Leisure Time Savings ClubDebit charges that were unauthorized!

1

We received a phone call stating that the Credit Card Company was offering free gifts because of our good rating. We would receive some free stuff in the mail and then some brochures about their products. If we were interested we could sign up, if not then do nothing. They received no information from us about any debit or credit card number. A few days later debits starting appearing in our bank account Unlimited Blue Rate $3.50 and $49.90; Identity Protection $3.95 and $49.91; Financial Magazine $1.05. We called all these companies immediately and said we did not want anything from them and we wanted our money back. They at first said they would credit our account. When it didn't happen in a couple of days, we called again. They then said they would send us a check. Nothing happened. We called again and got the run around for 2 days and then they said they would credit our account. That was a week ago and still nothing. Then other charges started coming out of our account: Direct Discount Club $1.00 and $29.95; Leisure Time Savings $1.00 and $2933. and Check Bill WAUS $1.05.

We got another call a week ago saying about the same thing. The person on the other end of the phone gave out the last four digits of one of our cards. He was asked where he got the card number. He said it was purchased from a company and then he hung up.

Is there not any way to stop this stealing? We can change our numbers but others will still be caught in the snare. The people calling do not take no for an answer.

Responses

  • Ca
    Cary Chan Feb 06, 2008

    We received the same unauthorized charges. Look out for 2 other companies operating the same way:
    Direct Discount Club www.savingsdiscount.com
    American Family Healthcare www.myhealthcareservice.com

    0 Votes
  • La
    LaShay Feb 10, 2008

    I noticed the Check Bill Waus on my account today. Does changing your card number solve this problem?

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    marcella Feb 11, 2008

    We had "check Bill Waus" on our account today also. I have no clue how or why this appeared on our account. I did something for "Grant Master" a few months ago and had problems and I think our card was sold. Or some how tapped into. I called the bank and talked to the fraud department and they put a hold on our debit cards until the amount post to the account then they will open the one that wasn't used and issue a new card for the one that was. They also put the money into the account and are going after whoever these people are.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    bob tow Feb 11, 2008

    I too was a subject for Bill Waus thismorning, getting charged the $1.05..

    I also fell for the Grant Master last month, so this makes them the guilty party obviously in this selling number scam.

    They should be taken to the total extent of the legal punishment for this, and I would be more than happy to testify in court as well as show up on their door with tv cameras to show this operation to the world.

    Too many crooks in the world anymore, lesson learned, never use card on line except for trusted sites like travelocity or thru a paypal account.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Heather Blanchard Feb 12, 2008

    I too had check Bill Waus for 1.05 come out of my checking account. I immediately called my bank to let them know I had no idea who this is and to please stop payment on this. Luckily, the bank had already stopped the authorization any way. Today, however, I had another one from Richard W. Thoresen (Delaware) for an attempted 3.??. The bank stopped all activity on my card and emailed me an alert which instructed me to get in touch with the fraud department at the bank. The man I spoke with (Eddie) said I'd have to have my old card cancelled and a new one issued to stop this. Apparently the only number these crooks have is my card number not my account number. I don't know if this has anything to do with it, but about a month ago I had a run in with Malware Crush which is a computer pest that I guess steals some information off your computer. I think this is where my mess started.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Ricardo Rojas Feb 13, 2008

    I want to cancel please remove my membership #2988931 group #9637

    0 Votes
  • Eb
    eboni wright Feb 22, 2008

    If anyone puechased a Grant Master CD. let me tell you that they ARE SELLING YOUR BANK INFORMATION. I called their customer service and was told that those charges are in terms of condition and that i didn't read it carefully. I was also told that since it was close to March they were going to cancel the subscription before the next monthly bill was due. ALL I WANT TO KNOW IS HOW DO I GET MY MONEY BACK AND STOP THIS COMPANY? look out for netwokagenda.com 9.95, Check Bill WAUS $1.05, AMA*HEALTH OPTIONS $9.95 , WC *VALUE PLUS-V $1.00 , AMA*QR HEALTH BENEFITS 9.95... they may also appear on your account.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    DONNA A Feb 23, 2008

    I have not joined or even checked out anyhting in months. But today I got a charbe of $ 1.05 . Any help on who to call/ email to get this Stopped ?

