The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Microsoft -Great BritainPrize award

Dear Sir/Madam: I´ve been receiving e-mails from people that said they´re from your Company, saying that I won on January 2009, a lottery that was sponsored and organized by the Microsoft Corporation, London, United Kingdom.These people said that I´ve won 500.000.00 GBP from a total prize of 2.500.000.00GBP, shared among the 5 International winners.The first notification came from Mrs Dolly Michaels( Coordinator of Online Promo Programmed, e-mail: [protected]@live.com). Then I had to send an e-mail with my name, address, nationality, phone nº, etc to Mrs.Vanessa White Scott([protected]@live.com).After this I received a " parcel registration code", from Mr. Barry Woods (from Global Courier Services Ltd, e-mail: [protected]@yahoo.co.uk)( tel.nº : +[protected]; +[protected]; +[protected]; +[protected]). He explained to me that as in my country there is no costumer depot, I had to pay for the delivery an amount of $1, 168.55 USD in US dollars, and sent it by Western Union to Mrs.Amanda baker, Rovex House, Hay Hall Rd Tyseley, Birmingham.B11 2 AG. England. They also attached to the e-mail the photocopy of the passport of Mr. Joseph Maxwell Anderson, british citizen, , Number [protected].He said, after my payment for the delivery by Western Union I had to scan and send my passport or driver license to them, in order to get personnally, at home, my cheque given by Mr. Anderson in hands.As I didn´t believe in this Mr. Barry Woods, did 3 or 4 phone calls to my home, to explain this was true.
Today, the´re claiming my payment. So I´m asking you for answer this e-mail as soon as possible, because (I wish it were true!) but I think this is a fraud and I want to stop this and do the necessary to find the responsible people.
Best wishes,
Laura González de Souza
Lucerna 6318 .C.P: 11400
Montevideo-Uruguay
South America

Responses

  • Na
    Nabeel Al Dossary May 29, 2010

    i have been facing the same probelm, stated in the below e-mail from somebody i doubt to be from microsoft :

    Microsoft Windows Corporation
    100 Victoria Street London
    SW1E 5JL Great Britain
    Microsoft Management Board
    Tel : +[protected]
    Fax: [protected]

    Date: 24-05-2010

    Dear Nabeel M. Dossary,

    Greeting to you from the board of Directors of the Microsoft Windows Corporation. We are please to inform you that your information has been verified and confirmed .

    For further details on your claims proceedures, you are to view the attachment and read carefully so as to enable you receive your funds before the remittance deadline.

    Thanks for your understanding.

    Mr. Williams Farrington.
    International Transfer Dept.
    ________________________________________
    Hotmail has tools for the New Busy. Search, chat and e-mail from your inbox. Learn more.

    Gents, coudl you please verfy thsi story.
    Best regards,

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nabeel Al Dossary May 29, 2010

    Gents,
    Greetings, i have een recieving such -e-mailes, which i think frud oepration, coudl you please verfy the below story :
    Microsoft Windows Corporation
    100 Victoria Street London
    SW1E 5JL Great Britain
    Microsoft Management Board
    E-mail: online.[protected]@hotmail.com Tel : +[protected]
    Fax: [protected]

    Attention: Microsoft Windows E-mail Award Winner,

    For the Last time, we are pleased to remind you of the Microsoft Windows Mega Jackpot (E-MAIL) Sweepstakes result. Please; confirm if you received our previous message with;

    E-ticket number: [protected] 098,
    Category: 1st,
    Draw: 6756,
    Match: 5 plus bonus
    Amount: £ 3, 600, 000.00

    You may reply this mail with this information's: Name:, Address:, Phone:, Cell Phone:, Email:, Alternative Email:, Occupation:, and Position for reconfirmation. It is 14 days to claims deadline, so take note.

