Nationwide Van Lines Logo

Nationwide Van Lines

Having problems with Nationwide Van Lines?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

Customer Service

1421 NW 65th Avenue
Plantation, Florida
United States - 33313
Mon9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tue9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wed9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thu9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Fri9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sat10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Sun11:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Complaints & Reviews

Moving company

NAtionWide Van Lines is a RiPPED OFF!! They charge a lot of money to move my items from United State to...

Worst moving experience

I've moved with other companies in the past and have never had such a bad experience. In addition to their practice of suppressing negative reviews through signed settlement contracts, you should avoid Nationwide Van Lines because KNOWINGLY send out movers that are unprepared and behave unprofessionally and who cause damages to your property.

Despite the fact that Nationwide Van Lines, Inc. sent out a mover that has received multiple complaints and has since been dismissed from their company, their claims process is inexplicably slow. It took them over 30 days to even acknowledge the receipt of my claim and over three months to process the claim.

Here are some details about my move:

1. Unprofessional behavior:
On pickup, the movers strongly hinted to me 3 to 4 times to generously tip them, as this is not an easy job and that they're the ones doing all the hard work. They also told me that if I took care of them with a tip, then they would take care of me. This is not acceptable behavior. Any person in this scenario would believe that if they didn't tip them, then they would not take care of their stuff.

They completely missed both pickup and delivery windows. The pickup window was from 9 am - 1 pm. They didn't arrive until 3:30 pm. They blamed it on bad traffic. They spent an hour setting up blankets before they came up to the apartment at 4:30 to start wrapping furniture. I had to stay there until 10 pm before they were finished completely. And this is even with having packed all of the boxes before the move.

The delivery window was also from 9 am - 1 pm. They did not arrive until 7 pm. Again, they blamed it on traffic and sent me photos via text of traffic, but they told me they were coming from Virginia, which is only a 4-6 hour drive. They were not finished until 11:30 pm, creating a lot of noise for my neighbors, and I received complaints from the leasing office about the noise that they caused at a late hour due to them arriving late.

The method used to wrap the furniture was not done in a professional manner. It left considerable adhesive residue from the tape on the furniture, which I had to carefully remove. Additionally, a lot of the blankets used to wrap the furniture were filthy, leaving lots of black soot for me to wipe up.

2. Unprepared:
They took apart my futon when no other previous movers had taken it apart. This would have been fine with me, but upon delivery, they forgot how to put it back together. Fortunately, I was watching them take it apart and had to give them directions. Also, in order to unwrap the blankets, they needed to cut the tape on there. They didn't even have a box boxer available and asked to use my chef's knife to cut the tape. Fortunately, I had a box cutter available that I provided (Ironically, the box cutter was left over from a previous moving company's move - they were prepared!).

3. Damages:
All of the boxes upon delivery were dented or smashed in some way or the other, which only happens if items were improperly secured or if the movers stacked too many boxes on top of each box. My bike was bent from too much weight being placed on top of it.

There was a large dent/chip into one of my solid wood bookcases on the front that was transported. I noticed upon moving that the movers only wrapped the sides of the bookcases with blankets, leaving sizable gaps for the shelves to be exposed. This would not have happened if they wrapped the bookcases completely. The company considered this damage "cosmetic" and would not even offer the full measly $0.60 per pound.

BOTTOM LINE: If you want any semblance of a professional move, undamaged property, and a responsive company, do not use Nationwide Van Lines. I'll give up my settlement money so other people won't have to go through this awful moving experience.

Their Guaranteed delivery date is false advertising

Stay away from this moving company...They guarantee a delivery date...on their web site, in their contracts and their messaging as you wait for a moving consultant to pick up your call. We signed an agreement in July, paid $500 deposit. Our furniture was picked up on Sept 4th, with a guaranteed delivery date of Sept 15th. After speaking with their consultant six times he had no clue as to when the furniture would arrive. In essence their logistics department is a joke. On Sept 18th, we received an email that our furniture would arrive on the 20th or 21st and get this, we have to call them on the 19th to find out the status, They provide further insult to injury by offering a courtesy gift of $25, on my bill of over $2, 000...are you kidding me.

  • Pa
    paulpenini Jul 01, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The guys did an outstanding job! Nationwide Van Lines were the best ive seen in our 7 moves. They were very professional and hardworking. Nationwide Van Lines showed up on time, Nationwide Van Lines delivered on time and did an amazing job. Im very satisfied with Nationwide Van Lines and I will use them again. Thank you Naitonwide Van Lines.

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    crjands Jul 02, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I assume this is a fake response...

    1 Votes
  • Bo
    borgenborg Jul 08, 2010

    why are you writing it is a great company on a complaint site? that makes no sense

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mamaof3boys Aug 05, 2010

    i assume you work for them.. WHERE IS MY STUFF?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!

