Encore Marketing/Easy saver rewardsFraudulent Charges

W
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I started receiving charges on my credit card statement in December 2007, initially for $1.95, then for $14.95 every month. I had apparently opted for "free shipping" on something I had purchased over the internet and then without my knowledge or consent had been sold to this "Marketing" company and signed up for a non-existent "service". The "service" auto-renews monthly until you realize your being scamed. I read where many people didn't figure it out for years. A $14.95 charge slips by pretty easily when your paying a thousand plus every month, and these rip-off predators obviously know it. I wonder how that focus group session went...Dispute it! File complaints with the B.B.B. in there state, (Maryland) and call Clark Howard. These people should be charged along with the companies that sell your information.

Responses

  • Do
    DontGoQuietlyButFightBack Jun 29, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    These companies thrive because small reoccuring charges are often overlooked in the cascade of monthly bills. Have you ever heard of a company that doesn't send out offers, run surveys and send additional mailings to their customers? If Companies like Easy Saver were legit they would do this, instead they stay very quiet because the only way they make any money is raking it in before the customer actually discovers they are being billed for nothing every month and cancel it- so they dare not wake up the customer with contact. They also somehow get around the credit card expiring every few years without contacting the customer. I've got an inquiry into that with MasterCard. There fine print says you can't do a class action lawsuit against them but have to arbitrate- I'm not sure that would hold up in court. The best action is probably to contact your states Office of Attorney General and post a complaint against the original company enabling the scam as well as the company involved. If enough people complain the Attorney General will take action.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    hacrat May 16, 2011

    My screwup. I failed to read the fine print after ordering from Haband. I called the 866 number and was quickly removed from the program. Lesson learned.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    dotty1982 Feb 23, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I work for one of the above mentioned companies and can see both sides of the issue. I have worked for the company for 12+ years and it had been a wonderful company to work for up until about 2 years ago when we were purchased by a much larger company called Orchard Brands who by the way owns most of the above mentioned direct marketing companies. We as customer service reps do NOT like making these offers (mainly because people don"t want to take the time to listen and because of their impatience, are often rude) but have no choice if we want to keep our jobs. Good paying jobs are very scarce in my small town. Our rewards program is a good deal IF you take the time to learn how to use it. Unfortunately, because we lead very busy lives most people do not take time to read the program guide that is sent to them so that they find out how to use the program to it's fullest potential. All they hear is the upfront savings offer that is used to entice you to try the program. The script we use to make the offer, makes it very clear that we will "securely forward your account info" and the cust is required to verify twice (once verbally and once by punching in their phone #) that they are aware that unless membership is cancelled the $1.95 trial offer turns into a $14.95 monthly membership fee. We also give Encores toll free # at the end of the call. I honestly do not know how the offer is made for those ordering online. The above process is for telephone orders. On the other hand, as clearly as I try to make it and as slowly as I read the script, I often fear that our elderly customers
    and uneducated customers do not understand fully what is being offered. My husband has worked at his job for 31 years and for the last 2-3 years the company hasn't done well and their workforce has been cut by half, so to quit my job is easier said than done.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marge 2 Feb 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We just discovered that a debit from my bank account for $14.95 had been happening for the past five months, and because we pay almost everything electronically it had gone by unnoticed among the many monthly transactions. When I reached the EasySaver Rewards customer service person today his story kept changing as to what the situation was and what could be done, trying to tell me that I had joined the membership plan last September when I went online and ordered flowers for my daughter's birthday. I explained repeatedly that I never ever sign up for memberships like that online, that I never used the membership, and wanted my money back three times before he finally decided to offer to refund my current month $14.95 and cancel the membership for me, with a "thank you" and attempt to end the conversation. I continued to tell him that was not acceptable and that I wanted the five months refunded. Finally he said he could refund three months only, would credit my bank for $44.85 and to "have a nice day." Before he could hang up on me I continued to demand my five months refund and eventually he transferred me to someone else who tried to talk me into believing that there was nothing they could do because my membership had somehow been signed up for online and they could only help me had I signed up for the membership over the phone. I finally pushed hard enough and long enough regarding how absurd that kind of logic was, and that I wanted my five month refund, and he gave in and said that they would be processing my refund to the same bank account that the monthly payments had been taken from "immediately". I asked for a confirmation number and was told they don't do that. I asked when to expect to see the refund credited, and he didn't know and said that that would be up to my bank. We'll see what happens next, but I'm not holding my breath.

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    ProFlowers cheated me Jan 21, 2011

    We just went through our annual bank statement to prepare our taxes and saw a year worth of ENCORE MKTG fees. I did not sign up for it at any point and like others it must have been through Pro-Flowers. I called the 1800 to get removed from the plan and got my confirmation right away. I just called Amex and got 3 months reimbursed.

    Being curious I went back to pro flowers and did the entire process up to the payment page and nowhere does it mention EasySaver or Encore Marketing anywhere. Total scam right there. I have also notified the BBB of GA of this scam. Good Luck on recovering, we have our attorney working on this so thanks for getting us a mailing address.

    0 Votes
  • To
    too sick to notice Dec 20, 2010

    I ordered flowers for my mother in law from ProFlowers. She had died of Cancer. I was also fighting cancer and unfortunately I clicked on the button to save $15 off my next purchase. I was charged the $1.95 then $14.95 a month for 11 months. I was in the hospital constantly recieving chemotherapy and only glanced at my statements. My daughter would bring me the bills and I would pay them in the hospital. I have to pay over $500.00 every other month out of pocket just for my chemptherapy and am just sick over all the charges. I saw the number but it was the weekend and I immediately cancelled my membership. I went to my bank on a Saturday morning but they said since it was on a debit card they could only recover 2 months and I would have to cancel my credit card and wait 2 weeks for another.
    I just can't believe that I was paying for something that I never recieved any information on. I'm sure this might be a great club but how are we to know if we never recieve anything stating we are in it?
    I should have read any fine print, but I just thought this was a nice jester for a new customer to ProFlowers. I will never order from anyone on-line and I will call and try to get all of my money back from the company so I can put it toward my medical costs.
    Thanks for all the helpful information and I hope I get some or all of my money back. Maybe if I wasnt so sick I would have noticed these charges sooner.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    momontherun Oct 31, 2010

    I was just checking my 86 yr old fathers credit card statement, (I pay his bills from his CC because his memory is not great)and found two different charges one from Encore Marketing United [email protected] $16.95 ( along with an international service fee charge) and another from Easy Saver [protected] $16.95 within 10 days of each other. He likes to send flowers and likes to save money, but often doesn't understand, nor can he read "the fine print" very well. I will be trying to get these charges refunded for him, but have also changed the CC number to prevent future charges. Thanks for all the great help with this info!

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    rippedoffbyezsaver Sep 21, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered NuWave cooker and probably agreed to paying $1 for EZ Saver and EMI* American Leisure. I'm not even sure what I agreed to since I was ordering over the phone and was under the influence of medication due to pneumonia. I'm quite sure I wouldn't have agreed normally, but I did. Now what I am finding is that I am being charged $16.95 per month by Encore Marketing United Kingdo. Don't recall to agreeing to anything with them and last month when the first charge from them hit my credit card, my bank called and e-mailed me to let me know something "suspicious" was being charged to my account. After speaking on and off with them, I thought I had not only blocked them from charging anything to my account again, but I also called EZ Saver and cancelled. Apparently the person I spoke to DID NOT CANCEL MY (whatever it is) and I will have to try calling again. I am hoping I will not have to cancel my credit card and start over with a new one simply because of this SCAM. Such a shame but I won't be ordering anything over the phone any more. I would hope other companies would realize what Encore Marketing is doing to their business. And where is the Better Business Bureau in all of this, OR should this be something the fraud department looks in to?? This seems to be something that is happening to a lot of people across the country. Why isn't something being done to it. Forget buyer beware... people like this get your credit card and go to town... why isn't this fraud of some sort???

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    graphitequill Jul 23, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I did the same today as many of you have. Disputed the charge, then called the EZ Saver program # to remove my membership and request a refund. All were done politely, and they at least listened to my suggestion about taking the charges out of fine print.

    Lesson learned: Always shop local for flowers. (;

    0 Votes
  • Es
    esanfran Jun 21, 2010

    I just realized that I have been charged this $14.95 Red Envelope Rewards Fee over the past 7 months without realizing. When I called the customer service they quickly told me that the charges were from agreeing for the $15 off my next purchase. Then they told me I will be reimbursed for the charges... they agreed so quickly that they obviously are aware that this is unethical and completely unacceptable. I have bought many gifts from Red Envelope over the last 5 years or so and have always been thrilled with their gifts and service. However, I will never shop with them again after this complete disrespect of their customers.

    0 Votes
  • An
    anitaruth Apr 01, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is the response I received in less than 24 hours from Encore marketing to my complaint about charges of $14.95 on my credit card:

    "Your email to Mr. Plotnick has been forwarded for my response.


    First, let me apologize if there was a misunderstanding surrounding this enrollment. At the time you made your last purchase at the Sahalie website you were offered a 30 day trial in the Sahalie Rewards program along with a $15 off coupon toward the next $50 purchase.


    When clicking through the program, you were asked to enter your email address and zip code prior to clicking the accept button.


    I have canceled this membership and can assure you there will be no further billings. I have refunded your account the two charges of $14.95 each along with the $1.95 processing fee. These refunds will be applied back to your card through the processing guidelines of your credit card company.


    If I can be of further service, please do not hesitate to contact me at the phone number below.


    Regards,

    Carole Hunt

    Member Services Director

    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Pamela Hayes Feb 22, 2010

    This scam happened to me after ordering a bathrobe online from Appleseeds.
    After ten months I finally noticed this charge. I called and complained to bot Encore and Appleseeds. I demaned that Encore reimburse the money. I also demanded that Appleseeds stop sending catalogs. I will take this to Maryland's BBB and whoever else will listen. Things cost enough. Why should I give away $14.95 for nothing every month?

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MARISOLISCRUZ Feb 17, 2010

    Today I find that I also being in the tramp. November - $1.95 charge. Dec - february 2010 $14.95. This is fraud. As I understand, by the other coments this was an order that i placed in oriental traiding... I will call them today and will here me.

    0 Votes
  • So
    solo77778888 Feb 11, 2010

    I called Easy Saver / Encore Marketing at [protected] and they have removed my membership and said they would refund the 2months they "subscription" they took from me. I don't believe them and will cancel my credit card just in case.

    NEVER BUY FROM PRO FLOWERS AGAIN!!!

    Makes no sense why a company would do that to earn a few extra cents from a click set up to deceive people.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nanski59 Feb 09, 2010

    Thanks! I noticed the $14.95 charge, as well. At first I thought my husband bought something from "Easy Saver" as he buys a lot of food containers. I finally looked back and saw it for the past four months and it coincided with a Proflowers order. I called the 800# that was on my credit card along with the charge. The lady was happy to help me out wiht this "misunderstanding". She said I should see all charges reversed on my next statement. No more Proflowers for me --since I lot of people seem to have been scammed after placing an order with them. I hate to have to deal with this stuff that should not be happening!!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mad5587 Feb 04, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have only one problem with this company who does business as:
    PLUS PACKAGE AKA
    MEMBER BENEFITS ;
    MEMBERBENEFITSPACKAGE ;
    MEMBERBENEFITSPACKAGE.COM ;
    EASY SAVER ;
    MYEASYSAVER.COM ;
    GIFTPASS ;
    ENCORE MARKETING ;

    My bank, Empire Bank offers a plus package checking account for $6.95 per month. With this account, you are enrolled in this marketing thing called "member benefits" which ARE affiliated with the above titles. (even though they deny it) They offer 20% cash back on certain gift cards from a few merchants. So, I decided to test this out. I specifically wanted to see how long it would be until I received my gift cards. I ordered a 10 dollar card from Shell on Jan 14. Today is Feb 4, and on Feb 1 instead of receiving my gift card that I paid for, I received a letter from them that said that they were "processing" my order, and that I should receive my card in 3 to 4 weeks. So, I thought that was strange that it would take 2 full weeks for them to send me an excuse like that rather then my card, and then have to wait around an additional 3-4 weeks to actually receive the card in the mail.

    Feb 2, I received a catalog from "easy saver" which claims that you will save up to 50% by ordering from them. (of course it did not include my card which I ordered) I looked in their catalog to see if what they say holds any merit, and found that the prices listed in that catalog are just about as high as what you would pay at walmart, but when you add their shipping and "handling" charges, it's much higher.

    So I was wondering why anyone would actually order from them so that they could pay more for the inconvenience of waiting around an indefinate amount of time to receive what you ordered. (or not receive, I just don't know) To this date, I have still not received my Shell card, instead, I have received a plethora of useless things in the mail having nothing to do with what I have actually paid for.

    So, I don't think this plus package is going to work out for me. I'm not going to pay $6.95 each month to be in some program like this.

    0 Votes
  • Go
    GoGEE Feb 02, 2010

    In order to blaim people, that we didn't read the fineprint, the pop-up screen should give the terms and conditions first, so we won't give our Yes and then regreat about it, or find out where did this $1.95 and then the following $14.99 comes from. Your site should be changed and again, the companies that work with this type of marketing should tell their customers before siging in or otherwise they will loose thier customers and trust.

    0 Votes
  • Mc
    MC Consumer Jan 24, 2010

    Itshouldnthavebeen: People are so often victimized by the "clear black and white print" which is impossible to even see. Turn your head around. Stop playing the victim and pursue a more suitable job.

    You chose that job where you were "verbally abused" by angry customers, and I am sure you spent way more time and energy getting that job than someone does clicking through a bunch of pop-ups when buying something online.

    Believe me I know customer service and call center work is terrible but to use your own words, "start taking responsibility for your own actions and be fair." It's not your company's customers' fault that you quit your job!

    Perhaps you should put the blame on your employers' business practices- Do you not realize there is a reason SO MANY people are angry?

    Really- good luck and I hope you can get over this and find fair and gainful employment. Stay out of call centers, I know this from personal experience.

    0 Votes
  • Mc
    MC Consumer Jan 24, 2010

    OK " MajorMe" why are you wasting your time trolling this page in the first place??? Go use your AWESOME CREDIT to buy a boat or something.

    0 Votes
  • No
    Nora N Dec 21, 2009

    Just to put it out there I fell for this scam in April 2009 so it is still going on. I was charged $14.95 for a total of $134.55. Now I am going to try to get my money back.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    rational customer Dec 21, 2009

    I worked at Encore and I left because I graduated not because I couldn't handle the "angry customers". For those of you who want to ask me how I slept at night? I slept in a home that the rent was paid for because I had a job. Do I think Encore tricks people into enrolling...Yes but they’re not the only ones to blame. READ PEOPLE. How dumb do you have to be to say wow this business appreciates me sooo much that they want to give me $15 dollars off my next purchase, For proflowers customers where flowers could be around 30 dollars that would be 50% off. What company can stay in business offering their customers 50% off. When I worked there if you acknowledged that I made a mistake and signed up for this but I want out, I made sure you got all of your money back. I remember asking one person 3 or 4 times are you sure there isn't anything else I could do to make you a more satisfied customer before they finally asked for their money back and I answered with a smile why yes I will be happy to do that. Its you ###s who think that I was scammed your taking my money without my permission I never put in my email address and zip code and clicked the yes button that I didn't give you your money back. People who are write on this site and still say its a fraud makes me side more with the company because they at least recognize the fact that some people may not want the programs that’s why the employees are trained to not fight customers if they want to cancel with a refund give it to them because they don't want to be considered a scam company. Just read the fine print people its no different than the ads on the tv or radio that say their fine print so fast its almost inaudible or put fine print in the area of the screen and in such small print its impossible to read without pausing the tv. Why aren't you people complaining about them. Its sad and I don't mean to sound like an elitist but it was always the uneducated, ghetto, hick sounding people that would call in cussing and screaming fraud. It was the polite educated sounding people that admitted that I made a mistake, I’d like to end the enrollment. When looking at the grammar and spelling of some of you people on this site, makes me believe my theory even more. Oh and by the way for people saying that it is totally a rip off bla bla bla as soon as I quit the company I went out and bought from proflowers so I would get the pop up for the program and enrolled because the program does work for those who READ enough to figure out how to use it. I pay$179.40 a year and use the gift card part of the program to get $5o0 dollars a year just by ordering gift cards. I buy gas gift cards every quarter that last me till the next quarter and get the cash back and set it aside for xmas. I also use some other of the stuff but not as much as the gift cards. So if anyone reads this instead of the rants above make a decision based on your situation and not what these people are saying. If you can use the program you'll love it, but if you won't use it cancel it. It’s that simple.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shopgirlinnv Dec 12, 2009

    Thank you wallyvoo and oginb for the list. My boyfriend also just got scammed by RedEnevelope and they are now on our boycotted list of online merchants. By the way, he's a pretty savvy guy who certainly pays attention, however when you are ordering online from a merchant you know or perceive to be credible and legitimate you absolutely do not expect they will have aligned themselves with an unscrupulous marketing company designed to steal (let's be honest, that's what this is). There is no defense of this practice.

    0 Votes
  • Og
    oginb Nov 17, 2009

    Yes. Appleseeds and The Tog Shop catalogs.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    wallyvoo Nov 09, 2009

    I'd like to put a list together of all firms who admit to doing business with Encore Marketing. I'm not suggesting a boycott, although that's not a bad way to send a message that the deceptive sales practices employed by Encore should not be tolerated.

    Solutions.com
    blair.com
    orientaltrading.com
    proflowers.com
    redenvelope.com
    americanleisure.com

    are there any others that we should be aware of?

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    wallyvoo Nov 09, 2009

    To "Major Me", "Angry CSR" and others who claim that we should know better:

    The URL that pops up after you make a purchase makes this program seem like a legitimate thank you for your purchase, rather than a signup for a program that costs money. For example, Babies R Us, a legitimate retailer, has a FREE loyalty program with benefits, and will often give you a $10 or $20 coupon to use on your next purchase. So, to say that we are idiots for not thinking that a $15 coupon would have strings attached is wrong.

    And, to compare this to a costco membership? Actually, I think it would be a good exercise to compare what you get with a Costco Membership compared to what you get for $180 per year with Encore. Plus, Costco is not afraid to tell you how much you are paying for the membership in advance, after you purchase it, and before it comes up for a renewal. With Encore, the ONLY time you see that there is a fee is on the URL that pops up. There is no mention of the fee anywhere else. In fact, when I called Encore, nobody there could reproduce a copy of the URL where the terms & conditions were.

    I'm guessing their CSR's are probably incentivized to shame you into continuing with the service. "you should have read the terms... it was right there on your computer screen, how could you have missed it? We have lots of people who are GLAD to pay for this service, you must be stupid for not being smart like them."

    And, to the pour soul (itshouldnthavebeen) who said they had to quit their job because they couldn't deal with angry customer calls: Don't you think there is a reason people are upset? Why would you want to work for a company when all of their "customers" are so angry? You should be ashamed of yourself for working for a company that is clearly scamming people for three whole months.

    Finally, to ANGRY CSR who said "if you took this to court, you would be laughed at."

    Go to this website to see the future for Encore:

    http://www.webmarketingsettlement.com/

    1 Votes
  • Wa
    wallyvoo Nov 09, 2009

    I just "signed up" for Solutions Rewards from the solutions.com website. After you make a purchase from this company, a pop up link comes up for a $15 coupon on your next purchase. This seems legitimate, and all you need to do to get the coupon is to re-enter your email address and zip code. I then got an email saying "wecome to solutions rewards." There is a brief description of the "membership" that I "signed up for, " and a link to the website.

    However, nowhere in the email or the website is there a link saying that there is a monthly fee attached to this membership. This alone is misleading, since the price that I paid for my merchandise at Solutions.com was confirmed to me several times when I was paying, and was clearly marked in the email confirmation. I would think that if I actually purchased a membership from a legitimate company, that they would confirm what that price would be.

    If anyone wants to fight encore marketing and their deceptive practices, you'll be glat to know that a similar company, webloyalty.com just settled what might be a multi-million dollar class action lawsuit. The website is:

    http://www.webmarketingsettlement.com

    It looks like Encore Marketing's deceptive practices are identical to this company. The website states "The Defendants asserted that they have dealt with members of the Programs fairly and openly. They denied any wrongdoing and made no admission of liability by agreeing to the Settlement described in the Supplemental Notice. Nonetheless, the Defendants concluded that further conduct of the Litigation would have been protracted and expensive, and that it was desirable that the Litigation be fully and finally settled in the manner and upon the terms and conditions described in the Supplemental Notice. "

    0 Votes
  • Md
    Mdonnelly Nov 04, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wow - this was eye-opening. I just learned that I've had these $14.95 charges on my debit card for the past 3 months. Yeah, shame on me for not combing through my debit statements...but give me a break! To receive no additional communication from a company that's going to start charging you monthly, just from clicking on a link, is preposterous & definitely qualifies as a scam. I'll never buy from Red Envelope again, that's for sure.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maryland News Oct 25, 2009

    to the person that says read the fine print - you are correct; however, in today's electronic purchasing systems do you think that all these complaints from people who use internet to purchase products would happen if Encore provided a clear VERY CLEAR statemnet as bold as the rest you would have all these complaints? This happend to me but I check my statement monthly and caught it first time. Entered key words in Google and found this complaint site in seconds. This validates 100% that the sign up IS NOT appropriate - I am sending this to my friends at 60 mintes to see if they want to make a short spot on it. My advice to Encore is they better review the process and FIX it NOW!

    0 Votes
  • Ny
    nyssahdawn Oct 21, 2009

    Same thing happened to me. I ordered stuff from Oriental Trading Company. My CC was just billed $14.95 and I googled ez saver to try and figure out what it was and this complaint came up. Wonder how they are getting away with this. I called and they said they are going to pay me back. Frustrating.

    0 Votes
  • Yo
    yoefool Oct 08, 2009

    I called the 800 number someone posted above and cancelled it but I also put a watch on my credit card... that's what I get for trying to get $15 off hahaha sucks!!!

    0 Votes
  • Nm
    nmyatkins Oct 08, 2009

    I googled the phone number "[protected]" after requesting information from Chase regarding $14.95 charges to my account. I had not noticed the charges before and since the card was not one I ever made deposits on (as used for Child Support deposits per my ex-husband) I was a little concerned. Chase replied and stated: "With reference to your e-mail, please contact the merchant ‘RED ENVELOPE REWARD’ at the number [protected] for the details regarding what services was obtained and who had authorized the transactions, and request a refund."

    So I called, spoke to a woman named Kylie, asked what the charges were, after giving her my information and she claimed that I signed up for a rewards program - which I never did. (For redenvelope.com) I admitted to her in 2007 I had made a purchase from Red Envelope - a monogrammed jewelry box for a friend, but have not bought anything from them since then. She reviewed my "account" and confirmed my non-existent purchase history and agreed to refund the $14.95 from 24 separate transactions. A total of $ 358.80!!! I was shocked, disappointed in myself for not catching it sooner and quite relieved that she did this. She claimed the money would be in my account within 7-10 days (after confirming whether I had a debit or credit card and not requesting the info, just asking whether I wanted it back on the same card used, to which I said yes).

    Lesson learned for me as well!!

    0 Votes
  • Te
    techmanrd Oct 05, 2009

    I just got charged 16.95 and the money was taken out of my bank. It put me on three overdrafts for something that I am still trying to figure what I am paying for. When I call the telephone number associated with the charge, the automated answer can't find an account with my information. Now I have to file somethig with my bank in order to get my money back and the overdraft charges removed. Who are these people?

    0 Votes
  • Cp
    Cperez21 Oct 02, 2009

    The same thing just happened to me. I did not even realized until now that they have been deducting $14.95 for the last six months. I had to hear from my bank that it was an internet purchase of somekind that automatically signed me up for this. The company refused to tell me which merchant this happened with which is concerning since I do most of my shopping online. I just told them that they need to credit me the six months of charges to my account or I will go to the BBB and Consumer Affairs. We will see if I actually get my credit with in 2 billing cycles. I did get the girls employee Id and confirmation number for future reference.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Patriot Sara Aug 17, 2009

    Thank you, "this is it"

    You gave me the answer I was looking for. I did not know where the $14.95 charge had come from. EasySaver Rewards (aka Encore Marketing) is connected to ProFlowers. I am so relieved that you illuminated the source and that this issue has been resolved and quickly, thanks to your help:

    Here is ProFlowers defending their position:
    Thank you for contacting us. We really appreciate your feedback in the EasySaver Rewards program and I am so sorry for your poor experience. Rest assured, we take your comments seriously, and we are on your side. Let me take a moment to just summarize the program enrollment. After you make a purchase on our site, we offer a $15 coupon. If you click on that coupon you will land on a registration page to join our EasySaver program... If you have not already done so and would like to cancel this membership, feel free to call EasySaver Rewards directly at [protected] and simple instructions will be provided to you to cancel...

    My story:
    I had the charge come through PayPal, so an email alerted me that a charge had been approved. I did not recognize the recipient "EasySaver Rewards, " which obviously read like a scam so I filed a case with PayPal to investigate... especially since I had not made any online purchases this month. PayPal determined the claim to be legitimate (huh?!) and gave me little information outfront. But I did notice the different email account names "[email protected]" vs "[email protected]" Both email addresses came in separate PayPal emails concerning this company and claim. That sent up a RED FLAG! Until I read this page, I had no idea, who could be behind this scam, but I do remember (how could I forget?) using ProFlower.com for the first time a month ago for Mother's Day. By calling the number above, I was able to speak to an EasySaver Rewards representative and cancel my membership. Hopefully, I will not receive any more charges via PayPal, but I will be vigilient for quite some time and I will never turn off the email alerts to my PayPal account. :-0 I will never do business with ProFlowers.com again.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Teri C May 05, 2009

    My husband sent me flowers from ProFlowers. He is not on the computer often and most likely just thought a coupon would be good for the next time. I was appalled when I learned that we are now paying a monthly fee. To the CSR that was on here. Regardless what you say - it's a sneaky practice and the people in that company are making money off of someone else's mistake. That's just wrong.
    I did call the 800 number and my membership cancelled and two months of fees refunded (so I was told). I will not use any of the merchants listed on this site and will do everything I can to make sure none of my friends use them either. In fact, I have sent this post to all of my friends and family. Maybe if these companies see that they are losing business over this practice, they'll discontinue the relationship with the third party sleeze bags. BTW the number I called is [protected] and they were able to pull up my account by my last name and zip code.

    -1 Votes
  • It
    Itshouldnthavebeen Apr 25, 2009

    I worked briefly for a company that handles calls for EMI, Encore marketing. My job only lasted 3 months as I could not handle the callers claiming to be scammed. I personally went on to most of the web sites to see how the "scam" was placed... well it's all there, very clear written in black and white. I personally have never accepted a free or % off anything without reading the print, fine or not it's there. I spent my time taking calls from people who had "unauthorized charges on their account". “This is a scam! This is fraud… People it clearly states the terms and conditions, it's not fraud, it's greed, all you complainers want something for nothing. Everything has a catch, you can't even go to dinner with someone without a catch. I have just terminated my job as I could no longer take the cussing, yelling and even my life threaten from one guy over 1.95. So start taking responsibility for your own actions and be fair when calling to cancel. I was told many times "you took money out of my account". If you saw my account you would know I didn't take anything. It's not the customer support that went into your account, each and everyone of you did it you self! I am now without a job because of the verbal abuse I was subjected to, now I can't pay my bills because you people scream and yell and complain about what you did! Not the customer care people. The benefits can save lots of money, I you were smarter you would actually use them and save money instead of blaming others for your own stupidly and greed!

    0 Votes
  • Le
    LessonLearned Apr 13, 2009

    I ordered from Oriental Trading and upon checkout there was a pop-up that asked if I wanted to save $10-15 on my next purchase. I clicked YES and provided my email address. AND - there was some type of terms and condition that came up - I just clicked it without reading. Honestly I thought it was something to do with Oriental Trading. I have ordered from them in the past and have never had any issues.
    This was totally my fault!
    I called Easy Saver / Encore Marketing at [protected] and they have removed my membership.
    I am in the process of getting a new card number now.
    Lesson learned. This was totally my error! I didn't read the fine print.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    daisytagger Apr 12, 2009

    That this site requires gigantic full registration for the satisfaction of posting is also scary. You aren't safe any where!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    daisytagger Apr 12, 2009

    I ordered a Christmas gift from Red Envelope, which I THOUGHT was a reputable firm.

    That a "membership rewards" program would CHARGE $15 PER MONTH for the pleasure of receiving their junk mail is ###ED. The reason why the scam is working for them is because it is SO OUTRAGEOUS!! Everyone else knows that to build loyalty, you treat your customers well. You don't piss on them. OK fine: I consent to give you my email address, you send me your weekly/daily/whatever promotional offers...Maybe you'll have an interesting headline that lures me in, and you'll score a hit during my next need to shop to for a gift. For my email address and the right to annoy me you give me a $15 credit on my next order. Makes sense. Why would anyone NEED to read fine print? DUH. You DON'T DO THIS TO YOUR CUSTOMERS!! I grew up in my family's retail business, and worked for majors like Macy's. This practice is unheard of, and anathema to building a loyal following. Of COURSE no one is going to check the fine print for this.

    Not only do I have to track down this firm, during their hours, harangue for a refund, and avoid all ecommerce, they've probably already sold my address to some other underbelly phishing scammers. Horrid. Many thanks to poster who published the management list. That will come in handy later.

    Decline of western civilization. Disappointment with human race.

    Red Envelope just lost my business permanently, and I hope I never accidentally order from ProFlowers in a moment of floral generosity. Shudder.

    0 Votes
  • Iz
    Izzy Mae Mar 29, 2009

    Had the same issue after ordering from Blair - they also offered Free Shipping and somehow (must have been in the fine print) I also ended up with charges to Encore Marketing, which when contacted would only credit 2 months of charges. Have also requested to be removed from Blair's customer mailings and will never do business with them again.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.