Complaints & Reviews

I will not order from KlearGear again!

I have ordered a flash drive from this company www.kleargear.com over a month ago as a present for my brother. It was supposed to be a Christmas present but according to what they said I'll get it only in January.
When I made my order I asked them how long will it take to get my item and they assured me it'll be here till Christmas. I'm extremely disappointed with such terribly slow delivery service and now I need to think of another present because there's not much time left!
I definitely will not order from KlearGear again!

Resolved illeagle business practices

the treatment of jan palmer by klear gear is outragious this company should be taken off all web sights around the world never to return and should be fined $35.000, 000 which inturn should be paid to jan palmer for the damage the company has done to her credit rating also klear gear must retract their complaint to the credit buereaus and make sure her credit rating is back where it was before they distroyed it

  • Ma
    MakesSense2Me Nov 27, 2013

    A) Beware their return policy:
    Do not REFUSE a package and return it to us; refused packages that are received back to us will be charged a 15% Restocking Fee plus return postage costs. To return an item or an entire order, please see Return Guidelines below...Exchanges and returns require a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) number. To obtain an RMA, please contact us here with your Order Number. Do not REFUSE a package and return it to us; refused packages that are received back to us will be charged a 15% Restocking Fee plus return postage costs.

    Eligible items must be returned within 30 days of the original invoice date, or 15 days from the original invoice date for computer products and consumer electronics. Thereafter, all sales are final. "

    All products are sold with their respective manufacturer's warranties. Please note that warranty periods and services vary by manufacturer and product.

    When returning products, we strongly recommend the use of a carrier that can track packages. You also assume responsibility for insuring the returned item.

    All returns for computer and consumer electronics products, with the exception of a defective exchange, are subject to a 15% Restocking Fee.

    All items must be returned in "as new" condition in the original packaging and include all accessories, blank warranty cards, UPC codes (attached), and user manuals. If an item is returned with missing contents, the returned item will not be accepted, or a 25% restocking fee will be applied at Klear Gear's discretion.

    Defective items can be exchanged for the same item ONLY.

    Klear Gear will not recommend computer related items due to compatibility issues. Any item returned to Klear Gear due to a computer compatibility issue will automatically receive a 15% Restocking Fee. Please be sure that any computer related item you are purchasing is compatible prior to checkout.

    All Opened Non-Defective returns of computer and consumer electronics products are subject to a 15% restocking fee.

    Opened software will not be accepted for return. "

    B) And then they tell WHEN to refuse a shipment;

    "Should an item appear to be damaged in transit, please refuse delivery and contact Klear Gear as soon as possible."

    C) Then they tell you the OBSURD:

    "Do not write on the original product packaging. If your item was damaged during shipping or is defective, or if the wrong item was sent to you, please contact us here with details before returning your item to us."

    0 Votes

Resolved Terms of Sale

Their terms of sale reads:

"In an effort to ensure fair and honest public feedback, and to prevent the publishing of libelous content in any form, your acceptance of this sales contract prohibits you from taking any action that negatively impacts kleargear.com, its reputation, products, services, management or employees."

TL;DR - They'll blackmail and fine you $3500 for leaving a negative review. What a terrible company.

  • En
    Enrico Mar 04, 2009

    Unfortunately, the items I ordered were never delivered. I've tried contacting KlearGear about this--but after 8 days, 2 emails and 2 messages left on their automated phone system, I've been unable to speak to anyone or to receive any kind of response. I've resorted to filing a complaint with PayPal.

    So far they haven't responded to that, either.

    0 Votes
  • Vp
    vplannermom Sep 16, 2009

    I was victimized as well by this company. I actually spent two entire months emailing them daily just to annoy them. Paypal did nothing to help nor did the BBB.

    -1 Votes
  • Su
    susantarman Sep 25, 2009

    KlearGear.com is great but they shipped my order too fast! I left a comment asking that my order be delivered on a certain date (my father's birthday), and instead it got there early! Ugh. And of course he opened it, not knowing what it was.

    0 Votes
  • Si
    Simzike Aug 07, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered three squeeze toys for $3 each and one showed up broken. I sent 4 emails over a period of weeks and did not receive any response what so ever. They have a phone number on their site that I tried for days and is always busy. Glad it only cost me $3 to learn what a poor company this is, do not buy from!

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    Hobba Jan 11, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I placed an order on December 7th. I have been trying to contact them since December 20th and can't even get anyone on the phone. Do not use them!