    0 Votes

If you want your stuff lost/ damaged, awful service & sexual harassment, Nationwide Van Lines, LLC is the company for you!

To begin, I received a last minute job transfer that would require me to move from CT to Georgia within 2 weeks, start a new job, and welcome home my Iraq war veteran. Needless to say, this time frame was already overly stressful. To anyone remotely considering Nationwide Van Lines, LLC, headquartered in Plantation, FL - do yourself a favor and look for other moving companies. Not only did they feed me lies to obtain the business, they didn't deliver my items on time, items were broken, they tried to pawn off someone else's belongings to me, they lost some of my items, and the mover's sexually harassed me. Then when even trying to file a complaint to receive compensation for the lost items, let alone the harassment, their customer service representatives did absolutely nothing.

To put it in perspective, here is the chain of events of this absolute nightmare:

I initially called on 9/21/10 and spoke with Julie-Ann to book my move. She was my move consultant. I indicated on my
phone call to the moving company that I needed assistance with a last minute move and was specifically looking for a quick turnaround time as I was to begin a new job within a week and a half and also that my significant other was returning from Iraq within the same time period. If this could not be accommodated, I was going to go with UHaul or some type of self-service to make sure my things would be at my residence since I was starting a new job and would be in training for at least 2 months which would not allow me to just leave work to sit around for movers. She had indicated it would not be a problem. She also indicated that based on a satellite image of the apartment complex that it would not be an issue for an 18 wheeler truck for delivery. I specifically chose to move forward with Nationwide Van Lines as they noted they would be able to accommodate my move in the time frame.

On 9/23/2010, I had sent an update to Julie-Ann Kilgour by email adding in additional inventory items and to confirm the delivery address.

Issak was the foreman on 9/25/2010 when my items were picked up at 9:30 AM. He had indicated that the move would be a straight move and delivery would be on 9/29/2010. Issak confirmed that the delivery destination. He indicated the additional inventory items
were not updated on the binding quote and charged an additional fee of $344.00.

I called Nationwide Van Lines on 9/27/2010 at 11:40 AM and was directed to speak with Gayle, not my consultant Julie-Ann. I initially called to confirm the delivery date of 9/29/2010, but also I had just received notice from the army that my veteran's arrival was changed to be on 9/29/2010 and I may need to change the delivery date. At that time, Gayle instructed me that my belongings were still in Connecticut and that there was no delivery date. This was conflicting to what the foreman had indicated and also what my original move consultant had stated; however, I was still flexible as to when I could be present as my start date at my new position was October 4th. Gayle instructed me that I would receive a phone call with an updated status for my move within 24 hours.

On 9/28/2010 at 2:40 PM, I contacted Nationwide Van Lines again as I had not received a callback as promised. After being placed on hold by an agent that did not identify herself and insisted I speak directly with Gayle, my call was disconnected. I contacted Nationwide Van Lines at 3:55 PM and spoke with Gayle. She asked that I hold so she could verify with the dispatcher the status of my move. The call was again disconnected. I called back again at 4:10 PM and was told that my items still were not on a truck and it would be best if I called back on Friday to get a better estimate of when delivery would be.

On 10/1/2010, I contacted Nationwide Van Lines at 3:05 PM and spoke with Gayle. She indicated due to flooding in New Jersey, my items had been delayed. She indicated they were on a truck and should be delivered during the next week. She would call me back with an updated status. I indicated that due to the delays and misinformation, I likely would not be available prior to 5:00 PM if delivery would be after 10/4/2010 due to being in training for my new position which was indicated to my move consultant. She indicated that deliveries are in the morning or afternoon and that it could not be accommodated. However, as the original move consultant and foreman had indicated, I was to have a straight through move and it would not be an issue for delivery as delivery was to be prior to October 4, 2010. Had I known the foreman and sales consultant had no communication with the actual handling of the move, I would never had contracted Nationwide Van Lines.

On 10/4/2010, I again contacted Nationwide Van Lines at 5:18 PM. A customer service agent answered and did not identify herself. She indicated I needed to speak directly with Gayle and placed me on hold. The call was disconnected. I called back at 5:21 PM and was transferred to Gayle. She indicated that the my items were on a truck and she would called me back with a better estimate as to when delivery would be. She asked if an 18 wheeler truck could fit for delivery, I confirmed it could as my neighbor had moved in the day
prior and there was no issue with a truck fitting. I had indicated that phone would be best to reach me as my internet was being installed on 10/9/2010.

