SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

XoomMoney scam

Review updated:

I USED THIS COMPANY SINCE I WANTED TO SEND MONEY TO MY FAMILY IN THE PHILIPPINES FOR THEIR NEW YEAR CELEBRATION. THIS COMPANY PROMISED A FAST, RELIABLE, AND SMART WAY TO SEND MONEY SO I TRIED THEM OUT, NOW, I REALIZE I SHOULD HAVE JUST USED WESTERN UNION. HERE'S THE PROBLEM: DEC. 29 WE USED THEIR WEBSITE TO SEND $250 TO THE PHILIPPINES (= TO PHP 10, 043). THE FOLLOWING DAY, MY SISTER TEXTED US THAT THEY (BANCO DE ORO - XOOM'S RELEASING AFFILIATE) ONLY GAVE HER PHP 6, 300.See the Top 10 Worst Complaints in San Francisco, CA OUR CREDIT CARD HAS ALREADY BEEN CHARGED THE $250 + $14 TRANSACTION FEE + $8 FINANCE CHARGE, AND STILL, MY FAMILY HAS YET TO RECEIVE THE FULL AMOUNT UP TO NOW, AND IT'S ALREADY JAN. 2 IN THE PHILIPPINES. I CALLED THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THEY SAID IT WOULD TAKE 3 BUSINESS DAYS TO CLEAR THIS, WHICH IS BULL CRAP BECAUSE THEY ALREADY HAVE MY MONEY AND THAT MONEY WAS MEANT FOR MY FAMILY TO CELEBRATE THE HOLIDAYS. I ASKED TO TALK TO A SUPERVISOR BUT THE AGENT SAID HE/SHE WAS OUT OF THE BUILDING.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ka
      Jan 07, 2009
    Xoom - BAIT AND SWITCH - BAD SERVICE
    XOOM
    California
    United States
    xoom.com

    THIS COMPNAY USES BAIT AND SWITCH TACTICS PLUS DELAYS PAYMENTS. AND ALSO WILL STILL TAKE MONEY OUT OF YOUR ACCOUNT EVEN IF YOU CANCEL A TRANSFER AND CLOSE YOUR ACCOUNT. THESE PEOPLE ARE NOTHING LESS THAN SCAM ARTIST HOLDING ON TO YOUR MONEY FOR A PERIOD TO GET INTEREST OFF IT.
    BAIT AND SWITCH, PROMISE A TRANSFER IN MINUTES BUT AT THE END OF THE TRANSACTION THEN STATE 4 OR 5 DAYS.

    DO NOT GIVE THESES PEOPLE ACCESS TO YOUR CREDIT CARDS OR CHECKING ACCOUNT.

    0 Votes
  • Be
      Apr 23, 2009

    Sent money to a merchant in China but Xoom cancelled the transaction and won't tell me if they will refund my money. I sent it through PayPay so maybe they can pry the money out from their crooked little fingers. Stay away from Xoom unless tou want to watch your money go boom!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      May 25, 2009
    Xoom - xoom
    1212 Park Dr
    North Carolina
    United States
    Phone: 252-633-xxxx

    I have been using Xoom for sometime now and until my last transaction I have been pretty well pleased with them. My last transaction, I decided not to do the transaction and asked that it be stopped and have my monies sent back to me. I filled out necessary info form and was told that as soon as the partner in other country was notified the transaction would be done. I guess they put it off so long that the money was picked up 5 days later, got notice of that but was never given any notice on my refund. I just makes no sense to me that when we send money, it is there ready for pick up in 10 mins yet when we want it back it takes an act of congress. I guess they think we are stupid and they dont understand that we know all it takes is a couple of buttons pushed on a computer keyboard to make the transaction happen. Even tho it is more expensive, I will use someone else from this point on. R Smith

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      Aug 28, 2009
    Xoom - Money never made it to my family
    XOOM
    United States

    I have been using them for a while until i made the mistake of using them last week to send money to someone in hnduras.
    i recieved an e-mail saying that it was ready for pick up when i called the lady that rents the house in honduras for my mom she said the money wasnt there.
    the next day i contacted them and they said to me that it was imposible that the money had to be there, i called honduras and the lady went tot he bank like 10 times trying to get the money and she was kicking my mom out of the house.
    until the money was recieved i took manners on my own hand and i contacted the back where they said the money was suppose to be picked up.
    the tracking number they had send to me was fake and the money was there since monday i got chareged late fees for paying the house rent late in honduras.

    REALLY REALLY REALLY BAD.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
      Sep 09, 2009

    Totally agree. XOOM took my money after informed me about the cancellation, after 10 days, the money is still in their hands. We should sue this company and shut it down

    0 Votes
  • Lu
      Sep 19, 2009
    Xoom - MOney never delivered
    xoom
    United States

    I would like to complaint about your poor service since this is not the first time happened . First it was done with me and secondly same mishap happened with my wife account
    You did simple : you withdrawn the money from our bank account or credit cards them you never ever transferred that money nor deposited on the beneficiary . There are a respective message in our signed up pages : transaction cancelled - fine but : Where is our money ??? you must put the money back in our account !!!

