Front Range Management, Randy SigleyBad Landlord!

O
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

In the summer of 2007, my wife and I were looking for a cheap apartment
or house close to downtown Colorado Springs. We found a great deal on Craig's list where we could help fix up an old building for cheaper rent at 501 East Kiowa on the Corona St. side of the building. It was the best deal going and we took it. Neighbors warned us about the owner, but we were out of time so we agreed to put in 90 hours for minimum wage off of our rent over 3 months. Everything was great until we told the guy we had put in more than 90 hours and would keep working for cheap rent if he wrote something up. He told us we had 2 days to move out, but I knew he couldn't do that. He repeatedly threatened us with eviction, but we payed our rent so he couldn't do it. It took him a while, but he finally got rid of us by not paying the commonly metered utilities until they got shut off and the city condemned the building. We had to move and sued Randy Sigley, a.k.a. Randolph A. Sigley and Front Range Management in small claims court. He got a lawyer to threaten us with a frivolous lawsuit case if we proceeded, claiming that he doesn't own the building. We went to court anyway and he showed up with a 14 year old carbon copy of a trade name affidavit that he said proves his ex-wife owns the building and that he is a part time employee and filed a counterclaim of the maximum $7, 500, swearing under oath that he isn't the owner. The judge gave us a 30 day continuance to try to find out who owns the place and we found out that week that he has a mortgage on the building in his name. We're looking forward to our next court date. Do not rent from this man. He has illegally locked families out of their units, and illegaly turned off gas and water and removed electric meters so they didn't have electric. I have seen these things with my own eyes. I knew it was bad when a process server showed up and he took off running through an alley while I was holding up a board for him to screw into a fencepost. I wish we had done a lot more research than we did and we will NEVER sign a lease without finding out all we can about the property owner again. Learn from our mistakes, please!

Responses

  • St
    stefan loncar Jan 18, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hey can you guys help, I am dealing with exact problems please help me fight Randy A Sigley at court I moved in Dec 1st and its only Jan 13 he is trying to use the unjust system with me and my family. court is Jan 30th 2018. contact me at [email protected] please

    0 Votes
  • Nu
    Nubz Nov 10, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My landlord went to prison and left his friend to run his property and in a short time this friend and his girlfriend took all rent money and never payed a bill lights and gas and water were gone but my landlord did not care and then the pipes were striped out by my landlord friend and the places got shut down the house I live in was the only one to stay open my landlord ask us to watch the place for him we were stuck their because my boyfriend put the lights in his name the first bill was fourteen hundred and the gas was the small bill but we could not have water only my landlord could fix it and our lease says everything was paid by my landlord well when my landlord came back he was mad at us and say that we should pay for everything and he never went after his friend for what happens then he said get out I sad no he gave us no water for two years and no trash it's not right what he did well he did win in court only because he knew the meadtor and alterd our lease and the three day was for lots 1and 2 I live in lot 5 but he still won and the meadator yelled and treated us like ### I knew something was wrong with the whole thing my landlord smiled the whole time he never once got yelled at and now I'm moving out and he wins I don't get any of this he took water from us and lied in court and won and no lawyer will help us and legal aid say no because of his name i don't know what to do I wish someone would help us this is wrong the hell we are dealing with and move fast and to live without water and he wins my

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    rathaf01 Apr 15, 2009

    I had largely the same experience. He stole about 50 hours of unpaid labor and two months rent from me. I wish you the best of luck.

    1 Votes
  • Ot
    Otis Mar 14, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    So, we had our discovery hearing and I've been busy, so I haven't had a chance to update. It was fun to hand over our evidence, but the judge gave him a lengthy extension because he claimed that he didn't know he'd have to have his subpeonas done by the discovery deadline. And this guy used to be an assistant DA? Anybody that's watched law & Order knows that. Anyway, we got some more info so we should be able to get our new stuff added due to this extension, and when this is done we're going to go to the city council and try to get some kind of slumlord law passed here. Other places have it and it really helps preserve tenants rights. If you have any interest in that aspect, please let us know.

    1 Votes
  • Ke
    kellie711 Jan 05, 2009

    alicia is a nutjob

    she thinks that anyone who cotnacts her is her landlord.

    sad

    and disturbed

    contact me for detials and more

    -1 Votes
  • Al
    Alicia Jan 05, 2009

    I believe Randy is using a different name to fish for information off of these sites. I have a specific name in mind so if you want to know which one to look out for e-mail me.

    1 Votes
  • Ot
    Otis Dec 30, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We are now in the midst of long, drawn out legal proceedings over this, as he countersued for the maximum allowed in county court to get it out of small claims, where he perjured himself. We will update after the Feb. 11th discovery hearing.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.