    Best Regards,

    WILLIAMS FARRINGTON
    E-mail: online.[protected]@hotmail.com Microsoft Management Board, Copyright©[protected] ==========================================================================================================================================================
    Your privacy is important to the Microsoft Windows Mega Jackpot®.
    Employees of the Microsoft Windows Mega Jackpot® are prohibited from disclosing any information you provide, except as provided by law. No personally identifying information (such as your name, address or phone
    number) will ever be captured by visiting our Web pages, unless you voluntarily choose to provide it. The National Association of State and Provincial Lotteries recently alerted the Microsoft Windows Mega Jackpot® and every other online Security organizations to get clearance number before having any online promotions or Awards, as there are too many scams going on online. So if by chance you received or you have received any mail of such do not be reluctant to ask for their Clearance number, they are always 14 digits numerical numbers take note. Our clearance number is the E-ticket number: [protected] 098.
    ==========================================================================================================================================================
    1 Microsoft Way, Redmond, WA 98052 U. S. A
    100 Victoria Street London SW1E 5JL Great Britain
    􀀁􀀁􀀁􀀁􀀁􀀁􀀁􀀮􀀰􀀳􀀦􀀁􀀢􀀣􀀰􀀶􀀵􀀁􀀮􀀪􀀤􀀳􀀰􀀴􀀰􀀧􀀵􀀁􀀸􀀪􀀯􀀥􀀰􀀸􀀴􀀁􀀱􀀳􀀰􀀮􀀰􀀵􀀪􀀰􀀯
    Microsoft was founded in 1975. It develops and markets software, services and solutions that deliver new opportunity,
    convenience, and value to people's lives. The Company's product segments provide management with a financial view
    of its key businesses. The segments provide a framework for the alignment of strategies and objectives across the
    development, sales, marketing, and services organizations, and for the timely and rational allocation of development,
    sales, marketing, and services resources within businesses. The Company's seven product segments are: Client;
    Server and Tools; Information Worker; Microsoft Business Solutions; MSN; Mobile and Embedded Devices; and Home
    and Entertainment. Client- the Microsoft Windows operating system integrates a range of applications, services and
    hardware in a familiar way, enabling people and organizations to use technology with ease and confidence. The Client
    segment includes Windows XP, Windows Vista and other standard Windows operating systems. Server and Tools- the
    Server and Tools segment develops and markets Windows Server System products, including Windows Server
    operating systems.
    Microsoft, the software giant from Redmond, Wash., was born in 1975 as Micro-Soft, a partnership between two high
    school friends, Bill Gates and Paul Allen, to write software for what they regarded as the first practical computer for the
    consumer market, the MITS Altair 8800. When that consumer market exploded with the introduction of the IBM personal
    computer in 1981, the main beneficiary turned out to be the now unhyphenated Microsoft, which had developed the
    software for the PC's operating system -- and had held onto the rights to the program. In 1983, the first Windows
    operating system was introduced, replacing the complexities of the MS-DOS operating system, which required users to
    type in coded commands, with the kind of graphical interface pioneered by Macintosh's Apple computer. In the eyes of
    critics, Microsoft was a more effective technological follower than leader, but the rapid spread of ever-cheaper, ever faster
    PC's loaded with Windows gave the company a position of market dominance that let it afford to shrug off the
    sneers of Apple lovers. By the early 1990's that growth curve had made Mr. Gates the world's richest man, with Mr.
    Allen, who had retired due to health problems in 1983, not far behind.
    In late 2007 reached a trust settlement with the US and the UK Justice Department. Agreeing to have an internet award
    system where E-MAIL ADDRESSES all over the world are selected through Microsoft [protected] award winning
    software. Five Selected winners were awarded (Three Million, Six hundred, thousand great British Pounds sterling)
    £3, 600, 000 GBP each. It was also agreed that the award is been conducted by their subsidiary company in the United
    Kingdom. To our surprise your email address emerged one of the winners of the Microsoft Windows E-mail Award. To
    proceed with claims it is advisable to follow instructions. Furthermore, we have closed all budgets for this award, our
    total budget for this award is (Thirty six million, Great British pounds sterling) £36, 000, 000 GBP been sheared among the
    ten (10) winners. Yes; the question comes up, why is this multi-billion dollar company still asking winners to pay
    delivery/insurance charge, yes first of all, you did not buy ticket to enter the promotion your email gave you these
    unexpected luck (£3.6, million pounds). The rest is for you to handle, if we do everything for you, you will not know the
    worth.
    MICROSOFT PRIVACY
    Collection of Your Personal Information
    At some Microsoft sites, we ask you to provide personal information, such as your e-mail address, name, home or work
    address, or telephone number. We may also collect demographic information, such as your ZIP code, age, gender,
    preferences, interests and favourites. If you choose to make a purchase or sign up for a paid subscription service, we
    will ask for additional information, such as your credit card number and billing address, which is used to create a
    Microsoft billing account.
    We may collect information about your interaction with Microsoft sites and services. For example, we may use website
    analytics tools on our site to retrieve information from your browser, including the site you came from, the search
    engine(s) and the keywords you used to find our site, the pages you view within our site, your browser add-ons, and
    your browser's width and height. We may also use technologies, such as cookies and web beacons (described below),
    to collect information about the pages you view, the links you click and other actions you take on our sites and services.
    Additionally, we collect certain standard information that your browser sends to every website you visit, such as your IP