On 10/5/2010 at 6:40 PM, a random phone number called and did not leave a message. I attempted to call the number twice. Upon my second call, Yoran, the new foreman for my delivery answered and indicated delivery would be on 10/6/2010 after 5:00 PM and most likely at 5:30 PM. He asked if I would require a shuttle and I had stated that both Julie Ann indicated I would not require a shuttle and that my neighbors had no issue with an 18 wheeler truck and he disconnected the call. I also mentioned that there were a total of
16 steps to get to my apartment and that it was possible I was overcharged as the original quote indicated 1 additional set of stairs as the movers calculate every 8 steps as a flight. Julie Ann input the additional charge for the extra flight in the binding quote I signed and submitted. Issak added the charge on the Order for Service signed on 9/25/10.

On 10/6/2010, an email was sent to my work email at 5:06 PM after I had left the office indicating my items were out for shipment to be aware that additional charges may apply. However, as I was already out of the office, I did not receive this email until after my items were shipped.

On 10/6/2010 at 6:25 PM, I contacted the random phone number from the night before as this was the phone number indicated for my
movers. I spoke with Yoran to verify if my move was still scheduled for 10/6/2010 as it was past the delivery time. He indicated they were still at a different job, but that the move would still happen. 8:52 PM I received a call from Yoran, the foreman, indicating delivery was still on.

On 10/6/2010 at 9:45 PM, the movers finally arrived. As indicated on the documents, they required either cash or a money order prior to unloading the items. Yoran requested that I drive him in my vehicle to the location of my apartment to confirm that the truck would indeed fit for delivery. Yoran stated there was no way for the truck to make one turn and that he would prefer to make the move that night. There are two entrances to the apartment- one that is flat and connected to parking lot which is considered the back
entrance which is 64 feet from my apartment door; one that has a slight hill without a sidewalk connected directly to the main entrance road to the apartment complex which is considered the front entrance and is 55 feet from my apartment door. The long-haul charge is if items must be carried over 75 feet an additional $150 would be applied. Yoran indicated that it would be considered a long haul if they moved the items from the front entrance. I indicated that as payment was to be either cash or money order, I opted for the
money order and that no bank would be open at 9:45 PM and also that it was not my issue that the sales consultant indicated a shuttle would not be needed as the truck would fit and he did not feel it would and also that other moving companies such as the one used by my neighbor did not encounter any issues. I also noted it was not more than 75 feet from the entrance. He agreed that I would not pay the long haul fee and had his two other men begin to unload my items from the front entrance.

During the unloading process, crude comments were made about my appearance and how miserable it was to deliver items that late at night. I kept track of the items by marking them off the inventory based on the blue tape item number. Item 120 was my ironing board. This item was originally 'lost.' When brought to the movers' attention they went back to the truck. I was then presented with an ironing board that had a red inventory sticker and had a different pattern than my ironing board. The mover indicated it was my item
and attempted to give it to me. I had indicated this was not my item and also did not match my inventory sticker. My item had no rust or scratches and had a blue paisley pattern. Yoran indicated this was in fact my ironing board and that I was wrong. When I again indicated the inventory number and sticker color did not match, they removed the item from my residence. I also indicated at that time item #123 my bed rails/ slats still had not been delivered. The movers looked for both this item and the ironing board. Eventually
my ironing board was found. At 11:40 PM, Yoran indicated he remembered item #123, but could not find it on the truck. He stated "Well, we are not going to keep looking for this as I don't believe it is on the truck. It is just wooden boards that can be replaced at Home Depot or Lowes. Of course we can try to see if we find it and return it to you if we are in the area; but again it is just boards you can get at Lowes." To which I replied, "Well, I purchased my bed as a set with a headboard, footboard, rails, and slats. I paid for those items when I purchased my bed. I also paid you to deliver the item and it's not delivered. I didn't pay for the item to not be delivered and for me to again pay to replace it at my expense at Lowes." At that time, I asked if the movers needed any water since the men were out of breath in which I received the reply, "No, we have a fridge on the truck, but you can 'tip' my men." While he stated 'tip' he nodded his head in the direction of my bedroom. It was at that time that I had signed the Household Goods Descriptive Inventory noting Item #123 was not included with the delivery and had the foreman sign off and leave. That was 11:45 PM. The actual moving truck did not exit until after 12:30 AM. There was also a pile of garbage that they left outside of my residence.

On 10/7/2010 at 5:30 PM I contacted Nationwide Van Lines to lodge a complaint about the inappropriate behavior of the movers and overall disappointment in the service I received as well as how to file a claim for the item that was not delivered and a complaint. The female agent I spoke with did not identify herself. I stated that I needed to file a claim for the items that were lost, to which she replied that the company 'does not lose items.' I responded, "Your foreman Yoran indicated that the item was lost and that I could replace it
at Home Depot or Lowes and it is not professional to tell me to replace my lost property nor pay for it 100% out of pocket when I paid for the item when I purchased it, paid for it to be moved, and now have paid for it to be lost." The representative stated she would send me a form to file a claim and that Gayle would call me back to discuss my concerns about the move.

