The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Credit Union WestFraud

P

There is a new scam aimed at Credit Union West customers. You are asked to call a phone number to confirm your account or reactivate your card.

Responses

  • Sp
    SpunkyOne2 Oct 07, 2009

    Everyone seems to be a target of this fraud. My friends, husband, and I have received several text messages from [email protected] The messages I have received are: Credit Union West has suspended your debit card. To reactivate call [protected]. Another message I just received moments ago states: CU West Alert. Unusual account activity. Call us at [protected]. I am NOT and have NEVER been a customer of CU West nor did I even know this bank existed until I started receiving these bogus texts!

    0 Votes
  • Di
    digg Oct 10, 2009

    i received a text message from [email protected] - "CU WEST Alert. Unusual account activity. call us at [protected]"

    0 Votes
  • Eq
    EQ Oct 10, 2009

    Hello,
    I just got a text msg saying the same thing. After a little research, I reached the conclusion that I should probably tell them something. So I replied with the following text: GO ### YOURSELF. I hope they got the picture. ; )

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Unmasked Avenger Oct 31, 2009

    I got one today, same thing. It said :" From: [email protected] CU.West Alert: Your CARD has been DEACTIVATED. please contact us at [protected] to REACTIVATE your CARD. CB: [protected] Sat. Oct 31, 2:07pm"
    It sounded suspicious to me so I used my card a few hours later and it was fine, that and I'm not a member of that particular credit union, but I wasn't sure until I had a chance to see this online. Somebody please put these a-holes in jail where they belong.

    0 Votes
  • Hc
    h. clarkin Nov 01, 2009

    November 1st, I received The same massages on my home phone answering machine saying that my card was inactive and my account is frozen... The new number is now [protected]. Just shows that any A-hole can buy an 888 number .

    0 Votes
  • Cw
    CWA Nov 20, 2009

    This phone scam is still going on as of TODAY Nov 20, 2009! Beware out there.

    0 Votes
  • Until fifteen minutes ago, when I received the following e-mail message, which bears the (evidently forged) return address "[email protected]", I didn't know that Credit Union West even existed:

    "Dear Member,

    Your CU West Online Services has expired. You must renew it immediately or your account will be closed.
    If you intend to use these services in the future, you must take action at once!

    To continue click here [link: <http://onlineservices-cuwest.com/> ], login to your CU West account and begin the renewal process.

    Thank you for using CU West
    CU West Customer Service Department."

    The domain name "onlineservices-cuwest.com" refers to a Yahoo-hosted site. The return path in the e-mail header is "[email protected]"; zinch.com is a college admissions portal intended to help prospective students and admissions officers find one another. The IP address from which the e-mail originated is 82.165.183.101, which appears to be an American address of indeterminate location hosted by Schlund + Partner AG, an ISP based in Karlsruhe, Germany.

    Note that the legitimate CU West website is hosted by CrystalTech Web Hosting Inc. of Phoenix, Arizona.

    0 Votes
  • 13
    138Michella Dec 02, 2009

    I just got the following text :
    Fr:[email protected]
    CU WEST Alert. [protected]

    I'm not calling it.

    0 Votes
  • DawnB420 Dec 02, 2009

    i keep getting these same text messages about CU West i get about 5 a week. i would like to know how to get the messages to stop

    0 Votes
  • eMiLyXgoRe Dec 16, 2009

    A few months ago i tried having my cell phone network black flag them and they told me
    it wasn't allowing them to block them from sending me txt mssges. Today i recieved my first txt from them in a while. I sent them a "stop" reply and a delivery report came back
    saying that my mssg was rejected...
    this is getting old, quick. Is there seriously no one out there that can stop these ppl?
    I mean that guy "whattheforcedundertakingofcarnalknowledg" He found out some stuff.
    That information has got to help somehow.

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    PricelessOne Dec 19, 2009

    I have recieved numerous text messages from these A-holes and also am getting tired of it. The latest was from a local area code where they don't even have offices! I'd like to know how they get your cell number and retain it so they can send messages over and over even though I have and will never have an account with them!

    0 Votes
  • Db
    dbone12 Feb 05, 2010

    I get these GD text messages all the freaking time. It pisses me off. The most recent one gave a phone number out of Montana. I e-mailed the Montana state attorney general to see if he could do something about shutting it down.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maria Feb 13, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have gotten many of these text messages myself and it is very frustrating and annoying! But they do have me worried because I used to bank with a credit union in Arizona, but that account was closed almost a year ago when I moved to Iowa. Is that where they could've gotten my number? The last few texts I have received have even included part of a card number, for example: [email protected]/ / CU West has limited your 485287xxxxxxx card. Please call: [protected]. Has anyone else's texts included part of a card number like mine?

    0 Votes
  • We
    weasie Feb 16, 2010

    I get text messages from CU-West every day. I am sick of it. I text them STOP but it doesn't stop them. My new messages read "[email protected], Your debit card has been deactivated call [protected]. How can we stop this?

    0 Votes
  • Cu
    CUWscamgotold May 05, 2010

    Credit Union West is a scam. I was a mamber there for YEARS and these types of text messages happen all of the time. It even got to the point where people were calling my unlisted home phone number pretending to moniter my account activity. I think they have dishonest employees. Once I closed my accounts and went to Desert Schools, the fraud stopped. No more calls, no more text! My advice: TAKE YOUR MONEY OUT AND GO ELSEWHERE!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    Phoenix, Arizona May 20, 2010

    A man by the name of Mike Johnson phoned and harassed me stating I have been ignoring their correspondence and that I have won a prize. He stated it was in the amount of 495K and that the US transferred funds to Costa Rica and they would arrive to me in the morning and I would need to show my DL to receive the prize. I have contacted PCH and informed them of the scam. The call back number given to me is [protected].

    0 Votes
  • Ph
    Phoenix, Arizona May 20, 2010

    3 people I know just received calls about the CU West scam.

    0 Votes
  • On
    onegoodsmack May 20, 2010

    Just recieved text message from this same company CU WEST it says to call [protected]. I called the number and the automated service asked to enter my cc # starting with 4852...this is a scam scam scam...I also called Verizon to make them aware this is going on with their company so they can block this via server.

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    drbzonie May 20, 2010

    SMS fraud. The number changes. My version was [protected]. see http://www.kpho.com/money/18574948/detail.html
    Practice safe electronic behavior. Enough said.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Johntodd4866 May 21, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Yesterday (5.21.2010) my wife received a text on her phone that said: "25827 CU West Your card starting with 4852 has been deactivated. Please contact us at 602.314.8288" When I call that number, it was a recording asking for the card number. Sounds like a scam. Given that it has been going on for over a year, some people must be falling for it. Hopefully, some action will be taken to investigate and stop this practice.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    robnav May 22, 2010

    I received this text message on a Business Cell Phone..Although I am a Credit Union West Member, they do not have this cell phone number. Please, Please do not enter any personal information or credit card inforamtion unless you are willing to have your credit card charged up. The Credit Union will never request personal information via text messages or emails. If you are in doubt of the validity of an email or a text message or even a person calling and claiming to be a bank representative. Go to the official bank website and call a person using the valid bank customer service number or using your bank statement customer service number. When addressing callers on the phone, ask them for their name, employee number and extension. Politely hang up (preferrably by slamming the phone as hard as you can)...Then call the customer service number to address the issue.

    On a final note...I am going to make it my personal business to bring these [censor]-bags down.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alisprite May 22, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Today, both myself and my daughter received a text message from 502 saying, " C.U. West Alert: Your card starting with 4852 has been deactivated. Please call us at [protected] to reactivate." This is the second time this has been received by each of us. I won't be calling the number as this scam is similar to one that we received saying Yahoo was cancelling all inactive accounts and ours was one. The only wsy to keep our account active was to type in our username and verify our password, by typing that in, as well. This is how they gain your personal information and commit fraud against you. Please beware!!!

    0 Votes
  • Az
    AZ2OH Jun 01, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My husband just got this text today. The message said "CU~West Alert. Your account starting with 4626 has been placed on hold. Please call [protected]". We actually had to stop and think whether any of our accounts began with those numbers, as we used to live in Arizona and still bank with Arizona Federal CU. I called the number and got a very poor quality automated voice welcoming me to Credit Union West and asking me to enter my 15-digit card number, so I looked up the number and found that it is a Phoenix land line. Looking up Credit Union West led me to this site. So, yet another attempt - it really does look like it's a scam. I hope the words gets out about these people!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Max4200 Mar 22, 2014

    These guys are at it again - March 2014. Received a text message to call 480.993.2805 Important Notification. Thanks previous posters for the heads up.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.