The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Kinship Companionsmisrepresentation

Breeder claims to have a quality breeding business but is willing to trash two breeds for the sake of money. Check OFA's as a consumer...how many of KInships dogs that are being bred have been certified? How often will you (the consumer) get the runaround regarding the health of the family ect. in order to not get your phone calls, and emails answered. Please we all have health issues and you are, after all, running a business. Please request as much information as possible, you will soon find they will not want to deal with you. OFA's, Heart, eyes, skin, clearances. Be informed! Nice enough people when it means money in their pockets. Did you request to tour the living space of the dogs? Can you come unannounced and tour the living area of the dogs? I can tell you one reason will be that they will have "newborns" they want left undisturbed. Please do not support the breeding of "blends" or breed mixing (muts)

More Kinship Companions Complaints & Reviews

Responses

  • Tu
    tubie Sep 18, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Little or no health testing being done by these breeders:

    Imapups Quintessential Puppy Girl - "Legacy" (dob 4/8/2009) - no verifiable hip, elbow, eye or heart clearances
    Cprfld Imapup's Happily Ever After - "Ever" (dob 7/15/2008) - no verifiable hip, elbow, eye or heart clearances
    Imapup's Gnothi Seauton - "Delphi" (4/24/2008) - no verifiable hip, elbow, eye or heart clearances
    CPRFLD Imapup's On My Honor I Will Do My Best - "Scout" (01/06/2008) - no verifiable hip, elbow, eye or heart clearances
    Imapup's Chasing Rainbows - "Rainey" (11/15/2007) - no verifiable hip, elbow, eye or heart clearances
    Sires:
    Imapup's Hoalie Alaskan Asher - "Asher" (06/21/2005) - cardiac clearance done by practitioner, not cardiologist, no verifiable hip, elbow, or eye clearances
    Imapup's Pistus Elpis Agape Dieu Parmi Nous - "Nous" - (01/28/2008) - no verifiable hip, elbow, eye or heart clearances. Sired 1st litter at approximately 17 months of age.
    Chien D'Or's Cprflds Easy Money - "Cache" (1/29/2007) - no verifiable hip, elbow, eye or heart clearances.
    CPRFLD Imapups Duck. Duck. Goose! - "Goose" or "Jagger" (07/14/2008) - no verifiable hip, elbow, eye or heart clearances.

    Not ONE of the Goldens listed on their website has complete and/or verifiable clearances. The same can be said for their Bernese Mountain Dogs. They have had several dog records locked on the Golden Retriever database, k9data, for removing the registration number, breeder and owner name from their dogs after it was shown that their dogs were either bred under the age of 2 or bred without verifiable clearances.

    At a minimum, Goldens that are being bred should be 2 years of age (the age when FINAL clearances for hips and elbows can be done), have final clearances which are printed on colored paper from the Orthopedic Foundation for Animals and have an OFA number starting with GR-XXXX, have a cardiac clearance done by a cardiologist (practitioners have received no specialized training in listening to hearts), and a YEARLY eye exam. Since they are breeding "Imported" "European x Nordic Blend" Goldens", these "breeders" should also be testing for Icthyosis, a skin disease that causes a dogs' skin to flake like fish scales which is more prevalent in European-type Goldens.

    To top it all off, this breeder is now breeding their non-health tested Goldens to non-health tested Bernese Mountain Dogs. Berners have a HIGH incidence of elbow dysplasia (ranked #6 with the OFA) with 21% of all Berners tested having dysplastic elbows and these "breeders" don't even check for that.

    This "breeder" says that they have had no issues with genetic problems. Well, it's easy to say that when you haven't TESTED your dogs for those issues to see if they have them and their puppies are not being tested to see if any problems has been passed on. Most genetic/health disorders cannot be diagnosed without testing (x-rays, specialized eye exams, etc). Many dogs with hip dysplasia, elbow dysplasia, & cataracts show little to no outward symptoms. Dogs with heart conditions usually show no outward symptoms but can suddenly drop dead and the owner may be too distraught to get an exam done after the fact to see what caused it. The breeders who are testing their breeding dogs can eliminate or reduce the risk of the pups having these disorders. The ones who don't test could be passing on serious and sometimes fatal genetic disorders and not even be aware of it.

    Do your homework before you buy - go to the Golden Retriever Club of America (GRCA) website if you are looking for a Golden. Go to the Bernese Mountain Dog Club of America (BMDCA) if you want a Berner. In either case, make sure that the breeder that you are looking at is doing the best that they can to insure a healthy puppy - by doing the appropriate genetic and health testing!