    0 Votes
  • WOT Lies Nov 15, 2013

    KlearGear are bullies. The fact that they actually had in their contractual terms a fine-print agreement that you could never post a negative review on them is laughable. Well guess what KlearGear? i never bought anything from you, so your "contract" is void with me, and i will freely post here and now that things you have done to customers are grossly unethical.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    mary dingel Nov 16, 2013

    What are the names of the major share holders and Directors of Klear Gear? Anyone? Pleeeeeze!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sabrewolf1001 Nov 16, 2013

    Mary Dingel- read the comments on this page, everybody's been doing a ton of research already, and there's a lot of good info and links. I was doing some tracing, but I realized I was just doing work thats already been done: http://www.popehat.com/2013/11/15/new-from-kleargear-free-speech-only-3500-plus-shipping-and-handling/
    Happy hunting!

    0 Votes
  • St
    SteveS_UK Nov 18, 2013

    I very much doubt such a clause is legally enforceable (even in the USA) - Firstly because no sale actually took place (the news story I read mentioned that they failed to deliver anything and paypal refunded the customers money) and secondly because even a dribbling idiot would see that the clause is complete nonsense and contradicts itself - i.e. in the interest of "fairness" you must not say anything bad about us at all - ever (even it would seem if they fail to deliver anything except threats). I agree wholeheartedly that they are bullies who clearly have issues with good customer service (why put such an asinine clause in your t&cs in the first place?). Companies like this that have no regard for their customers' opinions do not deserve to be in business and in all likelihood will not remain so for very long. Good riddance to them!
    Although the clause appears to have been removed now, it can be seen in all it's glory at
    http://web.archive.org/web/20130817144417/http://www.kleargear.com/termsofuse.html

    0 Votes
  • WOT Lies Dec 03, 2013

    Holy cow look at this:
    "In an effort to ensure fair and honest public feedback, and to prevent the publishing of libelous content in any form, your acceptance of this sales contract prohibits you from taking any action that negatively impacts KlearGear.com, its reputation, products, services, management or employees.

    Should you violate this clause, as determined by KlearGear.com in its sole discretion, you will be provided a seventy-two (72) hour opportunity to retract the content in question. If the content remains, in whole or in part, you will immediately be billed $3, 500.00 USD for legal fees and court costs until such complete costs are determined in litigation. Should these charges remain unpaid for 30 calendar days from the billing date, your unpaid invoice will be forwarded to our third party collection firm and will be reported to consumer credit reporting agencies until paid."

    "If Klear Gear is unable to charge the Chargeback against this credit card, Klear Gear shall have the right to otherwise collect the Dispute Fee from you. If Klear Gear is unable to collect the aforementioned Dispute Fee within 30 days of first attempting to charge you under this agreement, Klear Gear will forward your account to our external collections agency and assess an additional $500.00 Collection Fee. The original Dispute Fee and Collection Fee are subject to 2% monthly interest until the balance is paid in full including associated collection fees, legal fees, and costs of court as assessed separately by our collection firm. As a customer of KlearGear.com, you hereby expressly agree to these Terms."

    Unbelievable! Who the hell runs this company? It sounds like it is run by a thug, this is the most aggressive and egregious and revolting terms of service I have ever read in my life. to me, this is what it sounds like:
    "You are our customer, and F#$CK YOU, if you piss us off, we are going to come after you and make you miserable you worthless son of a b#$#tch". When I read Klear Gear's Terms of Use found here: http://web.archive.org/web/20130817144417/http://www.kleargear.com/termsofuse.html that is exactly how I interpret what these ###s are saying. I will NEVER, EVER, EVER, EVER do business with Klear Gear. This is the classic example of a business that I believe has no place in our economy, and I am thoroughly disgusted that these business owner(s) had such a sickening Terms of Use. honestly, they sound like Big Union thugs. Even if their TOU was changed, the fact that this WAS their official TOU and the fact that these sickos DID go after someone in lustful vengeance in order to silence their freely expressed opinion of them I find to be pathetic. I hope everyone boycotts klear gear.

    0 Votes

KlearGear.com is nothing but trouble

KlearGear.com is nothing but trouble. Website says they will ship all in stock items next day-LIE. They also don't answer emails and their phone is busy 24/7. They charge a $50 fee if you file a complaint against them. I can't believe they're still in business. Terrible company, RUN, don't walk away from KlearGear.com.

I DO NOT recommend purchasing anything from KlearGear.com

I ordered birthday gifts for my daughter and they were over two weeks late in coming past the estimated time of arrival that I was given. When they finally arrived past her birthday, one of the items I ordered came broken. The box was worn and the item was clearly used...and did not work. I was promised a replacement that would be rush delivered but that was almost three weeks ago and it has yet to arrive. We are out 29.99 and left with a broken useless item. I've tried to call the 800 # on the website and it constantly rings busy, the only way to contact them is through email and so far they have been going unanswered for the last two weeks. How sad for a 7 year old little girl and how frustrating for a parent to lose 30 buck by trusting an unscrupulous company. I DO NOT recommend purchasing anything from KlearGear.com.

