Responses

  • Valerie Apr 08, 2008

    After filling the rebate paper work they sent me a card saying they didn't recive my registration card. So I printed out my scanned copy with my registration confirmation number on it and sent it to them. I will probably get my rebate... However it is nothing but B.S. that they didn't receive it!

    0 Votes
  • Ks
    ksumpte1 Nov 10, 2009

    this just happened to me too. Never heard of them and never done business with them. $80!

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    wilwells Dec 14, 2009

    Same thing happened to me for $249.99. DRI*Smith Micro on the PayPal receipt.

    0 Votes
  • Mu
    Mud-H Dec 27, 2009

    The 249.99$ thing happend to me too. It's seem that we commited to buy POSER 8 by Micro Smith after registrating for a free 1 month trial. Once the trial is done, they automatically take money from your paypal account without any warning... I guess there was something in small character somewhere that tell about that dishonest way to force people to buy their products.

    I'm now trying to get back my money, I will give you an update if I was succesful.

    0 Votes
  • Mu
    Mud-H Dec 29, 2009

    UPDATE: I've got my refund with no problem, just email DRI Smith Micro and tell them about the problem.

    0 Votes
  • Pm
    PM81 Jan 16, 2010

    I was charged this morning $287. 49, guess they still havent resolved this issue.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Pascallagesse Jan 21, 2010

    $49, 99 was fraudulously billed on paypal today by DRI*Smith Micro.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    carmentoribio May 29, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    IWS CHARGE #76.96 AND I DIDN T ORDER

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scandens1 Jul 18, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Happened to me too. Their website screwed up so I got charged twice, no less. I called before the trail expired.. well before it expired, actually, and they said they would "send an email". I never got it, and woke up today to $500 being taken from my nearly empty bank account. I called and they actually took action this time and sent emails and such. I'm hoping I will get my refund BEFORE the 5-7 days they said it would take. These guys are crooks and frauds. Don't ever use their software or give them your paypal account!

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Melissa J. Jul 20, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    DRI is in reference to an eCommerce Site called Digital River and usually when these transactions happen, it's due to signing up for 30-Day Free Trials and not contacting Smith Micro directly to cancel the trials.

    It clearly states:

    * NOTE: The free trial version is free for 30 days. A credit card is required. We will verify your credit card is valid and in good standing through a credit card authorization and a "pending transaction" may be noted on your account. If you use a debit card, those funds may not be available to you during the trial period. If you decide to cancel within 30 days, the pending transaction will be canceled within 48-72 hours. If you do not cancel within 30 days, your payment of $XXX.XX will be processed.

    Though because time can zip by so quickly, Smith Micro understands if it is forgotten about they are happy to help by refunding you if you do not wish to keep the product. The contact is:

    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Gl
    Glukimono Jul 25, 2010

    They also charge me today for 57, 49$. I'll try to contact Paypal about this transaction :(

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scandens1 Jul 25, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Melissa-

    I DID call before the 30-day deadline, and was still charged twice! You're a bunch of crooks.

    0 Votes
  • Fu
    fuldek Dec 25, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I too fell victim to the 249.99 charge for the free 30 day trial of Poser 8. In my case, however, I was not given the 30 day free trial. I was immediately charged $258.67 and when I contacted Smith Micro AND Diditalriver about this problem I was charged another 249.99 and then CREDITED the 249.99. This falls into Internet Fraud and will be reported to the FBI!

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    moniquem Mar 17, 2011

    Charged my credit card for no reason at all. Had to cancel my credit card immediately.

    0 Votes
  • Md
    MDocherty Apr 18, 2011

    I have just been charged 249.99 for a trial version of software that I uninstalled within a day of downloading. I am trying to get a refund from Digital River, but they are telling me they cannot do this because it is trial software. Then they suggest I ring a U.S number when I am based in the UK!
    I find this utterly ridiculous and have lodged a complaint with Paypal.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Melissa J. Apr 18, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    When it comes to Smith Micro's Premiere Trials, if you do not contact them before the 30 days is up then the charge is placed. It states it in the disclaimer when signing up for the trial. Though, if you contact Smith Micro Software directly by going to:

    www.smithmicro.com/support

    If you create a new incident and can provide them with some basic information to look up your trial order, they can refund you no problem.

    0 Votes
  • Rs
    RSat Oct 16, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Terrible company

    I downloaded a 30 trial version of STUFFIT and on the same day I requested to cancel my trial.
    One month later, I noticed they withdrew $49.99 from my bank account totally disregarding my cancellation notice that I sent.
    Do not get taken into their scam.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.