The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
LALIB CoFraudulant Charges

I had 6 charges for $29.99 on an ADP Visa Debit card from this Portugal Company. I have no idea who they are. The charges all took place in January and after contacting my VISA company found out they were reversed. Now I am getting a collection letter from some Credit Collector in Sylvania Ohio stating I owe them $148.46. This company needs to be stopped.

Responses

  • Sc
    scottyboy89 Mar 19, 2012

    http://www.creditinfocenter.com/rebuild/debt_validation.shtml

    ^^^^^^ SAVE THAT SITE AND REFER TO OFTEN FOR USE WITH CRB... dont refer to it as in tell them about it...but read through it carefully and see what you can use against crb... especially the validation part. Before you request validation however, request verifcation either verbally or through writing. I would immediately ask that you no longer be contacted through the phone or in writing unless you request so. Then when they give you the letter giving you the original 30 day time period, request verification through UPS Priority mail, not US registered Mail (registered not as reliable as UPS priority mail), and keep receipt that you get emailed that they received your letters (use sample letters on the website I gave you and just fill in the info that will make it work for CRB and yourself. They will probably forget to reply or lose the letter hence invalidating the debt, say they've already reported it and invalidate it again, send you either verification and claim that its a validation as you requested, either way, if they don't provide the mailing address of the original creditor aka the company they say you owe money to then they have invalidated the debt, call and ask about the letter and if whoever you've been dealing with and addressed it to says they don't have it or that their manager keeps all letters then they have tampered with mail because the letter was addressed to them and it was supposed to be signed by them (they may ask you fax a copy because they never got it...tell them you will not do so because you have the receipt that they did get it and its not your problem they lost it...also this could mean that you were trying to send payment with a check, debit card, or credit card info in the envelope and they have lost sensitive info as well as they are supposed to keep every letter sent to them especially those coming from debtors such as yourselves for documentation and compliance purposes and if they don't have it and they signed for it then they have invalidated the debt, just keep reading through this site and also read through the fdcpa site (the link is available on site I provided) and read through any other relevant links for debt collection. Keep contacting them through legitimate letters signed by you and keep scanned copies after you sign with a date on top, keep a saved copy of letter, keep a copy machine version of letter, and send the original signed by you letter to CRB, also use UPS and request signed receipt when they receive it and if they contact you again after you know they have received this letter or after you requested no contact then they have violated the law and ruined the whole collection...then constantly call and ask for more info and ask about receiving things you've requested also pick apart what they have sent you and ask about parts of the law and if they have met these terms of law and ask where you can find on their letters and such how they fulfilled these terms...then use words like fdcpa, lawsuit, suit, attorney, summons, affidavit...keep at it and keep documenting everythign they do...they are not smart, they will screw up and when they do make note of it...after you have a good amount of these screw ups or as many as you can get...call them and ask about where your attorney can send a cease and desist letter or where he can send his summons for a civil suit to and list all the legal mistakes they made so they can see youre being honest (be sure to be as respectful as possible through all this so as to keep your cool and let them get mad, let them make the mistakes, this also shows intelligence and that you are serious)...Most likely they will back down and close the account as they did with me...took me about 30-60 days to do this but I have gotten them scared and they have backed down from a $549.00 from Lalib Co...they are really dumb folks... Toni Owens at one point tried to tell me it was too late for my attorney because she had already reported it (although this was only 20 days about since I received first letter) I told her she was lying I had checked my credit reports in past 24 hours and there were no negatives on any of the bureaus and she says to me, "Did you check all four?" LMFAO Toni you con artist, there are only 3 credit bureaus you idiot...thats harassment right there, illegal!!! ANyway do this and your good!

    0 Votes
  • stormywings Dec 03, 2011

    Interestingly enough. LALIB is not just porn and such.
    Many people end up with charges from LALIB due to psychic readings being done fraudulently by a friend or relative using their credit card.
    It doesn't take a reader, to know that psychics can be expensive. LALIB has had a very good customer service and returns policy every time i have worked with them, but it must be disputed early.
    I guess this is why they tell you check your credit and OFTEN. LALIB is not the same as this collection company CRB, which is California recovery bureau.
    Like many US collections agencies they can be ruthless at best. If you have troubles with EITHER a company, like LALIB, or a collection bureau your options are as follows.
    Contact the FTC: http://www.ftc.gov/
    KNOW YOUR RIGHTS: http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/pubs/consumer/credit/cre18.shtm
    Ask for the situation to be resolved with the company, Federal Trade Commission, and the Better Business Bureau: http://www.bbb.org
    Sue for resolution

    0 Votes
  • Xx
    xxlotusxx Jun 23, 2011

    its a popular place for credit card thieves to spend your money.

    0 Votes
  • De
    deepbluetrippletwo Apr 08, 2011

    I got hit with this scam also. Over $500 of unauthorized charges were made. I'm wondering if paypal isn't somehow involved because I just added that card to paypal, and bam, a week later, here come the charges. Other than that the card has only been used at the same grocery, gas station, local restraunts & walmart it's been used at for the past year.