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

Resolved Charge credit card without delivering item

I order a clock from them, they charge my credit card immediately but did not ship the item for several months. When the item finally arrived it was broken/defective. Kleargear refused my request to return the item since it was paid for several months ago (although they did not ship it). The suggested that I "send it back to China if I wanted it fixed" and they would charge me another $50 if I continued to complain.

Resolved Charged but nothing shipped

I order items for Christmas and was promptly charged but nothing has been shipped. Phone calls are not answered. Their live chat is never on-line. Their doesn't seem to be an email address available.<br />
<br />
Do NOT ever order from them! Call your credit card company immediately and dispute the charge!

Resolved Company is a Fraud!

Kleargear.com is a fraud! They take your order, immediately charge your credit card, then never deliver the merchandise and just steal your money. Whatever you do never ever send money to Kleargear.com. I can't say never purchase from them because you are not purchasing anything, you are just handing them your money. I have tried the BBB and Consumer Affairs but they can't stop them. It's outrageous that these people can't be stopped.

  • Da
    David Q Oct 09, 2009

    Ive also been Ripped off by Klear gear.com.I ordered a USB missile Launcher & I never recieved & emailed them several times & got no response.David Q Australia.

    -1 Votes
  • Da
    David Q Oct 10, 2009

    I am Outraged ! Very upset as they took $170 Australian off me for nothing.

    -1 Votes
  • Ig
    IGLES Mar 30, 2011

    I've ordered from Kleargear a couple of times over the past few years and never once had a problem with them. Those guys rock.

    1 Votes
  • In
    Inisaide Dec 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ordered gifts for the office staff on Dec 2nd- it is now Dec 20th and nothing has been received yet. You cannot get any info from their website on tracking the shipment and emails & phone calls go unanswered. They did find the time to take my money on Dec 2nd though! Now have to come up with gifts for 6 people in 2 days and try and get my money back from these people. Don't waste your time with this website.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Martin Kendrick Nov 27, 2013

    I have read enough on many sites about this company, and I would NEVER do business with them. There are too many other places to buy things to take a chance with them. Even worse, I have read their responses on BBB sites where complaints have been issued, and they are unapologetic for anything they do. I spent over 25 years in retail marketing, and I can say without a doubt that this is the worst consumer-oriented company I have ever heard of. Their reputation is now going viral because of their vendetta with a woman who once wrote a negative review, in which they charged her $3500. The complaint was made years before they even posted this questionably legal policy on their web site. Therefore, there was no "contract" with her, either in reality or implied...but they ruined her credit anyway. you can look up the story on any number of websites for details. But ask yourself...why would ANYONE want to buy anything from a company like that?

    0 Votes

Resolved No merchandise/No Response

I ordered merchandise on December 10, 2008 and had it shipped regular ground shipping which indicated should take from 5-10 business days.

I waited until December 28 to call, e-mail, call e-mail. After 3 e-mail complaints and several messages on their voicemail, I still have not heard anything back.

I have been doing this for the last 10 days, and have been receivng confirmation e-mails that a customer service rep will respond with 48 hours. This still has not happened.

I have left several Voice mail message, still have received not repsonse.

I tracked my opder on their order status line, the order number comes up as not being a valid order number. I do have two e-mail confirmations from them of what and when I palce orders.

I do not know what else to do.

  • Ba
    Barbara Gaddy Feb 03, 2009

    Ugh, I have had the exact same experience with a Christmas gift that I ordered on Dec. 2!! I am so frustrated and cannot seem to get any response. I too have been charged for the item.

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    whole man ministries Nov 18, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have done the same thing as the person above still no answer. help.

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    whole man ministries Nov 18, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    made an order from KlearGear November 1, 2011 they have not sent it, nor can contact them through emails or phone. Is this company out of business????

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stevntyuio Dec 02, 2013

    These people will bill you for stuff you never bought, thousands if dollars worth, steer clear of this gear

    0 Votes

Resolved Bad service

I never received merchandise. After emailing and calling several times with no response, I decided to report them to BBB.

  • Je
    jeffcobb Jan 31, 2009

    Me too. Part of an order made 60 days ago has yet to materialize and they only answered their email address when I threatened to write about it on my blog (their attitude is "bring it on") with complaints that I didn't use a ticket number (which could have been used if they ever answered the f-ing email) so I did: http://jbcobb.net/?p=254

    Stay clear of them. I had not thought of the BBB but I guess thats the next stop.


    Jeff

    -1 Votes
  • Ru
    rush Feb 05, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    this company has done nothing to my order, so here is where I sent them my final thoughts... fortunately they never charged my order:

    cc: [email protected]
    cc: [email protected]
    cc: BBB, San Antonio, Texas
    cc: Every Geek in america I can and WILL get this message out to.