On 10/17/2010, I had still not heard from Gayle or a representative from Nationwide Van Lines for that matter regarding the complaint I would like to file about the sexual harassment received about 'tipping' the movers or the fact that one of my inventory items is still outstanding or the lack of follow through with any interaction of the representatives at Nationwide Van Lines.

I did contact Nationwide Van Lines at 3:30 PM and spoke with Emmanuel to see if there was a date of discovery regarding the lost item #123 and who I could speak with to file a complaint about the actual service from the foreman and movers. He stated I would need to speak directly with Gayle to resolve the issue. This is the same woman who was to return my calls throughout dealing with the company; however she had never returned any calls to me thus far.

10/18/2010 at 5:30 PM, I contacted Nationwide and spoke with Gayle. I asked if there was a discovery date of my items. She indicated she was not aware items were not delivered. I explained that the date of delivery was on 10/6/2010 at 10:00 PM. Item #123; Cherry Bed Rails were not delivered and were noted on the inventory form. She stated she would contact the New Jersey storage area and dispatch to attempt to locate the items and schedule a delivery. She clarified that the previous delivery to me was made from the
18 wheeler (unclear as to why this was pertinent to my claim as my balance was paid in full.)

10/20/2010 5:47 PM, I contacted Nationwide and spoke with Gayle. She said she was still working on contacting the dispatcher to locate the items and would call back the following day. No call was received; no voicemail received indicating she made an attempt to contact me.

10/25/2010 5:45 PM, I contacted Nationwide and spoke with Emmanuel. He said Gayle was on another call and could not speak with me. I explained I never received a phone call back and wanted a status on the Discovery Date. He indicated Gayle was still working with dispatch to see if my items were delivered to someone else or what storage units my items were placed in. He asked what items were never delivered, although it has been made clear throughout my prior phone calls and completed inventory forms, that inventory item #123 was never delivered. He indicated Gayle had filed a claim on my behalf with the claim unit. A copy of such claim was not forwarded to me by email or mail. He said Gayle would follow up with me directly within a few days.

Which leads me to today, 11/8/2010. Over a month from my delivery date. Gayle has yet to call me back and I've given up on contacting this awful company. Perhaps filing with the BBB or AMSA will actually get someone to respond to me with answers and actions, somehow I doubt that will happen. Though for anyone considering this company, forget it. This incident has not only stressed me out, cost me far more money than it was worth, attempted to break my spirit with the harassment, but it has caused my veteran to be beyond stressed out in his first days back on American soil.

Movers Were Awful

I am writing to you all after weeks of frustration and aggravation from our moving company. They are Nationwide Van Lines from Plantation Florida. In the past 3 weeks we have been lied to, disregarded, mislead, cheated, deceived, and subjected to one of the more horrible moving experiences I can remember in my 47 years!

It all started with a very competitive quote we got for our move. It was well below every other company so we were delighted at the affordability and the potential to save some money (who doesnt love this??). We sent off our money and arranged the date. This is where the multitude of problems began. There were delays, there were promises of timetables which were not kept, and there was very very poor communication. They do not return calls for the most part when something has gone awry!

Now to money. They charged us SEVEN TIMES what was estimated. I could not believe the bill. Not only did I not want to pay, I did not have the money to. If I would have known it would cost nearly $5000, I would have not chosen them. I feel so cheated. I had to borrow some money from my family to sort this out. The driver said he would not give me my things if it was not paid in full and he was prepared to leave my house if we didn't pay him immediately.

Just a fair warning if you decide to use this company!!

  • Ir
    IraqWarVetGF Nov 08, 2010

    Totally agree with you! They swindled me out of money as well. In return, half of my kitchen items were shattered -- including a George Forman grill which was in original packaging inside a rubbermaid bin! How that happens I don't know! They didn't deliver everything, overcharged me, and I got some sexual harassment out of it! And we're talking a month after my delivery date and no one has returned any calls or emails or even attempted to help set me in the right direction to make a claim against the missing items.

    0 Votes

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

Bad business practice

Completely pissed off at Nationwide Van Lines! Thanks to pissed consumer.com for giving me a space on the world wide web to air my grief with this ###ic company.

Where do I begin with this? How about...they flaked on the pick up time for starters. No show with us ready to move. The liars in their office, Rachael and Yaron, two complete ###s, told us there was a "minor" delay but in the end they were no shows.

Next? How about incompetent drivers, true UNPROFESSIONALS, who can't position a truck correctly? Can't back it up? Can't park it on a public street, can't seem to get the stuff in when they do arrive? Issik or Izzik or Itzik or however you spell it was possibly the worst mover I have ever had in my life. Just a total fool with more excuses as to his sloppy and careless work than fingers and toes.

More? How about poorly packaged delicates, haphazardly packaged glassware, and poorly packed clothing where expensive sweaters and blouses were thrown in a box with wire hangers casuing rips on multple things?

