my computer of the PC tools spyware dr. I have not downloaded their protection for 29.95 a year. The problem I am having with them is their icon stays on my bottom tool bar stating I have 14 infections. Their home page pops up on my screen stating my computer is infected and for 29.95 / year they can clean my computer etc. I have to go into my tast manager and end the task several times, basically it freezes my computer up. I have Mcafee through my cable provider, it reports my computer is working fine. I scanned it today three times using my Dell tools, SuperAnti spyware and Mcafee there were no problems. In my opinion this is a scam to try and force you to purchase their spyware. Unfortunatly, I cannot rid my computer of their scam. Is their anyway to block them. I have tried to contact their customer service, but you must have a license number prior to your emails being accepted, and that's not happening.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    gemini79 Dec 22, 2010

    Im going thru the same problem.Brought product last December then happened to be looking at my bank account and it had been charged 39.99 for a renewal that i didnt do.I actually spoke with someone that said it would get refunded, gave me a ticket number and all and it still hasn't been refunded.Now im unable to get any support from pctools directly because it says i just have the trial version...so why in the world was i still charged.And then called some number off internet that was suppose to be pctools associated [protected]...beware DO NOT USE..think this is a scam and hacks ur computer...Does anybody have any suggestions, this is ridciulious!!!

    0 Votes
  • Bd
    Bdooley1 Dec 11, 2010

    Well I never knew I was on automatic renewal. This is apparently the second renewal they have done on a product I used for an old computer. The product, not sure how well it did since my computer was screwed up. It was easy to cancel my subscription, however they did not want to give me a refund. They never replied to my support ticket after 12 days. I made a phone call today and could barely understand the lady. But i believe i am getting my refund now...well i better.

    0 Votes
  • Mc
    mcat Nov 28, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was sent an email saying my account wd be charged for renewal. In the mean time, all windows updates and uninstaller wd not work. they conatcted me and said it could be fixed if I gave them my accnt number in an instant msg. they also wanted my home ph #. then i cfigured it out but couldn't uninstall the Spyware Dr.
    Finally I was able to shut it down then uninstall-- then all my Windows prgms worked.
    Originally there was a pop up virus which now i realize was ther creation and they had the solution.
    Criminal to say the least.
    Now I have Norton and all's well.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Peterxx Nov 09, 2010

    Maybe somebody should pay them back. Just act as a investor and say you want to invest 2 million USD into their account, but before this you ofcourse want to meet the management. Then go their with 30 people and camera and put them all on video and on YouTube. Name, the scam of the first ten years of the new millenium

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Peterxx Nov 08, 2010

    They put malware and Trojan horses on purpose in their software. Echt packet of software you get from them is extremely dangerous.

    I have noticed it with several of there software programs, like regcure, spydoctor.
    It is a criminal organisation that puts itself outthere as a trusted organisation. Must be making tens of thousands of victims, steal their money that their computers.

    Peter
    Amsterdam

    0 Votes
  • Jk
    jkljkl Nov 07, 2010

    I purchase a combo pack of spyware doctor with antivirus and registry mechanic, had a receipt with a licence for each clearly stating"spyware doctor with anti-virus" and i couldn't get it to work. They claim that I only purchased the version without the anti-virus and want more money for an upgrade.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sally P Oct 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had no problem with the working of the free version of Spydoctor
    but have just been billed on my credit card for £19.93. Must have had a pay version at some point, but not for ages.
    Because I have no license key and my email is not recognised, I had no way of contacting them.
    So went through Mbna credit card. They were great and contacted
    pctools direct - seemed to have number at their fingertips!
    I now have ref number and a promise to reimburse. We'll see!

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Ray Massart Oct 01, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I wonder how anyone can sign up to PC Tools after reading all the complaints. I have tried to unsubscribe but to no avail. I haven't used Spyware Doctor for years and have thrown it off my PC.
    Yet each year money is deducted from my Visa account. (twice 29, 95 USD) Even more hair-raising is the fact that when I log into my personal account it mentions that Registry Mechanic has expired since July 22 2002!!! I receive no response to my mails apart from a ticket mentioning receipt of my complaint. PC Tools also make it extremely difficult to decide what kind of complaint to formulate as these issues regard billing, automatic renewal, account details etc. One gets the impression this is done intentionally so as to discourage any further attempts at receiving a rational reply. Utterly disgusting policies if you ask me and I am not planning to leave things as they are whatever measures I'll have to take in the near future.