    I didn't even use the card through paypal, just added it to my account, so I'm wondering if my account, or paypal itself has been compromised. A little bit of additional advice, don't pay ANYTHING towards any of these charges, because in many municipalities, ANY payment (even a penny) made is an admission that the debt is valid. From that point, they can pursue you for the full amount, and from what I've seen, I'm certain they will regardless of what is said. Whatever you do, don't make the mistake of paying ANYTHING to them under ANY circumstance.

    0 Votes
  • Au
    augsiv Mar 28, 2011

    I am also a victim of this scam. I just found three charges for 29.99 on my account from this company and one for 159.99!! I cancelled my card immediately. I have to wait for the charges to clear and then go to the bank tomorrow morning to refute the charges. I did write this bogus company an email and am waiting for them to respond. Someone else in this post said they went that route and this Lalibco company removed the charges so we'll see what happens with that. What a pain.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    a.Mathew Oct 06, 2010

    If your Credit card/ Bank has done an investigation and ruled in your favor . Make sure to have a copy of the dispute outcome letter in your records. That way if they report it to the credit bureaus you can file a dispute and remove it.

    VERY IMPORTANT TO FILE A REPORT WITH FTC and Ohio Atty gen and your state Atty gen office
    The more people how report these [censor] the more likely some1 will take action. What they are doing is ILLEGAL 100%

    ALSO When you call them make sure YOU RECORD the call. Because during the call they will try to threaten saying thing like they are going to get the police involved and you can you to jail if you dont pay. Which is Illegal and you can sue them For upto $1000


    In the mean time send them a letter like this make sure to put the collection account no and send by Certified mail

    This is the legal way to tell CRB to [censor] off

    Dear Debt Collector/Debt Collector Attorney:

    This will serve as your legal notice under provisions of federal law, the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA), to cease all communication with me in regard to the debt referenced above.

    If you fail to heed this notice, I will file a formal complaint against you with the Federal Trade Commission who is responsible for enforcement, the States Attorney General office and/or the American Collectors Association or local State Bar Association.

    I have decided that I do not desire to work with a collection agency under any circumstances. I will contact the original creditor to resolve this matter directly, as circumstances warrant.

    You are also notified that should any adverse information be placed against my credit reports as a result of this notice that appropriate actions will be taken. Give this very important matter the attention it deserves.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    doug415 Sep 24, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i got a call from a lady (forgot the company name) stating that there was a credit fraud investigation going on involving $149.00 in charges made by my bank card, i had disputed it with my bank months before and they credited me the money back, cancelled my card and made there own investigation (this was a major hassle for me) my bank found nothing and the investigation was dropped, now i have this lady calling me and trying to intimidate me by saying this would be reported on my credit report, i do admit to over spending when i turned 18 (credit card) alot of young people do, which damaged my credit.

    now that i am 24 i have been trying really hard to improve my credit, i recently quit my job and found a better one, but it is only substitute work for now until i become permanent in 6 months.

    like i said she was very intimidating and i told her that "they could drop the investigation" in fear of damaging my credit further, and that i would try to pay it by sep 24 (today), she said they would take $100 if i could pay that right then and there, i couldn't because i am paying off my mechanic $1400 for repairing the transmission on my car which is my only mode of transportation, it seems a little fishy. can any one give me some advise on this please?

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Peter May 12, 2010

    Follow Up from 2009-04-19 Peter: For those who go through the process of getting a police report. When I was contacted my CRB, I told them flat out the claim was false and it was not my responsibility to prove I didn't make the charges, but for them to prove I did. I also told them I will not pay on this fraudulent claim EVER! I signed up for a credit notification service through AMX afterwards and still have not seen any activity from CRB. Thats been over a year...I truely believe they're in on the scam and are waiting for those few who would rather pay the claim than take to time to fight it. Its up to you, but I didn't pay a dime and didn't contact anyone but my CC'd company, who researched it and removed the charges from my account. Best Wishes to You on this frustrating issue.

    0 Votes
  • Az
    aztek Mar 08, 2010

    This is very weird, CRB unpaid charges appeared in my credit report. I requested Experian to look on those accounts because I never bought or ordered anything from them. Experian told me that CRB(LOLIB CO) have my ss# and address. How in hell do they have my ss#? I have never ordered something from them.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    RodCon Mar 02, 2010

    I'm also a victim of this scam. They charged me on my Bank Of America debit card a total of $103, but in 4 differents amounts, I was able to dispute them in September'09, but then CRB created a collection in my credit report!... and I thought the scam was over!.. now I have to deal with this dubious law firm which client is, guess who, LABLIB CO, a fricking Portugal company that apparently stole my check card number somehow and invented an email address for me.

    I've just spoke with Shanelle from CRB today (03/02/2010) and she explained to me that this is about a porn site called www.livejasmin.com website I supposedly visited back in August 2009 and that if I want to get this collection off my credit report I have file a police report, which I will definitely do, and that if "her supervisor" gives her the green light, she'll send me a fraud report to present it to the police tomorrow... will see.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    Timothy4u Mar 01, 2010

    I also noticed that as European you buy the credits in Euros there...
    and the performers get 30-35% of that 1, 99 per minute, not much, but ok...
    but then i noticed that the performers get their 30-35% over the 1, 99 DOLLAR spend per minute...