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Don Feb 26, 2008

    The same has been showing on my Bank of America credit card as far back as November 2007. None of my other accounts have been hit. Check all your credit cards past statements and contact your credit card companies. These are fraudulent charges and when reported the credit card companies take the charges off your cards and investigate them thoroughly. Personally, I think this is due to the "loss" of a large amount of secure information that Bank of America reported a short while back. The "check Bill Waus " charge originated out of Washington state on my account. Bank of America is in process of investigating my report. Follow through and it will protect your credit.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Don Feb 26, 2008

    IF ENOUGH PEOPE GET INVOLVED, A CLASS ACTION SUIT CAN BE PURSUED ON THESE AND OTHER COMPANIES TRYING THE SAME SCHEMES.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Heidi Feb 29, 2008

    I too just found a pending "Check Bill Waus Kirkland WA US" on my debit card statement. Thankfully this is one of those reloadable debit cards like Green Dot or NetSpend.

    I have just sent a notice to them that this was a fraudulent charge and gave them this web site as well as listing most of the companies others have mentioned.

    I got suckered into the Grant Masters Program back in November, and tonight received a call about getting a $25 visa gift card and all this other crap. I figure they owe me at least the $25 for what they've taken out of my account before I canceled the accounts.

    Add me to the list of complainants if this class action ever gets off the ground.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    William Noe Mar 01, 2008

    HAVE BOUGHT GRANT MASTER CD AND SAME THING WAS GOING TO HAPPEN FORTUNATELY BANK CAUGHT TRANSACTION. THEY ARE IN THE MIDDLE OF INVESTIGATION AND FULLY INTEND ON PROSECUTION. DO NOT BUY GRANT MASTER.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    William Noe Mar 01, 2008

    GRANT MASTER IS A COMPANY THAT IS CONNECTED TO ANOTHER CALLED RAVEN MEDIA OUT OF BELIZE CITY, BELIZE AND STATE THEY ARE ONLY SUBJECT TO THAT LAW AND NO OTHER. ANOTHER SCAM ON PEOPLE.

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    Adam Grisham Mar 02, 2008

    I dont understand the purpose of the Direct Discount Club deducting money from my account every month!!! I never signed up and I dont understand the purpose of the business itself! Please cancel my service with you!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    james Mar 05, 2008

    Anyone know of a contact number to Bill Waus Kirkland?

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Tawnya Mar 06, 2008

    I became aware of the same problem on my card this morning. I was charged $1.05 from Check Bill Waus. When I alerted my bank they said that I have to take it up with the company that charged my account and write a letter disputing the carge to the bank. I don't have any information about who this is except for what I have found out from reading other peoples encounters with this same company. I also have purchased the Grant Master CD. I hope they can be stopped. If anyone knows what we can do I would appreciate the information.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Dennis W Mar 06, 2008

    This charge also appeared on my account. Does anyone have some contact information on these people? I had issues with the Grant Master thing too, but when I cancelled everything with them, they told me that there would be no additional charges. I guess they lied.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Ann Lewis Mar 06, 2008

    Well I have been hit with this Check Bill Wasus too. My hit was outta kerkland WA. I had ordered something from google for 1.00 and got all these other charges now google and GRANT MASTER are suppose to be refunding my money. I am in the process of calling a company called NETWORKAGENDA as well. I tried the Company information:

    Check Bill WAUS
    4102 s 20th
    Omaha, Nebraska
    United States
    Phone: 402-614-4173

    Guess what its a residence not a business. I have tried on superpages. com and big yellow to find this company. Can't find a number for them. I have looked it up under check bill waus and under just bill waus nothing anywhere. And when I asked GRANT MASTER about this and that I had already been online and checked all this out the guy I spoke to told me they didn't have a phone number for that program. So apperently they do have the Check Bill WAUS program.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    georgia Mar 07, 2008