I can't stomach any more of these memories, but trust me, there are plenty more.

From being lead down the path of deceit by Gail in their office assuring me of a sterling reputation which ultimately did not exist, to the lies on the phone from Rachael and Yaron about the movers timetables and responsibilities, to the driver who didn't know his head from his you know what...I totally do not recommend this company. In fact, I recommend that you in no way use them. Nationwide Van Lines should be out of business!

Incompetent Moving Company

Completely pissed off at Nationwide Van Lines! Thanks to pissed consumer.com for giving me a space on the world wide web to air my grief with this ###ic company.

Where do I begin with this? How about...they flaked on the pick up time for starters. No show with us ready to move. The liars in their office, Rachael and Yaron, two complete ###s, told us there was a "minor" delay but in the end they were no shows.

Next? How about incompetent drivers, true UNPROFESSIONALS, who can't position a truck correctly? Can't back it up? Can't park it on a public street, can't seem to get the stuff in when they do arrive? Issik or Izzik or Itzik or however you spell it was possibly the worst mover I have ever had in my life. Just a total fool with more excuses as to his sloppy and careless work than fingers and toes.

More? How about poorly packaged delicates, haphazardly packaged glassware, and poorly packed clothing where expensive sweaters and blouses were thrown in a box with wire hangers casuing rips on multple things?

I can't stomach any more of these memories, but trust me, there are plenty more.

From being lead down the path of deceit by Gail in their office assuring me of a sterling reputation which ultimately did not exist, to the lies on the phone from Rachael and Yaron about the movers timetables and responsibilities, to the driver who didn't know his head from his you know what...I totally do not recommend this company. In fact, I recommend that you in no way use them. Nationwide Van Lines should be out of business!

Unprofessional Movers

If you're thinking about using Nationwide Van Lines, I would strongly advise against it. In my experience, they are not only incompetent at their job, but also their customer support is non-existent.

If you are not happy with their service, like we were, they will ignore you. After being directed by their staffer Julianne to check out testimonials and reading thousands of alleged positive reviews on their website and, I decided to use them. It was a mistake. Their movers were unprofessional and coarse making for a very bad experience with regard to our possessions and our sanity. I felt as if I could not rely on them to deliver the boxes in quality conditions because their workers seemed to be unqualified to do the job. I probably would have had better luck getting some college kids to do the job.

The move was completed slightly over the time frame they gave us, but there were some questions about minor damage and missing items. My wife wrote to them for support but never got a call or response. (She also complained that it is very difficult to get a hold of anyone). In our last correspondence they ignored my request for at least the courtesy of a response. We got none. Obviously, I am very unhappy and will not recommend this company.

Overbilling and hidden fees

We were ripped off by Nationwide Van Lines when they added mysterious charges to their bill.

We asked for a quote and which we got and it seemed fair and reasonable. But later they told us all sorts of things why it needed to be nearly double the price.

The reasons were garbage and sounded like total BS; like the bed feeling heavier than the dimensions would suggest, a dresser having "loose drawers" and so on.

There were hidden fees too that we were not told of. Example, the workers get extra fees if they walk down steps or more than a few feet to the truck.

I spoke to the staff at their Florida office and was given the runaround but no refund for the overbilling.

I regret using this company.

  • Ia
    iamfromjendel Jul 05, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We were ripped off by Nationwide Van Lines when they added mysterious charges to their bill.

    We asked for a quote and which we got and it seemed fair and reasonable. But later they told us all sorts of things why it needed to be nearly double the price.

    The reasons were garbage and sounded like total BS; like the bed feeling heavier than the dimensions would suggest, a dresser having "loose drawers" and so on.

    There were hidden fees too that we were not told of. Example, the workers get extra fees if they walk down steps or more than a few feet to the truck.

    I spoke to the staff at their Florida office and was given the runaround but no refund for the overbilling.

    I regret using this company.

    0 Votes

Moving Service Received

We contracted Nationwide Van Lines to do a move of ours from Florida to Texas. We experienced multiple problems such as the movers showing up later than scheduled for pickup and the delivery going 2.5 weeks over schedule.

In all of my years, I have never experienced a moving company venting anger on me, the client, for their shortcomings. We were literally yelled at by the staff for asking questions about when they would show up, and when our items would be delivered. Rudest people ever!

In the cases that we had to reach out to the customer service at Nationwide (I use the term customer service loosely since it's so far from what customer service should be) we never received the assistance we needed.

I will close by saying, low quality moving company. No more needs to be said.

  • Ya
    yaron levin Jul 07, 2010

    This complaint is posted for the wrong company. Nationwide Van Lines out of Plantation FL only works in the east coast of the US. We never did a job to Texas and do not work with anyone else. This should be redirected to the right company.