    My instructions as to what should have been done with this order were communicated to you long ago. Based on your lack of response, and the fact that I have left 6 voice mail messages on your 800 # this week, and have YET to get a LIVE PERSON on the phone (because apparently it's just too horribly difficult to pick up a phone and punch in 10 numbers), talk to me for 5 minutes and answer my questions, instead of having to make me write out these dumb emails and waste your time and mine by having you respond to them instead of just ending this issue with a VERY SIMPLE PHONE CALL, it proves that your company just doesn't care anything about customer service.

    I have been doing research online, and I have found MANY instances of reference to your company and it's shoddy track record. My only wish is that I had done this research before losing weeks off my life with the frustration you've caused me.

    Some examples:

    http://www.resellerratings.com/store/KlearGear

    http://www.complaintsboard.com/bycompany/kleargearcom-a101481.html

    http://www.[redacted]com/searchresults.asp?q5=kleargear&Search=Search&q1=ALL&q4=&q6=&q3=&q2=&q7=&searchtype=0&submit2=Search%21

    In addition to these complaints, the BBB in your area rates your company as an F, based on consumer complaints and your lack of response:

    http://centraltx.bbb.org/WWWRoot/Report.aspx?site=40&bbb=0825&firm=90017383

    There are lots more, but suffice it to say, you wouldn't know how to service a customer if one beat you in the head with a wiffle bat full of pennies.

    Your comment that I cannot file a complaint with Paypal is valid. You never took my money. However, your statement that I cannot contact the BBB is unfounded, because you do not have to be defrauded to make a report of bad business practices and lack of customer support or care.

    You have had several days to screw your heads on straight and rectify this situation, which you haven't done. You have had many opportunities to call me via phone which I have provided on SEVERAL occasions, both by email AND by your 'busy customer service' line, which rings right to VM.

    Also, based on this, I think it is absolutely insulting to techies and geeks that you use movie sound clips from the movie 'office space' for your 'hold music'. I also intend to contact 20th Century Fox Studios, because I believe that you would not have authorization from them to use these samples from this movie, for 'professional and sales' reasons.


    I sincerely hope that you realize you've pissed off enough people to get your business licenses revoked, or you drive enough of your customers away that you eventually inspire a revolt and shut you down. I would MUCH prefer to shop from your direct competitors and pay a HIGHER PRICE for their products and shipping, than ever deal with a bunch of absolute ###s as yourselves ever again.

    Grow up and do what a business should: provide the goods and services you advertise, and use common sense. however, that does not seem to be your M.O., so I sincerely hope that you would just close up shop now, and save yourself the abosolute and utter embarrasment.

    My final wish is that this email could be forwarded to the CEO of your company so that he too can witness the absolute idiocy I've endured from you and the horrible image you've created for this company. But I suppose that will happen right about the time you manage to send my order.

    -1 Votes
  • Na
    Nancy Feb 25, 2009

    Same here! This company should be avoided at all costs. Never do business with Klear Gear! They don't ship your order and keep your money as long as possible. I think they just take money to earn interest or invest it and now they probably have lost everyone's money in the stock market. Wouldn't surprise me one bit if the entire company was a scam.

    -1 Votes
  • Dc
    DCJO Nov 13, 2013

    Before you order from Kleargear.com take a look at this news story
    http://kutv.com/news/top-stories/stories/vid_8079.shtml#.UoJpyJfn1Ig

    0 Votes
  • St
    StevoTOO Nov 16, 2013

    Read the fine print! This company is nothing but a rip off. lease avoid at all costs.

    0 Votes
  • Wb
    wboehmer Nov 21, 2013

    Do business with a company which fines you & destroys your credit rating as retaliation for a negative review?
    Yeah, right!
    We all can live quite nicely without Kleargear.com, thank you very much!

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    paullyRem Nov 29, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Who is the owner or owners of Kleargear? They should never be allowed to own/run a business again. This is just another Klear reason why the United States is going down the tubes.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    willhe1 Dec 18, 2013

    Please Note: If you are having any problems with Kleargear and they are not responding, you may want to do the following;
    1. Contact the BBB for the internet and also for your home town.
    2. Contact your state Attorney Generals Office for consumer affairs.
    3. Contact Mr. Scott Michelman, Staff Attorney with Public Citizen representing the family. Indicate that you are willing to give a sworn statement concerning your problems and what if anything Kleargear did or did not do for you.

    0 Votes
  • Fu
    fukleargear Dec 26, 2013

    Kleargear.com is nothing but a bunch of shysters that will swindle your money from you and not send your order stay clear of this website they will try to sue you for the comments you post giving a bad review of there services. If they read this they can eat my D**k. FU kleargear.com

    0 Votes