    I saw the $1.05 charge from Check Bill WAUS, KIRKLAND, WA on my pending transactions section of my bank online statement and called the fraud department. They said that this was a test charge. If no one does anything about it (since it's such a small amount some people don't notice it) the company will then counterfeit a card with your number on it and take you for all that they can.
    I agree this fraud must be stopped.
    I also had dealings with Grant Master. When I ordered their CD online I was charged $1.97 for shipping and handling. Seemed fair at the time. Then I had a charge from BSM/SBA for $39.95. I called and made them remove the charge. A little while later I had another charge, this time for $7.95, also from BSM/SBA. I called again and the operator said that the previous operator hadn't explained properly to me that this was going to be charged to my account every month and that I had authorized it. I informed her that the charge needed to be debited back to my account and if any further charges were placed on my account I would notify the Attorneys General of my home state and Nevada (where these crooks were doing business).

    0 Votes
  • No
    Norman W. Cox Mar 08, 2008

    I did not ask for your service and do not want it. Do not put any charges on my credit card!

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stephen A Mar 14, 2008

    I also found a charge of $1.05 on my account. I did sign up for one of those so call saveing clubs and GRANT MASTER was one that I sign up for without knowing. I didn't use my debit card, I use other one. Then I remember a notice I recieve from an insurance company that a lot of personal information was stolen from some insurance companies. I didn't do business with any of them so I didn't think anything of it.
    I will let my insurance company know so they will check thier records.

    0 Votes
  • Db
    D.BROWN Mar 18, 2008

    SO WE ALL HAVE BEEN TAKEN, THIS IS A NUMBER THAT I FOUND IN SOME PAPER WORK WHEN I CANCLED MY ORDER.IT IS CUSTOMER SUPPORT 1-866-370-7270 TO RAVEN MEDIA MABY IF WE ALL CALL THEM WE WILL GET OUR MONEY BACK. YES I WONT MY 1.05$ BACK WITH SOME MORE FOR ALL THIS TROUBLE!!!

    0 Votes
  • Va
    Varessa Formby Mar 21, 2008

    does anyone have any information on a law suit against these companies? I think these people should be taken for all the money that they've taken from us.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Terri Meyer Mar 29, 2008

    If anyone does get a lawsuit started against all three of these companies mentioned, please add my name to it also. This will be my 3rd new card. That seems to be the only way to stop it.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alaina E. Apr 08, 2008

    I have had the same charges, and I am pretty sure I know where it all started...Dish Network! They get our info from them! I had the following charges:
    AMA*QR HEALTH BENEFI - $9.95, then $49.95.
    WC *VALUE PLUS-V - $1.00, then $19.95.
    TODAYSESCAPES580 - $1.00 (but I got it back)

    I filed a fraud complaint through my bank today and closed out me card. They will investigate it. My bank gave also me each company's listed # and when I call I get a message for the "Marketing department" and have to leave a message, no person. I know this is through Dish Network because we had a cosigner for our Dish Network service to avoid the large deposit. Dish is the only company that we share an account with that cosigner. These charges are listed under our cosigner's name, but our address and card number. And if you do a search on this site for WC VALUE PLUS you will see the # of complaints. Oh...don't ever sign up for a free walmart gift card over the phone, that's another one of their scams!

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Pam williams Apr 09, 2008

    How do you make it stop?