    0 Votes
  • Cj
    cjrands Jul 09, 2010

    The company is Nationwide Van Lines of Plantation, that's it. It is 100% correct.

    0 Votes
  • Pu
    purple818 Aug 05, 2010

    I cannot agree more with you.
    My stuff is not came yet. It has been over 17 days since their pick up.
    According to the sales person at first, they may deliver my stuff in couple days and upon the first deposit he said it can take more than a week BUT my moving distance is not extremely long they would make it less than a week.

    Upon their arrival for pick up, I was forced to sign their contract that the delivery can take up to 14 days. (excluding holidays, which can be up to 21 days.) However, I've been told that the situation is very extreme and very rarely happens.
    17 days passed, I still does not have any response upon the arrival of schedule. When I first contacted them after 7 days of the pick up (the schedule they said realistic), I experienced totally poor customer service. They said very defensively, talking about the contact -completely changed attitude! I just wanted to know the schedule and where the truck is now. The lady said that she will call me back the next day for the schedule, but she didn't call me back. So, I called her about the schedule but all she said to me was they do not have schedule yet and she would give me a call in couple days. I waited couple days, she didn't call me back. She said that she can give me clear picture of exact delivery date on the next call; however, when I initiated call AGAIN, she said she do not have schedule yet. I don't know how they operate this moving company. I cannot understand how they cannot give any of schedule after over two weeks pick up date.

    I still have very inconviency days in my new home.
    They have really awful customer service. I completely don't recommed this moving company.

    1 Votes

Awful Moving Experience

I recently used Nationwide Van Lines to move from Jacksonville, FL to Westford, MA and had an absolutely terrible experience from beginning to end. First, the pick-up time was changed on me three times. This made it extremely difficult for me to pack on time and arrange my schedule while I was busy trying to close out my apartment in Jacksonville and arrange things for the drive up north. After the first two arranged pick-up times fell through, I was called only 4 hours before the movers showed up, and told that it was the only possible time available.

To make matters much worse, I was charged over DOUBLE the amount that I was originally quoted, due to the fact that I had a couch and a few plastic tubs that were not listed in my estimate, but in spite of the fact that I had at least 5 fewer cardboard boxes than I listed. I tried to argue the charges, and was only connected with an extremely rude gentleman in Florida who refused to let me speak with anyone else. He told me that the price was fair because of the number of items the movers listed when they picked up my things... that list included "top half of swiffer" and "bottom half of swiffer". Why those were counted was two items comparable to a couch or a cardboard box, I will never understand.

Finally, when my things arrived in Massachusetts (on the last possible day, and again with two reschedules and very little notice), several of my items were scratched or completely destroyed. The boxes I had marked as fragile were almost completely collapsed and torn up.

I have hired movers for three long distance moves in the past several years, and have never had such an unbelievably bad experience. I tell as many people as possible to avoid Nationwide Van Lines at all costs. I am appalled by the lack of professionalism, punctuality, honesty, and customer service.

Broken items, unhelpful staff

This complaint is with regard to Nationwide Van Lines, USDOT # 976593.

I wanted to post a complaint here based on the level of service we got with this moving company.

This company gave us a good price but skimped out on the service. The movers were rough with our things and did not adequately use protection for our delicates.

We had a lot of broken items. The drivers seemed to want no part of us when we mentioned there was damage and told us they had to go to their next job and that we needed to call the office.

The office did nothing but stonewall us on filing an insurance claim. I spoke to someone in the Nationwide office that was more concerned with me not writing a bad review on the Better Business Bureau than solving my problem. I have never gotten so bad a runaround.

Very tired of this company.

Ripped off! Our stuff held hostage

I hope anyone reading this will think twice about using Nationwide Van Lines!

We contracted Nationwide Van Lines to do our move from south Florida to Vermont. We had pre-packed all the stuff so we basically just needed them to come by and take the boxes away, to our new home.

We had scheduled them for a 11am pickup but they said it would be 9am to 12pm. I took off from work to ensure I'd meet them. Nine comes and goes. 10am, 11am, 12pm, also come and go. I call Rahael at their office and was assured they were on the way and were running 2 hours late. Unfortunately this does me no good because I had to return to work for the afternoon. Now I had to sacrifice a whole extra half day to wait for them.

When they showed up finally it was at 330pm. They guys they sent looked totally unprofessional. On their website they display fancy fresh painted trucks and guys in uniforms with the company logo. I got 3 guys in dirty clothes in an unmarked white cube truck. I couldnt have been more disappointed.

They packed up our stuff and disappeared. We called the office to make sure the move was going as planned and we got the OK. Our goods were supposed to arrive 1 week later in Vermont.

We get to Vermont, wait on the precise day, but there was no delivery. The scheduled date comes and goes. I call the office and was met with a very testy response from the lady there (not sure of her name). She told us delivery was attempted but we had put the wrong address on the moving documents and thats why it was delayed.

