The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Wickes Furniture / Never order furniture from this store!

1 United States Review updated:

Here is list and description of what we have experienced. Some of this is in a letter sent to the customer service department, we have never heard back from it.

Attn: Customer Service, Adam (Manager)

I am contacting you in regards to the merchandise purchased in your Ontario branch Wickes. Now upon receiving the furniture. I have the following problems that should have been addressed.

1st- the 2-piece glass and chrome cocktail table purchased on 5/9/06 has the following problems with it. First, the chrome support for the table has had extra holes punched in it, that were obvious construction errors to place screw or bolt holes. The chrome base also reflects some shipping damage of being dented.

2nd- the 2 piece sofa table we order arriving with cracked glass. This was immediately refused, but however I was yet to be contacted about its replacement.

3rd- the chairs for the tables arrived with dents in the legs from shipping.

In addition, I have following issues to be addressed about the service I have received from your department.
1st- the delivery men, were unwilling to wait for the furniture to be unpackaged and examined. They spoke at length about it being unnecessary to check the items now and said that any issues would easily be handled by customer service with no worries. As such they nearly demanded the paper be signed to the to shipment being committed. Their actions were unprofessional and have since led to further complications.

2nd- when attempting to contact your customer service department. we were greeted with rude treatment and again an unprofessional nature by your employees. It was here on the 17th of May the delivery date we left our first message to be contacted by you. We were told we would contacted in the morning and have yet to receive a phone call for this message.
3rd- I called and left a message with a customer service supervisor on the 18th to please be contacted by you, again I have yet to hear back from this message.

4th- On the 22nd of May I contacted your customer service department in regards to my non-returned phone calls and to inquire as to when I may be receiving the piece of glass for my 2-piece sofa table that arrived damaged, since no one had to inform my as to when my merchandise would be replaced. Again receiving less than courteous customer service, I again left a message for you and was assured that you would be calling me back no later than 48 hours. Here I was informed that my glass piece would take now till June 27th, over 40 days to receive, rendering the part left with me useless for well over a month.

5th- On 24th of May I again contacted customer service because my phone call request had now gone unanswered for the 3rd time. Again you were unavailable to be spoken with over the phone. Now this will make the 4th attempt to make connection with you. This letter is to inform you in writing of unsatisfactory level of customer service of the delivery men, your customer service representatives and finally yourself in addressing a customers concerns. I will be mailing this letter to the corporate office as well. I do expect a response in writing and by phone at [protected].

We were never contacted in regards to this issue.

In addition, we have had the following further issues with delivery, on July 1st when our glass was scheduled to be delivered they never showed up after changing tour delivery time from 8am to 12 to 2pm to 6pm. The glass finally showed up for our sofa table two days later, and it was broken. We had to get the second piece the delivery man had that was supposed to go to someone else.

Next, on July 15, 2006 when our damaged coffee table was schedule be replaced and delivered, we only received the glass. They had misplaced their records of the other half needed replacement, so as of now it will be another two weeks till this may be resolved.

Joe

Jo
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

Br
  23rd of Mar, 2007
0 Votes

3/17/07 - My boyfriend and I have recently purchased theater seating from Wikes Furniture. We entered the store in Maple Grove. The sales associate assisted us in finding what we were looking for. Upon making the purchase the associate messed up the order and requested us to relax and walk around the store until her error had been resolved. After 15 minutes I found our associate helping another customer purchase their furniture. I proceeded to walk back to the customer service desk where I asked what the status was of the change. The customer service representative replied, "Oh! I'm sorry, I haven't started it yet!" We proceeded to walk out of the store.

03/18/07 - I spoke with the manager in regards to the issues we had and she apologized and assured me that everything would be handled correctly from that point on out. We re-entered the store and re-looked at our desired purchase. We told the sales associate the amount of space we had to work with and she measured and said that the selection of four chairs with a single wedge would fit. We placed the order.

03/21/07 - Our furniture arrived and the movers put two dings in our walls. The four chairs that were order do not fit in our room. I called the manager of the Maple Grove location and she said there was nothing she could do and that I would have to call customer service. In calling customer service the representative her response was, "Well, at this moment there is nothing I can do for you. You signed for the furniture." Yes we did, ONLY because the sales associate measured and swore the furniture would fit!