    1 Votes
  • Be
    Bernese lover Oct 16, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought a gorgeous Bernese Mountain Dog from Kinship in June of 2012. I find your posts insulting. Our puppy is amazing and healthy. I highly recommend Christy and Chuck. They came to me as a referral from one of my clients. Me and my daughter went out to their home and had a wonderful experience. Christy has always kept in touch and I have been very happy. Our pup is now 7 months old and is the smartest dog we have owned. She was house trained in 2 days. I have got to know other people who have bought Bernese Mountain dogs from Christy on Facebook and they all say the same thing I say. Great dogs. Abby our puppy is part of the family and these insulting posts offend me. How do you know what Kinship does or doesn't do? Are you there working alongside the Mikulas? These negative posts are CLEARLY made by a competitor. It is so obvious. Just accept and deal with the fact that Kinship Companions breeds the best and most BEAUTIFUL Goldens and Berners around. Christy has HUNDREDS of happy clients with HEALTHY dogs!! My advice is to maybe GET A LIFE and leave these people alone to make a living.

    -1 Votes
  • Tu
    tubie Oct 17, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You find my post insulting? Why? Are you insulted because I pointed out that Kinship Companions is not doing everything that they can to insure that their puppies are healthy? Everything that I posted was the complete truth and is EASILY verifiable on-line. You haven't said anything that refutes any of the information that I put up here. I get that your dog is great and others' dogs are great. Berners in general are lovely dogs. However, since this "breeder" does not do FINAL clearances on their dogs, they are not necessarily producing healthy dogs. Your pup may look healthy on the outside but it is nearly impossible to tell by simply looking at a dog whether or not the dog has hip or elbow dysplasia. Eye problems that can cause pain and blindness can be missed by a general practicing vet. Heart problems that can cause a dog to drop dead at your feet with no warning cannot always be found by a general practitioner.

    I will say it again - almost none of the dogs that Kinship Companions is breeding now have verifiable clearances - hips, elbows, eyes, heart. If they are doing Penn-Hip, that's great but there's no way to verify that and Penn-Hip doesn't clear elbows or anything else. All of their breeding dogs should have at a minimum, final (not PRELIMINARY) hip and elbow certifications, a cardiac certification done by a Cardiologist, and YEARLY eye exams by a board certified Canine eye doctor. These minimums help to ensure that the puppies they produce are as healthy as possible. If they are not checking these things, they could be passing them on and not even know it.

    BTW, as I said, none of the Berners currently listed by name on their site have any verifiable clearances either.
    Elsa - Imapup's Done Up'D The Ante (dob 8/28/2008), AKC reg #WS28910708 - http://www.offa.org/results.html?all=WS28910708 - no records matched your request (means no FINAL hip/elbow clearances were done or the dog failed.)
    Dixie - Imapup's Shut Up And Sing (dob 2/27/2006), AKC reg # WS16553303 - http://www.offa.org/results.html?all=WS16553303 - no records matched your request
    Logan - Imapup's Legendary Shenanigans (dob 7/1/2007), AKC reg#WS22935002 - http://www.offa.org/results.html?all=WS22935002 - no records matched your request

    Go to the Bernese Mountain Dog Club of America (BMDCA) if you want a Berner. Make sure that the breeder that you are looking at is doing the best that they can to insure a healthy puppy - by doing the appropriate genetic and health testing!
    http://www.bmdca.org/health/tests.php

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Bernese lover Oct 17, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    To be honest, there is always a risk no matter what. Quite honestly, I do not care. What I do care about is the wonderful day me and my daughter had picking our puppy out. I care about being a great owner to my dog. Kinship came as a referral from a valued customer of mine that I trust. I did not need to do a thing. The research was done for me. I believe Kinship loves and cares for their puppies. Thats all I need to know. I had a wonderful experience. The vet checked out my puppy right after I got her and said she is PERFECT. Her eyes, her hips and elbows. I trust my vet and I loved our experience at Kinship. I wouldn't trade our silly fuzzy girl for anything!

    -2 Votes
  • Tu
    tubie Oct 17, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Really? You don't care that her parents could have Hip Dysplasia or Elbow Dysplasia and that the risk of your puppy being dysplastic is increased if they do? You don't care that they could be creating puppies who might be crippled and/or require costly surgeries to fix? Puppies that could go blind? Or drop dead? Are you aware that even a Mildly dysplastic dog can produce a Severely affected dog? Yes, there is always a risk but the genetic/health testing decreases that risk substantially.

