The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Metro Self StorageStolen Items From Storage Unit

I had a storage unit at this site for 4 years -- 3.5 years longer than expected. I was always on time with my payments until Fall 2010, when things got tight. I kept in touch with the property manager to let her know that as soon as I could I would bring account current and vacate the unit.

On 2/11/11, my lock was sawed off, Metro's lock and seal placed on my unit. On 2/15/11, a certified letter was sent to me, stating contents of unit were to be auctioned. On 2/19/11, I paid balance of $415 via telephone with debit card. On 2/25/11, my son & I went to this unit to clear it out. The property manager removed seal, opened lock, and I found over half my items missing. Remaining boxes had been opened and moved to the right side of unit. A police report was filed and investigated through Douglas County Sheriff's office.

Metro Storage's district manager would not accept my complaint, presuming employee's innocence, especially since I had no proof of what I had stored in that unit and the digital images taken of the unit when the lock was sawed off matched what I found. The investigator had to subpoena the records to continue any investigation, but again, with no proof of what I knew was in there, we hit a dead end. I asked the district manager for a refund of my money, stating that the items left didn't amount to balance owed. He refused.

On 3/22/11, my son & roommate attended the auction where my unit would have been included. They reported that the three units auctioned were in a similar state, all stacked to one side of each unit, and picked over.

A word of warning: if you have a storage unit with any self-storage facility, maintain photographic (and dated) records each time you visit.

Stolen Items From Storage Unit

Responses

  • Tb
    TBruce Apr 11, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had a storage unit at this site for 4 years -- 3.5 years longer than expected. I was always on time with my payments until Fall 2010, when things got tight. I kept in touch with the property manager to let her know that as soon as I could I would bring account current and vacate the unit.

    On 2/11/11, my lock was sawed off, Metro's lock and seal placed on my unit. On 2/15/11, a certified letter was sent to me, stating contents of unit were to be auctioned. On 2/19/11, I paid balance of $415 via telephone with debit card. On 2/25/11, my son & I went to this unit to clear it out. The property manager removed seal, opened lock, and I found over half my items missing. Remaining boxes had been opened and moved to the right side of unit. A police report was filed and investigated through Douglas County Sheriff's office.

    Metro Storage's district manager would not accept my complaint, presuming employee's innocence, especially since I had no proof of what I had stored in that unit and the digital images taken of the unit when the lock was sawed off matched what I found. The investigator had to subpoena the records to continue any investigation, but again, with no proof of what I knew was in there, we hit a dead end. I asked the district manager for a refund of my money, stating that the items left didn't amount to balance owed. He refused.

    On 3/22/11, my son & roommate attended the auction where my unit would have been included. They reported that the three units auctioned were in a similar state, all stacked to one side of each unit, and picked over.

    A word of warning: if you have a storage unit with any self-storage facility, maintain photographic (and dated) records each time you visit.

    0 Votes
  • Jk
    JKDE Mar 30, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    A better word of warning:
    If you have a storage unit with any self-storage facility, pay your rental fees on time.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.