The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Whirlpool India / Refrigerator / whirlpool refrigerator found defective!

1 India Review updated:

I have purchased 230 liters refrigerator from dealer situated in opera house (mumbai-india). Within 3 days there was complaint lodged with companies call center. Service person visited and attended the complaint. After that at intervals service person was called for various complaints 4 times. During 6th complaint attended we informed call center to replace as the guarantee period left is very less and the service report also indicated about replacement but there is no response from the complaint. Since yesterday again the fridge is found not working silently and again we will have to call service person for 7th time. I am not at all satisfied with refrigerator bought from whirlpool.

  • Whirlpool Corporation Customer Care's Response, Aug 02, 2017

    KAMAL, we're very sorry to learn of your concerns regarding your Refrigerator. Unfortunately we are unable to offer assistance to those residing outside of the United States. Please visit https://www.wh...oolindia.com/ for assistance in your region.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Mu
      21st of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    Completely Agree! Whirlpool is the pits when it comes to service. Keep calling them and no one responds.

  • De
      22nd of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    I have purchased 310 liters refrigerator from dealer situated in TRIBHUBHAN (KHANPUR), DELHI. Within 6 month days there was complaint lodged with companies call center. Service person visited and attended the complaint. After that at intervals service person was called for various complaints 20 times. During 21th complaint attended we informed call center to replace as the guarantee period left is very less and the service report also indicated about replacement but there is no response from the complaint. At present again the fridge is found not working silently and again we will have to call service person for 22nd time. I am not at all satisfied with refrigerator bought from whirlpool.

  • Ja
      26th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    I also purchased a Whirlpool refrigerator on 15th March from Kapila Electronics, Janakpuri, New Delhi. After installation it did not work as the gas was not circulating in the pipes. It was replaced in evening. The second refrigerator is also giving trouble. The gasket of lower door (Model Iceberg 310 ltr. DLX) is not in full contact of the body. Result the cooling is not effective.I complained on 14th May, and a service engineer came from Ramesh Nagar, center but the problem persists.I again called the service center on 17th May and the same service engineer came and informed that the lower door has to be replaced. He assured to replace within 5 days. But till date there is no response. I have called Call Center also today but no response. My complaint No.is DL0507013146 dated 14.05.07. Will someone higher up please respond? My experience is not very good.

  • Ga
      29th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    I had purchased a refrigerator 2 days back which makes a hell lot of noise, the service center teh. says this is whirlpool special noise and can not be mended, that my house is serene/calm, guides me to use a stabilizer, says all refrig. will make similar noise ,etc etc...

    While the siblings i checked were quiet. Earlier the dealer delivered me used / demo set which i had earlier refused to buy.

  • Kt
      13th of Jun, 2007
    0 Votes

    We had purchased a whirlpool 310 Refrigerator from M/s Om Electronics, Rohini Delhi on 8th March, 2006. That in May 2006, the cooling and freezing capacity of the Fridge suddenly went down. In freezer department, ice could not formed even after 10-12 hours and in the lower department, milk, flour and other eatable items got spoiled. On lodging the complaint with service department, service Engineer Mr. Rajiv visited in May 2006. On inspecting the fridge externally without opening any screws etc. he simply adjusted the regulator knobs and told us that there is not any major technical snag and it will work smoothly. On watching for one-two days, it slightly improved and by the time weather conditions also changed in view of rain and lowering of temperature. After running smoothly for few days, on rising of temperature and humidity the same problem again reoccurred. On lodging the complaint another Engineer inspected the fridge and told that due to frequent electricity cuts and voltage fluctuations, there is problem of freezing of ice and it would be alright once climate changes. This problem continued on and off but once climate changed in October, we did not bother as cooling needs decline in winter.

    Now in June 2007 again the same problem occurred on 8-9.6.2007. On lodging the complaint, Engineer Mr. Rajiv visited on 11.6.2007. He opened the freezer screws and told that there appears to be less Gas and that is why cooling has declined. He told that for refilling of gas is required which would cost around Rs.1100/- plus transportation of around Rs.390/-. On our arguing with him that this problem persists since last year and occurred with in three months of the purchase of Fridge, we should not be charged any amount, he told to contact his Head Office or service center. On calling the service centre, I got in contact over telephone with one Mr. Santosh after dialing the number tens of time. Mr. Santosh told me that this kind of problem generally occurs in the winters as these fridges are generally works up to temperatures of 41-42 degree. Since the temperature is now beyond 44, this kind of problem may reoccur. There may not be any leakage of gas, however, I may re-lodge my complaint with customer care center.

  • Kt
      13th of Jun, 2007
    0 Votes

    There appear to be Whirlpool Company/ Dealer/service center nexus to fool the poor customer and loot their valuable money. The refrigerators of whirlpool are not at all suitable for Indian market.

  • Ra
      14th of Jul, 2007
    0 Votes
    Whirlpool / Refrigerator - Very bad service support!
    India

    MY CUSTOMER iDD NO IS "GB/C/0707/22320"

    I have called Whirlpool service center at lease 8 time from 8th July 07 for my refrigerator but no one have time to visit to my house & solve my problem. My wife is waiting every day that service eng will come.

    On Friday 13th July Whirlpool customer care executive Mr. Nagi told me that please be available in your house on Saturday 14th July 07. I am waiting for so called service eng than at last again I called to service center and just now some body Mr Manoj called me from Delhi phone no 01146015212 and told me it will take some more day's because they do not have compressor in stock.

    Please tell me how many times company required complain from customer!!!

    Very bad service support!

  • Su
      9th of Aug, 2007
    0 Votes

    I also purchased Whirlpool 340 litre elite iceberg INA 072802605 Refrigerator from Nayyar Electronic City, C-573, Saraswati Vihar, Delhi on 29/7/2007. On the same day of purchase, the refrigerator started giving problems. The complaint No. 807000943 was lodged in this regard on 30/7/2007. The engineer visited on Thursday i.e. 2/8/2007 and reported that there was leakage of gas and the refrigerator needed repairs. While taking up the issue with the company as well as dealer the refrigerator was replaced on 4/8/2007. The replaced refrigerator INA 072802197 even started giving problems. The nob of the fridge and the nob of the door have frozen. The frost in the freezer compartment is too much and everything left in it is frozen. Even the refrigerator after the cut off does not work and the ice starts melting. After switching on and off the main switch, it starts working. The complaint in this regard was made with Ms. Shiza on 95129-6451030 on 6/8/2007. The deputed person for demo visited on 7/8/2007 and initially stated that there was some problem which the engineer may check. The formal complaint No. 0807003478 was lodged on 7/8/2007 in this regard. The engineer visited on 8/8/2007 and stated that the freezing of air flow nob as well as door nob would be controlled with some oiling. I am surprised how the temporary relief given by the oil can solve the problem as stated by him. Some engineer again visited on 9/8/2007 and stated the problem may be due to gas leakage and it would be checked by the representative of the company. When I requested the engineer to visit after 6 P.M., he was rude enough to say that the company can depute engineer only during day hour i.e. between 10 AM and 5 PM.

    I had purchased refrigerator with the very good reputation of Whirlpool, however, I am really disappointed with the performance of the product. I feel cheated by the company. Not only the product is not performing satisfactorily, the service of the Company is also very disappointing. Since I am working as Director in Lok Sabha Secretariat and on a responsible position and my nature of duties are such that I can't spare time for keeping waiting for engineers and unnecessary hassles. For the last 10 days, I am feeling disappointed and lot of inconvenience is caused to me.

  • Sa
      18th of Aug, 2007
    0 Votes

    Very third class service. I recently purchased a whirlpool 310 lt fridge. Its door was not getting closed properly. I registered the complaint with the dealer first. After 20 days their engineer came and he said it needs repair. I said I want to go ahead with replacement. Its 10th day the fridge is till not replaced. Everytime they commit some time and they never turn up. I really want my money back now and will never buy any whirlpool appliance in future and will make sure no one from my family and friends buy their appliance. Pathetic service. I escalated the matter to Narender and Manoj as well but its of no use at all. NEVER BUY ANY APPLIANCE FROM WHIRPOOL. HOPELESS SERVICE, HOPELESS PEOPLE.

  • Ar
      21st of Aug, 2007
    0 Votes

    I purchased a 450 liter fridge ( model no. FF 450 Elite , chassis no. 6196143 ) from the WHIRLPOOL factory through their direct marketing agency ‘ M/S V. MARKETING ’ ,X – 48 Okhla Phase –II , New Delhi – 110 020, vide invoice no. 490 , Book no. 10 dated 10.02.07 for Rs.20,700 for my new house in Gurgaon. The fridge had a warranty of 1 year. Within one month the fridge started giving problems. The Whirlpool service centre was contacted and a service engineer visited the residence and changed some parts. On returning from my office , I realized that the fridge was not working, so once again I contacted the service centre. They came after two days and changed the compressor. Even after changing the compressor the fridge was not working, so an engineer came and filled up gas. Since the fridge was still not working, the compressor was once again changed but still the fridge was not working. In this heat no one can imagine what my family went through. I had to buy meals from outside as I could not keep any food in the fridge and had to throw away an enormous amount of food which had got spoilt.

    I have been constantly ringing up the service centre and contacting various officials of Whirlpool for the last two months. After a lot of persuasion they finally agreed to replace the fridge. Later they told me that they could not give a 450 litres model, as they said that the model had been discontinued. I was forced to agree to take a 400 litre fridge as a replacement. Whirlpool took one week’s time to process my request. Finally on 18th July after making all the promises for replacing the fridge they informed me that a 400 litres fridge would cost Rs 33,625 and I should make a bank draft for the balance amount of Rs 12,925. I got the draft made and was waiting for the delivery of the fridge as promised. They then informed me that a 400 litres model was also not available and I should accept a 350 litres fridge. On 19th July, I informed Whirlpool that the 400 litres fridge was available with many dealers at a cost of Rs29,000. After keeping us hanging for months, they were also charging us extra for the 400 litre model. They informed me that they were contacting the dealers and would try and get the fridge by 21st July, but till date it has not been delivered. The officers of Whirlpool mentioned below have told me that nothing can be done and they are not giving me the names of senior officers whom I can approach for addressing my complaints.

    The Whirlpool dealer as well as the factory officials have stopped answering my telephone calls. I am still suffering without the fridge and a house full of guests.

  • Su
      29th of Aug, 2007
    0 Votes

    Well, I don't want to add to the statistics of dissatisfied Whirlpool customers. I am surprised after reading so many complaints of users about poor quality/service by Whirlpool why nobody has bothered to drag the company to the courts.

    Consumer courts are there in each district and they take these matters very seriously.

    My problem with the refrigerator is similar to all the complaints mentioned here, if they insist on charging me (Now it is 17 months but same recurring problem) I am sure going to take them to courts.

    Sudhir

  • Ra
      1st of Sep, 2007
    0 Votes

    Oh my God ! What to say now, well i was planning to buy a whirlpool 400 Lt refrigerator very soon but after going through the website and seeing the enormous complaints filed by the customers and the response of the company, i might reconsider buying this brand. I thought that this brand was respected around the world. But if Whirlpool cant serve the world's largest democracy with commitment and satisfaction to its customers, it may lose on its good part of the business... Now i am just so confused, should i go for it or not...

  • Lt
      6th of Sep, 2007
    0 Votes

    I have a Whirlpool refrigerator 350 ltr. My refrigerator stopped functioning about six months ago and I had to pay Rs 3500/ for replacing a defective part. The fridge again started giving problems and after repeated complaints a trial and error method was adopted by the totally clueless service mechanic. Three parts have been changed in a span of two months but still the problem is not rectified. Every time one component is changed and I am told to observe the functioning and it takes a minimum 15 days and repeated reminders for the service personnel to respond. Repeated complaints on the company website and letters to the top executives have failed to evoke any response.

  • As
      12th of Sep, 2007
    0 Votes

    I also purchased Whirlpool 340 litre elite iceberg INA 054007202 Refrigerator from BEHL Electronic Haridwar on 18.12.05. Onarrival of delivery at resience one leg of the refrigerator was bent and after complaint the same was repaired to some extent with little bit balance of refrigerator.
    Immediately after one yr of purchase refrigerator stopped cooling and rather heating the food products stored. On complaint a fellow came from service centre and said that its heater is not working and needs to replaced. He didn't turn up to repair the same. Again after several complaints with local service centre and regional centre at Dehra Dun a different person came saying that its fan is not working and needs replacement which will be replaced if AMC of 2 years at a cost of Rs. 3492/- is entered into. Marta kya na karta gave money for AMC but after one week only the fan was replaced and another part of door closer, som plastic strip broken is not replaced since April'07 and don't know how much phone complaints I have registered with agent at Haridwar, Dehra Dun and Ghaziabad. This has resulted in non-working of refrigerator because lower door is not shut properly and its rubber lining has also got week and left its place.

    I had purchased refrigerator with the very good reputation of Whirlpool, however, I am really disappointed with the performance of the product. I feel cheated by the company. Not only the product is not performing satisfactorily, the service of the Company is also very disappointing. Since I am working and can't spare time for keeping waiting for engineers and unnecessary hassles I am planning to go to consumer court and needs my money back. For the last 5 months, I am feeling disappointed and lot of inconvenience is caused to me.

  • Va
      20th of Sep, 2007
    0 Votes

    In simple words, buying whirlpool referigrators is just like putting your hands in the hell.
    I also purchased one last year but it is giving probs every month and no one is there to attend you.

  • Su
      24th of Sep, 2007
    0 Votes

    Unhappy with WhirlPool service along with BigBazaar. For bigbazaar my call never went to store mgr even calling nth times for complaint. The problem as reported by most, no cooling within 2 days and always shows freezer section as defrost status (water droplets all over). After calling >20 times that for 2 weeks and finally replaced.

    Finally got replacement yesterday with different available color and no idea how this will perform.
    you know what! only a service boy comes to place the refrigerator at home from auto, holding the package wiring and lifting. A person from bigbazaar initially and one person from whirlpool while replacing.

    Demo or service technicians seems hurry burry and says something to resolve temporarily.

  • An
      2nd of Oct, 2007
    0 Votes

    We had purchased WHIRLPOOL – H65 washing machine on 26/12/03 with chasis no. 0336604126 for Rs 17,600. since the start the machine has given us some or the other trouble. Earlier motor broke down, then circuit board got faulty and now again that replaced circuit board too isn’t working. We have been in touch with Pankaj Electronics, Bhiwadi but they aren’t much of help. For every visit they have been charging Rs200. now a board which was fixed like last year they asking for charges again. Purchasing a high end product from a supposedly world class company is pretty let down.

    Useless Company

  • Mr
      10th of Oct, 2007
    0 Votes

    I have purchased washing machine but it has not worked properly any single day. Call center person has not sent the engineer for 6 days. I would suggest everyone not to buy any of the Whirlpool products and to tell you miss Chitrali the person at call center is the pathetic one. She cant even fulfill the commitment given by herself.

  • Ra
      11th of Oct, 2007
    0 Votes

    I have purchased 310 liters refrigerator from dealer situated in Lucknow, UP. Within 3 days there was complaint lodged with companies call center. Service person visited and attended the complaint. After that at intervals service person was called for various complaints 3rd times. During 4th complaint attended we informed call center to replace as the guarantee period left is very less and the service report also indicated about replacement but there is no response from the complaint. Since yesterday again the fridge is found not working silently and again we will have to call service person for 5th time. I am not at all satisfied with refrigerator bought from Whirlpool. Plz smb tell me what should I do?

  • Uc
      15th of Oct, 2007
    0 Votes

    I purchased the “Fusion Maxigerator 6 sence” of your company from “Next “ retail shop ludhiana on 9th April,07 vide bill no BTC/07-08/74.

    But the company did not bother to depute any person to my residence for installation and demonstration of the refrigerator.

    On 21st September.07, the cooling in the refrigerator stopped all of a sudden & I lodged a complaint with Next retail shop which, in turn, forwarded the complaint to Whirlpool service center who charged Rs.2000 for replacing the freezer despite covered under warranty period & fridge was delivered to me on 30th September,07 i.e. after 9 days. The detail is as under-
    • The representative of the service centre visited my residence on 24th September,07 & after inspection could not locate the fault & informed that the instrument has to be shifted to workshop for locating the fault.
    • On 25th September,07 , he informed on phone that there is a cut mark by knife in the rear portion of the base of the freezer & the freezer has to be replaced. The service centre refused to replace the freezer & insisted me to pay Rs.2000 . As the refrigerator was in their possession. I had no other alternative but to pay the money.
    • On 28th September,07, the service station owner informed me on phone that the refrigerator has been repaired.
    • I went to service station at 7:00p.m. & requested the owner to send the refrigerator to my residence. The owner asked me to pay Rs.2000 to which I agreed with the request that the fridge should be sent immediately. But he informed me that it will be sent next day.
    • I paid him Rs.1000 with the promise that the balance of Rs.1000 will be paid as soon as the refrigerator reaches my residence to which he agreed.
    • But on 29th September,07 , he didn’t send it & when I phoned him in the evening, he insisted that the refrigerator will only be sent after I pay him the balance amount at his office. As I have no other alternative , I went to his office on 30th September,07 paid him the balance amount & then he sent the fridge to my residence.
    In the above context, I may bring into notice the following points-
    1. It was the duty of your company to depute some qualified person for installation of refrigerator at my residence.
    2. We are 3 members in my house & all are literate & know how to use the electronic goods.
    3. Further we don’t require any ice in the month of September when the climate is not a lot hot.
    4. If, for a moment, it is supposed that it was a cut made by knife, how it can be made at the rear end of the base of freezer especially when it is covered with a utensil containing ice. As such the plea of service station that the cut been made by knife in freezer is not maintainable.
    5. Moreover, the representative did not locate the fault at my residence & informed me about it only when the refrigerator reached their workshop.

    As such, I had to pay Rs.2000 for no fault of mine though refrigerator was in warranty period & it was duty of service station to replace the defected part but he rather made me responsible for it. Further the service station didn’t send refrigerator to my place even after payment of Rs.1000 with the promise that the balance will be paid after refrigerator reaches my house.

Post your comment