North American Sweepstakes LotteryScam

D
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I received a letter from this scam stating that I had won $125, 000. Enclosed was a check for over $4, 000 supposedly drawn from chase bank. I bank with Chase and when I took the check to Chase it was infact a real account number but not from the before mentioned business. It was from someone elses personal checking account.

I did not cash the check and gave it to Chase for investigative purposes.

If you receive something similar please do not deposit it into your personal account or attempt to cash the check. These checks are fradulent and will either come back to you as a no good check or they will remove money from an innocent persons account.

Responses

  • Ma
    Margaret Nov 11, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My mom got the same check but from Harris Bank, we didn't deposit it yet. Tx for the info

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael J. Bentley Nov 22, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just got the letter, same as above...$4900 clams. Call and pay - (NOT ON YOUR LIFE!) This is going to Chase on Monday. How can you win $100, 000 when you didn't enter?

    This one is for the weak brained -

    Mike

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    rick Nov 30, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i received a letter saying i had won a lottery drawing. i called the number gave personal information about myself and my residence. and when i checked the validity of the claim i found out it was a lottery scam. she made me believe i had really won.

    0 Votes
  • Ve
    VERY UPSET Mar 01, 2009

    I got one in the mail for $3985 with to total wininng amount of $100, 000.I am to deposit the cheque for the $3985...and call for further insrtuctions...The cheque looks so real, it's amazing how they put it togeather.The heading on the letter says ...NORTH AMAERICAN SWEEPSTAKES...i am 1 out of 5 winners for 500, 000...The crazy thing is that the number i am to call is a canadian number wich goes like this...[protected]...Then on the cheque itself it says...NORTH AMAERICAN PERSONNEl SERVICES...the address on the bottom of that when i looked it up online it did not match...And then we get to the bank...First State Bank & Trust...This is the address on the cheque 155th & HWY 24 Baser KS 66007...Look this up people the address again does not match...This is to the scammer...GET LOST...GO DEPOST THE CHEQUE YOURSELF AND LEAVE INNOCENT PEOPLE ALONE...YOU SHOLUD BE ASHAMED OF YOURSELF YOU REAP WHAT YOU SOW

    0 Votes
  • Co
    CommonSense Mar 01, 2009

    And how come none of you stopped to think... "I didn't enter a sweepstakes" and actually wasted the time of people at a bank instead of just throwing it away?

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Linda Brannon Apr 13, 2009

    Linda,
    I live in Missouri and on 4/ 11/2009 I received a check and letter stating that I won! I went to the bank and had them check and sure enough, the checking account was false! They took a copy and are putting it with their employees! I'm glad I didn't cash it but it is disheartening in this day! I knew that something was up when I had not entered any sweepstakes because of all the promotional crap you have to fill out! WalMart even told me on the phone that they were not involved with this type of promo! I did upset the gentleman after calling back and he eventually hung up on me! It feels good to be able to outscam a scammer!

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    WAT Apr 29, 2009

    My brother received a similar scam letter from City Financial and Management Consultant Inc. indicating he was the winner of North American Sweepstakes. He received a check in the amount of $4, 980 and was being asked to send a $3, 975 Moneygram or Western Union to cover Government Taxes. A final lump sum payment of $95, 020 would be sent via UPS when the Government Tax money is received. The check was written on Comerica Bank, 1601 Elm St #100, Dallas, TX. I spoke to account representative at the bank and she confirmed that there have been fraudulant checks written on the account number found on the check. The business name on the check is Renew Data Corp of Austin, TX.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rosa May 06, 2009

    That is just crazy, cause I just got one in the mail today ( 5-6-09). I decided to check it out online before I did anything and I found this website... Thanks.. I didn't really believe that I had won anything so I decided to see what I could find on the internet about this Sweepstakes and I am so glad I did...

    0 Votes
  • Su
    suzan larry May 07, 2009

    I JUST GOT THE SAME CHECK WITH ALL THE SAME INFORMATION, THESE PEOPLE NEED TO GET CAUGHT AND SEND TO PRISON FOR STEALING.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dan May 12, 2009

    Add mine to the list. I am trying to figure out how out-scam a scammer, but don't have the time or energy for this nonsense.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dan May 12, 2009

    Also, what agency should be investigating crap like this?

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Hater May 16, 2009

    I got the same problem and I did lose money... I hate this people! They need to get caught! We need to get the police involve, I think is important that other people don't get scams like this, it's terrible fand not fair for people like us that work hard and they are trying to survive and thaey think the dream is becomming reality! let's get them and team up!!!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jolt Jun 19, 2009

    I got pretty much the same thing in the mail today. If it was a legit lottery they would withhold taxes from your winnings, not send you a check and require money sent to them. SCAM SCAM SCAM

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    MissJude Aug 24, 2009

    Thank you all for your input. A friend called and was so excited to have won a sweepstake as the money would have solved some problems. After asking a few questions, I realized that this was probably a scam and obviously an attempt to steal money. The scenario is the same. A portion of the winnings (always under $5000.00) and a requirement to pay the taxes (always to them and always in the form of Western Union or MoneyGram) before the big payoff. Tax agencies do not work that way. I hated to burst his bubble but better this than dishing out 3 grand and not seeing any kind of return. Everyone has to be so very careful these days.
    JRM

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Pacific, WA Jan 28, 2010

    I just got a letter today from ATC Insurance Services, acting on behalf of the North American Sweepstakes. The cashier's check is for 2, 485.00 and the letter wants me to call my Claim Agent in Canada no less, to get further instructions on how to claim my $125, 000 I supposedly won, even though I never entered any sweepstakes. I am to deposit the check then send them $1885.99 by Western Union for my Non-Residential Tax. I googled the North American Sweekpstakes and got to this website. I went on Bing and typed in ATC Insurance Services of Vancouver and got nothing. I wonder whose account they actually have access to. The cashier's check is drawn on a Chase bank, which is where I will be heading with all this tomorrow.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.