I WARN ANYONE WHO IS LOOKING FOR FURNITURE ... NEVER, EVER BUY FROM WIKES! YOU WILL REGRET IT!

Ma
  1st of Apr, 2007
0 Votes

I purchased a complete livingroom set from Wickes Furniture at 3240 W. Toughy Ave. Lincolnwood, Illinois 60645, on 1-31-06 that totaled $2,911.44. When this furniture was delivered to my home I had noticed and questioned the delivery persons regarding the unstable back of the Laf Lseat item # 17-46686. I was instructed at that time that I should "push it up against a wall" to keep it stable. As the year went on I noticed that other parts of the furniture were giving away. The rocker recliner # 17-46707 started making squeaking noises as well as the tacks that held the fabric to the chair were falling out. The last straw was in the beginning of March when I noticed while cleaning under the cushions that a piece of the wood (frame) had cracked. I contact customer service and had a scheduled service call. The gentlemen that came out to repair the furniture decided to glue the frame of the couch back together. He stated that it was a manufactures defect and that there was a knot in the wood leading to it giving away.

Please keep in mind that the furniture is no more stable now than it was prior to their repair man entering my home. After several calls to customer service (3-22-07, 3-24-07,3-27-07)Judy had given me the option of picking out a new set for the set that I have is no longer available for an even exchange.

I went into Wickes Furniture on Friday, 3-30-07 to pick out my furniture. I was instructed at that time that I am not getting the full amount that I paid for the furniture. A Sales Rep by the name of GiGi called customer Service to find out exactly what I was entitled to. After going back and forth with customer service at least 5 times. The amount went from $1,120.00 to a little over $1,600.00 to almost $2,001.00 then back down to a final total of $1,857.68.

I know exactly what I paid for my furniture. My livingroom couches cost me a little over $1,200.00, my end table and coffee table package was a total of $375, if that (which I am keeping and do not expect that monies credited) and my rocker was $599.99. Dealing with customer service and their listed "going rate" of the items right now varies greatly from what I paid for the table set a year and 2 months ago. It really doesn't help when their store reps sit there and giggle and carry on over the phone with the customer service reps regarding your account while WE,the customer stands there for nearly 2 hours waiting to find out what they are entitled to.

I am NOT completely happy with this total they are giving me to pick out furniture but at this point I'm extremely frustrated and in dire need of furniture that is safe enough for my family to sit on. I decide to go into Wickes on 3-31-07 and pick out a new set. I spent well over an hour and half looking at the furniture before picking out something suitable. I get to the counter and was informed that I have to now pay taxes on this furniture although I am out $1,053.76 from their company on my first purchase. I'm told that I'm getting my fabric protector cost refunded and delivery cost waived but that doesn't total over a grand. Even after adding in that 3 year extended warranty (which I know is non-refundable) we are still not near a grand.

So in essence they are telling me that the $1,053.76 price difference from what they are giving me as an exchange from what I originally paid is rental fees for a year and 2 months of furniture from their company that was defective from the time you delivered it to my home. To add insult to injury they are now insisting that I pay over $300.00 in taxes for you to deliver another set of furniture that could possibly end up to be as equally defective.

The furniture they sold me and delivered to my home was of bad quality from the moment it left THEIR warehouse and found it's way through my doors via THEIR delivery persons. This being stated by THEIR repair man. All I want is an equal monetary exchange of furniture.

I am currently stuck with furniture that my children and company can't even sit on. I have a rocker that is falling apart and I have gone from a livingroom set that can seat 7 to half of a couch and a majority of my family sitting on the floor. This is not what I would expect for the price I paid for furnishings from a well known furniture company.

Buyer beware; the warranty isn't worth the paper it's printed on. The only people in the store that know anything are the sales reps for they know how to smoothe talk you into purchasing this extended 3 year warranty and suck an additional $300 plus out of you. This warranty ONLY insures that they will give you nothing but a hard time when it comes time to use it.

Keep in mind, you can purchase an awful lot of wood glue, nails and screws for the price they charge you for the warranty...

Ja
  6th of Jun, 2007
0 Votes

I just heard a commercial on tv Wickes furniture is closing. Must sell all. I looked them up and found you. I don't believe commercials like that. They will just move to a different name.

Fr
  20th of Nov, 2007
0 Votes

On 11/11/2007 we purchased over $5000.00 dollars worth of furniture from a wicks store in the city of Torrance Ca. Originally when we placed the order we made specific instructions for our furniture to be delivered in 2 different dates. The reason for this was because there was an L shaped couch that we bought with out verifying the measurements, The sales Rep (Mario Ventura), made it clear that we could call back in two days and cancel that piece for a full refund. Two days passed after the purchase and guess what? All my furniture arrived, My mother was home at the time and was told by the Rude delivery men that they already had unloaded the furniture and that she had to sign for it, My mother did. When I got home I saw that the pieces were too big. I then called Mario (Sales Rep) who said he would take care of it. I never heard back from him, I then called customer service (who by the way are the rudest people on this planet), and explained my situation they said they recognized that a mistake was made and that they would return the couches but that they would have to charge a 20% restocking fee. I became very upset and called the store manager at that store (Darla), She tried to contact customer service but I guess in their company structure customer service has more pull than their store managers. Now Im stuck with a 20% restocking fee or couches that do not fit. I wish I would have read this article prior to shopping there. NEVER EVER BUY AT WICKS! those people above me are right you will REGRET IT!

Pa
  4th of Jan, 2008
0 Votes

NEVER F-IN order from this store... ALL the stories you've heard are TRUE. I am the newest victim of this worst customer service store in the world. After you make a payment, they have you by the balls. I had a new bed set delivered that was in poor condition, chiped paint, cracks, and stains tha wouldnt come out. I called customer service regarding this matter, called the store, NO ONE wants anything to do with this. Pretty much i am screwed. DO NOT PURCHASE anything from this store... THEY need to be OUT OF BUSINESS!

Ge
  11th of Jan, 2008
0 Votes

I had a night mare for the last year and half trying to resolve credit for returned item with Wickes, I DON'T EVEN RECOMEND WINDOW SHOPPING AT WICKES!!

Ja
  8th of Feb, 2008
0 Votes

Poor customer service and delayed furniture delivery. Stay away from them!

Kr
  5th of Mar, 2008
0 Votes

Half of the furniture in my house is from Wickes. I am VERY satisfied with it. While it is unfortunate when people receive damaged items, the store should take care of these issues immediately, so for those people who have dealt with rude, unhelpful, customer service reps, they have a right to complain. Those people who order furniture without measuring their space properly however, that is their problem! I made that mistake once, with an L shaped couch for my basement, from Wickes. The delivery men couldn't get it down the stairs and offered to take it back to their store. I new it would fit if the legs were removed, which they couldn't manage to unscrew, so I told them I would keep it. They told me I had thirty days to change my mind. My husband was able to remove the legs, after lecturing me about measuring furniture properly, and we got the sectional downstairs, thankfully. ALWAYS MEASURE DOORWAYS AND STAIRWAYS FIRST BEFORE PURCHASING FURNITURE! THAT IS THE CONSUMERS RESPONSIBILITY!

Ji
  8th of Mar, 2008
0 Votes

Thank you, I found your comments insightful. I am in need of a bedroom set and was going to go to a recently opened, soon to be closed store to see what was available. If their customer service was bad before the bankruptcy, I can only imagine what it will be like now. I agree that measuring the items is the buyer’s responsibility, but difficulties with delivery and returning goods is the responsibility of the store. Based on your comments, there is enough evidence that it would be in my best interest to shop elsewhere. Thank you all for helping me avoid what could have been a costly mistake.

Me
  9th of Mar, 2008
0 Votes

I agree, these people are probably going out of business because of the way they treated their customers. People who were working at Wickes (Niles, IL) on Saturday, March 08, 2008, are nothing more than thieves. I bought a bookcase and after the transaction was complete I realized they scheduled for me to pick the merchandise on a Sunday and the paper with the directions they gave me to the warehouse does not have hours for Sunday. When I questioned the customer service manager she told me she couldn't help me. I then questioned the sales rep and she told me she was done with me. When I asked her how she could be so negligent, she told me to "go to hell". My last resort was to complain to the floor manager about the customer service manager and sales rep's behavior and he said "I'm sure it goes both ways". How can they get away with this? Shame on them for the lack of customer care they are exhibiting, I understand they are all loosing their jobs, but does this give them a reason to be so useless and inconsiderate? Who can we complain to about the behavior of the employees working at Wickes?

Ki
  9th of Mar, 2008
0 Votes

Took a friend who just moved to the Las Vegas area to buy furniture from Wicks in January 2008. They told him that his furniture would be delivered by Febuary 2, 2008. The called him just before that and told him that it would be delivered by March 8, 2008. The furniture never arrived, he then called and asked whats the mishap. They then told him the company went into bankruptcy and he would not be recieving his furniture nor his money back. NEVER BUY FROM THIS COMPANY.

Je
  18th of Mar, 2008
0 Votes

No wonder they are going out of business!

We used the one in Las Vegas on N. Decatur, the salesman could not have been ruder. The piece we wanted, an ottoman, was on the cover of their weekly ad. He absolutely insisted they had nothing like this in their store, he looked for it, couldn't find it. We proceeded to walk around and found it ourselves. Luckily we picked it up 2 weeks later and did not have to deal w/ their crappy delivery times. I recommend Ashley and RC Willey over these guys, never had problems w/ them!

Lu
  21st of Mar, 2008
0 Votes

I am so glad I saw I saw this, I saw a 5 piece bedroom set and was ready to buy it this week. Thank you for saving me the hassle of return or dealing with custumer service.

Ch
  24th of Mar, 2008
0 Votes

Just wanted to comment because I noticed someone suggested Ashley as a better choice. Three years ago I purchased a 3-piece microfiber set from Ashley. It is used to simply decorate an unused room, and has been used less than ten times total. The rocker/recliner has made the most awful sounds and rocks with a wobble, we noticed this almost immediately. The loveseat (after 2 years) made a loud noise and the cushions popped up. The inner springs had bowed like a rainbow. My husband tried to push it back down, and the entire couch fell through to the floor! After checking into the warranty, we found Ashley would pay a % of the cost to fix, but we had to first pay to ship the couch (both ways) to some factory in a different state. Needless to say, my husband took apart the couch himself. He said one little plastic piece was responsible for holding up the innersprings. When the plastic piece broke, so did the couch. Keep in mind though, this happened without people ever using the couch! Read reviews and research furniture brands so you're aware of exactly how the piece is put together. That's how I came across this sight. I'm looking at (used) theater style seating from Wickes made by Franklin. When I went to Franklin online, I was very impressed at what goes into making their furniture. It sure sounds better than Ashley. If anyone has bought something similar from Wickes, I'd love to hear what you think of it. (Not the customer service, just the furniture.)

Su
  28th of Mar, 2008
0 Votes

My boyfriend bought a beautiful shelving unit for his den back in November '07. He paid for it ahead of time, and was assured it would be delivered on December 5th. The store called and apologized profusely for having to change that date to December 16th. When my boyfriend called to make sure the delivery was on schedule, he was told that the merchandise still hadn't showed up at the store (Palmdale, Calif.), and they would have to reschedule the delivery in January. My boyfriend said he was no longer interested in purchasing the piece due to all the problems, and asked for a refund. Of course, now they are going out of business (which I think they knew even before the end of 2007). They will not refund him his purchase price, which is thievery as far as we are concerned. I don't think they ever had ANY intentions of having those pieces in for delivery. I think they are liars!!!

Me
  4th of Apr, 2008
0 Votes

This store is just going to open up under another name next year, and the execs. will continue to screw the public. Here is a great article behind the history of the CEO of Wickes http://corporateabuse.net/2008/04/want-the-history-behind-wickes-criminal-minds/

T
  20th of Apr, 2008
0 Votes

THIS IS THE BEST STORE EVER!!! WE HAVE BOUGTH ALL OUR FURNITURE FROM THIS STORE AND WOULD HAVE NEVER GONE ANYWHERE ELSE. THEY ALWAYS HAD A GREAT SELECTION OF ITEMS THAT WERE ALSO GREAT QUALITY. THE ITEM ALWAYS CAME ON TIME.PLUS THE ONE IN CHICAGO LAND HAD SOME OF THE BEST SALES PEOPLE AROUND.MY FAMILY AND I ARE SO SAD TO SEE IT GO.

Ka
  13th of May, 2008
0 Votes

I have an admission..I sold for them I did the best i could i drove business referred family and friends...sold 400, 000 dollars worth of furniture. I was making great money and loved it. i went to the doctor one day and found out that a minor health issue was now major. I needed to pull out money from my disability insurance plan i had so smartly invested in...So I got print outs from my wonderful doctor who said in bold big letters life threatening condition!! Surgery needed and needed immediately. So I brought the print outs to my management. I filed paperwork to plan for my surgery and one week after submitting paperwork December 12th, 2007 I receive a layoff slip from penny some one who was just under the CEO.. it said I had done nothing wrong rather i was eligible for rehire. i was confused i was one of th best sales people..an over achiever a hard worker and was nice to everyone...and then it sunk in they did not wish to pay for me to be unemployed and or have a life threatening surgery and pay out my 600, 000 life insurance plan to my mother whom was my beneficiary..If i was unemployed i was the states problem...I made them 400, 000 dollars and they dumped me like trash. I decided to file a lawsuit and what do you know they file for bankruptcy and stiff me my commission and everything...I quit a great job because these people brainwashed me into thinking that i would make 60 thousand a year and i was on my way and ppoooooffff...I have a life threatening tumor and am plagued with headaches loss of vision and cannot pay for medical am not eligible for medical assistance, just 178 dollars a week in unemployment which runs out in 6 weeks I have no health coverage at all. I am trying to find work but have been unsuccessful.

Ki
  2nd of Jun, 2008
0 Votes

WE BOUGHT FURNITURE FROM WICKS IN SEPTEMBER OF 06', THEY DELIVERED A COUCH THAT HAS TWO SECTIONS AND A RECLINER THAT WAS TO BE MICROFIBER. THE COUCH'S AND RECLINER WERE TWO DIFFERENT MATERIALS. THE ADJUSTERS THEY SENT OUT TO REVIEW AND TAKE PICTURES OF THE FURNITURE, SAID THAT WE WERE ABSOLUTELY CORRECT AND WOULD HAVE NEW ONES SENT, THEY DESCRIBED THE RECLINER AND HALF OF THE COUCH THAT THEY REFER TO AS THE WEDGE, WERE ELEPHANT SKIN AND THE OTHER SECTION OF THE COUCH WAS MICROFIBER. THEY WAIVED THE DELIVERY FEES DUE TO THERE ERROR AND UPON THE SECOND DELIVERY WHICH WAS SUPPOSED TO BE THE CORRECT COUCH, WAS ONCE AGAIN THE WRONG ONE. WE HAD IT SENT BACK, THEY SENT OUT MORE ADJUSTERS WHO SAID THE SAME THING AND AFTER NUMEROUS OCCATIONS THEY NEVER RETURNED, NEVER RETURNED CALLS OR HELP US. WE FOUND OUT AFTER CALLING AND CALLING THAT THEY WERE GOING OUT OF BUSINESS. NOW WE ARE STUCK WITH FURNITURE THAT WE DONT WANT. DUE TO THE POOR SERVICE WE DO NOT WANT THE WHOLE PACKAGE "DEAL" THAT WE SUPPOSIBLY GOT. WE NOW HAVE THE FINANCIAL COMPANY CALLING CONSTANTLY THREATING TO SEND THIS MATTER TO THE CREDIT BUREAU, WHICH WE ACCIDENTLY MADE A PAYMENT TO, WHICH WE ARE IN THE PROCESS OF TRYING TO GET REVERSED. I DO NOT>>> ADVISE ANYONE>>>>>> TO EVER>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM WICKS FURNITURE.

Ti
  20th of Jun, 2008
0 Votes

Okay. My parents bought my husband and I a love seat & sofa from Wickes in November 2007. It is now June 2008 and my husband the other day just sat on our sofa and we heard a huge crack from the seating board...I am trying to get a hold of someone becuase we have a three year garentee, but with the banckrupcy all the numbers on my reciept are disconected.

Does anyone know how I can get a hold of someone to help me with this problem? I am moving to Colorado next month and I really want this issue to be settled before than.

Thank you very much,
Tina

Post your comment