Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Window World - Odessa, Florida / being stood up three times and yelled at!

77% 30
On May 3, 2006 I had my windows replaced in my home by Window World, Odessa, Florida. After installation, I noticed two "scratches" on the inside of two of my sashes. When I called the company to let them know, Linda told me that this can sometimes happen, and they would order new sashes, which would take about 10 days. They said they would call and schedule a time to come out after the new sashes were in. I waited 14 days and then called, since I had not heard back. During that time I noticed that the caulking job was inferior and needed that to be redone. Finally I was scheduled an appointment or someone to come out on 06/08/2006. Well, no one showed. I got a call stating that they had ran behind in the first job of the day and would need to reschedule.

I understand things can happen, so the next appointment was made for the last week of June at 8:30, assuring me a first appointment of the day. Well, once again I waited and no one showed. I get a call for a need to reschedule. I felt, okay, I will give them three times without getting mad or upset. Things can happen.

My third appointment was for 07/11 and again no one showed. This time I decided to take it up with the corporate office, as this is just a franchise and the parent company should be able to resolve this. Well, a couple of days later I received a call from Linda again, stating that someone could come out on 07/15 at 9:00. I asked how was I to be sure that someone would be there, as I was to be the first appointment one other time and no one showed. She just glossed over that. She started trying to explain that maybe it had rained after my windows were installed and that is why the caulk failed. I said that they were installed in May and it did not rain here until June. After I said that, Linda screamed through the phone to me, "I AM NOT GOING TO ARGUE WITH YOU, ANGELA".

Infuriated, I hung up and called the corporate office and brought them up to date on the situation. They said that they would contact Linda to make sure that this would be done. They said that it is a franchise and basically, they have no control over them.

I could not believe that after spending over $8000 for windows and being stood up three times and being yelled at, I still received no apology from anyone. I would never recommend this company to anyone. They may talk a good game, but when it comes down to it, they do not deliver. As for that lifetime guarantee. Good luck. I am sure that I will never get anyone out to do anymore work if I need it.


Sort by: UpDate | Rating
A  24th of May, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Wow, this sounds so much like my experience I thought I was reading my own thoughts!

Shotty work-terrible product and no customer service.

Fayetteville, North Carolina
N  20th of Jun, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I think, I have to change my mind on picking windows world.

Joel Bergenfeild, NJ.
A  24th of Sep, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I would not recommend Window World to anyone. Very poor Product and workmanship. Will report to the BBB. I wish I would have researched better beforehand.
A  28th of Sep, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Very poor customer service ! It took 12 weeks for a promised 6 week delivery to happen, then another 4 weeks to get mailed a receipt for the work. Have been waiting 2 weeks for a service man to contact me . He did call and say " I'll call ya right back !" I'm still waiting.
I have contacted the owner of the business ( no response ) and have been in contact with the NYS Attorney Generals office.
This outfit seems like a bunch of gypsys operating out of a wagon ! STAY AWAY!
D  10th of Dec, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
In response to Angela's complaint:.....Please keep in mind that there is always two sides to every story.

Here is ours. Angela's windows were purchased on 3/21/06, her custom windows manufactured and then installed 27 working days later on 5/3/06. A building permit was issued by the county she lives in, and a code enforcement inspector was called to inspect the project. He signed off and approved the project. Angela, signed a completion certificate stating that she was satisfied with her windows and sliding patio doors. She further stated that the workmanship of the installers was satisfactory and that they were very courteous. So satisisfied that she would recommend us to her friends.
It is true that the next day 5/4/06 after installation, she called stating that she had discovered scratches in two of her sashes. Linda stated that it would take about 10-14 working days to recieve the replacement custom sashes. Linda ordered the sashes the same day 5/4/06. With that order date that would put her sashes in our shop on or about 5/25/06. I might add that we do not control manufacturing, transportation, etc.. Now, on 5/18/06 Angela called very upset, wanting to know where her sashes were, and then informed Linda that we had cheap windows, that the caulk was bad, and just would not let Linda get a word in, and was very aggitated and demeaning toward our company. Linda attempted to re- explain to her that the sashes had not arrived yet, it has only been 11 working days. When Linda saw that a proper conversation could not be conducted, she did make the statement that she was not going to argue with her over this, the conversation was then ended.
At no time did Linda scream at our customer. We did in fact replace her sashes, and re-caulked a couple of windows where the caulk had shrunk

Window World of Odessa, respects and values each and everyone of our customers, sometimes misunderstandings happen, simply, civil communications will normally work things out.
Angela was mailed a Thank You card for her business, she was also given her LIFETIME warranties, that are backed not only by Window World but also the manufacturer. If she ever needs service under her warranties, she only needs to call us. Labor, Vinyl and Mech parts, Seal Failure, Glass breakage are all free and guaranteed for LIFE. Window World of West Florida/ Odessa is commited to Customer Service. ( SIMPLY THE BEST FOR LESS)
Dan Ackerman, Owner
N  22nd of Dec, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree -1 Votes
Most window manufacturers do not cover minor scratches to the glass unless it is tempered, as these scratches can cause the glass to break. Minor cosmetic scratches are not usually covered because they pose no safety risk & are not considered a defect. I have installed windows from at least 10 different window manufacturers and have yet to see one that did not have a disclaimer about cosmetic scratches in non- tempered glass.
D  1st of Dec, 2008 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Window world did a my windows in my house and did a fantastic job. They also did my roof. Also did a great job.
A  3rd of Mar, 2009 by 
Agree Disagree +1 Votes
Window World looks good but infact is not at all. As a former employee I know how it works. To begin with you should not tell customers delievery days before you even place the order with AMI. There is a lifetime warrenty intact with these windows but unless you cause a fuss you will most likey not get you problems taken care of, even tho it cost the company nothing to order these replacment parts. But the worst part is the false advertisment, 189.00 for a window installed, there is no such window in existence(sold by window world.) Certifide Installers?
My husband installed windows for 3 yrs for window world and was never certifide or trained. They lie alot which is why they were dropped from the BBB. DO NOT BUY WINDOWS FROM WINDOW WORLD. I am commiting myself to exposing them for what they are, it will never be done without the help of everyone who has been done wrong by this company.
N  29th of Mar, 2009 by 
Agree Disagree +1 Votes
window world is just a very dirty company to deal with. they claim oh it happens to 1 out of every 10 customers or its only a very few ppl who have these problems...but truth is its not just a few ppl its ALOT! and its not just isolated to one location or store its happening in ALL their stores/franchises. from my own experience in dealing with their window world chantilly store i can assure you their service overall is really bad. perception is reality and the fact of the matter is this shouldnt be happening, not to ANY customer even ONE because that person could be you. and if you deal with these guys youre probably next. and the really sad part is that they dont care if youre having a problem cuz they fail to address any of your needs or concerns instead they get rude, defensive and outright confrontational, just read the previous comments above. its a commom theme and their dirty laundry list goes on and on horrible customer service, they dont return calls, work is shabby and poor, install crews are illegals, extra charges, delay and errors, leaky windows, the list just goes on
N  25th of Aug, 2009 by 
Agree Disagree +1 Votes
I am going through the same thing with my local Window World. My installation has been going on for 4 months, in that time, the company knocked a hole in my siding, got caulk all over the inside of my house, and have done shoty work. I would say STAY AWAY!!! from Window World. Corporate office is of no help. Maybe I will have my job completed before the new year.
A  14th of May, 2011 by 
Agree Disagree +1 Votes
I am currently deployed in the Middle East and unfortunately my wife was alone with our two children while this company's "Certified" installers worked more like unskilled meth-heads.
First, the contractors they hired (which I was told the Window World did not use contractors and had a full time payroll crew) removed all of the windows of my home by shattering them INTO the house with only a cloth placed behind the window to catch the debris; this allowed shards of glass to scatter throughout rooms and eventually become embedded into the carpet which later cut my wife when she missed cleaning up some near our toilet!
They very sloppily threw the old windows into the back of their truck causing glass shards to drop and scatter all over the road when they left; which the neighbors complained to my wife and she had to sweep up later that night after the children went to sleep.
They left their caulking gun and a tube of caulk in my 5 year old daughter’s bed.
Then after their horrible remove/install experience it took days for them to fix one of their leaky windows, the main technician Mike came out to caulk the window which didn’t fix the problem so they sent out the contractors, Jim and Justin, and they has to reseal with a different caulk... they said the caulk didn’t seal properly. Of course we were placed into the waiting queue of other customers and was told that they were busy and we would have our problem addressed when they could get around to it as they had other installs to attend to (although they did come out first thing in the morning which was outstanding on their behalf!).
The sliding glass door was installed crooked and Mike had fixed by performing an adjustment of the rollers I believe. Now the sliding glass door is leaking even worse than the window did. Window World is closed for the weekend so my wife will have to bear the storm trying her best to keep the water from flooding our home…Thanks Window World!
Even though I was not there to witness the install, my neighbor is a licensed contractor and he informed me that he was watching the install in horror, saying that they looked like a bunch of amateurs and he couldn’t believe the methods they had used to remove the windows (shattering INTO the home) and how much of a mess was made when they left. Also, during the permit inspection the county inspector said he was only checking for anchoring, but told my wife that she should definitely have them come back out and fix it because it didn’t look good*
I wonder if I can pay another company to come out and fix my windows and have Window World foot the bill since they have been a major regret ever since the sales pitch was over and the install had begun. The salesman was very friendly and was great, although he did say that Window World had its own installers that were licensed, drug tested, and were employed by Window World which simply was not the case. My wife even asked the installers main technician and he said that he doesn’t drug test his guys. This is either a case of an uneducated salesman, a lying salesman, or perhaps a lying contractor. Either was my trust with this company is gone!
N  4th of Sep, 2011 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Wondering about the Good Housekeeping Seal of approval for WindowWorld. How did they earn that and do such shoddy work? Have them coming to give a quote this week. Yikes!

Post your Comment

Window World Logo Window World
Customer Service
118 Shaver St.
North Wilkesboro
North Carolina
United States - 28659
+1 800 639 8946
+1 336 667 9100
View Full Information

Reply to