    Ref X061874236177036
    X [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Je
      Oct 22, 2009

    I just sent 100 euros from a paypal account to a bank account in france Xoom concelled th etransaction for security reason but did not refunfd the money they say they have to keep it for security reason
    this is unbelievable if they cancel why they don't refund ? They were supposed to call of course they did not, they just keep the money and invest it i guess... Scammers...

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Jan 29, 2010
    Xoom - Rip-off / Incompetence
    Xoom
    California
    United States

    Xoom has horrible customer-service. They are unreliable. They charge high service fees and hide most of it with terrible foreign currency conversion rates. More importantly, when they have problems, they blame other parties in the transaction (Paypal). Then, their customer service representatives misrepresent the truth, and fail to deliver what they promise. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES. You will regret it.

    0 Votes
  • Gl
      Feb 17, 2010
    Xoom - WILL NOT RETURN MY MONEY
    PRIATE
    Arizona
    United States

    I SENT MONEY WITH XOOM, DID NOT REACH ITS DESTINATION, NOW THEY SAY THEY ARE RETURNING IT, BUT THAT IS 2 MONTHS AGO.
    THESE PEOPLE SHOULD BE ARRESTED FOR FRAUD, THEY ARE THIEVES, i DONT KNOW WHAT TO DO, THE FUNDS THEY SAY HAVE BEEN SENT BUT I NEVER SEE THEM.
    TO ANYONE OUT THERE PLEASE DO NOT USE THESE PEOPLE, THEY ARE DISHONEST LIE AND STEAL.

    0 Votes
  • Th
      Apr 13, 2010

    i can not agree more - read my comment under 'Xoom horrible service' if you would like to find out how xoom destroyed my credit rating with all the major money transfer companies online without any satisfactory explanation or reason - yes they are totally incompetent and their customer service surely must rate as one of the worst you will ever encounter anywhere! AVOID XOOM at all costs!

    0 Votes
  • Vl
      Jun 23, 2010
    Xoom - Took my money
    Xoom
    Georgia
    United States
    xoom.com

    This company is the worse in the market. They playme around with my own money. ESTA COMPANIA ES DE LO PEOR. ESTAN TRABAJANDO TU DINERO Y EL MIO DEMORANDOLO EL TIEMPO QUE LES DA LA GANA. ES UNA SERVICIO AL CLIENTE PESIMO. SON UNOS LADRONES DE MIERDA. EL DUENO ES UN HISPANO Y SU NOMBRE ES JORGE GARCIA SU TELEFONO ES [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Vi
      Jul 08, 2010

    i should have read this thread before having my transaction in xoom... i try to send money for my loved one for a birthday occassion. but xoom account cancel it, but they did charge me on my credit card on that same hour i click it. ... yes ! they charge me 3 times!.. i call the customer service, they give rationales that are not reasonable. they send me emails like we will help u expedite this problem, blah blah... oh! they stole my money.. so watch out u guys. they are professional, to the point they can steal ur money like wat they did to me..

    0 Votes
  • Xo
      Mar 15, 2012
    Xoom - Xoom bad currency rates
    Xoom
    Missouri
    United States

    For Dollar to Indian currency, Xoom provides a rate of 60 ps less for a dollar than a Yahoo finance rate. This rate is only true when the rate goes down. If the rate goes up, this difference is more. Xoom does not update its currency conversion rates when the rate goes up, but is quick to update several times a day when the rate goes down.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Jul 01, 2012
    Xoom - descrimination due to age
    xoom
    Georgia
    United States

    My mother (70 years old) tried to send $25 dollars to her grand child in Colombia as a bday present. She called her grand child and wished her a happy bday and advised her that her present was send via xoom and will be deposited in her mother's bank account. Then she received an email the next day asking to fax a copy of her passport, id card, driver license, to continue with the transaction. I called the non-customer service and asked why they want a copy of the documents above, when me and my wife never been asked to do it. The rude lady told me that she need to verified her ID just because with no further explanaition...well xoom lost three customers and hope lot of people stop sending money using this company. Dollar express pay more pesos for your dollars and we will use them in the future.

    0 Votes
  • Th
      Jul 03, 2012

    So what makes you think all this happened due to your mother's age? Please explain that terrible accusation.

    0 Votes
  • Xl
      Jul 06, 2013
    Xoom - No Truth
    xoom
    United States

    They claim 6 hours rush delivery in Metro Manila, it's now been 18 hours and 4 calls to customer service have netted a BIG ZERO. When asked where or who the partner company is they don't know. Phone number no clue. They communicate by email only but of course they have o send the mail. One was sent 7 hours ago to which they have not responded. It 5:30pm on Saturday. Want to guess if that money will make it too it's destination before Monday evening? Of course it can be canceled once the Philippine Partner company approves---but that also has to go thru email that no one returns. What a joke! I've XOOM in the past and had issues with about 1/2 the transactions, anywhere from them canceling it up too not enough cash on hand at several pick up spots. Stopped using them all together 6 months ago, how stupid of me to give them another chance. I guess they are fine for the $50 sender, but for several thousand go else where. BTW calling there customer service people, VERY PAINFUL experience.

    0 Votes

Post your comment