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    fran Apr 12, 2008

    just had to cancel my card and issue fraud alert...this should be stopped, but no idea how...capitol one card company suggested when you get a call make them verify the ENTIRE card number-DO NOT give it to them...
    with mine they said card ending in XXXX and in good standing made me eligible for free goods...so above information now makes sense when you think about the fact that anyone can access your LAST FOUR card digits because its listed on receipts, etc.
    They got me so warn everyone you know about these phone calls taking place. DONT ACCEPT ANY OFFERS. Good luck.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    fran Apr 12, 2008

    CANCEL ALL ACCOUNTS RELATED TO THIS OFFER ASAP-4-12-08.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    julie Apr 21, 2008

    I was just charged the 1.05 today and I called my bank which is netspend immediately since I have text messages that are sent to my phone as soon as my card is charged in any way. The clerk was kind enough to return the charge to me and told me to be very careful when I use my card online. I will be cancelling my card. I really do thank everyone who is posting, because I was able to get enough information from your site so that I was able to give netspend the same info, which inturn helped me get my charged reversed and the clerk will also be looking into this matter since she has noticed this same charge on other clients cards. Thank you, again.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Betty Schwing Apr 21, 2008

    What I don't understand is, how can they charge anything to a Credit Card that I have never given them. So far it says I have only been charged the $1.00

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Betty Schwing Apr 21, 2008

    How do you know what card to cancel if you never gave them one. The Smart Shopper package just came today and myself or my husband never talked to anyone. My husband signed up for the Leisure & Savings membership just last week. Again, he did not give a credit card number. I am interested in the one complaint that Dish Network is behind this because that is who we have also.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    brian Apr 30, 2008

    I recently had CHECK BILL WAUS charge 1.05 my bank's fraud department said it was a probe to see if it can find valid accounts they told me to cancel my Debit/Atm card and get a new one as soon as possible...

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Judy May 17, 2008

    I received a call on May 9, 2008 and thought it was something from my credit card because they already knew my number so I agreed to take it because they told me I would receive a $60. gas card and a $4o. card that could be used at Walmart or any other store of my choice. I received my packs from Leisure Time Savings and Smart Shopper, both out of Phoenix, Az. They wanted me to take out another one of their things and I refused. I opened the envelopes and there was nothing that they promised in there. I called the numbers that they gave to me and nothing. I tried the email addresses and out of both emails this is what I got. (this page) But getting back to what alot of you said, I ordered Grant Master a few months back because I heard you could trust them. Yeah, to give us all a big headache !!! I called my credit card company and they told me I have to contact these companys first, but I have a feeling that isn't going to happen because their emails and phones don't work. (or you get this page or phones that say they aren't available). Something has to be done to stop them and Grant Master, but what can be done?? Any ideas????

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    patricia fulwood May 19, 2008

    i want my membership canseld, please don't charge my account again

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Katherine Kaufman May 19, 2008

    I think that "CHECK BILL WAUS KIRKLAND WA US" is linked to

    SAVERS CHOICE CA 866-5293195 GA and 3.95
    LEISURE CHOICE CA 866-5293190 GA 3.95

    I was also charged more fees (.89) after I called in, complained, and was told I would get a refund for the first charges I received. I'm very upset about this fraud.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Delores M. Steele May 21, 2008

    Please cancel my subscription to "Smart Shoppers" Savings discount.
    I am no longer in need of this.
    Thank You, in Advance,
    Delores M. Steele
    05/21/08

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Paula Carlson May 23, 2008

    I received a Club membership in the mail that I never ordered, it appears they are charging me even if I cancel, I cannot cancel until Tuesday May 27, 2008 as they are not open so they say... I am hoping not to have any charges on anything.

    0 Votes
  • Cm
    cmeissner Jun 02, 2008

    I received a similar call last Friday, which is quite a bit later than the previous posts listed above. -Apparently the same scam is still in business. Fortunately, I gave them another for a MasterCard debit gift card that did not have that great of a balance left on it.
    Like previous posts, they had no record of my name or address when I called to check up on the status of my gas voucher and membership.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Doris E. WRIGHT Jun 03, 2008

    Iwould like to cancel this serives as of 05-03-08 my membership ID no. 3131694, my groupno.9637 and myDDC : 2171671. THank You

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Leon Frisbie Jun 03, 2008

    Cancel any plan you have with my name on I do not want smartshopper. don`t charge me Im in a nursing home on a fixed income. shame on you. cancel CANCEL

    0 Votes

Post your comment