The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Grant360Unauthorized billing

Grant 360 Sucks, They have cause me a lot of problems in just a couple of days. I thought I was paying 1.95 S&H for a grant writing kit.

I was on my way home from a different city 3hrs away from my home when I stopped to get gas and my debit card was declined. I was lost for words, I knew I hadn't made any big purchases. I was stuck at a little gas station on a country road. I didn't know why. A blessing came and I was able to make it home.

When I got home I walked into a house with no lights, now I was very confused. Grant 360 took all the money I had on my debit card 1 payment of $57.61 and 2 payments of $ 38.21 and they tried to take more but it was all gone. Therefore my electric bill that is automatically taken out didn't get paid. I had just went grocery shopping before I went out of town $250.00 on food gone down the drain.

I called them as soon as a figured out what had happened. I couldn't understand anything the customer service attendant was saying. They kept giving me the run around telling me to call back. Finally I talk to someone I could understand a little she gave me a website [email protected] were I could request a refund and cancel a membership that I hadn't signed up for. That website didn't get me any where.

Responses

  • De
    dejaboo Jan 10, 2011

    From other complaints I have read you got off easier by only getting Charged 1.95 for s&h...I was charged 2.95 for s&h and the same it did not clearly state that i would be charged 57.61 if i did not cancel in24 hrs (which is what they said) cause i saw it no where...was lead to believe that i was getting a cd and it did not even give me time to recieve that(was done on a sat. night)...so i called the number listed with my bank and this person had a very heavy accent and i had to ask her more than once for a supervisor and she flat refused and said i would not get back my money except for 40.00 because i did not cancel in 24 hrs and i told her it was not my problem i did not authorize this sharge and they will give me my money back and then she said she would send me an email that i had to reply to with a cancellation # on it (included on this was a link to supposed onlice customer service chat and i clicked it and it said i was blocked for abuse) all this just because i want MY money back Not Theirs; so i called back today and was giving the run around because i would not give them my email and wanted a supervisor and was put on hold 2 different times for over 30 min and then hung up on...so decided to call the bank and told them it was not authorized and they r going to try to help in the fraud dept...so good luck to you all

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    janjones Jul 16, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi, my name is janice jones

    I want to complain about this company GRANT 360, Ive never heard of this company and they have got hold of all my details without my knowlege and took moey from my bank, under Ffe*Grantrichespal i have rang them they offered only half my money back, the amount they have took is 59.00 usd on the 10th july 2010 and2.95 usd 1.559 usd as im from the uk it works out at 43.95 GBP ALL TOGETHER.

    WHEN I RANG THEM THEY OFFERED ONLY HALF BACK i want a full fefund as i have never signed up to them or even heard of them

    they did give me a number for a refund which is 7114013 and my email address [email protected]<br
    please can you help resolve this

    MY EMAIL IS AS ABOVE [email protected]

    thankyou janice jones

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    George414 Feb 07, 2010

    THE WEB LORETTA, AND ZEN STATE DOES NOT EXIST, AT 1108HOURS 06, FEBRUARY 2010 I CANCELED WITH GRANT 360 THEY ARE A SCAM, IF ANY ADDITIONAL FUNDS ARE REMOVED FROM MY ACCOUNT I WILL FIND THEM, ALL OF THEM AND HANDLE THE GOOD OLD FASHION WAY...

    0 Votes
  • Xx
    XXX6ft6 Dec 18, 2009

    I ordered my grant kit, they debited my credit card, and then sent me on a wild goosechase after a website that does not come up

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    pameladudley Nov 17, 2009

    wouil like a refund, thought it was 1.95.was charged 1.95 /57.61. /.02. /.46.a total of $60.04. [email protected] comcast .com

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    tina_green66 Nov 05, 2009

    I paid for the S/H $1.95 but have been unable to get anywhere on the site. I would really like to cancel this and get a refund but like the site there is not a contact number for customer service. Would anyone have that information?

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    tina_green66 Nov 05, 2009

    I can't get anywhere on this site and would like to cancel this mess before I am charged an arm and a leg. I can't find a contact number for the customer service. Does anyone have that number?

    0 Votes
  • La
    Laurie Oct 20, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It is extremely important that YOU ALWAYS READ THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS on any website offering free anything. You AGREED TO A NEGATIVE OPTION CONTRACT when you placed your order. Stated so in the terms and conditions .

    Not to mention you DO NOT PAY FOR FREE INFORMATION FROM THE GOVERNMENT!

    Government Grant Scams
    The "free money" scam has been around almost as long as the human species.
    It has more variations than a bulldog has wrinkles but you can count on one thing: the government (any government) does not simply give money away to individuals. Anyone who tells you differently has larceny in his heart.
    If you give him your bank account number, he will soon have your funds in his pocket.
    It does no good to list all of the names used by these bunko artists because a.) they change all the time and b.) every single free-money government-grant offer is a scam. Period.
    http://www.consumeraffairs.com/news04/2009/03/grant_scam_ads.html
    http://www.consumeraffairs.com/scam_alerts/grant.html
    http://www.consumeraffairs.com/news04/2009/03/ftc_stimulus_scam.html

    FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION WEBSITE
    http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/pubs/consumer/alerts/alt134.shtm

    ‘Free Government Grants’: Don’t Take Them For Grant-ed
    “Because you pay your income taxes on time, you have been awarded a free $12, 500 government grant! To get your grant, simply give us your checking account information, and we will direct-deposit the grant into your bank account!”
    Sometimes, it’s an ad that claims you will qualify to receive a “free grant” to pay for education costs, home repairs, home business expenses, or unpaid bills. Other times, it’s a phone call supposedly from a “government” agency or some other organization with an official sounding name. In either case, the claim is the same: your application for a grant is guaranteed to be accepted, and you’ll never have to pay the money back.
    But the Federal Trade Commission (FTC), the nation’s consumer protection agency, says that “money for nothing” grant offers usually are scams, whether you see them in your local paper or a national magazine, or hear about them on the phone.
    Some scam artists advertise “free grants” in the classifieds, inviting readers to call a toll-free number for more information. Others are more bold: they call you out of the blue. They lie about where they’re calling from, or they claim legitimacy using an official-sounding name like the “Federal Grants Administration.” They may ask you some basic questions to determine if you “qualify” to receive a grant. FTC attorneys say calls and come-ons for free money invariably are rip offs.
    Grant scammers generally follow a script: they congratulate you on your eligibility, then ask for your checking account information so they can “deposit your grant directly into your account, ” or cover a one-time “processing fee.” The caller may even reassure you that you can get a refund if you’re not satisfied. In fact, you’ll never see the grant they promise; they will disappear with your money.
    The FTC says following a few basic rules can keep consumers from losing money to these “government grant” scams:
    Don’t give out your bank account information to anyone you don’t know. Scammers pressure people to divulge their bank account information so that they can steal the money in the account. Always keep your bank account information confidential. Don’t share it unless you are familiar with the company and know why the information is necessary.
    Don’t pay any money for a “free” government grant. If you have to pay money to claim a “free” government grant, it isn’t really free. A real government agency won’t ask you to pay a processing fee for a grant that you have already been awarded — or to pay for a list of grant-making institutions. The names of agencies and foundations that award grants are available for free at any public library or on the Internet. The only official access point for all federal grant-making agencies is www.grants.gov.
    Look-alikes aren’t the real thing. Just because the caller says he’s from the “Federal Grants Administration” doesn’t mean that he is. There is no such government agency. Take a moment to check the blue pages in your telephone directory to bear out your hunch — or not.
    Phone numbers can deceive. Some con artists use Internet technology to disguise their area code in caller ID systems. Although it may look like they’re calling from Washington, DC, they could be calling from anywhere in the world.
    Take control of the calls you receive. If you want to reduce the number of telemarketing calls you receive, place your telephone number on the National Do Not Call Registry. To register online, visit www.donotcall.gov. To register by phone, call [protected] (TTY: [protected]) from the phone number you wish to register.
    File a complaint with the FTC. If you think you may have been a victim of a government grant scam, file a complaint with the FTC online at www.ftc.gov, or call toll-free, 1-877-FTC-HELP [protected]); TTY: [protected]. The FTC enters Internet, telemarketing, identity theft, and other fraud-related complaints into Consumer Sentinel, a secure online database available to hundreds of civil and criminal law enforcement agencies in the U.S. and abroad.
    The FTC works for the consumer to prevent fraudulent, deceptive, and unfair business practices in the marketplace and to provide information to help consumers spot, stop, and avoid them. To file a complaint or to get free information on consumer issues, visit ftc.gov or call toll-free, 1-877-FTC-HELP [protected]); TTY: [protected]. The FTC enters consumer complaints into the Consumer Sentinel Network, a secure online database and investigative tool used by hundreds of civil and criminal law enforcement agencies in the U.S. and abroad.
    September 2006


    Feds: Scammers Falsely "Guaranteed" Government Grants
    Court halts operators' deceptive pitches for grant writing book and services


    By James Limbach
    ConsumerAffairs.com
    July 24, 2009

    A federal judge has stopped an operation from falsely claiming that it could help consumers secure a "$25, 000 Grant" -- guaranteed -- from the U.S. government.
    The case is part of a Federal Trade Commission crackdown on scammers trying to capitalize on the economic downturn by targeting people facing financial hardship.
    In the complaint the FTC, jointly with the attorneys general of Kansas, Minnesota, and North Carolina, charged that Grant Writers Institute, LLC and its related entities (together, GWI) falsely told consumers that they were eligible for grants as part of the recently announced economic stimulus package .
    According to the complaint, the false and deceptive claims by GWI violate federal law, state consumer protection laws, and the FTC's Telemarketing Sales Rule. The complaint seeks a court order permanently stopping the defendants' illegal conduct and forcing them to return money to consumers injured by the scheme.
    "Stamping out grant fraud and other types of schemes that take advantage of consumers in dire financial shape continues to be one of the Federal Trade Commission's highest priorities, " said David Vladeck, Director of the Bureau of Consumer Protection. "There is no such thing as a guaranteed grant. But to consumers in financial trouble, the chance for extra income -- guaranteed or otherwise -- can unfortunately be a huge draw."
    The FTC says since at least 2007, GWI has mass mailed postcards to consumers across the country falsely claiming that the consumers "are Guaranteed a $25, 000 Grant from the U.S. Government." Consumers who call the number are pitched a $59 book titled "Professional Grant Writer 'The Definitive Guide to Grant Writing Success.'"
    The company's telemarketers falsely claim that the book will explain how to get government grants -- including the "guaranteed" $25, 000 grant. GWI and its North Carolina-based telemarketers, also named as defendants in the complaint, then call consumers who have bought the book, trying to get them to pay hundreds of dollars or more for grant research, writing, or coaching services, falsely claiming a 70 percent success rate in securing grant funding.
    In reality, few, if any consumers ever receive any grant money.
    The Commission contends that in addition to falsely claiming consumers were "guaranteed" to receive grants, GWI used the current government stimulus package to make its pitch. For example, when consumers called the number on the mass-mailed postcard, they heard a recording that said, "If you've been reading the papers you know that recently our government released $700 billion into the private sector. What you probably don't know is that there is another $300 billion that must be given away this year to people just like you."
    The recording continues, "And if you're one of the lucky few who knows how to find and apply for these grants, you will receive a check for $25, 000 or more, and we guarantee it . . . If you don't get a check for $25, 000 or more, you pay nothing."
    The following were named as defendants:
    • Affiliate Strategies, Inc.;
    • Landmark Publishing Group, LLC (d/b/a G.F. Institute and Grant Funding Institute);
    • Grant Writers Institute, LLC;
    • Answer Customers, LLC;
    • Apex Holdings International, LLC;
    • Brett Blackman, individually and as an officer, manager, and/or member of Affiliate Strategies, Inc., Landmark Publishing Group, LLC, Grant Writers Institute, LLC, Answer Customers, LLC, and Apex Holdings International, LLC;
    • Jordan Sevy, individually and as a manager of Landmark Publishing Group, LLC;
    • James Rulison, individually and as president of Answer Customers, LLC, all located in Kansas.
    The complaint also names the following North Carolina entities as defendants:
    • Real Estate Buyers Financial Network LLC (d/b/a Grant Writers Research Network);
    • Martin Nossov, individually and as a manager and member of Real Estate Buyers Financial Network LLC; and
    • Alicia Nossov, individually and as a manager and member of Real Estate Buyers Financial Network LLC.


    Read more: http://www.consumeraffairs.com/news04/2009/07/stimulus_scam.html#ixzz0NENGCoRV


    Another article on this scam on MSN this morning
    http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/33294638/ns/business-consumer_news/

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    willford sternburgh Oct 20, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    they are taking money from people that want a refund, they never asked about a membership program they just asked for a 1.95 for the cd now i find them taking money out of my checking account for 57.00 not good bussiness. they should be shut down.

    0 Votes
  • Ig
    ignorant Oct 07, 2009

    They charged my credit card immediately with $ 57.61 when it was written in their website that only $1.95 will be charged to review their site for 24 hours. I was not able to view the said site and when I re-entered my name, they said that membership is no longer available . Please help me get a full refund of $ 57.61.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    Neil A, Cervantes Oct 03, 2009

    My name is Neil A, Cervantes i live at 4111 southern trail von ormy TX 78073 pleas send me a kit

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    s.hosley Sep 29, 2009

    i am trying to cancel my acct. it will not let me if you damn people charge me when i am trying to cancel i will contact my local sen. and make him aware of this scam and just to inform you his people know me by my first name i am not afraid to turn someone in for steeling my money.

    0 Votes
  • Us
    useruser Sep 28, 2009

    I received an email answering my craigslist rent ad, forwarding me the link to Grant360.
    I got the kit for 1.95, next day I find charge of 57.61$ charge and foreign fees of 1.72$ and 0.05$.
    I called the number stated on the transaction, they told me the 1.95 is only a 24hrs trial with automatic renewal.
    Nothing in the page you filled or the confirmation email you receive indicates anything about this.
    Anyway, she canceled the subscription, and send me an email to fill the refund form. I also inquired about the foreign transaction fee, the admin refused to answer. I then receive an answer back that they will refund only USD41.61!!! what a piece of work!!

    here is the email I received!!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Your email has been received by our department.

    Upon checking the records it shows that your membership to
    http://grants360.com> has already been cancelled and you will no longer be
    billed.

    This membership was originally a 1-day trial subscription for USD1.95.
    This was fully disclosed on the terms and conditions page located on the
    website: http://grants360.com/external/terms

    It is again listed as you entered your credit card details to join the
    site. http://2009cs.com/grants360.html

    The website owners allow qualified people 24 hours access to review the
    site for the $1.95 processing fee. Should you not wish to keep the Trial
    Membership and have it converted into a Full Membership the Trial needed
    to be cancelled. This is the reason why you have been billed for USD57.61.

    The website owners allow us to offer and compromise a partial refund to
    you from the billing processor. The partial refund offer is for USD41.61
    of the USD57.61

    Should you decide to accept the partial refund, please email us back so we
    can process the request immediately for you.


    Best regards,

    Hazelene
    Refund Department

    0 Votes
  • Ye
    yetanothervictim Sep 08, 2009

    I paid the advertised price of $1.95 for processing the downloading of a kit for grants, which consisted of a series of links to government agencies that provide grants "not to individuals" although the advertizing claimed such individual grants were available. I look for the hidden charges, such as monthly or other reoccuring fee, and even called the on-line phone number before providning my debt card for the $1.95 processing fee. Imagine my surprise at a 57 dollar plus change charge also showing on my credit card... I called the number and this time was advised I did not cancel my 'SUBSCRIPYION" in the twenty four hour trial period there was no mention of a trial period in any of the links that I was directed to on paying for the processing fee. A real scam.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    brit14243 Sep 08, 2009

    charges was made on my card and i didn't give permission for grants 360 comapany to take 56.61 off m y card and i would like my money back on my card

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rose D Sep 02, 2009

    I applied for the grant360 loan kit online and paid the initial payment for the kit on July 29, 2009 and I was not mailed a kit. When I called to complain they said that my time had run out and the operator hung up on me. Now they are telling me that I have to re-apply for the loan kit. When I went back on the site to re-apply it gave me a message stating, "Sorry, but this Membership is not available at this time.". I don't think that this is appropriate behavior for a company.

    0 Votes
  • La
    Ladydy Aug 27, 2009

    I have tried to get on the website Grant360 was unable to. I was given a username and password. Tried to contact the rep who email me. The emails keep coming back. I have been waiting for my kit to arrive and card has been charged. I don't this is a ligit website.

    Diane
    Fayette, Ms.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    lindahilliard Aug 26, 2009

    on August 24, 2009 I look at the grant360 website looking for loan information. I saw that a 1.95 plus S/H would apply for the CD. I agreed to this. On the next day I looked into my bank account and found that they had withdrawn 57.61 plus .46 for a total of 58.07. This charge was not authorized and I want my money returned. If I need to contact my attorney to help with this refund I will.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    LikeSierra Aug 24, 2009

    I was told only $1.95 would be charged and they charged $1.95 and $57.61. I called them and told them it wasn't authorized they said i ordered a subscription and gave me a cancellation #, which is hard to do over the internet so i can get my money back. i'm in that process now and the website they gave me turned out to be for stimulus refunds, not their refunds!!

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    tammy jones Aug 20, 2009

    I would gladly appreciated if your company give me my full refund, because i only agreed to $ 1.95 shipping and handling fee. Ineed the grant but, I do not need to feel as if i'm being rippped off. Ineed my little money. so please put the money back on my card. God Bless!

    0 Votes
  • De
    dean prater Aug 18, 2009

    cancel my dealings with grant360

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Randy Golightly Aug 13, 2009

    It was understood that It would only cost me $1.95 .My account went into the negitive costing me a $30.00 over draft fee, plus you took $57.95 out.I called with in the 24hr time slot to cancel and talk to your representative and she assured me that it had been canceled.It was not.I want all my moneys returned to me "ALL".this was very wrong.user name722738.I hope i get my money back just as fast as you taken it.Thanks!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Janie Aug 13, 2009

    NEWS FLASH. If you read the terms and agreement, you would know that you DID agree to these charges. Even if the ad was misleading(which it is) you should have read the terms.

    You need to contact your bank and ask that these charges be blocked. If the bank refuses or says they can't, the best bet is to cancel your account and start with a new one. Its hard to get these charges stopped once they start.

    And, go back to the website, go to the link that says 'terms'. probably at bottom of page in very small lettering. Find the 800# and call to cancel the charges. I highly doubt you will get a refund.

    Next time, READ THE TERMS OF SALE, before buying something over the internet and giving a website access to your personal account.

    0 Votes
  • Tw
    Twigg Aug 13, 2009

    I am requesting a refund of all other money over-charged my account except the $1.95 trial I agreed to. These excess charges put my account in the negative.

    0 Votes
  • Tw
    Twigg Aug 12, 2009

    I only authorized $1.95 for trial offer; not the $57+ for a subscription

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    big dray Aug 12, 2009

    I, AUTHORIZED A ONE TIME FEE OF 1.95 TO BE TAKEN OFF MY DEBIT CARD. ON AUGUST THE 11/2009, $47.61 WAS TAKEN OFF MY DEBIT CARD WITH OUT MY AUTHORIZATION. IWANT A FULL REFUND OF 47.61 PLACED BACK ON MY DEBIT CARD.

    0 Votes
  • Sl
    slhead Aug 10, 2009

    Here is the phone # for grants 4 citizens: [protected]! Hope this helps someone. Susan

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    marie meeks Aug 10, 2009

    I was charged for a membership that I do not wish to purchase but it was charged to my account anyways in the amount of $57.61 on 08/10/2009.I only authorized to be charged $1.95 for your service.I want a complete refund of $59.56

    0 Votes
  • Us
    user731907 Aug 10, 2009

    i didn't know money was being taken out of my account until i went to the store and i had no money in there.so would you please put my money back in my account, and cancel my membership i never got anything from it. cancelation 3287487

    0 Votes
  • Us
    user731907 Aug 10, 2009

    need my money back in my account now please. 3287487

    0 Votes
  • Us
    user731907 Aug 10, 2009

    i need my money returned to me.

    0 Votes
  • Us
    user731907 Aug 10, 2009

    I WENT TO GET IN MY ACCOUNT TO GET MONEY OUT AND I FOUND OUT 57.61 WAS TAKEN OUT. I NEED TO GET MY MONEY BACK SO I CAN BUY FOOD AND GAS.I DIDN'T KNOW YOU WERE TAKING IT OUT.SO PLEASE RETURN MY MONEY NOW. I WANT MY MONEY REFUNDED AND MEMBERSHIP CANCELED. THE LADY WAS VERY NICE WHO HELPED ME.

    0 Votes
  • La
    Latisha Buford Aug 05, 2009

    I only wanted the trial offer. My card was charged about $48 and I would like a full refund please. Thank you

    0 Votes
  • La
    lakenya Aug 04, 2009

    please refund my account .my understanding was i would recieve an kit in the mail. i was charged 1.95 for s & h. then my account was credited for 38.21. I want my account recredited for this amount 38.21.

    0 Votes
  • Se
    serio408 Jun 18, 2009

    grant 360 took me for my money! i didnt get any information! they over charged my bank account! I want all money put back on my account!!!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.