I checked my copy of the contract and it was totally perfect. I faxed it over and she said she'd investiagte. Later she emails us saying, yes the address was correct, but they had an internal company error and that the delivery would come at any time now.

The next day came and nearly went and Nationwide NEVER called back. I called (spoke to Ron) who told me they attempted delivery but nobody was home. Blatant lies! I was there all day for days in a row. I asked where they attempted to delivery to. He could not give me an answer. When I asked where my goods were now, also no answer.

I demanded to have a firm answer about my goods in 24 hours or else I'd contact the authorities and file a chargeback with the bank. I got no reply so I filed a chargeback on the amount.

Less than two full days alter I get a very angry call from Nationwide (not regarding my moved goods, but my chargeback). They implied I'm a thief, asking why did I dispute the charge, etc...when all along my stuff is missing without any reason or explanation from the company!

The lady tells me in a matter of fact way that the goods are being "held" in Florida in their storage, pending payment. I told her I just disputed the transaction less than 48 hrs ago, because the stuff never arrived. How did it already get from Vermont to Florida in less than 2 days? She said the procedure is to immediately return the items to the shipping origin if payment is charged back.

I truly believe this is a bold faced lie. Two phantom delivery attempts and address confusion on THEIR part, and now, magically, the goods are back in Florida? No way. Either they messed up the move and never sent it, or planned all along to get more money out of me for a "second" move.

They insist I need to resend payment for delivery to happen plus an additional fee since it is, what they call, a second delivery. I told them I'll see them face to face in Florida. I plan to fly back to Florida to get my goods out. I will go with my lawyer and will contact the local sheriff if they do not release my stuff.

I have never had a worse experience with a moving company or any business for that matter, and the dishonest and cheating Israeli team here (Ron, Rachael, etc) cannot be trusted in my opinion.

Bad moving company

This company ripped us of for $900. We got a quote to move from Palm Beach to Philadelphia. For our 3 br home it was quoted at $2789. We agreed and paid via check, which they pushed as a preferred method over debit card.

The guys came over and loaded up. However the manager of the movers told us the estimate was too low and that we had to pay him an additional $900 because it was more space than the office had estimated. He said he was doing us a favor because he wouldnt charge us extra to move down stairs if we paid. We called the office and they confirmed this was the situation.

What a scam! So they gave us a low quote to get us in and when we agree, they jack up the price during the move!

We were very upset but i got the idea that the movers didnt care at all. The office refused to do anything. Our stuff was stuck on the truck and the movers made it clear they wouldn't take it off without full payment. So, we paid.

Unfortunately, we could not dispute it with our bank because Nationwide Van Lines, those slick merchants that they are, pushed us into paying by check. Bottom line, no recourse.

Run for the hills...do not use this company!!! If you do, make sure to pay by credit card or debit card so you can chargeback when they try their typical mover mischief.

  • Fr
    FredOakes Mar 25, 2010

    This company also did the same thing to me. The quote they gave on the phone was different from the quote later by about 30%. Is there any way to report them somewhere??

    0 Votes

Complete fraud

Complete fraud. Be very careful when dealing with this company.

They gave us an estimate on the phone, according to an exact list of items we intended to move. They refused to do a walk through and confirm the quote but said they had a set system to do their pricing. Of course, when the driver finally arrived, the price to move the very same items was 50% more according to some vague system based on the number of panels in his truck.

I also want to mention, we were on a very tight schedule, and the mover arrived 8 hours late on the first day. He then said he didn't have time to do the job and would come back. The office confirmed he'd come back 8am the next day. On the second day, a new guy was sent, also arriving late, this time by 6 hours. He got to work but couldn't finish the job, so it turned into a 2 day process. They finally completed everything but they were 72 hours late in total. This was a massive inconvenience for us.

We also prepaid for a platinum packaging service which was to include all items including furniture. This was important as we had some special pieces to protect. The team leader told us that he would use pads on the furniture until the shipment got to our destination. At that point he'd remove the covers and packaging it with bubble wrap and cardboard. However, upon arrival he refused to wrap the furniture as promised, lied to the recipient and said we waived our request to wrap the items, and when the recipient insisted on some protection for the items, he demanded $25 per padded cover.

The office was testy and recalcitrant when we contacted them. Very unhelpful. We had to file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau.

And as for the BBB, I want to point out that if you file a complaint with them against this (or any) company, you cannot post a review about the company on BBB's Trust Link review site. That means that on this company's page, there are 25 reviews, only the positive experience. Unfortunately, this completely fails to include reviews from people who have had bad experiences. Very skewed and unfair.

Avoid Nationwide if possible. Don't just take my word for it. Before using this company do a web search for "Nationwide Van Lines complaints" to get an idea of this company's true reputation. There are pages and pages of complaints against them on a number of sites. Many seem to be unresolved. Use at your own risk.