    Now if only spend 30% on the performers, is it so needed to sneaky take an extra 15% average from the performers... they agree onpayment in dollar, but have no choice

    So if for example a european girl works there then she gets payed in dollars, from a european comapany...
    they just do it as extra profit

    So sneaky

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    BlackMamba Dec 16, 2009

    Dear Readers,

    I am glad to inform you that the company you are complaining about is the owner-operator of the service at www.livejasmin.com

    There you can watch puppies undressing and so and give them instructions to follow your pervertedness.

    Incase you are sure you are not "home beaters", and you cannot find a suitably-aged heir in your family, file a suit with your local police office.

    That way, they will be able to get the transaction IP address from the agent.
    Which is, according to my records, as follows:

    Webbilling.com B.V.
    Lottumseweg 43
    5971BV Grubbenvorst
    Niederlande

    Or, if the transaction happened elderly, here are the company records for them:

    LALIB Limitada
    [email protected]
    Rua Brigadeiro Oudinot
    Edificio Oudinot, 3rd Floor - Room 317
    Funchal, 9060-209
    PT
    Phone: +[protected]
    Fax: +[protected]

    This info will only be needed to help out the police.

    I DO endorse you in filing the request.
    This way you may roll off a probable credit card fraud as well.

    Incase, contact me at mambo[at]windowslive.com

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mikispop Nov 23, 2009

    Add another to those who have been scammed (or attempted to anyway). I just received one of their "love letters" demanding payment on a debt I did not incur. I also had a CC jacked and luckily the CC company called me and canceled the card before I could get hit even worse. Tried to call but they are closed now and I will try again tomorrow and threaten legal action if they persist!

    0 Votes
  • Do
    DonDolo Jun 08, 2009

    I've also found a charge for $69.99 on my cc statement from this company. As i had no idea who they are I posted a comment on their website https://www.lalibcosupport.com/support.php . The customer service answered me the next day, saying there is an existing membership on some kind of porn site - with my card details. I replied to this email, confirmed that I had never used such service, so they refunded my money accordingly.

    In the end they turned out to be really helpful, I didn't have the impression they want to scam me at all...

    0 Votes
  • Pe
    Peter Apr 19, 2009

    I to am currently experiencing the same with CRB. In a letter, they claim I owe 250.00 for a world dating site. The fraudulent charges are for a dating service based out of the UK. I had seen the fraudulent charge on my amx a week or so after the charges and contacted my card company about it. They canceled my card and have an investigation currently open. I contacted CRB and told them the charges were not made by me and that I would not be paying. I told them I wanted the information on the company who sold them the account. I just got the information and its very weak. The site that claims the charge through WDP is not even in existence. The domain is even currently for sale. I really think CRB is either poorly run where they buy fraudulent debt from companies outside of the US (which means they are not accountable under US law) OR they are actually involved in the whole process. Is everyones fraudulent charge through a non-US company?

    0 Votes
  • Re
    reneecrull Apr 13, 2009

    I received a charge of 29.99 6 times on my debit card. I called my bank and they reversed the charges. But I just got a collection letter from CRB. I contacted them.. told them this was fraud that someone must have gotten my credit card number. Funny thing is.. they used my husband's name..but my credit card number.. How did that work?
    Next its a Porn site for Live Jasmine. They kept saying well Maybe your son did it.. Maybe your husband did it.. maybe a friend did it.
    I was so upset by the time I got off the phone! I contacted the police and made a formal report. They even set up an email on Yahoo.. under [email protected] . Anyone can have a yahoo account.
    i have the ip address of the computer used and it is none of mine or any of my family. I hope this stops, and this company is formally charged!

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Nikolay Apr 06, 2009

    I have had the same-exectly experience with this Creditor. I never even heard about them, and than I received a letter from CRB, saying that my account been placed for immediate collection action. and I owe them $215.99 I was not even aware that I had an account with them, and I don't know where they got my Identity. It's got to be stopped.

    0 Votes
  • Po
    PO'ed Apr 03, 2009

    I also had fraudulaent charges from LALIB on my credit card for $406.30. The credit card company called to verify these and other charges since someone gave our card number to have material sent to an address other than ours. The charges included a donation to United Way (??). We stopped payment and have just received a letter from CRB collection agency and they threatened that our credit rating would be affected. Has anyone made a formal complaint yet with the law inforcement agencies?
    PO'ed

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Trac Mar 09, 2009

    I have just found a charge on my card for $19.99. I too have no idea who they are or even what they sell. We have not used this card in over a year and just paid it off and then the bill comes in with a new charge! I am so aggravated? What became of your collection? TY

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Scared Consumer Mar 03, 2009

    I have had exactly the same experience. This is a very sophisticated credit scam. Very, very scary.

    0 Votes
  • Ny
    NY1 Mar 02, 2009

    I too have received a collection letter from a CRB collection agency after my credit card company rreversed these fradualant charges. I have filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau on line in Ohio against this collection agency. I called the collection agency and demanded that they cease and desist all collection matters and would bring the matter to my local DA office.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.