    I guarantee that unless your vet is an orthopedist, a cardiologist, and a eye specialist, they did not do any health/genetic testing on your puppy when you got her. Your vet looked your puppy over, listened to her heart and lungs, gave her eyes a cursory check and pronounced her healthy. 7-8 weeks old is too young to determine if your pup is dysplastic or not. Most of the disorders I have mentioned don't show up until pups are between 4 and 12 months of age and up. If your vet has never done x-rays on her hips and elbows, your vet has no idea if they are dysplastic or not. Some eye conditions require special equipment and training to discern - practitioner vets rarely have either. The same goes for some heart conditions.

    It boggles my mind that people do less research when bringing home a puppy (a living, breathing animal) than they would do for buying a car. It's easy for these breeders to say that they've never had any issue when they aren't testing for genetic/health disorders and neither are their clients. Just because they've never seen it, doesn't mean it doesn't exist in their lines.

    Do your homework before you buy - go to the Golden Retriever Club of America (GRCA) website (grca.org) if you are looking for a Golden. Go to the Bernese Mountain Dog Club of America (BMDCA) if you want a Berner. In either case, make sure that the breeder that you are looking at is doing the best that they can to insure a healthy puppy - by doing the appropriate genetic and health testing!
    Berner recommended testing: http://www.caninehealthinfo.org/brdreqs.html?breed=BMD
    Golden recommended testing: http://www.caninehealthinfo.org/brdreqs.html?breed=GR

    2 Votes
  • Tu
    Tubie is Bat Crazy Oct 17, 2012

    I've been raising Golden's for 22 years."Tubie" has strategically deceived the reader by not disclosing that she is not only a member of the Golden Retriever Club of America but is in fact part of a small group of self appointed vigil anti's. She is not a mere enthusiast, but a fanatic that has turned her interest in the breed into a religion.
    She uses websites such as www.ComplaintsBoard.com to disparage individuals that she believes do not conform to her ideas. This website has many slander suits against it so she hangs out here like flies on ###.
    She has made over 56 "complaints" on one of these websites about breeders, individuals, and even advertisement sites without actually having evidence of personal experience with them. Her lengthy and overly detailed "complaints" are made at various times of the day (does she have a real job?) and often immediately after another "complaint" has been posted about the person irregardless of whether the complaint is accurate or not(she is clearly obsessed).
    She carefully constructs these attacks to cause public relations nightmares for the objects she targets. She sprinkles lies in with her 1/2 truths to further her sick agenda. She is in fact what one would consider an online "TROLL". Her intent is NOT TO INFORM the reader. Her intent is to damage the reputation of those that she sees as not conforming to her ideals. She is willing to attack anyone, as she has just done here, and speak to them as though they are idiots. Disgustingly abusive.
    Not only do these slanderous attacks cause irreversible harm and duress to the people she is attacking, but they also and most importantly (to her advantage) frighten the reader straight into the arms of her breeder friends within her beloved "Golden Retriever Club". Whom ironically can't figure out how to rid their lines of disease so they go after everyone else to make themselves look better.
    In the case of "Tubie" and her disgusting little militia what is said is true "Men never do evil so completely and cheerfully as when they do it from a religious conviction".A lot of people call them the "Golden Retriever Nazis". She is attacking this family and making up lies because they admittedly will not join the clubs she is in and go along with their silly games.
    She can't wrap her mind around the idea that 99% of their clients adore them because they are not fire breathing serpents like her.
    Everyone I know that raises Goldens knows how ridiculous "tubie" is. What she is intentionally leaving out is that MOST breeders are discontinuing their work with OFA because it is inconsistent. That is why she brought up PENN Hip(another way of testing hips). Most breeders are now looking for alternative ways to prevent disease because after 30 years OFA has yet to prove success..
    This is all about politics that most people don't understand. It is really sad that she would attack this breeder.
    I want to explain to those seeing this complaint that although she has a lot of things written here about these dogs she actually has no idea what she is talking about. First, Goose and Jagger are two different dogs. Secondly, I own two of the dogs listed on here and have seen the health testing. It is none of her business if those tests aren't posted on her beloved OFA website. WHAT TUBIE IS NOT EXPLAINING is that this breeder hasn't failed at anything. They have simply decided not to work with a website called . OFFA.org
    Claiming that Kinship Companions is doing something wrong because they are not using a database is like saying that someone can't be trusted because they don't have a Facebook account. TUBIE thinks that if you can't stalk someone online they can't be trusted. Yet, she does not disclose WHO SHE IS.
    TUBIE you have so many lies mixed in your statements and are too much of a coward to even post your own identity and yet you go after this family with no hesitation. If you knew a thing about them you would know that they don't send puppies home at 7-8 weeks like you do.. You also are an advocate of spaying and neutering puppies. The research is catching up on you with that now isn't it... You are nothing but a bully and a coward. Do yourself a favor and stop worrying about these make believe hidden illnesses and get yourself into a psychiatrist for a psychological evaluation. Your writings are that of a benign narcissist. Very Very Sad.

    -1 Votes
  • Tu
    Tubie is Bat Crazy Oct 17, 2012

    Wow. You compare a puppy to a car?? My puppy is like my child that I would stand beside no matter what. You can not love your child, or your dog with all of your heart if you are always worried that some terrible disease is always lurking around the corner. Of course we care if our puppy were to get sick, but we understand that a puppy is not a piece of machinery. My last dog came to me as a referral from the club and he had a rare heart defect by the time he was 8 months old. The breeder just washed her hands of me because "her dogs were cleared". That lady didn't care for me from the moment I wrote my check. She didn't even let me pick out my own puppy. That is something you are not telling people here. I chose this breeder because of their natural approach to illness and willingness to respect me. Christy and Chuck would NEVER speak about someone the way you are. They make every experience a good one for each person and each puppy. The things you are saying are so filled with anger and aggression. If you didn't have this website to act out on I can only imagine what kind of sick thing you would be doing to hurt someone else. This website is garbage. Just read the front page it is nothing but Jerry Springer drama from half drunk or mentally ill people. Which explains why you have made a hobby of being on here. Weirdo.

    -2 Votes
  • Be
    Bernese lover Oct 18, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Tubie, why are you even on here? You have no complaint. You are nuts. You are one of those dog crazy psychos. Get over it. The only reason I am back on is to tell you what a freak show you are. Get a life and leave this breeder alone. This website is pathetic!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Tu
    tubie Oct 18, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Tubie is Bat ### Crazy and Bernese Lover - I post what I do so that other people can make informed choices when they are looking for a breeder. You don't care for what I wrote, that's fine. However, if I can educate one person and help them get the healthiest puppy that they can, I'm happy.

    Tubie is Bat ### Crazy - obviously, you've been stalking me as well since you think you know everything about me. Obviously, I have touched a nerve with you since you created a username that specifically calls me a rude name. Since you've been stalking my postings, show me one thing that I wrote that is not correct. Show me where anything that I wrote could be proven in a court of law to be false. You can't. If you and your breeder friends are so proud of the health/genetic testing that your dogs have, why not put it out there for everyone to see? Most reputable breeders do. So put your money where your mouth is and post the results.

    Bernese lover - I'm here because I use this site to educate others. There is absolutely nothing in the rules of this site that prevents that. If the site owners didn't want comments on complaints, they wouldn't have enabled them in the first place. I can also ask you the same thing - why are you here? You have no complaint either...

    Yes, I belong to the Golden Retriever Club of America - a group that is at the forefront of canine genetic and health issues. The GRCA has raised MILLIONS of dollars for health research for Golden Retrievers. Their latest project is a lifetime study on Golden Retrievers with the aim to identify risk factors for development of Cancer and other diseases. https://www.caninelifetimehealth.org I am proud of what the GRCA does and proud to be a member.

    BTW, I don't give my name because there are people who have threatened me and threatened harm to my dogs because I pointed out the inaccuracies and outright lies they posted about their dogs. Just look at the fact that you, Tubie is Bat ### Crazy, created a user name that insults me and wrote additional slander in your post when you have absolutely no clue who I am or what I'm about. Do you honestly think that I am going to give out my name to someone like you?

    Do your homework before you buy - go to the Golden Retriever Club of America (GRCA) website (grca.org) if you are looking for a Golden. Go to the Bernese Mountain Dog Club of America (BMDCA) if you want a Berner. In either case, make sure that the breeder that you are looking at is doing the best that they can to insure a healthy puppy - by doing the appropriate genetic and health testing!
    Berner recommended testing: http://www.caninehealthinfo.org/brdreqs.html?breed=BMD
    Golden recommended testing: http://www.caninehealthinfo.org/brdreqs.html?breed=GR

    0 Votes
  • Tu
    Tubie is Bat Crazy Oct 18, 2012

    TUBIE when did you lie? When did you make sure to TELL THE TRUTH? You are not disclosing that you use this site because it is not moderated. It has very high ranking in Google searches AND it requires NO FACTS or proof of your claims. IT is the back alley of the internet. IF you were acting as an advocate you would have your own website and put your real name beside your slanderous remarks.

    I did not "stalk" you, I simply clicked on your name to see your posting history. You could easily be sued for libel and you know it. I owe you no explanation. You know that just because a dog is not listed on your data base does not mean he or she doesn't have clearances. You are attacking this breeder and are full of lies.

    Based on your continued efforts to harm this family's reputation I will make one correction to my previous post. You really are more of a malignant narcissist than a benign and clearly very antisocial. You claim to be "educating people" on a site where people post pictures of their cheating boyfriends and slam their mistresses.


    READER PLEASE BEWARE!

    TUBIE has made over 49 posts over the last TWO YEARS attacking breeders on gossip websites. SHE DOES NOT KNOW THIS BREEDER

    She has intentionally withheld the fact that she is A BREEDER of GOLDEN RETRIEVERS HERSELF and benefits from disparaging this breeder. She hides her name and even her gender to allow herself the free rein to say whatever she wants without any PROOF. She CLAIMS to be acting as a vigil anti on behalf of The Golden Retriever Club of America. HOWEVER she is hiding her name because most Golden Retriever Clubs require their members to commit to not malign others by making libelous, slanderous, or malicious criticism regarding another person, their dog or kennel.

    She lied over and over about this breeder. Claiming dogs do not have clearances that actually do. Claiming Kinship owns dogs they don't. Supporting other posts that call this breeder "Liar", "Greedy", etc. She claimed that two different dogs are the same dog. This is not the first breeder she has done this to.

    She ADMITS to getting her information from a database hosted by her FRIENDS using information that is NOT controlled by the dog's owner but by a fellow zealot. She admits that breeders are not ALLOWED to remove or change information that is inaccurate. But justifies this by accusing the breeder of wanting to LIE if they do try to delete a dog. In Feb 2011 she was confronted by another breeder about the grossly negligent dishonesty she uses to manipulate YOU THE READER into believing that a breeder does not have healthy breeding dogs simply because their VET didn't publish results onto a DATABASE. She has ignored them and moved on to attacking more breeders.

    TUBIE acts like an innocent advocate BUT has already been confronted about her LIBELOUS LIES and MISREPRESENTATIONS by other breeders and Golden Retriever club members. She is well aware that TO THE SATISFACTION OF EDUCATED PUPPY BUYERS an increasing number of BREEDERS have decided to work closely with their QUALIFIED VETERINARIAN and proven, quality lines to produce healthy puppies and choose NOT TO WORK WITH OFA because even the Chief Veterinarian at OFA "DR KELLER" admits that fraud is a major issue with these "clearances" and data bases. Many Veterinarians have stopped using "OFA" because of how inaccurate their reportings are. For the protection of their puppies breeders are "choosing" (NOT NEGLECTING as TUBIE claims) NOT to work with OFA.

    Contrary to TUBIES claims breeders like KINSHIP are actually having great success with the health of their dogs and most importantly they have the morals to work closely with their clients so that only the most bitter and dishonest of people turn to gossip websites like this when things don’t go their way.

    -1 Votes
  • Tu
    tubie Oct 19, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Do your homework before you buy - go to the Golden Retriever Club of America (GRCA) website (grca.org) if you are looking for a Golden. Go to the Bernese Mountain Dog Club of America (BMDCA) if you want a Berner. In either case, make sure that the breeder that you are looking at is doing the best that they can to insure a healthy puppy - by doing the appropriate genetic and health testing!
    Berner recommended testing: http://www.caninehealthinfo.org/brdreqs.html?breed=BMD
    Golden recommended testing: http://www.caninehealthinfo.org/brdreqs.html?breed=GR

    0 Votes
  • Tu
    Tubie is Bat Crazy Oct 19, 2012

    Tubie and M Rifkin

    I knew that Club Membership was dwindling, but coming here and bashing a breeder you don't even know with hopes to win just one more follower is VERY LOW!

    All of this attack against a family with seven children TWO of which are special needs just to try and convince people that Club people are better??? WOW

    You are both clearly here trying to PUSH The Golden Retriever Club and scare the reader looking for a new puppy into buying your puppy. You are both members. Your remark that this breeder is producing "pet quality" puppies is WRONG. Again, you are misleading the reader.

    This breeder has VERY high quality lines. You can see right on their website that most of them have nearly all Show Champions going generations back. They are clearly working with a reliable lineage.

    Do they show dogs? I know I've spent time with them beside a ring watching you all run in circles. I've watched as you show fanatics roll your eyes and talk down to their children. I was even there once when their little daughter was told "this is no place for kids" as she stood with the other bystanders watching the dogs.

    I find it honorable that Chuck and Christy choose not to waste their time and expose their children to your back biting culture. You've proved on this site how nasty and obsessive your people can be. Why would anyone want to join you?

    You are claiming that they look as if they are not working to better the breed because they do not show? Do you really think that the majority of the American puppy buyers agree with you? They DO NOT. Most buyers find your SHOW WORLD detestable. Many have crazy neighbors and cousins that are show people. The success of the movie "Best In Show", is due much in part to the fact that MOST Americans find Show or Club people to be neurotic, eccentric, narrow minded control freaks that spend more time washing and blow drying their pretty little dogs than actually contributing anything to humanity.

    Sure there are "nice" people in the Golden Retriever Club, and at shows, but they are becoming more few and far between.

    The Golden Retriever is the fourth most popular breed. You represent a VERY small percentage of people. I would challenge that less than 5% of Golden Retriever owners even want to be in the Golden Retriever Club and an even smaller percentage of them actually choose to show or breed dogs.

    Tubie and M Rifkin the times are changing. Americans are choosing breeders like Kinship Companions because they want to work with someone who is like them. Someone that has children and treats their dog like part of the family. They want to be treated as an equal, they do not want to just be part of a list of people that are lucky to buy your show rejects. They want to meet their puppy before committing and remain friends with their breeder long after. THEY HAVE NOT FOUND THAT WITH YOU.

    You are talking about dogs like they are car? Something that you use and park in the garage? And you think you represent the interest of the American puppy buyer? YOU DO NOT

    Your club members are known for condemning hybrids, calling them MUTTS?? You kick out members of your club that raise hybrids for therapy use. Your club forgets that the Golden Retriever itself started as a hybrid in our Great Grandfather's age. You are so full of contradictions, and then you spend your time stalking breeders on websites like this??

    Your remark that this breeder is not working to -better the breed- and claim that they are -in it for money- is narrow minded and judgmental. You may have your moment on this website and succeed at scaring a few nervous buyers away from some breeders such as Kinship. BUT you are loosing in the long run.

    Nine out of Ten people reading this make their own determination that this entire posts is about CRAZY SHOW PEOPLE attacking a breeder they don't even know. The other one person may be so worried that your lies really do scare them and they find a breeder like you to work with. BUT the truth will not change. Members of the clubs are NOT finding greater success in the health of their dog anymore. Tubie you are honestly going to claim that you and your friends have never had a dog with a defect? That is impossible.

    In the end what you are missing is that the people that buy a dog from Kinship Companions do not do so because they are foolish idiots that didn't do their homework. The hundreds of happy puppy families Kinship has work with choose them because they have ALREADY dealt with show people like you. They have had dogs that were very sick even though they were "health certified". They have been lied to. They have been to court against you. They have lost their dogs at 6 years old to cancer. They have learned that your dogs are just dogs and that it is a mistake to trust these judgmental show people that claim that their dogs are genetically elite. Any dog can get sick and statistically a small percentage of the best WILL. The people that choose to work with Kinship do so because they know that Christy is there for them day and night. Good or bad.

    That is why I left the ring. That is why I will always value what Chuck and Christy are doing. That is why your slander will always be confronted by their clients that adore them

    What you are doing here is libelous. God help you.

    -1 Votes
  • Be
    Bernese lover Oct 19, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Some people may just love bernese mountain dogs and want one. I don't think Kinship Companions is trying to breed Westminster winners. They are breeding wonderful Berners and Goldens, it is that simple. Why does everyone care so much what this breeder does or doesn't do. You know why, because its those people who want the money and Kinships customers. Like I said before, just leave them alone to do what they do best, breed great dogs. If you spent the amount of time and energy focussing on your own businesses and lives then maybe you could be successful too. But you know what they say "haters are haters".

    -2 Votes
  • Tu
    tubie Oct 19, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Copperfield Goldens aka Tubie is Bat ### Crazy - get a grip. It looks like you have 2 litters of puppies on the ground. Why don't you go play with them and calm down?

    If/when you want to post something rational, I might respond to you again. Or you can continue to rant on and I will ignore you and continue to post HELPFUL information for people who are willing to listen. Your choice.

    Do your homework before you buy - go to the Golden Retriever Club of America (GRCA) website (grca.org) if you are looking for a Golden. Go to the Bernese Mountain Dog Club of America (BMDCA) if you want a Berner. In either case, make sure that the breeder that you are looking at is doing the best that they can to insure a healthy puppy - by doing the appropriate genetic and health testing!
    Berner recommended testing: http://www.caninehealthinfo.org/brdreqs.html?breed=BMD
    Golden recommended testing: http://www.caninehealthinfo.org/brdreqs.html?breed=GR

    1 Votes
  • Tu
    tubie Oct 19, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Some actual facts since T.I.B.S.C. seems to be making things up as he/she goes along:

    1. I have had Goldens for over 31 years. I have bred exactly 1 litter and that was 20 years ago. I gain absolutely nothing when the people that I have educated don't go to T.I.B.S.C.'s friends and I have not referred anyone to a specific breeder or set of breeders when I've posted here or anywhere else.

    2. The only Golden breeders who have ever confronted me have been the ones who could not/would not back up the inaccuracies and lies that they have posted. Almost without exception, instead of proving that what I say is not true, they choose to attack me in an attempt to deflect any scrutiny away from themselves. They also usually claim that I'm part of some group that is out to get them.

    3. The database that T.I.B.S.C. speaks of, K9Data, locked the record of a Kinship dog after the owner removed the breeder information and the registration number from the dog's record multiple times. The administrator of the site added back the information that had been removed - information that had been verified as correct by the AKC records and then locked the dog to keep the information from being removed again.

    4. I get my information from a variety of sources including the AKC records, and the OFA and CERF (Canine Eye Registration Foundation) databases. Considering that the information in K9Data is user-entered, I would never trust it as being 100% true.

    5. Yes, there have been cases of fraud with the OFA. That is why they instituted the Permanent Identification designation and check. Dogs that are permanently identified get a PI suffix. Those that aren't get a NOPI suffix. Penn-Hip doesn't take any more precautions than the OFA does to ensure against fraud.

    6. In order to get the best reading possible, Penn-Hip, OFA and BVA/KC all require that the x-rays be read by a panel of Orthopedic specialist. It is highly unlikely that a general practitioner vet has this specialized training to look at hip and elbow x-rays and give an informed reading. Three sets of eyes are invariably better than one set.

    7. The OFA doesn't evaluate eyes and hearts - they only record the results of examinations given by the vets that physically examined the dog. So if there are "inaccurate" reports in those two areas, they are not coming from the OFA. They are coming directly from the forms filled out by the vets that performed the exams.

    8. With the exception of Penn-Hip x-rays, it's not the vet that submits the information to the OFA or CERF, it's the owners. If x-rays or eye exams aren't submitted, that is because the owner didn't send them in, not the vet. FYI: an exam done by a practitioner vet that does not have Canine Ophthalmology training is not even eligible to be sent to CERF.

    9. The reason that a "Qualified" vet is not an appropriate option for doing genetic/health testing is simply because most of them lack the specialized training needed to accurately assess the dog. AVCO vets (Canine Ophthalmologists) and ACVIM vets (Cardiology specialty) get an additional 3 years of training in those fields. They are trained to look/listen for things that a practitioner vet is not. They also have specialized equipment that a practitioner may not have. It's the difference between a human going to their general practitioner to have a heart condition checked versus going to a Cardiologist to have it checked. A GP might be able to hear a murmur but not necessarily diagnose it correctly.

    10. If a breeder chooses not to work with the OFA for hips and elbows, I have no problem with that as long as they use a recognized authority (Penn-Hip, BVA/KC) to get their health/genetic testing done. The OFA is perfectly willing to accept and list results from BVA/KC and Penn-Hip in their database as well as CERF results (and other genetic tests as well.) What I have a problem with is when people choose not to use ANY recognized authority to do their checks and then blame it on their dislike of the OFA.

    1 Votes
  • Tu
    Tubie is Bat Crazy Oct 21, 2012

    Puppy Buyers Coming Across This.
    I Know That Finding A Puppy Might Be Proving To Be Harder Than You Expected.
    Unfortunately, What You Have Come Across On This Site Will Require You To Make A Decision:

    YOU HAVE ONE OF TWO CHOICES

    ONE
    Believe Tubie, a women that is SO certain that she has the right to spread her propaganda and is so proud of her accomplishments as a breeder and member of the Golden Retriever Club of America that she has never told anyone here(in all of her 49+ posts) that she is a breeder and club member until being called out on it in THIS post. Concede that you are not able to make your own educated decision without working with this bigot. Agree that you must join a dwindling club of people that make a hobby of running in circles and judging other people. Ignore Tubies rhetoric and commit to buying a puppy from her or her friends ignorantly believing that when you some day disagree with them she will actually respect you more than she has respected the family here. A family which she has shamelessly and methodically slandered week after week although she has NEVER met them. You have the right to "contact the club" and become part of the very, very small percentage of people that will agree with Tubie and join her in her prejudicial efforts. If you do choose to join her ranks you may have to get rid of or devalue your Cockapoo or Goldendoodle because she considers all hybrids to be worthless mutts, but at least you will be able to sleep at night knowing that you chose a puppy with the "best chances of being healthy".. that is, until your dog falls sick to cancer, or defect and you are slapped with the hard reality that what Tubie is selling is a LIE.

    OR TWO
    You could admit that while the things Tubie is claiming about this breeder may sound scary in writing, she is writing them on a website in which the majority of the complaints are so vulgar, irrational, and ignorant the website is often blocked by programs intended to protect children from explicit content such as porn. You could ask yourself "Why am I even reading this garbage?", as so many hundreds of people have. You can decide to use your own discernment when choosing a breeder and remember that only you can make the decision about who really has YOUR best interest in mind. Let me be the first of many referrals to support that Chuck and Christy Mikula are nothing near what their competition has attempted to paint them as on this site. No, they do not bend over and take it from anyone attempting to take advantage of their family, however Chuck and Christy are very understanding and passionate about what they do. If life has not already taught you this, please carefully consider that pieces of paper will not protect you from reality. If you are healthy enough to see that this breeder is doing everything they can for their puppy families and have beautiful, healthy, and smart dogs you should go ahead and apply for a puppy. Then remember that whichever breeder you choose, you need to be a good enough home and trustworthy enough that the family can trust you. Every year the millions of dollars spent in researching canine health are discovering that we have grossly underestimated that the environment you expose your dog to has more to do with your dogs health that which uterus it happened to grow from. If you choose this option please refocus your anxieties into committing to truly providing the most healthy environment for your puppy you possibly can.

    To Tubie and her little goodfellow(s).
    You've attacked this family and now scamper off with your tail between your legs. (At least until you come up with another way to harm their reputation) You've already displayed your interest, and that of the Golden Retriever Club to blacklist breeders that are not part of your club. You have attempted to publish false information in order to form a BIAS in the minds of potential puppy buyers, and this you have done in the name of education?
    I am sorry that you don't have families more important than your slander that you've wasted such time on this site. OR moments in your life so inspiring that you would never want to waste your time gossiping the way you have here and around the ring. Most importantly (from someone that used to be part of your club) I am so sorry that you are so caught up in seeing the world as a dangerous place that you will never share the sort of vision and compassion people like Chuck and Christy have for each of their puppies and their families.. not just the ones perfect enough to earn points in the ring towards healing your fragile ego.

    This breed does not begin and end with your club and show ring. Dogs are meant to be members of the family, not cars.

    -1 Votes
  • Tu
    tubie Oct 22, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    For anyone still reading this - health testing reduces the probability that a puppy will develop an inherited disease. This is particularly true when there are several generations of tested dogs. This is a fact. It's true, health testing that simply looks at the dog and not at its genetic makeup is not a guarantee that the puppies from said dog will not develop an issue. However, those"little pieces of paper" tell you that the breeder cares so much about the puppies that they produce that they were willing to take the extra time and expense to go to experts in the various field (Orthopedics, Cardiology, Opthalmology) and make sure that the dogs they are breeding are not affected by those issues. Cleared parents = higher probability that the puppies will not develop issues. There are no genetic tests for Hip & Elbow Dysplasia, SAS (heart issue), or most eye issues that plague Goldens (and Berners for that matter). There is only the visual inspection. It just makes sense that those inspections should be done by experts in those areas.

    As far as Cancer goes - it occurs in every line, in every country. Some lines are more prone to it than others. Golden Retrievers as a BREED are more susceptible than other breeds. There is not a genetic test for it but there are several different studies being done to try and find the genes responsible and create a genetic test for it: http://www.morrisanimalfoundation.org/blog/category/dog/golden-retriever-health.html

    This is not about club membership or selling puppies, it's about helping people see the difference between breeders who do everything that they can to create healthy puppies and those that don't.

    Do your homework before you buy - go to the Golden Retriever Club of America (GRCA) website (grca.org) if you are looking for a Golden. Go to the Bernese Mountain Dog Club of America (BMDCA) if you want a Berner. In either case, make sure that the breeder that you are looking at is doing the best that they can to insure a healthy puppy - by doing the appropriate genetic and health testing!
    Golden recommended testing: http://www.caninehealthinfo.org/brdreqs.html?breed=GR
    Berner recommended testing: http://www.caninehealthinfo.org/brdreqs.html?breed=BMD

    1 Votes
  • Ba
    Baby j 107 Oct 10, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This has been amusing. Tubie might find it interesting that this kinship kennel in Sheboygan had been shut down because 40 dead dogs were found in freezers. Seriously though, she is right do your homework. Whomever bought dogs from them just allowed them to keep freezing who knows how many dead dogs and abusing them over the years by keeping them in business.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions