The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Why Not Lease It / they rip off people

NJ, United States Review updated:

It's just a reap off, customer service has very bad attitude, you end up paying more than triple the value of the item you lease. I did it once and when i tried to buy out the furniture it was as if i was just going to the store and i had to pay almost full price (I had already made all my payments) i end it up paying $1000 for a $500 piece of furniture. Never again!!! Beware of why not lease it!!!

La
Feb 26, 2013
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Jp
      23rd of Apr, 2013

    terrible, rude customer service, they misrepresent their company to lure customer, make sure read the contract, scratch that, would advice anyone to stay away from this company, you would end up paying triple the price of item

    +2 Votes
  • Ko
      4th of Feb, 2019

    @jpridgett I am completely with you on this!!! Kmart completely deceived people by not explaining their terms on the lease it program, after sitting here for hours trying to figure out how the hell I am still making payments on a 500.00 purchase and then seeing the remaining payments owed, they are getting away with charging people over thousands of dollars on an initial purchase of 500.00!!! This is ridiculous, and further more I believe they are doing this for their own personal gain due to their bankruptcy bull [censored]!!! We could have paid alot less at a rent to own company... They were completely deceiving and I truly do believe we should all file a Lawsuit against them!!! Taking advantage of people that cannot out right afford the things we need in the first place. Paying over $1000.00 more than the actual cost of the items... :(

    0 Votes
  • No
      24th of May, 2013

    I agree that the customer service could't be better but as far as value... if you pay your scheduled payments on time (like I did) there is NO WAY a $500 lease will cost you $1000.00, I think I paid $760 and owned the product in 6 months. Sure I paid $260 above the %$500 but hey... I was in a pinch and they had the BEST program! And by the way $1000 on $500 would be double NOT triple the cost.

    +7 Votes
  • Ho
      9th of Nov, 2013

    The first person was right I made my payments on time every month for 5 months and my purchase price was a little over $500.00 and end up paying triple for it. At end of the of my 5 months I buyout was $330.00.So I ending paying over 800.00 for a $500 purchase. And I'm like you never again will I purchase any thing from them again I would go 90 days same as cash first.A little more down, but it you know when it will be paid off and not paying triple.

    +5 Votes
  • Be
      18th of Nov, 2013

    I understand by using a company such as Why Not Lease It, I was going to pay more for the merchandise than when I could purchase it for if I bought it outright...That being said, I made all of my payments on time and made final "buy-out" payment. Four weeks later, Why Not Lease It debited my bank account three different times within two days for a total amount of $320.81. After calling Why Not Lease It numerous times and being on hold a minimum of 30 minutes each time to speak with someone, I was then transferred from Customer Service to Billing back to Customer Service and back to Billing. No one could tell me why my bank account was debited. The only explanation I was given was that I must have missed payments somewhere. I attempted to explain that no payments had ever been missed and that the final amount paid was the buy-out amount. The Billing Supervisor by the name of Bill, was rude and kept talking over me. I patiently waited for him to quit speaking and requested that he allow me to fully explain my sitation and Bill told me he was not required to listen to me and that I did not know what I was talking about. Bill then disconnected the call. I immediately went to my bank, filled out dispute forms for the most recent debits and had my card cancelled and a new one issued. Please be weary of Why Not Lease It...STAY AWAY. Find alternative options or save your money and wait.

    +11 Votes
  • Ta
      3rd of Feb, 2017

    @Bellablue This is the same thing that happened to me...I was told that I didn't have enough in the bank to cover my bill... So they charged me the current bill due. I was charged for a bill that I had already payed the week prior. I was them charged a late fee and when I desputed insufficient funds idea with actual documentation, they hung up on me and charged my card the late fee anyway...In a matter of 3 weeks, I had four separate charges and I was only suppose to make payments once every two weeks. I suggest people save their money if possible and buy it cash...

    +1 Votes
  • Ed
      20th of Dec, 2013

    I am reading the complaints and I am like, how can I take some of them seriously when I see statements like, THEY
    "REAP" PEOPLE OFF!" REALLY, people? The word you are looking for is "RIP", but the minute you say something, people get offended and shout, "WELL, I KNOW WHAT I MEANT!" That being said, I am VERY LEERY of your complaint! I am currently researching all I can about this program before I decide to engage in it.

    +3 Votes
  • No
      28th of Dec, 2016

    @edovesdesigns They really do rip you off. I am a school teacher and my spelling is excellent! DO NOT LEASE FROM THEM!!!

    +1 Votes
  • Jo
      26th of May, 2017

    @edovesdesigns I found out about Why Not Lease It because someone used my personal information to lease furniture in A different state than my home address and Why Not Lease It opened account with them without being suspicious about the person and after I sent in Affidavits and police reports the collections department acted like I was responsible for the account because it was in my name even though I wasn't the one that opened the account and then they sold account to another company instead of closing it out and charging it off and I had to send affidavits and police reports to new company I didn't even know of Why Not Lease It until this happened

    +1 Votes
  • Mi
      17th of Jan, 2014

    WhyNotLeaseIt, operating Under The Sears Name is a FRAUD. SHAME ON SEARS FOR TAKING ADVANTAGE OF YOUNG CONSUMERS WITH NO CREDIT. MISLEADING INFO. AND MISLEADING SALES REP'S.

    +1 Votes
  • Ps
      11th of Mar, 2014

    I used WNLI to purchase a new riding mower in June 2013. The original lease amount was $1100. Although I couldn't pay the buyout amount at the time I contacted them and told them I wanted to return the mower as per the lease language so that I wouldn't end up paying $3300 over 18 months. They very quickly offered me a buyout of $397.30 in two payments, February and March, which I accepted. I contacted WNLI after the final payment March 10, 2014 via email and received a response stating the contract had been satisfied and I would receive a confirmation letter of payoff within 30 days. Unless they attempt any further account debits, I had a very good experience with them. I ended up paying about $1600 total which is high but no higher than using one of the rent to own places to purchase tv's, furniture, etc. This is the actual email response I received from WNLI; You are correct. The payment set for 3/10 will be your final payment. Once that payment clears the account will be satisfied and no further payments will run. You will receive a letter stating you have completed your lease within 30 days from the final payment. If you have any further questions please let us know.
    Thank you,
    Customer Service

    +14 Votes
  • Th
      12th of Mar, 2014

    Personally I just wanted to buy a tv for $320 at Sears and I had the cash for it, but they let me know about the lease and it made me think "oh I can use this opportunity to build my credit!" So the guy explained to me that there were 5 payments and one last bigger one. Well I kept paying and that last one came and they just kept on charging and charging my account after that. I've now payed $946.91 pretty much TRIPLE the amount of the original price. They called me and told me that I had one last payment just last month after I complained and they JUST charged it AGAIN today. Please do not use Why Not Lease It! I know you probably won't listen to me but they are still charging my account today.. I'm starting to think about sueing the damn company. I found out that theyre new also, just established in 2009. They're going to end pretty early. Beware guys!

    +2 Votes
  • Ta
      2nd of Apr, 2014

    I bought furniture that was $600-$700 through wnli in December 2012 and I am still paying for it. I've paid almost triple the amount with a buyout of $253. I really didn't check my account because on the contract it states the last payment which would have been February 2014 but I'm still being charged. My advice... stay away.

    +3 Votes
  • Ri
      19th of May, 2014

    I don't understand how this company is allowed to rip people off, and get by with it. They are charging over 100% and getting by with it.
    WHY CAN THEY AND A LIMIT IS SIT ON CREDIT CARDS, AND LOANS.

    +1 Votes
  • Sc
      20th of Jul, 2014

    My husband and I bought 2 flat screen tvs in November 2013 through the why not lease it program. We made our first payment at kmart then agreed to make payments of 111.00 for 4 months. So we called today as I noticed they took another payment out and have been for 6 extra months. We contacted them, they were very rude on the phone. I told them that they over charged our account by 777.00. Her response was in order to close the account we need to pay a buy out of 218.00. I told her great, *PHP Spellcheck Trial* can keep the 218.00 out of the 777.00 *PHP Spellcheck Trial* owe me, she said sorry it doesn't work like that, we don't owe *PHP Spellcheck Trial* any money and we will continue to take the 111.00 until the 218.00 is paid. This is a huge scam! Do not use why not lease it.

    +2 Votes
  • Re
      27th of Aug, 2014
    Best Best Advice

    I think it is important for people to understand the way something works before they get involved in it. The main problemi see here which is leading to most of the complaints is people not understanding how the program works before they signed up for it. I think that the customer has to take some responsibility for not making sure they understood everything about how the program works before they got involved in it. First off if you sign up for payments every 28 days you make the first one in the store and then Why not lease it will debit your account for the remaining payment. After the fifth payment is debited from your account YOU have to contact Why not lease it and tell them you want to buyout the lease and they will give you the buyout price. YOu have to other options, return the merchandise or continue making the payments if you do not want to buyout the lease. I think some of you just assumed that after five months they will just stop taking payments out of your account which is not true. you have to contact them and let them know you want to buyout the lease or return the merchandise or they are going to keep taking money out of your account. I know that the sales associates probably should do a better job explaining this but the customer should also take the responsibility to make sure they understand how something works before they agree to it. I work for a retailer that uses this programs and try to make sure all the customers i help understands how it works before they agree to it but other co workers don't do a good job explaining it. A good example of how it works is if you lease merchandise that comes to $300 after taxes and you choose payments every 28 days, your payments will probably be around 50 of which you would make the first payment in store and the remaining four payments will be taken out of your account every 28 days. After the last payment is taken out you would have paid $250 with a balance of $50. I you want to buyout the lease you have to contact them after the last or fifth payment has been made and they will give you the buyout price which will be the $50 balance plus their lease premium fee which is about 40% of the total lease price, in case that would be 40% of $300 which is $120 so the total buyout amount should be $170 and the total amount you would have paid the merchandise after you make the buy payment will be $420 which is 40% more than the price of the merchandise.

    +14 Votes
  • No
      28th of Dec, 2016

    @retailworker05 Obviously, you work for the company. Thank you for your explanation AFTER THE FACT! All that you have written needs to be explained BEFORE signing the agreement not written on the receipt once you have paid for your purchase. The retail stores that use this leasing company know they rip people off. This is why they have a disclaimer that resolves them of any culpability in this SCAM!

    -1 Votes
  • To
      11th of Apr, 2017

    @retailworker05 That is not what is being said at time of purchase, and it would be in the best interest of the company when selling merchandise such as lease option to buy to explain. I as a professional immediately would think there is poor training skills and management, and your customers should not have to pay that prices of confusion. I think all of who have been misinformed and have dealt with the same issues through Wynot Leasing are intelligent individuals and should be respected as so. If you are employed through Wynot Leasing you should be asking your self if it's worth the lies to scam another individual based on misinformed information one employee may be saying and another employee may recognized it's incorrect. That is when you as a person with Knowledge on your organization should jump in. Clearly with all these negative and bad experiences you should see there is a big problem with the contractual explanation and it's not being appropriately explain. Bad service is scammed service.

    +2 Votes
  • No
      15th of Oct, 2014

    Some people need to mind their own business. If you are looking for peoples opinions that is what they are giving you. Most people on this post feel the same way, so regardless of the price of the item the overall outcome is that the WNLI program is a fraud. This program lures people in and has hidden fees that are not disclosed, the customer service sucks and your better off going with Rent a canter or Aarons.

    +3 Votes
  • Ch
      13th of Nov, 2014

    Retailworker05 makes a great point. Understanding what you are getting into makes a huge difference. I used WNLI after my Plasma TV quit back in April 2014. Needed a TV for the living room, but couldn't afford to just drop $600-$700 right on the spot. I looked at Aarons and Rent-A-Center (RAC) first. Anyone who says you are better off with them is off their rocker. On top of an exorbitant mark-up of the retail price of the item, you are going to pay about a 100% administrative fee. Basically, at Aarons and RAC, a new 50" LED HDTV was going to cost me over $3000 because they were marking the retail value of the merchandise up to at least $1200 and then tacking on an $1800 leasing fee. My monthly payment would have been about $160 through Aarons or RAC. RAC was going to hook me up really good though with a special deal...a $900 USED TV that would have also ended up costing about $2500 when all was said and done.
    I remembered seeing something about a leasing program at K-mart when we were doing the 2013 Christmas shopping, so the wife and I went to check it out. Retailworker05 nailed it on the head. Using WNLI I bought a brand new Toshiba 50" LED HDTV that was marked down from $750 to a sale price of $550 ($590 after tax). I opted for the 28 day payments, so my payments came to around $89, the first of which I paid in-store that day to secure the merchandise. Took my brand new TV home with me that day. May, June, July, and August payments were made followed by a buyout in September at $298 which I knew was coming, so I had time to squirrel away $$$. So, all told, I basically paid non-sale price for the TV at about $745. Is this still a bit of a high mark-up? Yeah...probably. But only about $50 more than I would have paid putting it on an 18% credit card (which I can't get) and paying minimum payments for 24 months. Is lay-away better? Maybe. I would have only paid the sale price of $550, but I would have been paying about $275 a month to fulfill a 8 week lay-away pay-off, and I wouldn't have had my TV until it was paid off.
    Simple fact of the matter is when you agree to this program, you are going to get a lease agreement with it. READ IT!!! There is some very important information, but no hidden fees. The lease agreement will tell you exactly when you can opt for the buy-out, and how much it will be. You need to understand that some of the burden rests with you. After the minimum 5 month term, you must call them and schedule the buy-out. If you don't, the monthly payment continues for 18 months, after which you must return the merchandise or buy out the lease. I was treated very courteously when I had to call Customer service because an ID theft issue made it impossible for me to make my scheduled payment until I secured a new Debit Card. They rescheduled my payment no problem, and even extended it out a bit just to make sure nothing would happen that might cause me to get hit with the $25 declined payment fee. Sometimes you reap what you sow, and hostility may be met with hostility. These Customer Service Reps probably deal with 1000's of people yelling at them everyday. Being an a-hole on your call may be the straw that breaks the camel's back.
    I've already contacted customer service and gotten approval for my next lease to get my PS4.
    This was nothing but a great experience for me.

    +11 Votes
  • Ea
      20th of Dec, 2014

    I went to buy cigarettes Friday morning and my card was declined. Turns out wnli hit my account 2 times not once EARLY Friday morning, like 3ish early cause I work at 5am. Its my last check before christmas and they screwed my bank account up so bad and I now have no money for Christmas shopping. I also agree that customer service is totally nasty! I didn't lose my cool at all to get crap but I give what I get...WATCH OUT FOR THESE GUYS...RUN AWAY AND FAST WITHOUT LOOKING BACK!!!

    +1 Votes
  • Su
      3rd of Jan, 2015

    Criminals. Org. dryer cost $418.00 with tax. Paid all terms bi weekly for 5 months = $525.00.Our buy out at that time was $226.00. Now the collection co. wants double that for a buy out and say we've missed $655 in payments! Stopped making payments and had to change bank card. Their "contract" is NOT clear and the Sears people have no clue how this company works! Shame on Sears Holding Company. Now this is in collection for $1200.00!!! You read that right. The collection company finally sent us a real contract, in which we never read or signed. NO INFO ON INTEREST RATES. just fees. They are trying to charge us the full 18months of payments which would have been close to $1200.00, wHO IN THEIR right mind would pay $1200 for a $525 pur.? I've contacting the BBB, but they can't do much. The contract the collection co. sent was totally different then the one we got at Sears. Plus someone needs to look into why Sears in not giving out store credit cards but pushing WhyNotLease it loans! Its a scam. Now i have to deal with Northland group the worst of the worst ran by LVNV Funding! Oh Boy, thanks Sears. CRIMINALS, SCAM

    0 Votes
  • Te
      13th of Jan, 2015

    The worst company ever.in the store they say one thing and they say somthing different. We bought a couch for 2, 300.60 and so far we paid allmost 4, 000 for a couch that is not even leather!!! So we called today asking to put the extra money that they took and they still saying that we still need to pay 400.00 to finish and im not paying it. Do not trust this company .

    -2 Votes
  • As
      4th of Apr, 2015
    WHY NOT LEASE IT - You got to understand
    Why not lease it
    Irvington
    United States

    You got to understand why not lease it is a loaner to people with bad credit if the program is explained right to you you will be done paying by 6 months with fee of 45% of the amount it's a great program if you in need and you call to do your payout

    +7 Votes
  • Ab
      17th of Apr, 2015

    Why not lease it is the biggest scam in American History, I have truly learned my lesson and just want to warn people about this program. I bought a 1000 dollar tv from sears, had to make 10 payments of 98 dollars before I could buy out the product. They then wanted to charge me 660 to buy out the tv...why you ask..'because they have to make money'. Thats exactly what the customer service rep had told me. Im young and I made a huge mistake with this one, I had just graduated spent all my cash on furniture and rent/security deposit. That alone cost me over 5, 000 dollars so I didnt have the money for a tv and I just wanted to get something ASAP, which now I regret. The reason I say they are a scam is because they are charging you over the allowable limit in interest, even though they say they arent charging you interest...but if you arent charging me interest how the [censored] do I owe you 660 dollars when the tv cost 1189 after tax. I warn all of you not to do this, if you cant afford it save up or use a credit card, if this is your only option be prepared to pay 10000 dollars for 500-600 dollars worth of stuff or more...Im thankful i got a really good tech job after college and my last payment will be at the end of the month since i decide to pay off the 660 in two installments so they took 323 on top the 98 dollar payment today. BE CAREFUL AND DONT DO THIS UNLESS ABSOLUTELY NECESSARY, SEARS AND KMART are complete [censored]

    -4 Votes
  • An
      24th of Apr, 2015

    DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE!!! Like everybody else here I have had nothing but trouble with this and because of it will not shop at Kmart ever again because of it. If I knew my $700 TV would end up costing me $1600 I would have just used Layaway!!! Not only do you have this rediculous last payment, but they charged me $300 just for using it!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ni
      21st of May, 2015

    Wooooww, thanks so much for these reviews. I WILL NOT BE GIVING THIS COMPANY MY BUSINESS!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ly
      8th of Jul, 2015

    This is a pure scam and I'm sure the few good comments here are from the actual company.

    +1 Votes
  • Lu
      22nd of Jul, 2015

    Rip off this company is terrible I bought a bedroom set I paid 1809 then had to paid a buy out fee of 754 the sales lady in the store told me after 6 months bedroom set would be mines and I had to do no more payments well I was shocked when the 7th month came and they took another 258 from my account I was furious sales representative were rude this company is a fraud I only used them because I had a house fired and I needed something quick someone should sue there pants off

    +2 Votes
  • Lu
      22nd of Jul, 2015

    This company is the worse stay away you paid double for your items like I did the sales clerk tells you one thing and it's not correct I paid 1900 for furniture with a buy out fee of 825 I paid double saved your money and buy it in cash this company is terrible how they still in business I don't know but they need to be sued like rent a center for scheming poor people out of there hard earn money shame on you

    0 Votes
  • Je
      23rd of Jul, 2015

    These people are very rude. Now I thought this was the right program for me. I was wrong back in oct 2014 I purchased a leather couch and table, which they been taking 89.32 every two weeks not missing a beat. I ask for one favor and they could not help me. I'm paying triple for the furniture as I am still till this day. The payment to buy out is over 532.00 dollars. these people don't work with you at all even if you been loyal with your payment. something need to be done about this company and them ripping off consumer. Let's contact the better business buera. People lets expose WHYNOTLEASEIT> they are scam artist.

    +1 Votes
  • Ju
      31st of Jul, 2015

    7/31/2015 I have been calling this WNLI since may concerning items I purchased in September, 2014 and November, 2014 which have been returned. The September purchase was returned in November, 2014 and the November purchase returned in April, 2015. I have giving the claim and UPS tracking numbers and they are still taking money out of my account for items I don't have. I have been on hold today since 11:49 it is now 12:10pm est and I still on hold. I am so very upset with Kmart because they sponsored this company and not during any thing to resolve the matter. I have read all the complaints on line why haven't the Better Business Buera done something to this company this is crazy. I am going to close out my bank account today. Oh, by the way Kmart has given gifts cards for the returned items.

    0 Votes
  • Bu
      3rd of Aug, 2015

    It is a rip off. I leased an X Box 360 for 8 months and returned the item just as I was instructed to do so. They sent me a FedEx shipping label to return it. I confirmed they received it by the tracking number and they took another payment out of my account. I called them and their customer service is terrible. They told me there was nothing they could do about it. You call this good business practice? I reported this to the BBB. I tried to call their recovery people and the phone numbers are not good now.

    0 Votes
  • Ej
      21st of Aug, 2015

    I was approved for WNLI last year and purchased a washer, dryer and TV for my son and the customer service was questionable but they were dealing with questionable people and I can somewhat understand their frustration. I could not buy a washer and dryer straight out but after the car went out and I was asking people for rides, and walking with clothes and wash stuff to the laundromat or hanging clothes up around the house only not to be dry when I put them on. NOT FUN! So this was a blessing. All you have to do is read the contract and DON'T DO IT if you don't agree with it. It's all there. I am in my second lease with them. I did not use my complete balance last time or this time but will be going back soon to do so. Only thing I am frustrated with recently with them is their web site has been down for some time now. Please WNLI get that back up ASAP. I check the web site often. No I do not work for them.

    +2 Votes
  • Ja
      23rd of Aug, 2015

    This program is intended for folks with no credit/bad credit and cannot pay cash right now. It is a LEASING program and not a lending or financing program. It means you agree to pay this company to lend you the item(s). You agree to have WNLI buy the item from the store and lend it to you for personal use via its leasing fee. You agree that that term is for 5 months. You also agree to contact them before the end of the lease term of 5 months to set up 1) a lease buy out, 2) continue leasing or borrowing the item for the lease amount, or 3) return the item and part ways.

    So hear is my experience...

    I bought a TV through their program at SEARS and it cost me initial payment of $249.18 and $370 additional, but I took my new TV home same day. I made 3 additional monthly payments of $249.18 and knew that my 90 day Early Buy Out OPTION was approaching and decided to call customer service. Within 3 minutes I was connected to live CSR and asked about the Early Buy Out amount on the Web Site and if it was correct. The Early Buy Out amount was $647.87 and I asked if I would be done with the Lease and if I out right owned my TV if I paid this amount. CSR assured me that was correct. Being in a better place financially I agreed to pay the $647.87 and the CSR said the Letter of Ownership would be sent out that day.

    My TV was $1, 865.
    I paid this company $619.18 up front and
    3 payments of $249.18 for $747.54
    Sub Total of $1364.54 and a final payment of $647.87
    For a grand total of $2, 014.59!
    Yes, I paid $2, 014.59 for a $1, 865 TV but because I didn't have the cash nor credit I didn't mind paying a bit over.

    Had I not used the 90 day Early Buy Out Option it would have cost me an addition 2 payments of $249.18 (for the 5 month lease term) and a Lease Buy Out of $822 for a grand total of $1, 320.36 so it's best to pay it off within the 90 day window.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
      10th of Sep, 2015

    Has anyone just right out didnt pay your monthly installments?

    +1 Votes
  • De
      10th of Sep, 2015

    DO NOT USE THEM!!! They will rip you off. We have not missed any payments at all since it gets debited out of our account. We got a $300 dollar item and have already payed a total of $667 in the 5 month period and now they want us to pay another $250 to do the buy out. So yes that is almost triple than the original price. You do the math if you don't believe me...since December we have made a total of 18 payments at 37.04.

    +4 Votes
  • Sh
      10th of Sep, 2015

    Got a call today from collection saying that they are going to garnish my wages for money I do not even owe. can someone tell me if that garnish my wages or have anyone had they wages garnish by them

    0 Votes
  • Lo
      13th of Sep, 2015

    PEOPLE!! ... I AM A CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE FROM WHY NOT LEASE IT. AND THIS IS WHYñ

    Here are some facts you should know:
    1- I am a CSR (Customer service rep) for Why Not Lease It / Tempo LOCATED in TIJUANA, MEXICO.
    2- WNLI (abreviAtion for why not lease it) works with KMART/SEARS and other mom pop stores
    3- Stores like kmart and sears intentionally mix informatio and leave out informatio while walking you thru the leasing process
    4- THIS IS NOT A RENT TO OWN
    5- minimum temr is 5 months and max term is 18 months

    HERE IS THE MAIN ISSUE WITH THE PROGRAM:THAT THEY INTENTIONALLY SKIP WHILE WALKING YOU THRU THE LEASING PROCESS
    -you have 90 days to cover the full lease item cost + 5, 8 or 10% depending on how long you cover the balace
    -You have to make additional payments besides the rent payments you are making
    -if you do not cover that lease cost + interest within 90 days you have to go 2 more payments and then BUY OUT the merch which means that is a devaluated price for the item that you are leasing so if you are paying 150 dllrs a month for 5 months at the end Guess what?... you have to buy it out for half a price!... so, if the lease item WAS 500.00 then... you will pay 150 for 5 months and at the end BUY IT OUT for 350.00 thats when customers are upset when i take the calls... the store does not explain this to you for a reason, thats why before we started like 50 or 60 calls a day, but now its like 300 calls per day with the same issue, THIS IS A RIP OFF guys, trust me.

    0 Votes
  • Kc
      30th of Sep, 2015

    i will go get a tv and say screw your payments thanks for the tv hahahahahahaha

    0 Votes
  • An
      16th of Oct, 2015

    I bought a new kicker and amp for my car and they told me the lease was for 6 months. I ended up with a 18 month lease which cost me about 4 times what the merchandise cost. First and last time for me.

    +1 Votes
  • Ce
      4th of Nov, 2015

    This one of the worst companies that I have had the misfortune to do business with. September 2014 I purchased a washer and dryer from Sears for a total of 2000. Why lease gave me a credit line of 1500. I paid Sears a down payment of 700. I realized that the 700 was probably going to be interest only, I was okay with that. My monthly payments. We're to be 250 per month starting October 2015, from October to May I calculated that I would have paid off the 2000 owed. Not including the 700 payment. I called in May to see if my bill had been paid off .. I was told that I still owed 750 because I didn't pay the bill in full in February 2015. I was really annoyed, but I figured that it was just another 3 months, meaning that in August 2015 my bill is paid in full. I call in August and they tell me that I still owe 765. Isaid to them how is that possible, I paid you 250 each month for the last 3 months which comes to a total 750. I was told that they only applied 15 to the of 750, which meant that they only applied 5 of the 250 to the bill for the last 3 month. I filed for bankruptcy in June of 2015, why not lease was listed as one of the creditors. They were notified of the bankruptcy in July. Notified to come to court in August. Was notified that they had until September 2015 to contest their portion of the bankruptcy. No one every appeared in court. The bankruptcy was granted in October 2015, please tell why these people are still taking money from mr bank account. Call them and they said that they never reciieced any notification from the courts. I personally faxed them a copy of the court order. Called to see when they will be refunding my money all I get us a recording stating that they see that I have filed for bankruptcy and to leave t detailed message..if they knew that I filed for bankruptcy, then they must of gotten all of the notices from the courts. Then they knew that they weren't suppose to still take money out of my account. THESE PEOPLE ARE THE WORST.

    +1 Votes
  • Ni
      16th of Nov, 2015

    I paid them 900.00 dollars for something that cost 700.00 and call them and ask them why was they debit my card they said I will not be through paying for another year and I told them were do I return the items because kmart in my town was closed down and they told me they will pick it up and they didn't A year later I got a collection letter stating I owe them 2750.00 dollars for the items now. I'm getting a lawyer. They pray on low income people. They are a FRAUD.

    +1 Votes
  • Fl
      30th of Nov, 2015

    Me and my wife where thinking of using why not lease but after all this negative feedback we just not going to do it.thanks

    +1 Votes
  • Ch
      2nd of Dec, 2015

    Not sure what people dont understand about the term "lease"..If you lease an apartment, you dont ever own the apartment. you can keep leasing until your done using it but when you move out, your not gonna get your money back. People really need to understand this before they sign it. If used correctly, its a good program that can help people who cant afford things upfront. If paid off in 90 days or you do your BUYOUT at the right time, then its a good program. Now if you just ignore everything and dont read your lease or understand it, and keep paying the rent "lease payments" then ya your gonna end up paying a lot more for it. Do it correctly and it works out great for everyone.

    +1 Votes
  • Mi
      10th of Dec, 2015

    I was not aware when I signed up for this that they would continue to deduct payments for rental for eternity until you buy out. I was under the impression that this was a rent to own company. Mu understanding was that I could not buy out of the lease for 5 months, but if I did not buy out the payments would still be deducted until the merchandise was paid off. That is not the case. I have now paid 900.00 so far for 500.00 worth of merchandise. As a single mother, I have no idea when i will have and extra 280.00 to buy out. So until i do they will continue to deduct 50.00 from each check (100.00 a month) from me. Now what do i do? Return my tv and furniture that i have already paid 900.00 for when it should have been 500.00???? At this point i have paid too much just to let it go!!! It is a scam! Even the BBB info says that it is a rent to own company. Not a rent for the rest of your life until you have paid a million times what it is worth company. It is not accredited by the BBB. I wish I was not misled to believe I was renting to own. Stay away from this Sears contracted company. It is the Devil!

    -1 Votes

Post your comment