Having problems with HostForWeb?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

HostForWeb reviews first appeared on Complaints Board on Nov 18, 2009. The latest review Web Hosting service provider was posted on May 9, 2016. The latest complaint Hacked on HostForWeb was resolved on Nov 18, 2009. HostForWeb has an average consumer rating of 3 stars from 2 reviews. HostForWeb has resolved 1 complaints.

HostForWeb Customer Service Contacts

+1 765 269 8043 (Support)
70 West Madison St, Three First National Plaza Suite 1400
Chicago, Illinois
United States - 60602-4270

ComplaintsBoard.com is not affiliated, associated, authorized, endorsed by, or in any way officially connected with HostForWeb Customer Service. Initial HostForWeb complaints should be directed to their team directly. You can find contact details for HostForWeb above.

ComplaintsBoard.com is an independent complaint resolution platform that has been successfully voicing consumer concerns since 2004. We are doing work that matters - connecting customers with businesses around the world and help them resolve issues and be heard.

Use this comments board to leave complaints and reviews about HostForWeb. Discuss the issues you have had with HostForWeb and work with their customer service team to find a resolution.

HostForWeb Complaints & Reviews

Hostforweb.comWeb Hosting service provider

Can a Crooked Web Host Company Hold an Online Business Hostage?

Yes they Can and It's Happening to My Mother's Real Estate Company Now
A crooked Web Hosting company can, at any time, claim that you are spamming and suspend your website or blog so that it is not view-able online by anyone.

A crooked Web Host can prevent you from retrieving back up files of your website or blog to prevent you from moving your website or blog to another web host. In fact that is exactly what is happening to my mother with her real estate blogs right now.

The crooked Web Hosting company I am referring to is: HostForWeb
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/?q=hostforweb

We discovered over a month ago that they had suspended our real estate blogs. We then contacted - and asked them why they did this. They claimed that we were using the blogs to send spam, which of course is ludicrous.

The reality is that our site was hacked into because they were unable to protect our blogs from hackers. The hackers then proceeded to send spam from our blogs.

But HostForWeb did not care about reality or the truth, they just ignored all of our emails and all the support tickets we opened to try to resolve the issue. They had no desire whatsoever to resolve our pressing problem.

We had a Live Chat with one of their employees and he told us that since we had an ongoing support ticket open, that he could not help us and that we had to contact their support ticket department. But their support ticket department had stopped responding to us and still does not respond to our messages to this day.

We then called - on the phone and spoke with an employee (he had a Russian accent). The customer support employee assured us that he would un-suspend our blogs, which never happened.

I then emailed the president of HostForWeb and so far, he has not responded.

So the bottom line is that HostForWeb is punishing us for their inability and failure to protect our blogs from hackers and they are in effect, holding our blogs hostage.

We are losing potential website visitors and real estate clients and we are losing the confidence of our existing real estate clients, and very possibly losing real estate sales, due to their actions and refusal to resolve our problem.

We spoke to HostForWeb and told them that we would like to access our blog files on their server so that we can move our blogs to another web host; they have not responded. But they have sent us a new bill to renew our service for another year with them.

When we ignore their renewal emails as we try to resolve this problem that they created for us, they then threatened to delete all of our blog files that we have hosted on their server if we do not pay up soon.

Our blogs that they have suspended that are inaccessible are located here:

http://honoluluhawaiihomeinfo.com
http://islandhawaiihomes.com
http://hawaii-real-estate-roundtable.com

So again, a crooked web host can, at any time, hold an online business hostage and create lost business, lost sales and the loss of confidence in the business from clients or customers.

And they can even delete all your online data if you refuse to continue to pay them for their mafia like crooked services.

So choose the web host company you hire very carefully.

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    The complaint has been investigated and
    resolved to the customer's satisfaction
    Resolved
    HostForWebHacked on HostForWeb

    Registrar: ENOM, INC.
    Whois Server: whois.enom.com
    Referral URL: http://www.enom.com
    Status: clientDeleteProhibited, clientTransferProhibited

    Expiration Date: 2010-09-19
    Creation Date: 2001-09-19
    Last Update Date: 2009-08-21

    Name Servers:
    hfw1.hostforweb.net
    hfw2.hostforweb.net
    See hostforweb.com DNS Records

    Information Updated: Wed, 18 Nov 2009 18:49:54 UTC

    HOSTFORWEB.COM SITE INFORMATION
    IP: 66.225.229.175
    IP Location: Chicago, United States
    Website Status: active
    Server Type: Apache/1.3.41 (Unix) mod_deflate/1.0.21 mod_auth_passthrough/1.8 mod_log_bytes/1.2 mod_bwlimited/1.4 PHP/5.2.3 PHP/4.4.2-x86_64 FrontPage/5.0.2.2634a mod_ssl/2.8.31 OpenSSL/0.9.7a
    Alexa Trend/Rank: 1 Month: 14, 730 3 Month: 15, 335
    Page Views per Visit: 1 Month: 6.5 3 Month: 6.1
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    I was hacked on HFW server and they couldn't even explain to me why or who hacked my site and it is very sad that this company doesnt give a rats ### about it's clients on why we were hacked.

    I have changed web server since this horriable disaster!
    I advice everyone to stay away from HostForWeb!

    Hacked on HostForWeb

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      • We
        webhosting_by_reselling Jan 13, 2010

        I have used HostForWeb for years. While I do not 'love' them, I rally to their defense because in all fairness, it is not the web-host's responsibility to determine the how or the who in a "hack". Did you offer to pay for an investigation and they turned you down?

        You neglected to state the nature of this "hack" (as in what was the end result), you did not mention the domain "hacked" (to learn who did it by searching for the trophy), or even what software was used for the website (to establish known vulnerabilities and to know how it was done).

        Somehow, mostly from the brevity of your comment, I just can not image you using vi or notepad to compose a website. Because the web-host isn't to blame, I sadly predict your website will again be hacked.

        0 Votes

      IN THE NEWS

      Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
      If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
      One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
      A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
      ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
      You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
      Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.