    address, browser type and language, access times and referring Web site addresses. We also deliver advertisements
    (see the Display of Advertising section below) and provide Web site analytics tools on non-Microsoft sites and services,
    and we may collect information about page views on these third party sites as well.
    Use of Your Personal Information
    Microsoft collects and uses your personal information to operate and improve its sites and services. These uses may
    include providing you with more effective customer service; making the sites or services easier to use by eliminating the
    need for you to repeatedly enter the same information; performing research and analysis aimed at improving our
    products, services and technologies; and displaying content and advertising that are customized to your interests and
    preferences.
    Personal information collected on Microsoft sites and services may be stored and processed in the United States or any
    other country in which Microsoft or its affiliates, subsidiaries or service providers maintain facilities. Microsoft abides by
    the safe harbor framework as set forth by the U.S. Department of Commerce regarding the collection, use, and
    retention of data from the European Union.
    Sharing of Your Personal Information
    Except as described in this statement, we will not disclose your personal information outside of Microsoft and its
    controlled subsidiaries and affiliates without your consent. Some Microsoft sites allow you to choose to share your
    personal information with select Microsoft partners so that they can contact you about their products, services or offers.
    Other sites, such as MSN, do not share your contact information with third parties for marketing purposes, but instead
    may give you a choice as to whether you wish to receive communications from Microsoft on behalf of external business
    partners about a partner's particular offering (without transferring your personal information to the third party). See the
    Communication Preferences section below for more information. Some Microsoft services may be co-branded and
    offered in conjunction with another company. If you register for or use such services, both Microsoft and the other
    company may receive information collected in conjunction with the co-branded services.
    Bill Gates Philanthropists Gesture
    In 2005 the co-founder of Microsoft Bill Gates, was not only awarded the richest man on Earth he was also awarded the
    Philanthropist of the year. Please, read more http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/3913581.stm
    See the foundation site http://www.gatesfoundation.org/Pages/home.aspx so, when he says he is given out £27.5,
    million pounds, to 5 lucky selected winners to promote the use of “E-Mail” (Electronic Mail) and the intensive use of
    Microsoft Office and Software he means it. His foundation partners pledge $90 Million to boost incomes of small
    farmers in Asia, North America and Africa. He has invested $7.3 million on the manufacturing of the HIV Treatment Test
    Closer. All this are all his plans to expand the availability of financial services.
    The philanthropist has been pushing to reduce malaria deaths through the non-profit. In September, Gates announced
    that the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation would provide $168.7 million to the PATH Malaria Vaccine Initiative to help
    develop a vaccine for the deadly disease. http://www.foxnews.com/story/0, 2933, 488348, 00.html In other words when
    Microsoft gives out £3.6, million pounds each to ten lucky selected winners, winners needs no doubts, what he his
    trying to build is trust among every human and a perfect relationship among everybody regardless of the financial
    status. When you do so much verifications and phone calls you are automatically disqualified because, the game is all
    about the promotion of “E-mails” Trust and reliability and not phones or television. So when you give it up the money
    goes back to the less privilege. Now that we have made it known to you it is wise of you to claim your due money and
    use part of these funds to help the less privilege.
    Yes, if you call our Redmond, Wash office or any of our affiliate offices we will always tell you we know nothing about
    this promotion, this is for security reasons. For your own good do not verify from the offices we provide for you because,
    they will all say they are not aware of this. This promotion is different and one of a kind with serious rules and
    regulations. Everything has been put in place for you, now the choice is yours it is either you understand, clear all
    doubts make up your mind and proceed with claims, or you back off. The whole game has to do with trust and
    confidence. We will not be happy with you if you back off but we have no choice, because, if you claim your award there
    are other hidden gifts from Microsoft Corporation like been given 0.43% shares as one of the share holders of the
    company.
    Interparcel International Courier Service:
    The major reason why we ask you to use Interparcel is due to the fact that one (1) the London Interparcel headquarters is
    one of our supporting sponsors; two (2) they are reliable stead fast and cheap in terms of delivery charges. If you take note
    their delivery charge remains £41 GB Pounds sterling compare to others. The use of your Interparcel delivery account will
    not be necessary in this situation due to the Insurance charge. Insurance is the most important of all because; the
    cheque is sensitive and needs serious security backup.
    Insurance:
    Cardif Pinnacle Insurance Ltd, we prefer them because, they are of good services to this company all through the
    years with no disappointment, and they insured our entire vehicle and assure our staffs with good insurance and
    assurance policies. They charge very little for your cheque insurance just to clear all doubts. They charge just £349 GB
    Pounds, this is consider good and ok to proceed with. Insurance is very necessary for this.
    Payment (Delivery Charges):
    Sorry; we gave you the responsibilities of paying the delivery charges due to the fact that we have no available funds
    for this promotion we closed all budgets and gave out £3.6, million pounds to each winner of five. Please, we apologize
    for any inconveniences this might course you. We beg you to please pay the delivery charges so you get your funds
    before deadline, do not be disappointed we are very sorry. We truly understand you are not required to pay any charge
    when you win a lottery, in this situation we accept the blame, we should have taken these charges from the £3.6, million
    awarded to you before taking the insurance policy, but we insured your funds before we were informed that you must
    pay the delivery charges and insurance charge before delivery. So we beg you to remove all doubts and proceed with
    claims.
    Western Union Money Transfer or Money Gram Wire Transfer:
    The reason for the use of western union or Money Gram wire transfers is due to the fact that we can not give out the
    company’s account for mere £349 GB Pounds, it is on called for, you look at it from our point of view. Most time we
    prefer Money Gram, because of their hospitality, transfer charge rate and more adequate and legitimate. If you must
    use western union then you must make them understand you know whom the payment is been sent to and the
    payments is been sent to a friend who is on his/her way back to your country, stand by your words and give them no
    room for too many questions. If you have any problem transferring the charges with western union or money gram, then
    get back to us, do not listen or do not put yourself in the position to be asked unreasonable questions as they are
    known for that.
    Good, we know they are doing their job protecting people from being defrauded, but with the over protection, they do
    not know who is right or wrong, so keep it to yourself and ask them to send this money to your friend in London. With
    this, the money will go through with no too many questions. We were informed of this procedure by the western union
    Head Office London.
    Assurance and Guarantee:
    Truly, we understand how you feel and what might be going through your mind. Be rest assured everything is very
    ok. We guarantee you that if after 48 hours of payment, your cheque is not received we will refund the entire amount
    paid. This might sound funny but it is the truth. Claim your due prize before deadline pay the required delivery and
    insurance charge to avoid delay. Below is a note on Guarantee please read through;
    I MR. MARK WEEVA (ESQ), LONDON CO-ORDINATOR OF TANFIELD CHAMBERS LTD HEREBY GUARANTEE
    THE MICROSOFT WINDOWS AWARD WINNER AS FOLLOWS:
    1. THAT THE MICROSOFT WINDOWS AWARD WINNER OF PRIZE MONEY GB POUNDS £3, 600, 000 (THREE
    MILLION, SIX HUNDRED THOUSAND GB POUNDS), WILL RECEIVE HIS/HER CERTIFIED FUNDS, ON THE
    EXACT DATE AND TIME, UPON MEETING THE FEDEX DELIVERY AND INSURANCE POLICY
    REQUIREMENTS.
    2. THAT MICROSOFT WINDOWS AWARD WINNER WILL HAVE HIS/HER PARCEL DELIVERED WITHIN
    24HRS AFTER MEETING THE REQUIRED CHARGES £390($599.96 US DOLLARS) FOR FEDEX DELIVERY AND
    INSURANCE POLICY REQUIREMENTS.
    3. THAT THERE SHALL BE NO OTHER REQUIREMENTS FOR MICROSOFT WINDOWS AWARD WINNER
    AFTER THE ABOVE MENTIONED REQUIREMENTS ARE MET.
    4. THAT IN THE UNLIKELY EVENT ANY ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS REQUESTED BY, MICROSOFT,
    FEDEX OR CARDIF PINNACLE INSURANCE LTD, MICROSOFT WINDOWS AWARD WINNER WILL BE
    REINBURSED THE ENTIRE SUM PAID.
    5. THAT MICROSOFT WINDOWS AWARD WINNER WILL BE GIVEN 21 WORKING DAYS STARTING FROM
    TODAY TO MEET UP PAYMENT FOR THE FEDEX DELIVERY AND INSURANCE POLICY REQUIREMENTS.
    I MAKE THIS GUARANTEE IN GOOD FAITH, HAVING CONSULTED WITH MY SUPERIORS, AND WITNESSED
    BY THE BRITISH HIGH COURT OF JUSTICE; BENTLY Q. S.DAVIDS ESQ., I HEREBY GUARANTEE YOU
    MICROSOFT WINDOWS AWARD WINNER TO PROCEED WITH CLAIMS WITH NO FEAR.
    (Please, answer {YES} or {NO} to the questions below)
    1. Are you ready to file for claims? {YES} {NO}
    2. Have you handle this amount of money in the Past or present? {YES} {NO}
    3. Do you need our help in investing these funds? {YES} {NO}
    4. Are you sincere that at least 10% of these funds will go to the less privileged? {YES} {NO}
    5. Will you be interested to be a member and part of the Microsoft Corporation? {YES} {NO}
    6. How many kids have you? {YES} {NO}
    7. Will you pay the required delivery and insurance charge for £390 GBP ($599.96 USD)? {YES} {NO}
    (If the Answer to 7 is {NO} Please, answer the question below)
    I. Do you prefer to have a Bank transfer? {YES} {NO}
    ii. Will you pay the COT and even open a new account for a swift transfer cost (£1, 492 GBP)? {YES} {NO}
    8. Will you fill the disclaim form below to automatically disqualify you of your claims? {YES} {NO}
    Terms and Conditions:
    By accepting or replying this mail, you agree to these terms of claims, conditions and all applicable laws. If you do not
    agree to these terms you may not be liable for claims. Microsoft reserves the right to change the terms, conditions, and
    notices under which the Microsoft offered, including but not limited to the charges associated with the claims. You are
    responsible for regularly reviewing these terms and conditions. Microsoft respects the intellectual property of others,
    and we ask our winners to do the same.
    These terms and conditions are applicable to you upon your accepting and completing the claims process. These terms
    and conditions, or any of them, may be modified or terminated by Microsoft without notice at any time for any reason.
    The provisions relating to Copyrights and Trademarks, Disclaimer, Claims, Limitation of Liability, Indemnification,
    Applicable Laws, Arbitration and General, shall survive any termination.
    Disclaim and unsubscribe:
    Fill the form below if you wish not to be part of this promotion, only then do we have the right to unsubscribe your
    email address from our data base.
    I...do not wish to be part of the Microsoft Windows Mega Jackpot Award. I have read the
    terms and conditions. My reasons are:
    ...
    ...
    Full name: ... Signature: ... Date: ...
    If you are interested then contact the Microsoft Windows claims management with the answers to the eight (8)
    questions asked above and do not forget to ask the management for the information’s on how the delivery/Insurance
    charge should be sent. We hope with this you will claim your prize with no fear or doubts. Remain Blessed.
    ________________ _______ __________
    Magret M. Keane MSA Terry Adams MSA Mni
    Microsoft Promotional Manager Head of Management and Operations

    With my best reagrds,

    0 Votes
  • No
    nobody2003 Aug 05, 2010

    http://www.universacs.com/universal/ => hoax site
    http://www.universacs.co.cc/universal/ => yes, it's true

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    Hosi Zaveri Feb 04, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dear Sir/Madam,
    I received the below email stating its from MICROSOFT. I read the above comments of different people too and i am quite sure that there are crooks spoiling the name of Microsoft.
    Hope you will give me a suitable reply and fix them. My name is Hoshang Zaveri - India - Mumbai - [protected]@yahoo.com.

    Microsoft World Wide <[protected]@info.org>Add to Contacts
    To:


    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    Dear Internet User!Microsoft Company have donated 1, 500, 000 GBP to you and
    your family as a benefit for joining us in expanding the use of internet in
    your country.For details on how to collect your benefit, Contact: Mr.George
    MacVicar (Head of Financial Department):

    Email:[protected]@hotmail.co.uk
    Tel:+[protected]

    Microsoft World Wide

    0 Votes
  • No
    nobody2003 Apr 03, 2011

    for Laura González de Souza,
    That email, Mrs Dolly Michaels( Coordinator of Online Promo Programmed, e-mail: [protected]@live.com) => if that people, in your letter is true, come from Microsoft, they don't use free email.
    Mrs.Vanessa White Scott([protected]@live.com) => if that people, in your letter is true, come from Microsoft, they don't use free email.
    you know, http://www.microsoft.com => their employee have one email and that email addrees is [email protected] => you read at microsoft dot com
    So, don't send your money, and wasting your time...

    GBU

    From nobody Indonesia

    0 Votes
  • No
    nobody2003 Apr 03, 2011

    For Hosi Zaveri,
    You can read my comment...

    0 Votes
  • No
    nobody2003 Apr 08, 2011

    Nice info, @Quasarblue
    Thanks

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions