The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Ebony MagazineRipped off!

December 2007 I received a bill of $12.00 subscription for an order of Ebony Magazine. On January 2008 I then received a Magazine from Ebony. In the bill it doesn't have a telephone number to call or an address to write too. I never ordered that magazine I don't need to order them because I don't read magazine or order any type of magazines. I knew right away it's a scam because there is no number to call or address. The bill didn't look right. I can't even return the magazine because there is no address. So the scammers could sit and wait for my $12.00 but their not getting nothing from me.

I'm going to file a complaint to the Attorney General's Office so they could look into this scam.

Responses

  • Do
    Dorothy Bogard Oct 22, 2018

    My son in-law paid $10.00 by money order for a one year magazine subscription in February of 2017. I have not received one issue and all attempts to reach Ebony have failed.
    It has now been 4 months and all phone numbers listed to Ebony Magazine seem to no longer be in service. My letters to them have also gone unanswered.

    0 Votes
  • Dh
    dhickman004 Oct 21, 2018

    I paid for a subscription in February 2017. It's now August 2017 and I have not received an issue yet. I do not want a refund, I just want my magazines.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Missing prints Sep 21, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have not received a magazine since Fall 2016 but paid up until 2019. I would like to be contacted. My email is [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • De
    Deidra Dicks Sep 19, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have not received a magazine since December 2016 and my subscription ends in 2019. I want a refund for my remaining issues. My email contact is [email protected] Verizon.net

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jamie reott Jan 24, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Had a bill come in the mail for a subscription to Ebony magazine and that i owed them $15.00 and they actually sent me the magazine. So I called [protected] and they were very polite and have had a million calls concerning this rip off.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michel Bird Jan 24, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too received an unsolictied copy and a bill. However, I did the following:

    Went to the ebonyjet.com web site and its contacts page. Right there on the page was a phone number for subscriptions. That number, by the way, is [protected]. I called it and spoke to a very pleasant, polite call center agent, Deborah (could be spelled many ways, I didn't ask). She located my "subscription" and told me that it was now cancelled and that I should ignore the bill and that I owe nothing. That is of course perfectly as it should be, I don't think I ordered it, I don't want it and I am not planning to pay for it.

    It seems pretty straightforward to get off the list - but I agree with the poster - we should never be in this position. Kind of reminiscent of the book club scams of yesteryear. I do plan to send my copy back to the publishers because I don't want it, and don't want the accusation that I "stole" it to be leveled against me.

    Interestingly, I think Yahoo must have been the source for the magazine - because I used my middle name when signing up for Yahoo mail (and that is the only site that I used my middle name/last name combination + home address). So I will be asking Yahoo if they have some kind of relationship. I have done this kind of tracing for years - different combinations of first/last names for things I sign up for, and then see which connections are made. Yes, I probably do have too much time on my hands!

    Anyhow, good luck on getting your subscription canceled too.

    0 Votes
  • Eb
    Ebonyrippedmeoff Jul 14, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Michel Bird I called that number 7/14/17 and a machine told me it is not in service. They owe my library magazines since ending their mailing them to us in October /November 2016. We are subscribed for this magazine to January 2020.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.