    0 Votes
  • Pb
    pbogard22 Sep 13, 2010

    I was also charged for a renewal, cancelled it, was told a "refund has been processed", and then never received the refund. I was told to keep checking with my bank. My bank, Bank of America, told me that because I used a debit card and not a credit card, the refund should have hit my account within 1-2 days. After 50 days, I still don't have the refund, and now I'm not getting any further reponses from PC Tools. Since PC World Magazine listed PC Tools in their "Top Ten" products, I would recommend everyone send a letter to the editor at [email protected] and tell them about the scam PC Tools has been running, and that if that is the type of company PC World endorses, then how reliable are their recommendations for other products.

    1 Votes
  • Ed
    eddiewilliamson Jul 31, 2010

    Here are the contact phone #s:
    USA/Canada - [protected]
    Australia - +[protected]

    Happy pwning!

    0 Votes
  • No
    Nora Jones Jul 20, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same problem happened with me. I have asked them to refund. If they dont I plan to write about the PC Tools Scam on their Facebook profile - and I encourage everybody else to do the same.

    1 Votes
  • Ni
    nigelcobwebs Jun 07, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too have had problems with PC Tools I bought Registry Mechanic 4 years ago and they suddenly charged my credit card again this year. The card was out of date and still Barclaycard let the charge go through!! I am seriously teed off with PC Tools and with Barclaycard - the Barclaycard has now been assigned to the bin. Never deal with PC Tools.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Christine, Birmingham May 21, 2010

    AVOID THIS COMPANY LIKE THE PLAGUE, THEY TAKE YOUR MONEY THATS IT. YOU WILL HAVE NO CHANCE OF A REFUND EVEN IF THEY EMAIL YOU TO SAY THEY ARE GOING TO.

    0 Votes
  • Nu
    nuno May 16, 2010

    I'm from portugal, and have the same problems with pctools, charging money from my account, don´t answer to email or to the "fake" support they. I'm going to change my credit card and hopeffuly i don't want to listen again of pctools or they products

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    FREDDYCHICAGO May 04, 2010

    AVOID THIS COMPANY! THEY REFUSE TO REPLY TO EMAILS OR ISSUE REFUNDS AS PROMISED. AVOID THIS PRODUCT!!! CONTACT YOUR BANK AND CANCEL YOUR CREDIT/DEBIT CARD BEFORE THEY KEEP CHARGING YOU!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    ARSE75 Apr 21, 2010

    What I dont understand is this. I got a virus. A bad virus. It pretended to be Windows Defender, but wasn't. It wanted me to pay a fee to, well, get rid of itself.

    What it also did was stop all .exe files from executing - wtih exceptions I will tell you about in a second. I couldn't use Chrome, which is my usual search engine. I had a number of virus programs downloaded (but stupidly, none in operation). I tried to install Malware (which is free). No luck. I tried AVG. No luck. I tried Avira. No luck. I also couldn't open my USB drive.

    I then realised Explorer was still operating. Search results suggested a few things, including downloading Spyware Doctor. I thought that strange, given what the virus had done to my system (i.e. I couldn't execute the file). I went to Download.com and downloaded the program. Bizarre. It executed. I was able to install it.

    Spyware Doctor did get rid of the virus, although it did not restore the registry entries which allowed programs to execute again. I downloaded a zip file which had the necessary registry entries.

    One thing I forgot to mention - Spyware Doctor only works if you pay the fee. I also love the 'tick the box ' which on close inspecion automatically enrolls new in reknewal of the subscription, but you only ever work that out if you read the very very very small print!!!

    What I don't get is why the virus deactivated every .exe file I tried to execute EXCEPT FOR OUTLOOK AND SPYWARE DOCTOR. In other words, it let me google and find a program I had to then pay for to get of the virus.

    I can't help be suspicious that there is some connection!!!

    Draw your own conclusions.

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    Spyware Doctor SCAM Apr 11, 2010

    I had a virus on my pc laptop (1 of 3 laptops i use). Nothing could clean it, so after reading some reviews by "reputable" PCmag, CNET, etc. about Spyware Doctor, I decided to try it .. it was "Free". After downloading and running scan it found some virus but would not delete until I purchase "registered" versions (scam #1) I did pay the money. Got three licenses. Downloaded and cleaned my machine pretty good. However shortly I got a virus again, i booted my other laptop (that was not infected...) and low and behold it was infected with same virus even though i had not used it nor turned it on since installing and running initial virus scan. I was going to use this laptop to surf the net for a remedy for the one i use running Spyware doctor. So now my backup clone laptop is infected also, so I fire up my third laptop and its got same virus. ( i use these for work, engineering programming, not games, videos, ringones, porn, bit-torrent or other likely activities that would cause infection). So I got three laptops each with newly installed Spyware Doctor Antivirus. Each had initial scan and found some infections and removed them, checked out clean afterwards. Two of the three laptops went back into computer cases for 1-2 weeks. Working laptop became infected...again. The two that were NOT used when powered on had the same viruses / highjack rouge softwares on them. Noticed this same "coincidence" on three more occasions. I spend more time fooling around with the Spyware Doctor Antivirus than I get done working!!!~~! When it is running it hogs so much ram that nothing else can run, it slows my PC down to being almost unusable ... until I exit out of the program, then it runs normal (fast).. shortly before becoming "infected" again - without any connection to the interenet!!! It is my conclusion that this software is incorporating "job security" function in it's software by generating these viruses!.. I'm gonna fix these then uninstall this crap of my machines! I've had nothing but trouble on / and / off for the past three months since installation. If finds them alright but not after lett

    0 Votes
  • Tw
    twila1 Apr 10, 2010

    This is what they did to me:
    Charged me initially...okay I did use the product but I didn't like it so I got rid of it. That was valid.
    They sent me an email that they would auto-renewal
    I immediately logged into my account and switched to manual [still within the time frame the email gave me]
    I opened a case to verify that they would not charge me and they confirmed via email that they would not charge me
    Of course, they charged me
    I logged back into my account and they had put me back to auto-renewal [most likely a bug on their part...because you get an automated email if it is changed and I still had that email confirmation from earlier]
    I changed it again to manual and called them
    They assured me they would credit me in 7 business days...nope, never happened. I live in the States and am not sure how I lodge a formal complaint since they are oversees but this has me so incensed that I will figure it out. I don't care if I have to spend 6 months on this to get my money back. I am mad and hope they go out of business for these fraudulent practices. I have all of the proof.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Fraud Detector Apr 09, 2010

    These guys must not be checking on complaints and don't have a phone number listed anywhere ( I take it they don't want to hear complaints about being fraudulent). They sure need to be prosecuted for doing unauthorized charging of one's credit card.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    gazxa123 Mar 31, 2010

    i bought a pc tools programme 2 years ago, recently £39.99 came out of my bank account (wtf) so i emailed them countless times and complained. but what gets me is i didnt have any sort of warning or notification which does state in the contract, yet these ### taken money without my consent, anyway they replied to me saying they will refund my money along with the subscription.

    this was 10 days ago and still havent got my refund [email protected]:NTS

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    rikkijsim Mar 23, 2010

    IT is so ### you woudnt beilive it, for ###sake! can you understand it. next time i will ask before i buy, . I thought getting everything seperate would be better, no chance!!!.###!!!

    0 Votes
  • Il
    iliad1 Jan 21, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Terrence suggest you also read:
    PcTools — Scam and cheating!

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Terrence from California Jan 20, 2010

    Hey, I'd also like to get my money back from PC Tools, but I can't even find a way to contact them about $39.95 that PC Tools of San Francisco took from my debit card account. Their web page sez you have to make a premium purchase to even qualify for email and phone access to their support. From my point of view, PC Tools is a piece of ###.

    I'm getting a new debit card to try and keep these kinds of money-grubbing hyenas out of my pockets. Any suggestions on how I can recover the $39.95?

    Terrence in California

    0 Votes
  • Mu
    MUGGLE Jan 11, 2010

    PC TOOLS IS A RIP-OFF! DON'T DO BUSINESS WITH THEM. DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND GET NORTON OR MCAFEE!!

    0 Votes
  • Il
    iliad1 Oct 05, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well dome Timeser - I hope you do not need to wait as long as I did to have the auto subscription stopped.

    Best of luck.

    PS It would be good if you could update the blog when your refund arrives.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Timeser Oct 05, 2009

    PCTools answered my request and are planning to refund my account. I am waiting for them to do so. I am happy with the idea that they were responsive tomy needs as a costumer.

    0 Votes
  • Il
    iliad1 Sep 17, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had to get my bank to freeze the direct debit payments after proving to them that I had written to PCTOOLS to advise them to stop the subscription (which they originally ignored)

    0 Votes
  • Kd
    k_deno Sep 17, 2009

    HELP! I just downloaded Spy Doctor from PC Tools... the charge went through on my checking account yet I was never given a License Code to access the program. In addition to this, I also tried typing in my email address so it could retrieve the code and it did "not recognize" that address. I just paid $30 and now I'm worried it's a bog scam and they will continue to charge my card... HOW DO I STOP THIS??!?!?! HELLLLLLPPP!

    0 Votes
  • Du
    Duffia Sep 01, 2009

    Well I guess I should get out now! Reading all these comments, I've come to the conclusion that what I've been experiencing is only the beginning. Thank goodness for comment boards such as these! The comments were extremely helpful in my decision to opt out and cancel the program.

    0 Votes
  • Au
    Aussie123 Aug 28, 2009

    I know this is an old post, but I have just been trying to help someone who has no idea how this spyware doctor got on their computer. When I saw it I suggested it was a virus because it behaves exactly like one.

    It comes up with 4 threats and 40 infections, even though two major protection suites give the machine a clean bill of health, but then to fix it you have to pay money. If this product is so above board why does its trial version tell you about infections and not fix them, all the major suppliers provide full functioning trial versions. If it works well why wouldn't you buy it.

    It is by definition a virus, or at the very least SPAM. If something gets on your computer without you being aware of how it got there, and then it scares you into purchasing a product that I would think has to be considered illegal in most countries around the world.

    Another thing you will find in most countries around the world, if a contract is misleading the average consumer is protected, because how you are encouraged to sign a contract is taken into account for consumer transactions.

    0 Votes
  • Il
    iliad1 Jun 09, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Suggest you research the growing number of complaints regarding the results of PCTOOLS malpractice and consider yourself to be one of the lucky few.

    Dont agree that automatic subscription for renewals is industry standard (unless you are referring to the fraud industry) but the way that PCTools are doing it is giving " the industry" a very bad name.

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • An
    Analyst559 Jun 08, 2009

    I just called right now and got through on their support line [protected]) after a 1 minutes 17 second hold time after selecting the option for billing on the automated line.

    Maybe theres a problem with your phone? I put in a support request through the support section on their website asking a couple of mundane questions about Spyware Doctor, but haven't received a response yet.

    Typically email support is 24-72 hours depending on the company, PC Tools says 24 hour turnaround, we'll see.

    No I don't own share in their company :P I do use Spyware Doctor, which I did originally purchase on subscription but later removed via calling their support line which was pretty much painless, not considering the hold music :)

    I rewew manually now just so I can keep track of my bills... times are tough I'm sure you all know, but seeing complaints of PC Tools scamming people just appears that people are ignorant to the contracts to which they are agreeing.

    I've never had a problem with their support, billing or products, so I stand by them. Truth be told automatic billing for these kinds of software is pretty much industry standard nowadays.

    1 Votes
  • Il
    iliad1 Jun 08, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Spallina - suggest that should read the posts before submitting comment...

    e.g. "i try to get on the phone with them yet once again. i started to get weird ### from their phones. i kept getitng the first two words of there automated system and my phone would hang up...each time. after a while of that id get the familiar "do do do" sound it would tell me that the number did not exist. and now for the past couple hours all i get is a busy signal. "

    They are clearly operating below the threshold for acceptable standards of normal business behaviour. They may well be laughing all of the way to the bank but I suspect that they will not be able to fool all of the people for much longer.

    PS have you got shares in PCTOOLS ?

    Comments

    1 Votes
  • An
    Analyst559 Jun 08, 2009

    Maybe you all should read contracts (electronic or paper) before you agree to them?

    They have 24 phone support you can call too if I'm not mistaken.

    You have no one to blame but yourself for your own ignorance.

    0 Votes
  • Il
    iliad1 May 24, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Agree - after over twelve months of trying all of the methods PCTOOLS suggest to cancel the subscription I did not realise I has signed up to in the first place, I am also seeking to have the automatic renewals stopped through my credit card legal people.
    I am also contemplating paying a visit ( to their address below) with my biker mates to ask them personally for my money back.

    Units A & B, Block 4, Shannon Business Park, Shannon, Co. Clare, Ireland.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Bahainsider May 17, 2009

    I live in the Bahamas, so as you might imagine our snail mail is even slower than just about anywhere else. I do have a modern computer and internet service, and receive tons of offers for virus protection software. I consider it spam. over a year ago I purchased PC Tool Spyware Doctor. I did not however authorize any auto renewal.

    I found that using PC Tools slowed my computer as it was constantly updating every time I booted up. So, I turned it off. I have upgraded to Vista and find that Windows Defender works fine and it was free. So I no longer needed the PCTools anchor.

    As has been related above. I got automatically renewed and charged for three different items totaling over $100.00US. The thing is I didn't pay any attention to an email they sent me stating that I had been charged anything. I thought it was just another offer to provide another service and thought it was spam. I did get a Visa statement about a month later and realized what had happened. I emailed them and demanded a refund. I got an email this morning telling me that the period for refunds had past and it was not their policy to reimburse me. Well it's not my policy to pay for something I don't want, didn't order, and have no use for.

    Of course I did file the dispute with VISA stopping any payment, so they're not going to get my money to keep for very long. By the looks of what has been written on the net, thieves, crooks, scam artists, class action law suit, etc. that whistling that is ringing in their ears is the sound of their stock falling with no thud at the bottom yet audible.

    It should be pretty obvious to any executive with them or PC Mag that they had an easy out. Just give the people their money back. Are they doing so poorly that they have to crawl to this level? Then again they seem to have an answer to any new bugs on the net. Could they have created them?

    I wonder what a forensic systems analyst would find in their files. Only one way to answer that. Lets start emailing our Congressman and State Senators to call for an inquiry into their practices. Who knows what may come of it. I'm sure they won't mind a hundred or so computer geeks pouring over every key stroke for the last several years. I'm sure that they would welcome the disruption to their business if it cleared them of wrong doing.

    And their legal fees would only amount to less than half their annual revenue... okay three quarters. But so what they've got deep pockets... right?

    On the other hand PC Mag, after endorsing them all this time, is beginning to look less than credible.

    The line up for lawyers who want to take this project on can start right here. How much do we each get from the CALS? I bet it's more than $100.00US

    There's that whistling sound. Its so loud now even I can hear it in the middle of the ocean.

    James Neill

    Freeport Bahamas

    -1 Votes
  • Ar
    artzo Mar 22, 2009

    I downloaded Spyware Doctor trial version witha part of google pack and it seem works fine it removed all trojan and harmfull adwares, then two weeks ago i decided purchased this program but that was big mistake, i never got my f... lisence now i have send them several e mails and all what i got is automatic replay that be a patience because they have so much work to do it takes a while answer.So i wrote them 10 min ago that i am pissed off and i let Visa solved this out . And i also have to shutdown my account that i can sleep my nights well.so lets see what happens...

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.