  • Sa
    Sandeep Mar 24, 2010

    I hope anyone reading this will think twice about using Nationwide Van Lines!

    We contracted Nationwide Van Lines to do our move from south Florida to Vermont. We had pre-packed all the stuff so we basically just needed them to come by and take the boxes away, to our new home.

    We had scheduled them for a 11am pickup but they said it would be 9am to 12pm. I took off from work to ensure I'd meet them. Nine comes and goes. 10am, 11am, 12pm, also come and go. I call Rahael at their office and was assured they were on the way and were running 2 hours late. Unfortunately this does me no good because I had to return to work for the afternoon. Now I had to sacrifice a whole extra half day to wait for them.

    When they showed up finally it was at 330pm. They guys they sent looked totally unprofessional. On their website they display fancy fresh painted trucks and guys in uniforms with the company logo. I got 3 guys in dirty clothes in an unmarked white cube truck. I couldnt have been more disappointed.

    They packed up our stuff and disappeared. We called the office to make sure the move was going as planned and we got the OK. Our goods were supposed to arrive 1 week later in Vermont.

    We get to Vermont, wait on the precise day, but there was no delivery. The scheduled date comes and goes. I call the office and was met with a very testy response from the lady there (not sure of her name). She told us delivery was attempted but we had put the wrong address on the moving documents and thats why it was delayed.

    I checked my copy of the contract and it was totally perfect. I faxed it over and she said she'd investiagte. Later she emails us saying, yes the address was correct, but they had an internal company error and that the delivery would come at any time now.

    The next day came and nearly went and Nationwide NEVER called back. I called (spoke to Ron) who told me they attempted delivery but nobody was home. Blatant lies! I was there all day for days in a row. I asked where they attempted to delivery to. He could not give me an answer. When I asked where my goods were now, also no answer.

    I demanded to have a firm answer about my goods in 24 hours or else I'd contact the authorities and file a chargeback with the bank. I got no reply so I filed a chargeback on the amount.

    Less than two full days alter I get a very angry call from Nationwide (not regarding my moved goods, but my chargeback). They implied I'm a thief, asking why did I dispute the charge, etc...when all along my stuff is missing without any reason or explanation from the company!

    The lady tells me in a matter of fact way that the goods are being "held" in Florida in their storage, pending payment. I told her I just disputed the transaction less than 48 hrs ago, because the stuff never arrived. How did it already get from Vermont to Florida in less than 2 days? She said the procedure is to immediately return the items to the shipping origin if payment is charged back.

    I truly believe this is a bold faced lie. Two phantom delivery attempts and address confusion on THEIR part, and now, magically, the goods are back in Florida? No way. Either they messed up the move and never sent it, or planned all along to get more money out of me for a "second" move.

    They insist I need to resend payment for delivery to happen plus an additional fee since it is, what they call, a second delivery. I told them I'll see them face to face in Florida. I plan to fly back to Florida to get my goods out. I will go with my lawyer and will contact the local sheriff if they do not release my stuff.

    I have never had a worse experience with a moving company or any business for that matter, but the Israeli team here (Ron, Rachael, etc) cannot be trusted in my opinion.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    FredOakes Mar 25, 2010

    I heard from a friend in West Palm that this company was no good and uses off the books cash labor. Companies like this need to be reported.

    1 Votes
  • Fr
    FredOakes Mar 26, 2010

    I heard from a friend in West Palm that this company was no good and uses off the books cash labor. Companies like this need to be reported. I wish I would have done more research on them before I used them rather than after I had a problem with them. They overcharged me on my quote by 30%.

    0 Votes

Fraudulent business practices

They gave us an estimate on the phone, according to an exact list of items we intended to move. They refused to do a walk through and confirm the quote but said they had a set system to do their pricing. Of course, when the driver finally arrived, the price to move the very same items was 50% more.

I also want to mention, we were on a very tight schedule, and the mover arrived 8 hours late on the first day. He then said he didn't have time to do the job and would come back. The office apologized and confirmed he'd come back 8am the next day. On the second day, a new guy was sent, also arriving late, this time by 6 hours. He got to work but couldn't finish the job, so it turned into a 2 day process. They finally completed everything but they were 72 hours late in total.

We also prepaid for a platinum packaging service which was to include all items including furniture. This was important as we had some special pieces to protect. The team leader told us that he would use pads on the furniture until the shipment got to our destination. At that point he'd remove the covers and packaging it with bubble wrap and cardboard. However, upon arrival he refused to wrap the furniture as promised, lied to the recipient and said we waived our request to wrap the items, and when the recipient insisted on some protection for the items, he demanded $25 per padded cover.

The office was testy and recalcitrant when we contacted them. Very unhelpful. Had to file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. Be very careful when dealing with this company. Avoid if possible.

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem